Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Small resort close to beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Room, restaurants, wet bar, clean and nice beach
Cons: Asian restaurant
Location: 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen is within walking distance (~10 mins), which is filled with local shops and hip places.
I went there with my family of two kids; 8 and 13. Our stay at the hotel was really awesome! When we checked in, the front staff upgraded our room to have ocean view, and the room was quite large enough for our family. It was on 1st floor, so when we opened the patio door, we could directly go to the beach. The hotel has three main restaurants; one buffet, one Italian and one Asian with Teppanyaki. All those restaurants served good foods, and the buffet and Italian restaurants were our favorites. Staffs in the resort were very friendly and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Excelent!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: All
Cons: Deserts
Location: Playa del carmen
Wonderfull Hotel and Staff very friendly. Clean and fresh. Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobby & Malena from Calgary AB

Paradise

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Our stay at playacar palace was so amazing. You really wonder if you're dreaming everytime you look out of your balcony and see the amazing turquoise ocean and beautiful pool and tanning area of the resort. The food was delicious at all 3 restaurants and the staff were amazing too! We will definitely stay here again next vacation to Playa del Carmen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Ohio

I have never had better customer service!

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: What I liked most about this resort was the excellent customer service, beach, and location.
Cons: The building itself is aging (tile cracks, etc.) but the crew works very hard daily on various improvements. More variety of food would be nice.
Location: The staff within the resort will be happy to assist you in booking any tours and they have the best prices.
The staff at Playacar Palace is unbeatable and very refreshing! They go out of their way to make things easy and pleasurable for you, working hard in the hot sun all day and late into the night but never complaining or frowning. They always offer up a big smile and respond with "it's my pleasure" when you thank them. The housekeepers clean the rooms thoroughly daily, the maintenance crew works around the clock keeping the building in order and presentable, along with security, public relations, countless waiters, waitresses, bartenders and all the other staff that I can't even mention. I was relieved when they spoke to me in impeccable English and I was impressed when they turned around and spoke fluent Spanish to other guests. I could go on and on about their excellent customer service. It was a pleasure having them in my company. They made my stay that much better. The "partial ocean" view room that we booked had a much more ocean view than expected so that was a pleasant surprise. The room was comfortable and the fridge and minibar was restocked daily. The linens and pillows were very comfortable and clean. The pool area was beautiful, clean, easy to access and the beach was well kept also. The beach was one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen and it is within a stone's throw of the pool area. Downtown Playa Del Carmen is just a few minutes away (walking distance) and taxis are readily available right outside the resort. I would recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love this hotel.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: everything was great
Cons: nothing i can think of
Location: the ferry and shops are within walking distance. everyone else has to take taxi's
Its close to everything to everything with the perfect beach views. The staff is awesome as well. 3rd yr in a row there and no complaints. I will be going there as many times as I can. We called before our flight out to be sure we had a great room with no palm tree in the way like last time and they did even better than we expected
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend to anyone

Posted May 12, 2014
Cons: Nothing
This was the best resort with the BEST staff that we have stayed at. It wasn't the largest but it offered a variety of entertainment everyday. We will go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great service, great location

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Location: You can do scuba diving in the area, trips to Cozumel, walk around town in 5th Avenue and visit Tulum archeological site an hour away.
The good points: great location, great service and food was above average at the asian and italian restaurant but could be better in the buffet. Eating times were very accommodating. Weak points: hotel layout is confusing and not so attractive. Wine selection non-existant in all-inclusive option. For the dry wines: Only one bubbly (but was semi-dry), one dry white, one dry red. Proximity of docking pier was not welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Megan from Oregon

Great Family vacation getaway

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Location: Shopping just 1/2 a block away was wonderful , quick and easy to get to and back on foot.
We arrived and were greeted by very nice staff who brought us cold towels and ice cold beverages before we had even finished checking in. The entire staff was incredible always right there for anything, very friendly nice clean. Our trip consisted of me and my three daughters two of who are under age I was a little hesitant about just four girls in Mexico the resort is so safe i felt i could let my girls go explore around the hotel. The resaruants were delicious. I have a picky eater and they had no problem catering to her desires saying "anything is possible". Shows everynight a fire show by the pool with dinner, a circus show pool side. The pool wait staff was also always there with a smile and whatever you needed. This was the best experince we have ever had. We are already planning a trip back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ramiro from Bogota

Very Good option un PlayaCar

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Overall a Very Good option. Although, some improvements in public áreas And food variety is needed. Is not a Luxury option but is great to Share with Family. The location is fantastic as the hotel is close to Fifth Avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

great beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The beach is amazing and the staff incredible. We were not approached about time share. the hotel has a very relaxing vibe.
Cons: seating at the pool, more umbrellas with pins in them
Location: great location near the cozumel ferry and 5th avenue shops
This was our second stay at playacar palace. We were welcomed immediately by Jesus in the lobby. He remembered us from our previous stay, and wanted to help us in any way he could. The food at the hotel was fabulous. We dined in the italian restaurant and Pedro and Jazz were amazing. We had drinks in the Luna lounge where Roman greeted us with our drinks of choice each evening. The lunch buffet was great, and Israel went out of his way to take care of us. We enjoyed dinner in the japanese restaurant twice and Victor did an incredible job both evenings. We spent most days on the beach. My husband liked to have espresso and cookies. Martha remembered and would ask if she could get that for us. the staff goes above and beyond in my opinion and thats what makes a hotel great. What i didn't like: the guests in the hotel like to reserve chairs at the pool and beach by placing a hotel towel on them. completely inconsiderate when my family of 4 sits on one chair under an umbrella while the woman next to us has 4 chairs, 3 of which sit empty for 2 hours. Maybe the hotel could post a sign?