Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A true getaway

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Great staff, lovely beach, delicious meals.
Cons: The hotel uses pesticides in its rooms so that's something to be aware of.
Location: The location is well removed from the main scene in Playa del Carmen. You'll be at the beach or at the pool.
Don't come to Petite Lafitte if your idea of a vacation includes a Starbucks on every block, constant air conditioning at 68F and a shopping mall inside your resort. You won't like it. Come for delicious food in an open air restaurant under a thatched roof, a slice of heavenly beach, hammocks and the kindest staff ever. The hotel is located a good 15 minute ride away from the main strip of Playa del Carmen, so it feels completely in a world of its own. I spent four lovely days here on a solo trip and would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I dont want write anything a a a a a a a a a a a Aa a aaa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yosemite

Petite Lafitte is the Sheet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Location & price were perfect. Tons of room on their beach.
Cons: Cancun airport has now monopolized the taxi services. Expect to pay $100 to get anywhere from the airport.
Location: Beautiful turquoise green waters on white sand beach. Cool little pizza place 100 yards from property with surprisingly good pizza & lively little bar
Found them while looking for an inexpensive, unique place near Playa Del Carmen. The beach bungalows caught our eyes immediately. Had glowing reviews that were spot-on . Bungalows are cozy & rustic (yet ours could've slept 5). A little more pricey than reg rooms but totally worth it. The layout gives you an ocean view yet is still private in it's jungle setting. Outdoor bar was 50 feet away & drinks were very reasonably priced. Breakfast & dinner were included & were easily the best meals we've ever had in ANY part of Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Exactly what we were looking for!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
We were looking for a place that was quaint & quite without the party scene or big resort feel. The food & staff were excellent, friendly & very accommodating. It was the perfect spot for a relaxing vacation & honeymoon year 1 for us :).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 days of a great resting holidays

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The Beach The Beach
Cons: Maybe the hot water issue.....we have Hot water only :) no cold water
Location: Do not miss Cocos Pizza...great place to have a cold one and the pizza is superb
I am going to recommend this hotel as a very good Hotel for couples or families in search of tranquility.... I will definitely will return ... Best Fish Tacos ever... Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gringo from London

Charming hotel, great value and food

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My gf and I had just come from Tulum to spend a night in Playa del Carmen and stayed at Lafitte. We were impressed by the pool area and the condition of the rooms, and the dinner and breakfast (both included) were very good. As an added bonus, we saw a 30 minute historical Mayan war dance / ritual re-enacted on the hotel premises. This was a great surprise. The only negative comment relates to the fact that the beach strip is not nearly as clean as Tulum, and getting into the water is tricky due to sharp edged rocks. We have nothing to fault the hotel and see it as an attractive family holiday location for those looking to spend time in Playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Small, quiet, intimate and right on the water. Excellent beach location. Nice pool area too!
Location: Not much around. Can't really walk to anything, but hotel does arrange for transportation to area attractions.
Can't wait to go back! Casual place to lay back and relax. If you don't have a car, be sure to pick up snacks on the way in since there isn't anywhere close to shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homey Hotel with best beach on strip.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Good food, friendly staff, great beach.
Cons: The toilet in our bathroom was a little slow in flushing, maybe hotter water in shower.
Location: Fun towns in either direction, sinotes, shopping, ruins, snorkeling, swimming
Great stop if you looking for a relaxed vibe, mostly europeans and a few americans, everyone super friendly and relaxed. The staff is wonderful and they have a great sense of humor, really efficient without being at all stuffy or overly attentive. The beach was the best in the area for swimming and there is a great little reef where you can snorkel without having to drive anywhere. Would definitely recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from CT

A relaxing oasis

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Location: Dos Ojos Cenote, Tulum and Coba ruins , Akumal (swin with turtles), and Yal-Ku are all amazing sites.
My boyfriend and I spent a week at Petit Lafitte and had a pleasant and memorable vacation. We are not fussy travelers and the hotel gave us exactly what we needed in Mexico - great beach access, warm and attentive staff, quality food, and easy access to outdoor and cultural activities. We did not care for BIG resort lifestyle with a ton of happenings, amenities, and swarms of people, and that's not what Petit is about. As other reviewers have pointed out, lunch is not included in the board, but is reasonably priced at the beach-side bar/restaurant. Daily menu included complimentary chips/salsa/garlic dip and hamburgers, hot dogs, ceviche, salads, tacos, etc. Mango daiquiri and pina coladas are not to be missed. You can check out the bar-side board for nightly entertainment listings - our favorites were a Mayan performance and violinist/guitar act. The staff members are genuinely warm and made us feel welcome at every turn. David rocks the concierge, and helped us with excursion research, directions, etc. Some may see the distance to Playa a disadvantage, but for us, a single day trip to its shopping strip/beach was plenty. On another day, we rented a car and drove to see the Coba ruins. Highly recommend navigating by car, as the main highway pretty much gets you anywhere you want to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alasdair from Washington DC

Perfect for recharging

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Super nice staff. Peaceful, quiet and self contained.
Location: Not a location for people wanting to party. Would need a car or taxi to get to town.
A small hotel on the beach. Recommended to anyone who wants to recharge.