Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a hotel. it is not beach

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: do not advertise as hotel
for everything you need a taxi. there are no facilities. it is not on beach. front desk is closed at 6 pm. no phone in room to call outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Comfort.
Cons: the towels.
Location: well located across the street from the beach.
Our unit was amazing. Nicely furnished, kitchen fully stocked with blender, microwave, dishes, everything we could need. The only thing we wished for were more/better towels. If being ocean front is not a priority for you this is a GREAT value. We were across the street from the beach so it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico

Great family easy to and comfortable

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Great pool, beach club access, and fun place to be
Cons: shower head in bad condition, hard to take a shower.
Location: Great Location, few steps from the beach club
Fantastic views, great place, superb pool, and close to the beach club. Head shower in master bedroom was broken and head shower in secondbathroom was not working well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ailefo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 4-star quality!!

Posted Dec 24, 2012
Each room is individually owned so other room might be different. My review is based on the room I stayed. The two-bedroom condo is spacious and provides lots of amenities (but cheap). This is no way a 4 star, I would probably rate it 2.5-star at most. Hair in bed, smelly room, paper thin curtain, no shampoo, broken safe, barely any hotel service... Nothing within walking distance. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jasper from Australia

Fabulous apartment, quiet location

Posted Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Space
Cons: Distance from town- and not right on the beach
Location: Hotel zone - with access to beach via beach club across the road
Rooms were excellent. Very large 2 bedroom apartments. Great kitchens and bathrooms. Downside was the lack of facilities in the complex - no restaurant, bar etc - and also distance from town. Apartments were in the gated hotel zone which is great if you want peace and quiet but a little too far from town to be completely convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay - will definately go again

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Pros: The suite itself is great. Comfortable and quiet.
Cons: The tour operator that lied to us.
Location: Beautiful location.
We really enjoyed our stay at Paseo del Sol and would recommend it to anyone. You will not be disappointed. The room was clean and it felt like we were home everytime we walked through the door. Lots of space and the grounds are beautiful. The condo is in a really nice area. If you are looking for some peace and quiet this is the place to stay. That being said, it is easy to walk or take a cab to 5th Avenue for some shopping and excitement. The only complaint I have is to warn you not to believe the tour operator in the lobby (Marcy). We wanted to go to Xel-ha for the day but did not want to take the tour bus that stops at all the other resorts to pick up people and then stops at the other parks to drop them all off. Marcy promised us that we would be picked up at the door and dropped off at Xel-ha with no other stops. This was not true and we spent at least 1.5 hours driving around in an overcrowded, hot van picking up others. This was not the way we wanted to spend our day and would much rather have just taken a cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from Sartell, MN

March 10 to the 17, 2012

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Rember that this is NOT a hotel, these are 64 individually owned condos. Four are rented out by the developers and the rest are privately owned. The developers we were told are Canadian and the majority of owners are Canadian. And we were told by more than one Canadian that that was the way they liked it. The fewer Americans the better. Period. The staff is very, very good. Remember though that you are in Mexico and when things go awray, well it takes awhile to get them squared again. An example is the fact that that on Monday,March 12th, the outside phone service went down, and when we left on Saturday, March 17th it still was not up. There is no place to get ice, pop any kind of refreshments, nothing on the property. It just is not available, Our room was very, very nice, Very quiet and the pool was to die for. So, if you enjoy walking at lest 15- 20 minutes to get to bars, grocery stores etc. this is the place to go. We hopefully will return at a later date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Families, safe location

Posted Mar 1, 2012
Pros: Condo set-up, location
Cons: Rooms weren't equal size, no breakfast
Location: Nice and quiet/safe, walking distance to downtown (or $7 taxi ride)
Upsides: - condo: holds a large group with 2 bathrooms - gives you free water - Great location: about 10-15 min walk to downtown playa del carmen and one largeish block from the beach (free beach access with pass to resort across the street), quiet - Really awesome pool - Gated neighborhood: safe - Kitchen is nice to have, but we didn't want to waste time getting supplies and cooking meals Downsides: - Security guards didn't speak much english so if you need something outside business hours (end pretty earlier) you're out of luck - No breakfast included and not much in the area for food (you'd have to walk downtown and nothing cheap) - Bought $38 all inclusive day pass for resort across the street--- they don't tell you it doesn't include dinner (only a good breakfast and lunch and really weak drinks--- hint: ask for a shot on the side with every drink or you'll drink 10 of them and feel nothing. Wasn't a terrible value but we felt a little scammed that they almost implied it came with dinner) - The room sizes and quality are not equal. We had a 3 bedroom (reef 205) that had 1 king size bed with attached bathroom, 1 room w/ 2 full beds, and 1 SMALL room with pull out couch. Also a living room with 2 smallish couches that aren't pull out. So you can sleep 8 adults, but if you're splitting cost equally the rooms have large disparity in "niceness"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Good location close to Playa del Carmen, is in Playacar about 8 blocks from downtown