Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Welcoming atmosphere

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the wildlife, the alcoholic beverages, the food, the service, pretty much everything.
Location: The location was a little bit south of Playa del Carmen. I think if it was not all-inclusive, it would be hard to find things to do close by.
Very beautiful resort, we really enjoyed that the place had a jungle-like feel to it with a lot of wildlife. The staff was very friendly all the time. The waiters/waitresses always made sure that we had what we needed at the restaurants. We did not have too much time to relax by the pool or the beach, but the little time we did it was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel inside the jungle!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Very nice facilities. I had a quick check in and was escorted to my room and shown all of the amenities. My luggage was delivered to the room within 15 mins. I was very close to 3 of the 5 pools and a short walk to all restaurants. I was down for a friends wedding which was performed on the grounds at a very picturesque point. The evening was topped of by a 5 star 4 course dinner. All in all it was very relaxing and a wonderful place to spend a week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jersey

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Stayed for 5 days april 13-15th ...Hotel really nice and the other guests were friendly. The rooms were nice bed comfortable, out of the 10 restaurant we only enjoyed the Italian and the steakhouse... Le buffet food wasnt that great .... Me and my husband loved the cenotes excursions the best of all we did 2 days of the xcaret park ... Yes lots of walking we wore ourselves out. The pools were great... Reading prior reviews hotel has no straws so i did bring some with my travel. Its kind of hard drinking a frozen drink if u dont have straws... Drinks were ok not great... We had to call the desk for a washclothes everyday bc the person kept bringing 1 washcloth everytime sbe cleaned the room .. Little minor things but overall experience was good.. We did try to avoid the time share staff who ask u if u need help then start to talk to u about other things and going to meeting .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ct

a beautiful Hotel nice and relaxing

Posted Apr 18, 2015
it was a beautiful experience the only thing with my package I was supposed to get The unlimited xcaret experience but they didn't even give me a date pass I was kind of upset the first day but the rest of the days I enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DISTRITO FEDERAL

PADRE ....CERCA DEL PARQUE XCARET Y ALIMENT

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: SUS INSTALACIONES Y ATENCION DE SU PERSONAL ALIMENTOS Y DIVERSIONES.
Cons: NO AL ACOSO DE VENTA DE TIEMPOS COMPARTIDOS.
Location: UN LUGAR MUY ESTRATEGICO POR ESTAR CERCA DEL PARQUE XCARET... CERCA DE LA PLAYA Y BUENAS ACTIVIDADES.
UN HOTEL EXEPCIONAL MUY BONITO, BUENA ATENCION, ENCONTRE DE TODO , DIVERSION DESCANSO, AMIGOS BUENA ETENCION VARIEDAD DE COMIDAD EN SUS RESTAURANES , SUS INSTALACIONES DE PRIMERA ETC.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom washington

Time share requests

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Too many people asking us to buy time share. Food was not good. Noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VACACIONES DE SEMANA SANTA

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Kid's Club
Location: Xcaret un super lugar de entretenimiento para grandes y chicos !
Estuvo increíble, desde la atención del personal como las instalaciones del mismo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful, expansive property w/ something for all

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Favorite thing about this hotel was the food, but a close second is the expansive layout.
Cons: I really can't think of anything that could be improved - - we had a perfect stay.
Location: We like going to the Xcaret park next door, and we also made it to Playa Del Carmen. We went on a fun catamaran/snorkeling excursion too.
I spent 4 nights/5 days at the Occidental Grand Xcaret with my 18 year old son. We had an amazing time. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating in every location - - bars, pools, dining areas, front desk, etc. The food was absolutely delicious; the variety and quality was better than any other all-inclusive vacation resort I've been too or cruise I have been on. We spent a day at the Xcaret park next door and really enjoyed that. It was so convenient to have our resort close so we could just walk home for meals and a shower before the evening show. The park and the resort are so huge and laid out in a fashion that I truly believe they could have had 1,000 more guests there and it still wouldn't seem crowded. We were never in a situation where we had to wait for a table or couldn't find a pool or beach chair. We had such a wonderful stay and there were still areas we had left to explore, so we plan to go back again and again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Itze P, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review and comments. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have especially appreciated the location at Xcaret. We are also glad that you tested the efficiency and excellent service provided by our staff. Looking forwar to welcome you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

100% Xcaret

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Overall friendliness and accessibility to Xcaret.
Cons: breakfast left overs were not picked up. It sat outside our room For 2 days.
Location: Xcaret park is a must
Geat service overall. They offer time shares but they are not as persistent as other places which allowed us to walk away from it w/o too much hassle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Itze P, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Many thanks for the time you took to share your Occidental Grand Xcaret experience, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Great resort !

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The staff at the Royal Club defiantly put this place on the map though. We were treated like royalty at every meal.
Cons: Wasn't the biggest fan of all the 'up sell' or 'time-share' activities going on. But I might have been too sensitive to it.
Location: Xcaret park, X-plor park
This was our Third time here.... I think that says a lot. It fits very well with what we want when we go to Mexico. the resort is very spread out and there is a lot of walking, it's fun to stroll from bar to bar and just take it all in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Itze P, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We want to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination for third time! Wow! We are thrilled to hear that you have had such a good time at Occidental Grand Xcaret Thank you so much for your kind words which are much appreciated. We could not think of a better motivation for all of us! We really look forward to your next visit.