Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great Hotel, great service, excellent food.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Celebrated our 37th anniversary at La Perla. Awesome resort with exceptional service from everyone and great restaurants, beverages. Would recommend highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Fantastic property!

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Location: Great location. 5th avenue is a 20 minute walk down the beach or frontage road. Both options were very safe, although we did cab back at night.
All we expected and more. Beautiful inside and out, nice beach, great service, and wonderful food. Thank you so much for an experience that will not soon be forgotten. We can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Luxury in a resort!!

Posted Dec 22, 2014
I was so pleasantly surprised with this resort. This is my third time in Cancun and this resort by far surpassed my expectation. For starters, this is the first resort I went to where I gained weight! The restaurants have delicious food. The buffet, like most resorts, don't have a lot of salt in the food, so all I did was ask for some extra salt and it was great. The pool area is great. The drinks were delicious: they use good brands of liquors here, I was pleasantly surprised. The pool party that they have on Thursdays is so much fun. The activities they have are fun, and they have activities during the night. The dancers are so much fun to watch. The beach is beautiful, but windy, and there is a lot of driftwood sticking out from the ground; you may need beach shoes to go in the water. One thing I would like to remind everyone; these people make 6 dollars a day; they appreciate any extra tips you leave. I made it a habit to leave at least 5 dollars wherever I went. Special thanks to Rigoberto at breakfast, Emanuel at The grill, Raul, romina and everyone at Mole, and Jorge a. and David at the bars, you all made our stay extra special and we will be back soon just to see you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Amazing

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Amazing all inclusive and every bit deserving of the high rating. All staff are fluent in english and spanish and know how to connect to the guest. The music, entertainment and food was top notch. Way to go Melia, we will be back next year!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Close to a beach, but ...

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Food is excellent, staff is very friendly, service is good
Cons: Make heated pools with water fall for all resort's pools. Clean beach area. Let all guests use sauna and hot tub without extra charge
If you stay in 'adults only' might be a problem getting into water - rocks and trees, 'red flag' warning, only children's section is more or less clean. To simply use sauna and/or hot tub in the resort there is an extra charge $30.00 per day. Other resorts of this quality in Cancun have this service without extra. This is a hidden fee, in spite of staying in 'a royal' jr suite usage of a 'royal' swimming pool was not allowed. This is an only resort's pool where water is heated and if air is not warm enough, all other pools are useless
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Resort.
Cons: SERVICE!
My boyfriend surprised me with a last minute trip to La Perla Paradisus in Playa Del Carmen. It was a much needed getaway &we were both extremely excited. At check-in he decided to surprise me further & upgraded us to the Presidential Suite. In brief, the hotel itself was beautiful...the staff on the other hand was extremely disappointing..in many ways. We had issues with one of the jacuzzi's on the patio which created smoke throughout the whole room. When we called for service, there were 4 men running in and our room between 11pm-1am...ruining what was supposed to be a fun night by ourselves in our suite. The very next morning, service of any kind (including food, new towels, etc) took almost 2 hours for any type of response..when on the other line, the operator was telling us 5 minutes. It was beyond annoying after about the 8th call. Throughout the extent of our stay, we would kindly ask for small requests such as: ice to be delivered, ordering food, ordering liquor, making dinner reservations on site, reserving cabana's for the following morning,...up to even spa reservations. EVERYTHING was a hassle...and no one ever just gave a straight answer. We had to goto the locations to make any types of reservations (the resort is not small at all). There are so many more instances which I don't have space here to note on..but ALL in ALL, considering we booked the absolute best suite on site, w/ "ROYAL SERVICE" we were completely appalled..the service was a headache and a half!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom KS

It's not adult only...

Posted Dec 16, 2014
I was very disappointed! We wanted adult only... Kids stay home... The kids were in the middle of the resort. It's near a neighborhood. We could hear the neighbors and the dogs barking. Another reason I wouldn't stay there again. Massage tables were hard! Not relaxing at all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta Ga

Fantastic Birthday Surprise.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed everything at the hotel
Cons: The gift shop should have be better stocked with items in the event you did not want to leave the grounds to shop.
Location: We only left the resort once for a day cruise . We were picked up at the hotel. I did not see any thing else near the hotel.
My husband and I celebrated my birthday at this resort. We checked in the day beffore my birthday and after checking in, I had the wonderful opportunity of meeting Viviann. She was the hostess that informed us of all of the aminities there as well as assisted with making our dinner reservations. I happened to mention that the following day was my birthday. Well guess what? On my birthday I was surprised with room service bearing a lovely birthday cake, and upon our return to the room later that evening the bath tub was filled with warm water and lots of beautiful baloons. The grounds are beautiful and so clean, the staff is very professional and the food is good. There is entertainment each evening as well as there was a pool party. I also learned to Salsa. The beach is clean and well attended to by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ontario, canada

Best vacation ever!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
We stayed in the 'reserve' section and loved it all. We aren't beach people so we loved the beautiful heated pool, it was an added bonus on a cooler day. The restaurants were all amazing, the evening entertainment was good, the resort was beautiful everywhere you went, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the whole experience was more then we anticipated!! we would love to go back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston,MA

Great facilities,terrible beach and ok buffet food

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Facilities are great. Very modern. Great pool area. Restaurants have very decent food for all inclusive hotel
Cons: Beach definitely needs improvement. There is only tiny spot where you can enter the water easily.
This hotel have only too minuses beach and buffet food. Beach is pretty small. There are a lot of rocks and pieces of old wood sticking out the water at the shore line. However very nice umbrellas and beach chairs. Also, they have unlimited towel supply. Buffet food is pretty bad, very limited selection. On the good side, there are quite a few restaurants that offer very good food. I was very impressed. Rooms and all the facilities are modern and new. Loved it. Great entertainment. All shows and singers were very good.