Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vA

Small but nice resort

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Staff was friendly, food was good, bartenders were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

pool area nice. Beach not so nice

Posted Jun 21, 2015
To much sea weed on the beach. Smelled bad and could not enjoy beach area. Crew worked on clean up the whole 7 days we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
the hotel is excellent treat you like king staf is very attentive service is first
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Just ok...beware of dishonest front desk!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds. Nice pools.
Cons: Drinks and food
Location: 30 minutes from the airport in Cancun. Go to Xplor!
The resort itself was beautiful! As for the beach, beware of the seaweed and the awful smell! The food was just okay too. Surprisingly, the Japanese restaurant Yookoso has the best food in our opinion! Probably the most disappointing experience was at the front desk. We were at the front desk and the lady told us the exchange rate was 12 to 1. We questioned her about it and she reassured us that she was correct and that the rate changes every day. Being it was our first time out of the country, we were trusting and took her word for it. Later on in the day, we saw a sign way to the side of the front desk that said the exchange rate was 14 to 1. Trying to get our money back, we talked to other people at the front desk about it and they said they'd talk to the lady who helped us. Sure enough, she couldn't remember our transaction! Obviously, she purposefully mislead us to take our money and nobody else at the front desk would even help us. Overall, I would not spend my money at this place again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Wonderful adult only resort

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: It was well maintained, all inclusive, wonderful staff.
Cons: The pools were the most popular place and the chairs did fill up fast. Is there room to add a 3rd pool with additional chairs?
Location: We did the Tulum ruins and snorkeling through BD travel.
We were pleasantly surprised upon arriving to the hotel. It was nicer than the pictures make it look. For once, we thought we picked the better resort when comparing to the resorts on each side. Our trip was reasonably priced for everything that was included, but we did book 3 months early. If you wait until later, the rates exponentially increase. The staff was wonderful and welcoming. The rooms were modern and clean. They take really good care of the landscaping, pools, and restaurants. The buffet and other included restaurants had good food. Like most buffets, you can't win on all of your choices, but the good thing about a buffet is if you don't like what you got, you can just go pick something else! We went in June and it didn't seem overly crowded. The people who stayed at the resort were mostly adults/couples between the ages of 30-65. This is not the place for late night life, extreme party goers, or bachelorette parties. The normal day would be breakfast at 8am, pool by 9am, scheduled activities throughout the day, then shower up for dinner around 6-7pm. They have 9/10pm entertainment/shows which were attended by most guests. Enjoy! We would go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Great bargain. Good bang for your buck. Beach limited due to severe seaweed but the pool and pool bar right on the beach made up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lacking entertainment

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The pool was exceptional and the entertainment at the pool was lively. The food at the Italian restaurant was great.
Cons: Customer service needs to improve. The push on the H10 program needs to be minimal. I don't go on vacation to be harassed by sales people.
Location: Good location, close but not too close to activities. ie. Xel-ha, Tulum, Coba, etc.
Although, the rooms are very small (we had 2 rooms booked) the resort itself is beautiful. Check-in was a breeze, we were even able to check in early. Beware - We were greeted by H10 Premium program sale rep upon check in and several times through out our stay. They are very persistent. And, it's not a 60 minute tour like they say it will be. It's more like 1.5 hours. The staff, for the most part was not friendly. They looked/acted like you were a bother to them. We called the front desk for a broken (loud noise and no air) air conditioner. It took several calls to get them to come by and fix it. We also had to call for lack of TV channels. I even went to the front desk to remind them they were going to send someone to check it out and no ever showed up. We don't normally spend our vacation watching television but, once the pool area closes there is no night time entertainment, except for drinking at the bar. We had one rainy night and the entertainment consist of them placing tables around the lobby with board games/puzzles and card games. The mini bar was filled on a daily basis. Once, they placed two bottles of soda (both, opened and half empty). The best food was at the Japanese Restaurant and the Italian restaurant. Stay away from The Bluemoon and The Charro - horrible food. Lastly, the pool entertainment was great. Sosa, one of the entertainer was absolutely awesome. Always making sure people were enjoying themselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great Stay at the Ocean Maya Royal

Posted Jun 13, 2015
We just completed our 5 night stay at the Ocean Maya. We had a wonderful time over all. The staff was amazing everywhere we went and as most people that travel know, the staff can ruin a vacation. Pros - staff was great Food was good at all restaurants, except for us, the French restaurant. Not our favorite but not horrible. Japanese always a blast. Grounds were kept clean and beautiful. Pool staff was a lot of fun, kept the entertainment and drinks flowing. Rooms were nice size and kept clean Lots of seating and shade opportunities if needed. Cons - They try to get you to schedule a "time share" conversation as you Checkin, just say you will contact them to do that once you are settled in and don't bother. We were warned prior but saw quite a few each morning going through them. Hard pillows Entertainment in the evenings could be better and needs to be a little livelier. Outside of those cons the only other one I would provide, and this is by no means any fault of the Ocean Maya, is if you love the beach you may want to avoid this region. Again not the hotel, the region. Playa Del Carmen struggles with Seaweed like crazy and the poor staff fight a constant battle to clean the beach but can't win. Trucks of this stuff is taken out daily and they can not keep up. We have been to the Valentine and the Ocean Maya in this regionand I would say you can not go wrong with either one in this region. Overall wonderful stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel for price! Great customer service!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Customer Service. Drinks!
Cons: New beds and pillows!
Location: Playa del Carmen is a $25 cab ride from this hotel. Good bars and touristy stores in Playa.
I really enjoyed my stay at Ocean Maya in Riviera Maya!!! Playa del Carmen is a 20 minute cab ride from this hotel. The pool was really nice. The beach was right off the hotel. It was a nice hotel, but beds and pillows are uncomfortable, but it's doable for a week. It is hard to get towels set up in the rooms, so if you want them switched each day - you might not get any... Customer service: The bartenders (Miguel G, Ignacio and Absalon) at the pool bar were attentive, precise and speedy with their service. I totally enjoyed all my drinks at each bar though. No complaints on the liquor. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. My only suggestion to the check-in / concierge staff is that they offer to make reservations at restaurants for their guest. I've been to many hotels and the front staff makes suggestions, but also reserves when asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Five star hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Overall a beatiful vacation. Beyong my expectation. Keep up the great job.