Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Great place to relax and enjoy

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bathrooms could be upgraded
Location: Playa was 5 mins away if you have a car.
We stayed 5 days at Petit Lafitte and we couldn`t be more pleased. The location is great, the beach is gorgeous, the food and the staff are wonderful. If you`re looking for a romantic and relaxing place close to Playa del Carmen this is a great option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and relaxing hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: It was small, quiet and quaint.
Cons: The room lighting, mattress size and the lack of storage for clothes. The owners should consider offering a full menu for the evening meal.
We loved Petite Lafitte. It was perfect place for a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday. It's small, quaint and just the place to be when you want to get away from it all. We stayed in bungalow #3 and it was fantastic. The hotel is about 15 minutes to the north of Playa del Carmen; $16 taxi ride each way. We didn't feel the need to leave the property during our 6 day stay except one time. It's hard to find anything negative to say about this property. The food is good, the drinks great and the staff excellent. David is a wonderful! We used the transfer company on the hotel's website. They were 20 minutes late picking us up and the SUV was really shabby; upholstery torn up. We received no water or offer of a cerveza. Wouldn't recommend. It was $80 for the trip from airport to hotel. Used a different company on the trip back to airport and it cost $50. Want to go to the Playa del Carment area? We definitely recommend Petite Lafitte!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Pleasant and quiet

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Service, food, location
This was a great find. The staff was wonderful, the food was great and we could not have been more pleased. This hotel had everything we wanted and very low key. A great place to stay if you are looking to do a lot of day excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jackiefrom colorado

Relaxing!

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our stay at Petit! Location on the beach with not all the loud resorts around made it so relaxing.When we arrived we were given a tour of the hotel and our room. We stayed in the hotel but they also have bungalows which looked awesome It was nice to see that there was an ac unit which worked very well and a refrigerator/mini bar. It was about sundown and we headed to the bar on the beach and Victor (bartender) was awesome and kept those drinks a flowing (mango daiquiris -oh so creamy and good). He was as well as the other staff members were beyond accommodating and very nice. There was also a restaurant on site that served very good breakfasts and dinners. I also recommend getting a massage!!!!!!! It was awesome to meet the other guests. It was so hard to leave but,we will definitely be back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Awesome little hidden paradise

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it- cant say enough about the hotel staff, hotel and food - loved all of it - from the hammocks by the ocean to the pool, to the pool and ping pong tables - loved it! also very secure with guarded parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A true getaway

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Great staff, lovely beach, delicious meals.
Cons: The hotel uses pesticides in its rooms so that's something to be aware of.
Location: The location is well removed from the main scene in Playa del Carmen. You'll be at the beach or at the pool.
Don't come to Petite Lafitte if your idea of a vacation includes a Starbucks on every block, constant air conditioning at 68F and a shopping mall inside your resort. You won't like it. Come for delicious food in an open air restaurant under a thatched roof, a slice of heavenly beach, hammocks and the kindest staff ever. The hotel is located a good 15 minute ride away from the main strip of Playa del Carmen, so it feels completely in a world of its own. I spent four lovely days here on a solo trip and would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alfredfrom NYC

Private, quiet beautiful little resort

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Away from the main PDC drag and its crowded all-inclusive hotels. It takes 15 minutes by a cab and 180 pesos each way to go to PDC town but so worth it. Beach is pristine, uncrowded and almost to yourself. No fighting for beach chairs and palapa, nor a spot on the swimming pool. Great staff and good breakfast and dinner choices. Absolutely loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I dont want write anything a a a a a a a a a a a Aa a aaa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yosemite

Petite Lafitte is the Sheet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Location & price were perfect. Tons of room on their beach.
Cons: Cancun airport has now monopolized the taxi services. Expect to pay $100 to get anywhere from the airport.
Location: Beautiful turquoise green waters on white sand beach. Cool little pizza place 100 yards from property with surprisingly good pizza & lively little bar
Found them while looking for an inexpensive, unique place near Playa Del Carmen. The beach bungalows caught our eyes immediately. Had glowing reviews that were spot-on . Bungalows are cozy & rustic (yet ours could've slept 5). A little more pricey than reg rooms but totally worth it. The layout gives you an ocean view yet is still private in it's jungle setting. Outdoor bar was 50 feet away & drinks were very reasonably priced. Breakfast & dinner were included & were easily the best meals we've ever had in ANY part of Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Exactly what we were looking for!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We were looking for a place that was quaint & quite without the party scene or big resort feel. The food & staff were excellent, friendly & very accommodating. It was the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation & honeymoon year 1 for us :).