Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Hotel was nice w/ some cons

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Hotel was nice and clean. Hotel has a good selection for food. Part of it was a time-share which they try to pitch that we weren't aware of. Hotel staff were nice but because the resort is larger the service lacked. Only three bars and the swim up bar was always busy with only one person running it. You don't get drink service to the beach or by the pool like we've had at other places. We went in late march so lots of high school and college student spring breakers. Kinda ruined the experience for us but if you know that going in it might be better. Also, fridges in the rooms don't always work. Overall we had a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barndog from canton ohio

Could have been better

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful colors, well kept
Cons: Get the towel situation fixed, need more beach chairs. Should put Sol in the room mini bar instead of the can cheap stuff
Location: Good location, take the time to go into the fishing village, pretty neat
Beach towels are a big problem, it took us two days to get beach towels. Resort in general was very nice, excellent food quality. You need to be up really early to reserve a beach chair, make sure you put some personal belonging on the chair because if you just put your beach towl on it they will take your towel and you lose your spot. Staff was not as good as other resorts we have been at so service was a bit off standard. Bathroom in room could use some help, not much privacy and for some reason it took a lot of effort to get our sliding door open on the patio. The gulf water in this area is very weedy, not the resorts fault just how it is in this general area of the caribean.the mini bar was stocked regularly but the beer was in a can and very low grade, never heard of the brand before but the taste was like a weak natural light or busch light. The grounds are very well kept. I think since it was such a hassle with the beach towels right at the start drove our opinion down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

Good deal but not worth more!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Big room 4 great pools. Kids pool was the most quiet place. Japanese, Italian and Route 66 restaurants are the best. We liked to have coffee and dessert at Mikes coffee. Need to go to the bar to have drinks. Not enough waiter. Any good activities for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Beautiful resort, wonderful staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: I loved almost everything about this hotel. The staff, the resort, the activities, the scenery and the running trail. The pools were amazing!
Cons: The beach wasn't great for swimming and the room water smelled bad -- I don't think it was purified, but plenty of bottled water was provided.
Location: Puerto Morelos is about an hour beach walk away and had a few shops. There's a dive shop on site and numerous excursion agencies around.
This resort was gorgeous. Four great swimming pools, adorable beach cabanas and lots of activities and entertainment. This was my first all inclusive and I was beyond impressed. The staff was INCREDIBLE! They were all so friendly, easy-going and above all else, FUN! There was always something going on, always some where to eat. The food was pretty decent as well. Not too many dishes I would write home about, but the Japanese restaurant was well worth the wait. The show was outstanding and the food was really good! I seldom left the resort because it was so fun and relaxing. We walked to Puerto Morelos and it was about an hour beach walk and much longer than I expected. They have a dive shop on site where you can book snorkeling and scuba diving -- and you can get a taste of scuba diving without being certified. There are kayaks and catamarans for rental and it was really the best vacation I've ever had. I was scared reading all the reviews for various hotels, and finally just decided to book Ocean Coral. Love, love, LOVED it. I will go back with more friends! The rooms were spacious and well kept, although the room water wasn't purified and smelled like well water. Plenty of bottled water and soda was provided though every day. As with all resorts, finding a beach chair in a prime location was difficult some days but the other pools were very nice as well. The resort also comes around with animals for pictures! This place was really, really amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak, MI

Nice hotel with a beautiful beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Beach access and hotel staff.
Cons: Desserts were lack luster.
Hotel was very clean and hotel staff was awesome. Food was good, buffet seemed a little smaller than other resorts I've stayed at, but still good. Beach was great and easy access. Room was ok. Asked for 2 queen beds and one ended up being a sofa bed which wasn't that comfortable. Also, water leaked from the shower onto the bathroom floor but I just put towels down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2014
We took our family of 6. Ocean Coral had everything we needed & more! Exceeded our expectations, cannot think of anything negative to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by prairie rose from madison, wi

Something for everyone

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous location, beach, architecture/design, good food and drinks, most regular hotel employees were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Surprisingly, the customer service at the spa front desks and the Privilege/Premium areas have a lot of room for improvement...surly with attitude.
Location: Walk to the village of Puerto Morales for a slice of local culture. Takes about 50 minutes each way at a leisurely pace.
Overall my husband and I had a fantastic experience at Ocean Coral. We have never stayed at an all inclusive resort before, and were extremely pleased with the food and drink. Their presentation of food is unreal! Our favorites were Fusion (for Premium/Privilege members) and La Petite Creperie. In particular, the croissants were the best I've ever had. Not what I expected in Mexico! We tried a lot of drinks and they were all very good. We ended up buying the Premium package and what a difference that made. We were able to make reservations at the eateries, always had primo spots on the beach with a butler, and we're upgraded to a luxury suite right off the ocean. But even without those awesome perks, the experience was wonderful. It was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had. The hotel staff was overall so friendly. Although the resort is huge, it ended up being a good thing, since there's so much to do there. Our goal was pure relaxation and that was easily achieved. I had a massage and facial at the spa, which was top notch. Overall I highly recommend this place. It seemed to accommodate everyone from spring breakers to families with small children to couples like us that just wanted R&R. A pleasant surprise was the travelers from all over the world that we met.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cody from Beaumont

Only drawback were the rooms

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great hotel. Loved it. Everything from food to beach to pool to staff was great. The seaweed in the water is fairly bad but beach is nice still and mostly hung out at pool. If you love spending time in the ocean water I would not suggest this resort to you. Other slight draw back is having to line up for supper early without making reservations if your not a privileged member. But if you go 20 minutes early you can still get in so not the end of the world. It's to bad the al a cartes don't open at 5 30. Another thing that I have seen people talk about is the road to the resort.... If people are complaint about it they are more than likely from the states. If you are from canada you will not find this road bad. Couple big pot holes. Big deal. They dodge them and slow down. Entertainment staff is awesome and funny too. Itza and Kandy were great and work so so hard. Actually The whole entertainment staff works hard (6 days a week and long long days) Now my main complaint was the rooms: very musty smell (try asking for dehumidifier or to switch rooms. Some are better than others) the beds are also firm and pillows are huge and lumpy. If you want a spot at the bar pool you have to go around 730 and lay stuff down to save spot. 730 on a vacation is little early for us. Those would be my only complaints to make this a 4 star. Other complaints you can live with or are very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cdgr from York, PA

Very pleasing experience

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: It was well maintain and appearance was an obvious point of attention.
Cons: Maybe have more chairs at the pool and the beach (difficult to get). Also, maybe go to at least queen size beds instead doubles in the 2 bed rooms.
Location: It our short stay we stayed on the resort. Our son received one of the massages in the spa and was pleased with his experience.
This resort met more than our expectations. We had read some minor negative reviews on the resort and did not experience any of these situations. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The cleanliness of the resort and even their section of the beach were well maintain. My husband, myself and our teenage son were all happy with our experience. If booking a snorkeling trip from the pool booth, make sure they are cramming you on an already full boat. The ride was okay, but too many people to try and swim around in the limited area of snorkeling.
3 out of 5
by Shoshi from Rhinebeck, NY

Wonderful staff, disappointing food...

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Veyr clean, friendly and helpful staff, Water aerobics is super fun!
Cons: Variety and quality of food, esp at lunch. Variety of vegetarian options. Our porch lights were burnt out in both rooms we stayed in.
The staff were a wonderful balance of friendly and helpful without being over solicitous. Dinner at the Mexican restaurant was delicious, build your own omelets at breakfast at Casa del Mar was good, but lunches always left plenty to be desired. I'ma vegetarian, and I always tasted some kind of pork in the beans, but my other vegetarian family said they didn't. My carnivorous friends said the meat dishes weren't great either. The crepes at Le Petit Creperie were weird, according to my four friends that ate there. Avoid late night food at route 66 at all costs.