Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Amazing vacations

Posted Apr 15, 2015
If you love the nature, rustic experience combined with the best attention and comfort, this is the place. Close to the beach, nice restaurant with fusion food made for chef Ulises, the best view on the tables, relaxation and music, great bar and excellent staff; anything you need they are help you for give you the best experience. I want to come back soon!! totally in love!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Experience Overall

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Was expecting the room to be worse than it was. There is no electrical outlet or AC but it has a camping charm which we found sort of fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alma

Beaucoup trop cher !

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Nous avons passés 5 nuits pour plus de 1000€! Trop cher lorsqu'on voit les bungalows ...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: THE LOCATION
Cons: ROOMS COULD USE A FACE LIFT, MADE TO BE A BIT COZIER
Location: THERE ARE TOURS YOU CAN TAKE, BUT ITS NICE JUST TO BE BY THE BEACH AND SWIM
ROOMS QUITE BASIC AND SOMETIMES NO HOT WATER. ITS A BEAUTIFUL LOCATION AND THIS SORT OF MAKES UP FOR THE LACK OF CREATURE COMFORTS. COCKTAILS A BIT EXPENSIVE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach jungle chill vibes!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The beach area and open air dining right off the beach. Perfection. And the little pools! I loved those.
Cons: More hammocks!
I stayed half of the time at Zamas and half here and I have to say, Papaya was definitely my preference of the 2. Yes, it is WAY over priced for what you are getting but that is all of Tulum. I loved everything about Papaya from the teal floors, to the cute wayfinding, meandering jungle paths, outdoor bathrooms, delicious reasonably priced food, beach area, little pools, good music, great beach wifi, nice lounging furniture, open air dining. It was perfect for my taste. Half of the staff were nice and helpful, the other half not so much. But nothing egregious just not the kind of service for the cost. Overall though, everything was fine. My one complaint is to have more hammocks :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn

Life changing experience

Posted Feb 7, 2015
This off the beaten path style hotel embodies all if the most desirable aspects of a beach camping trip with the luxury of five star hotel service. If you want to unplug from the rest of the world and live off the grid, sort of, for a bit then PPP IS FOR YOU!! Iliana is a gem and the entire staff are warm and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Papaya Playa Project Problems

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The cleaning ladies were the best. These were hard working local women who did a great job and needed the income.
Cons: Bathroom & shower water is SALTY Lighting not adequate - use more LEDs Primitive construction Reception & restaurant staff - poor customer service
Location: This is a great resort for young party people that want to drink, eat average Americanised food, and hang out on the beach.
I was sooo disappointed, so please forgive me if I rant a bit Expensive!!! for a SHACK with 2 double beds and no space to move Expedia said this is a designer hotel. Rubbish. These are a bunch of huts (literally! not the resort kind of huts) that use Eco as an excuse for everything that is missing Room not ready when we arrived No towels when finally ready, so we had to march over to resort area to pick up beach towels Water not turned on, so another walk to reception (no phones - eco resort!?) Water eventually turned on, but nobody bothered to tell us, found ut by accident while playing with taps out of frustration Bath & shower water is salty! and low pressure. Nice if hotel description would mention this!!!! Food: average, overprices. Waiters asked for tips!! Spa/ massage: once again we were asked to tip for an already expensive service that cost more than at home and was inferior Scuba dive booked in am was delayed to pm because the forgot to fill air tanks. This stuffed up our family plans as the dives were to happen when the other two of us were having massages
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom xx

Overpriced

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Very basic, rustic facilities that do not match the price you are paying for
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Nice beach, cool vibe but crappy rooms

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: The cool, beach vibe and great music are plusses, while the location is just about perfect.
Cons: The quality of the rooms. This hotel really needs to invest in better beds. Rooms also need more space to place and hang clothes.
Location: Prime spot on Tulum's beach, close to town of Tulum, close to ruins, within walking distance of great restaurants and close to the public beach.
This was my third time in 4 years staying at Papaya Playa in Tulum. Unfortunately, the prices keep going up while the conditions of the room deteriorate. Our shower sprayed water all over the floor, our toilet stopped working, we had a huge scorpion in our room one night, and the bed was the worst bed I've ever slept on. For the first time while on vacation I couldn't wait to come home. The check-in process was horrible - we were not informed of the free/included breakfast, and what we were told was simply untrue - we were told that there were no electrical outlets in our room and there were; we were told that the hotel has electricity 24 hrs but yet the first morning we woke up to no electricity and no water. With that said, the beach at Papaya Playa is beautiful and all the local Mexicans who work there work incredibly hard and are very friendly and helpful. But the foreign management staff at Papaya Playa are extraordinarily unfriendly, unwelcoming, and not hospitable at all. The next time I go to Tulum I will not be staying at Papaya Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rustic Quiet Beach Getaway

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
Beach front cabana well worth it! While it is close to Downtown Tulum, resort is secure and quiet with an active beach bar scene. It is removed from the long stretch of beach resorts with it's own beach area. Will have to take cabs to other restaurants, but location is well worth it if you are looking for some seclusion.