Ratings based on 311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beverly Hills

Paradisus Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: I think the resort is very beautiful and is kept very well.
Cons: Customer service seems to be a huge opportunity at the hotel especially since it is upscale.
Location: 5th avenue street is a must see and excursions.
I am not one to ever complain but I believe the hotel experience could of been a whole lot better. First I would begin with the check in process. My husband and I took a red eye flight and arrived early Sunday morning. Their check in process begins at 3pm but having been to other Cancun resorts (Riu Resorts) I have been checked in almost immediately or close to noon. Being that this hotel is more upscale, my expectations were they would accomodate us knowing that we have just arrived from a long flight. The front desk although were polite said they could not check us in until 3pm but would see what they could do. Then they had a hostess (Diana) greet us and showed us around the resort and escorted us to have breakfast. Althougth she was nice with helping us with our dinner reservations for the week we kept explaining how exhausted we were and just wanted to rest. She did not seem to have an urgency with helping us get a room much faster but proceeded with selling us excursion and spa packages. My husband and I were very frustrated due to our flight exhaustion. We soon felt abandoned in the freezing hotel lobby since it began to rain heavily outside and we. After 3 hours of sleeping on the hotel couches no once ever approached us to see how were doing nor offerred a blanket since there was a thuunderstorm outside! Once I awoke, I walked to the front desk and the receptionist looked startled that I was still in the lobby. He quickly said he would get us a room after seeing me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exton, PA

Stunning hotel with great pools

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Paradisus is a beautifully decorated hotel with an amazing lay-out from the rooms to the pools- really stunning design! Great selection of food and drinks and very very friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

The worst hotel i have ever stayed in

Posted Sep 9, 2014
This hotel in not all inclusive, u have to pay for wine and some food. The upgrade that i was promised was not received even though i was told i will get one for free because i booked a 7 night stay. The food itself was horrible if i knew that the entire trip i would be eating hamburgers and hotdogs i would have stayed home. The cleaning ladies DO NOT RESPECT YOUR PRIVACY. They come in when they want even though i had a privacy sign on the door. The staff r rude. The safe that i had in my room was not working after the cleaning lady left my room. (The safe was working just fine for 3 days when i didnt allow the cleaning lady to come in). This is suppose to be adultS only but there were kids everywhere. The only kids free zone was our adults only pool. The restaurants and the beach were full of kids. The beach is really dirty full off seaweed on the sand that is not cleaned all rocks. Basically you dont even want to get in the water thats how dirty it was. The public beach right next to the resort was a lot cleaner. THIS IS NOT ADULT ONLY RESORT!!!!!!#! Over all experience was horrible TO SAY THE LEAST.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Resort

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The food was excellent!!
Cons: I know you can cut down the mangroves but at least admit there are no ocean view. The beach was small.
The resort was amazing. The rooms were very nice and the food was great! We loved La Palapa and The Grill. The only bad part are the mangroves. There is essentially no ocean view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Everyone wants money. They talk to you for 2 minutes and then try to sell you something. The resturant Fuego was horrible staff and food. The itinerary said free room upgrade but the charged me $400. The jacuzzi was broken, I called everyday and they fixed it on the 5th day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Resort

Posted Aug 28, 2014
The resort was wonderful, the only down fall was the restaurant reservation availability. I recommend making all your restaurant reservations as soon as you arrive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Best hotel I've been in!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Everything about my experience in paradisus was amazing. From the staff to the hotel facility, the rooms and the food, everything was much more than I expected. I can't wait for next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The food was good for an all inclusive. Loved the Nespresso bar in the lobby! Glad I didn't listen to the bad beach reviews, I loved the beach.
Cons: There could be more umbrellas on the adult only side of the beach. Would love to be able to see the beach more from the resort.
A beautiful hotel, quiet and peaceful on the adult only side. Loved the spa and the beach. Super friendly and attentive staff. Loved talking with Ekaterina from Club Melia, even though I didn't join...yet! There's a nice gym. We enjoyed the tequila tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place! Very romantic

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very relaxing, beautiful place. Hotel facilities, restaurants and rooms were all excellent. Service was exceptional. Might not be the best place if you're interested in a lot of activities and want to be close to downtown Playa Del Carmen. But if you're looking for a relaxing vacation or romantic getaway, I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful getaway to Mexico

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The service was exemplary--from every member of the staff. Also, the food at the restaurants was delicious.
Location: We were not far from many attractions including shopping in Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Xcaret, and Xel-ha.
My husband and I returned yesterday from a week-long stay at the Paradisus La Perla in Playa del Carmen. This trip was the first time we visited Mexico and will definitely not be the last. From the moment we stepped off the van that brought to the hotel and were greeted with cold, refreshing towels and a cool beverage, we felt welcomed and pampered. Most of our time was spent at the pool at La Perla, and the staff was outstanding, particularly Alfonso and Angel. We would recommend this resort to anyone planning a trip to Playa del Carmen; it was a true week in paradise.