Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from CT

A relaxing oasis

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Location: Dos Ojos Cenote, Tulum and Coba ruins , Akumal (swin with turtles), and Yal-Ku are all amazing sites.
My boyfriend and I spent a week at Petit Lafitte and had a pleasant and memorable vacation. We are not fussy travelers and the hotel gave us exactly what we needed in Mexico - great beach access, warm and attentive staff, quality food, and easy access to outdoor and cultural activities. We did not care for BIG resort lifestyle with a ton of happenings, amenities, and swarms of people, and that's not what Petit is about. As other reviewers have pointed out, lunch is not included in the board, but is reasonably priced at the beach-side bar/restaurant. Daily menu included complimentary chips/salsa/garlic dip and hamburgers, hot dogs, ceviche, salads, tacos, etc. Mango daiquiri and pina coladas are not to be missed. You can check out the bar-side board for nightly entertainment listings - our favorites were a Mayan performance and violinist/guitar act. The staff members are genuinely warm and made us feel welcome at every turn. David rocks the concierge, and helped us with excursion research, directions, etc. Some may see the distance to Playa a disadvantage, but for us, a single day trip to its shopping strip/beach was plenty. On another day, we rented a car and drove to see the Coba ruins. Highly recommend navigating by car, as the main highway pretty much gets you anywhere you want to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alasdair from Washington DC

Perfect for recharging

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Super nice staff. Peaceful, quiet and self contained.
Location: Not a location for people wanting to party. Would need a car or taxi to get to town.
A small hotel on the beach. Recommended to anyone who wants to recharge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Beautiful beach, awesome stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Would recommend bungalow as rooms kind of musty, otherwise fabulous beach, food was great selection and delicious. Staff went out of their way in all areas. Would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Beautiful beach, awesome stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Would recommend bungalow as rooms kind of musty, otherwise fabulous beach, food was great selection and delicious. Staff went out of their way in all areas. Would definitely go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Arkadi from Moscow

Modest hotel^ with good food^ straight on the sand

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast /lunch. Simple and authentic
Cons: design of the rooms and territory overall
Location: All the Yucatan attractions. City of Playa is 15 min drive
Very good personel. The desighn is a little dated- back to 70-ies. But other than that a great place to be near Playa del Carmen if you want to be with kids and close to the live resort city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dirk from LA

Great easy family beach enviroment

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Good staff, good food, all close together
Cons: Hotel need some face lift in the dinning area and also in front, street
Location: XEL-HA great water fun for the entire family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: the food was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time visit to Petit Lafite

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Staff and view
Cons: ???
Great anniversary trip back to Playa Del Carmen. We have been coming for over 15 years and the Petit Lafite has to be one of my favorites. Great beach access and view and the staff was amazing. Thank you David, Manuel, Victor, Javier and all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by HertsMickey from Herts, UK

Small, friendly hotel that is on the beach

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Location by the beach
Cons: The beds/mattress are really hard. Provide mosquito/insect repellant or mosquito nets in the rooms Provide free transport in the evenings to PDC
Location: Beautiful location. Nothing to do nearby unless you wish to participate in water sports.
The hotel location is great if all you wish to do is have peace and quiet and lie on the beach all day, swim/catch up on your reading or if travelling alone. Petit Lafitte is a small hotel with ~ 30 rooms that is ideal for couples - not families with young/teenage children - as there is no activity or entertainment offered by this hotel. It is very quiet. The décor is simple and may be described as rustic, if you are prepared to overlook some of the comforts that you might still expect in "decidedly modern stylish rustic charm". Whilst the location of Petit Lafitte is beautiful , if you are after something to do in the evenings, its location means you have to travel to Playa del Carmen for variety in your holiday experience or meals. We preferred to go to PDC in the evenings for meals as there was more variety of comparably good quality restaurants available, plus in most cases the meals and drinks were cheaper than at the Pettit Lafitte Hotel. We found that a taxi from PDC will cost anything from 150 to 160 pesos, the hotel however charges a standard 180 pesos to PDC. The difference is however minimal when you translate into your own local currency. The staff at Reception, Luis and Jorge, were great and really helpful and will go out of their way to assist. The waiters were however a little too efficient in checking to see if you had finished your meal so that they could take the plates away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mel from London

Great friendly hotel, right on the beach

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: The food and the staff
Location: The hotel is a 2-hr walk into the centre of Playa del Carmen or a £10 taxi ride.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff quite not be more friendly and welcoming, all speaking a high level of English. The hotel is directly on the beach, the swimming pool is big enough for a proper swim and gets plenty of sun throughout the day. Breakfast at the hotel is like a 3-course meal, really fills you up.