Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, but beach was disappointing.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and comfort.
Cons: The Resort should include wifi. Also the staff is not very hospitable. It's a beautiful huge resort with below average customer service.
Ocean Breeze was under renovation so they upgraded us to The Mayan Palace. The MP is a larger resort on the property. The Upgraded room was immaculate. The only issue was that it did not include wifi. I specifically booked a hotel room that included wifi as I needed to do a little work. The upgraded room did not include wifi and the hotel refused to waive the fee. I'd of rather had the room I booked with wifi, as I did not need the upgraded room...the most important thing to me was the included wifi. The hotel manager informed me that the original room I had booked did not include wifi either. However, the expedia website stated free in-room wifi in 3 different places with the description of the hotel and room I was booking. So who is wrong???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from Italy

Nice hotel in the jungle linked to a great resort

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: As we said the friendly an quiet atmosphere and it's location among the jungle with birds singings and many local fauna to observe.
Cons: The rooms are very clean but sometimes humid due to the location, may be they could change the pillows more often
Location: The beach in front is not so good for swimming due to coral rocks formation but there are beautiful swimming beaches nearby ( 10 -15 minutes walk)
We came back for the third year in this pleasent hotel nestled among the Yucatan jungle, linked to a great resort The Mayan Palace (which is a time sharing complex on the beautiful Riviera Maya). We like this place very much for it's friendly and quiet atmosphere. Then if you like you may join the facilities of the great resort on the sea of the Mayan Palace with its huge swimming pool, restaurants, activities, beautiful well kept gardens, flamingo and crocodiles enclosures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice last night. Clean easy, good rate.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Easy last night before heading to the airport the next morning.
Location: Isolated units adjacent to Mayan Palace so you can access their facilities easily but a long way from the beach if you are walking.
Short stay. Didn't really have time to experience much. Not much right there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Roger from Garden Grove

I am not going back

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible, I will not going back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Octavio is awesome.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Location: Frankly, the location will keep me from staying here again. If you want to stay in a resort hotel, this is a good one. But it's too far from town.
So there was a mixup with my reservation when I arrived--somehow it hadn't gotten from Expedia to the Ocean Breeze, and none of the documentation I had from Expedia had the right reservation number that the staff needed to book me in. Octavio was working the front desk and was pretty great about it--very polite, called about five different people trying to sort it out, and eventually just gave me a room and said they'd sort it out the next day. Next time I came down he'd finally gotten ahold of the right people at Expedia and found my reservation. I had a couple of other interactions with the staff, got some great advice from them on getting around, and generally was really pleased with the effort they made to ensure I had a great stay.
3 out of 5
by DSS from Chicago

Need to take a train to pool

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The Terraza restaurant and the free wi-fi in the lobby. Otherwise, overpriced for the location.
Cons: More accurate description of not being on the beach and having extremely limited resources.
Location: Isolated and expensive to go any place. NEED A CAR!
This hotel is part of the Mayan Palace Hotel and you are, definitely considered the poor relation. At least, we were allowed to use the Mayan Palace pool. This resort has the worse beach ever. Extremely rocky and unusable. The place is overpriced. The service in the food area are great except at their Deli/coffee shop, where the service is deplorable. Bring a book and wait to get your Latte. Waited over 20 mins for a bagel and cream cheese, and 2 coffees. At least, our orders weren't lost like some of the other guests waiting. The restaurant at the Ocean breeze hotel was fantastic, and wi-fi in the lobby was free. Otherwise, an OK place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great staff, food, and music.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Nice staff, good food, great music, nice beach area.
Cons: Add more sand to the beach area and improve consistency of shuttles.
The staff were terrific, but communication due to language differences was an occasional problem. The food was very good. We did not have the all-inclusive plan, but the food and drinks were reasonably priced. The music at the Wine Bar was excellent, as was the music at the Havana Moon. The beach area was nice except it was rocky and difficult to enter the water. The golf cart shuttles were somewhat inconsistent, but generally took you from place top place within reasonable expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Payman from Los Angeles

On our way to the Iberostar

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wife and I decided to stay here 2 nights before friends arrived and we all checked into our return destination, Iberostar - Paraiso Maya. We looked at reviews and were feeling safe that the short stay would not be disappointing and glad to say that WITHOUT high expectations we were not disappointed. Very big, timeshare style rooms, though we noticed what looked like to be mold in the areas more exposed to humidity. Nice big grounds and pools but beach was rocky and general mood was timeshare family travelers. Of course, we knew this was not an all inclusive but I have to say the food was really amazing and the BEST part of our stay (would even say Frida's tamales with mole made the stop worthwhile).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A few days too many

Posted Jul 30, 2013
It was great for the first 3 days out of our 6. One of the problems we found were that we couldn't use cash around the resort. All we brought was cash. Luckily my fiancé had his card and we used that. Another problem was we arrived at the resprt at 11 an we couldn't check in until 5pm. The lady at the desk kept telling us to come back and check if a room was ready at 1 and then again at 3. Both times a room wasn't ready. We had our luggage with us while we swam the entire day. Finally a little after 4 we got our room. Best feeling when you see a bed after hardly sleeping for 36 hours of traveling and waiting around. We didn't like eating at the restarunts. It took a long time for us to get a check and we had to keep asking for them to fill up our glasses. (But the Gong Asian restarunt was amazing, I recommend the Cod). The maid service was a bit funky. They kept calling our room at night to see if we needed anything. One night they called 4 times! We got bored after a few days. We had to pay a shuttle or taxi to go 30 minutes into Playa del Carmen or go 40 minutes into Cancun. We felt stuck there, since all we could do was swim in the pools. Which was also confusing. Apparently some of the pools were only for Grand Mayan (the other resort next door) but the Grand Mayan people could come into the Mayan Rivera pools. We loved it for the first few days before it got old. Otherwise the service was alright, not over the top but depending on where you were.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com