Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

great beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The beach is amazing and the staff incredible. We were not approached about time share. the hotel has a very relaxing vibe.
Cons: seating at the pool, more umbrellas with pins in them
Location: great location near the cozumel ferry and 5th avenue shops
This was our second stay at playacar palace. We were welcomed immediately by Jesus in the lobby. He remembered us from our previous stay, and wanted to help us in any way he could. The food at the hotel was fabulous. We dined in the italian restaurant and Pedro and Jazz were amazing. We had drinks in the Luna lounge where Roman greeted us with our drinks of choice each evening. The lunch buffet was great, and Israel went out of his way to take care of us. We enjoyed dinner in the japanese restaurant twice and Victor did an incredible job both evenings. We spent most days on the beach. My husband liked to have espresso and cookies. Martha remembered and would ask if she could get that for us. the staff goes above and beyond in my opinion and thats what makes a hotel great. What i didn't like: the guests in the hotel like to reserve chairs at the pool and beach by placing a hotel towel on them. completely inconsiderate when my family of 4 sits on one chair under an umbrella while the woman next to us has 4 chairs, 3 of which sit empty for 2 hours. Maybe the hotel could post a sign?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BURIED from Columbia, MO

VERY NICE TIME!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The credits were a bonus as well as having all-inclusive access to the other hotels in the chain. We had a nice meal in Cozumel.
Cons: I thought the mattress was a bit firm, maybe a softer one would be nice for some people.
We enjoyed our stay here very much during spring break. As stated elsewhere, it's probably the most convenient location in Playa for shopping and crossing to Cozumel. I would have preferred more than 2 specialty restaurants for variety but it was fine for a 4 night stay and the buffet had lotsa options. The food was very good. Reservations for the hibachi tables were tight so do that on the day you arrive. The Italian restaurant was fine w/o reservations, but show up early to shorten your wait for food. The poolside grill food was tasty for a quick bite. We had no problems finding lounge chairs on the beach/pool including an umbrella but reserve some initially (early AM) to see how it's going to be during your particular stay. It appeared as if most rooms had an ocean view. We used our credits for a trip to Tulum and one massage (you pay full price for a 2nd one at the same time) but you will pay tax on it. See the website for credit activities. Unused credits are valid for 1 yr. if you return. Leaving 3 hrs. before flight departure in Cancun was adequate. The ferry to Cozumel gets choppy at times. BE PREPARED if you're susceptible to motion sickness-25mg benadryl was inadequate for my wife-50mg helped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but won't stay again

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The Spa is great
Cons: The entire hotel is in need of remodelling
Location: Close to 5th Ave. Shops, restaurants and Bars (all severely overpriced). If you want peaceful and serene this is not for you>
Pros: Close to 5th Ave. Friendly Staff. Nice Beach. Wicked Spa Cons: Close to 5th Ave. so very noisy. Close to ferry docks so again noisy. Small hotel. Food was just OK. In dire need of remodeling. Only has 1 buffet and 2 specialty restaurants (however did not feel crowded, but limited variety).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from San Diego

Beautiful beach access

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff. Good variety in restaurants. Rooms are nice, they are upgrading this year.
Cons: Update chairs and umbrellas on beach
Location: Close to downtown and ferry to Cozumel. Everything in walking distance. Beach is kept in great condition
Beautiful beach access. Rooms are comfortable and great view of ocean (make sure you get an ocean view with balcony, it's worth it). Staff is very helpful and will any any questions. Credits given are great for tours and spa. You do have to pay tax on credits, but would pay tax if bought on own any way. Overall relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from Delaware

Excellent Location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location on the beach and very close to town.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Many things to do nearby -- beach, downtown, ferry to Cozumel and shopping.
Excellent location on the beach and very close to the ferry terminal to Cozumel and downtown Playa del Carmen. Pool and beach areas excellent, and hotel staff very professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from Pickering, ON

Super resort on beach.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: We loved the size of the hotel and the fact that everyone was so genuinely friendly. It was easy to meet people but you also had space to yourself.
Location: Just a few minutes walk from Playa del Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel.
The staff at the Resort were truly amazing and delightful. The food was varied and delicious and we never felt as though we were eating the same things over and over. The beach was lovely and there were lots of activities to take part in if you felt like it but you were never badgered if you just wanted to kick back and relax. The Entertainment Team were awesome and the kids and adults alike loved playing beach volleyball with them. The Spa is amazing and the fact that you have resort credits to use in the spa was ingenious! We would definitely return to the Playacar Palace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
We stayed at the Playacar Palace and truly enjoyed our vacation. The location is great because it's right on the ocean and within walking distance to the 5th Avenue area. The beach is AMAZING! Lots of chairs to lay out in and in very good condition. The hotel staff were excellent! They were very accommodating and we didn't run into anyone that we were disappointed with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Sandy,Ut

Nice place!

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: Food choices are fairly limited as compared with other resorts
Location: local ferry to Cozumel is really close and Parasailing/Jetskiiing ect.would be nice to have the canoing/windsurfing and other non-motorized free activ
Nice hotel!staff/bartendrrs ect all excellent!rooms are a little small for the money but they are happy to give you a roll away bed if needed.Food was Ok-but having now seen Moon Palce/Cozumel palace AND Playacar palace-I must say that your chain could learn alot from thr "RIU" chain!THeir food types were vastly more with themed nights for the buffets and choices galore as compared with the palaces. Beach setup was nice with entertainment from "fire dancers" ect and the activities staff wee very good at their jobs.But because of the limited food/crampy rooms I can only manage a 3.5 to 4 star personally.All around good times had by all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave from Seattle, WA

Great location and best all inclusive resort

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Cons: We were at a friends wedding, and they served these chocolate looking brownie things that honestly tasted like dirt.
Location: Close to town, and the ferry to Cozumel.
Girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days after spending the previous week at a condo on the far end of 5th avenue of Playa Del Carmen. The location is great, right down town, which is nice, but since the hotel is all inclusive you feel like you are throwing money away if you go out on the town. All of Playa Del Carmen is really nice, and a very safe place to stay. Many of the public beaches along 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen are very nice, but they tend to be a mix of locals, and tourists, which isn't a big deal, as I think it is illegal for locals to sell stuff on the beach, so you aren't constantly getting hassled to buy something. The Playcar Palace is on the north end of 5th avenue, so it is removed from many of the local access points. The rooms are stocked with booze (Vodka, Rum, Gin, Tequila) and a bottle of red wine is provided each day, and the fridge is stocked with both domestic and international beer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raphael from Lexington, KY

Comfort and Joy

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, cleanliness, STAFF. Clean, uncrowded beach.
Cons: Access to transportation;
Location: 30 miles south of Cancun airport. Cozumel within sight. Ruins, caves, fishing.
You are greeted with a fruit drink in an open reception area. You are quickly fitted with an ID bracelet which ensures your access to the property. If you check in before your room is ready (officially 3 pm) you are allowed to roam the property and are summoned with a beeper when the room is available. In the meantime we were briefed about using "credits" for tours, golf, wine upgrades and use of the spa. The caveat here is that these amenities are ridiculously overpriced and all require a sales tax (16%). The room was about average sized with 2 double beds (what we asked for) and a balcony. It was quite clean and smelled fresh. All common areas were kept clean. Dining areas were always clean and food areas uncluttered. Food is such a subjective topic I can only offer the following: The food was overall well suited to my tastes - I may not know what's good, but I know what I like. The pool area was well maintained but the swim up bar was not consistently staffed. The rest of the pool area was well attended by wait staff who were in constant motion. They were prompt, polite, and never solicited a tip. I gave several tips but I never felt like I was expected to do so. Very comfortable. Very relaxing.