Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Wonderful stay

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Time Share! That being said we met with our concierge, Selene who was very gracious. She set up all of our dinners. We told her that we did not want to do anything with the “timeshare” aspect. She granted our wish and we respect her for that. I have never given a hotel 5 stars and especially a time share one. This place was wonderful. We were there Nov 8-15, 2014 celebrating our 35th anniversary and my birthday. We walked into our 4 room suite and could not believe our eyes. There was a bottle of champagne waiting for us upon arrival and cake delivered on both of our special days. For our anniversary they put rose petals leading to the large bathtub and made us a bubble bath. The food was great and the staff was wonderful. The beach was not the best but doable. I don’t want them to dig out the mangrove or take out the coral, so enjoy natures beauty. We spent a lot of time at the South bar because it was near our room and the staff was great. Raul, Guadalupe and Ulises took care of us. At the beach Reyes always took care of us. We would defiantly go back but we stay at a different hotel every time we travel. We will look for other properties owned by Paradisus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

recommend royal service

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Again the Royal service is like a hotel within a hotel members only. It just gives you more privacy
Royal service is an added bonus. We were lucky enough to have Gisel and I can't stress enough how nice it is to have the same person look out for you and take care of you, they quickly learn your personality and she made our stay the BEST EVER. If you are looking for adults only The Royal service gives you that much more privacy..even going so far as to have a separate area of the beach...(I should mention some of the restaurants will have kids but the parents were very mindful and the kids were really well behaved!!) and if you are worried..just book late meals. This was the most relaxing vacation my spouse and I have ever had. We just returned home Nov 21st--and during our stay it never seemed busy or full of people...lots of those day beds available in nice quiet locations!!! Awesome!!! and waiters come and find you to keep your thirst quenched!! Yes pick this hotel and ENJOY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Excellent experience! Absolutely Paradise. So sad to be home but I shall return soon!!.. Oh and loved Viviana as our concierge. She helped with everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Very helpful and friendly staff!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Definitely plan to go back and stay at the Esmeralda side of the resort so we can bring our kids! Very positive experience overall!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Amazing!!!!!!!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
My wife and I decided to have our honeymoon at this amazing resort. First, I must say that we have never had service this great before. All the staff, from check-in to the lovely ladies that cleaned our room, were extremely polite and courteous. So very attentive!!! My favorite part was that after making our dinner reservations for the week with our concierge, I told them of my food allergy and every restaurant was notified ahead of time of what I couldn't eat. We will definitely revisit and I highly recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great food.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
It was all as expected,great hotel facilities, room was great and large variety of food options. However hotel staff was good and bad, wide spectrum of service quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom charlotte

Beautiful new hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Rooms and grounds were so nice. Great staff, had an awesome time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom McKinney, TX

The only place we stay in Playa del Carmen.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness over the entire facility. Great attention to detail. Fabulous service.
Cons: The doors closing and opening are quite loud and echo in the marble hallways. If there is a way to lessen the sound, that would be my recommendation.
The resort may have actually improved even more in just the last 10 months since we were there last. The food was just unreal. We love the staff and their willingness to put us first in everything. The restaurants are a real treat and the presentation is over the top. We have been at the resort for about a total of three weeks over the last two years. We have never had a bad day. This is a fantastic resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Beautiful beach, fantastic room

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Everyone very friendly and helpful. Food could use some improvement but overall excellent vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Great vacation for couples everything included!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Loved the facilities, staff and beach. The one thing that was not great was the food. A handful of restaurants were pretty good but some were not good at all. Would still go back.