Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Playacar palace was an oasis. We went at the perfect time-not too crowded and we could always find chairs on d beach & pool. We had concierge level service which we would recommend. Excellent food & service. We had some hiccups with room service but a few calls to front desk & everything was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Will not return to Playacar Palace

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The restaurant staff are very nice, and accommodating. Food quality is good, though choices are limited.
Cons: This aging building suffers from decades of deferred maintenance. It may be more costly to fix all the hidden damage vs. demolish and rebuild
Location: The beach is nice, but beware of bottle caps and other man-made debris. Ferries to Cozumel are just a short cab ride from the hotel, and cheap too!
When we arrived, the hotel staff greeted us nicely, and brought us refreshing drinks. The check-in process was a bit long, since there was only 2 people working at the front desk. Once we got in out room, I noticed that more than half our "Ocean view" was obstructed by a large building facet (a gigantic cylindrical stack), but given that we were planning on spending most of our time outside, we figured it was not a huge deal. I also noticed the room was recently painted, from the fresh paint smell. On the second night, there was a heavy rain storm, and I went back to the room to grab a diaper for my son, when I noticed the sound of water drops from above the bed/head board area. Upon further examination, I found water on our pillows, and running down the walls, with the fresh wall paint blistering and peeling. I decided to move our belongings away from that area and reached for the phone to call the front desk, but once stepped towards to phone, my foot landed in a pool of standing water and I slipped and hurt my shoulder on landing. Marble floors make it very hard distinguish between wet and dry. After I collected myself, and dialed the front desk, they sent someone up to "investigate". It took them 45 minutes to find us a dry room, and they assured us we "won't have to go back to the wet room tomorrow". Our new room had no view, mostly the red roof tiles of the adjacent property. No apology, no upgrade, and not even a comparable room. Spend your money elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great service,great location, paradise at its best

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Amazing!!!! Friendly staff, clean, get pampered and the best beach in riviera maya. Best all-inclusive experience with top shelf alcohol. Low key, relaxing resort which is what we wanted.... Perfection!!! Playacar Palace does it right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo, Brazil

Hotel perfeito!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Tudo, mas principalmente do atendimento. Todos os funcionários são muito atenciosos e prestativos. Nunca vi nada igual!
Cons: Não tenho nada para sugerir de melhoria.
Location: Localização é ótima. Dá para ir andanando à 5a avenida, há uma praça com lojas de grife ao lado, atrações como Xcaret e Xplor são muito perto.
O hotel é maravilhoso. Nunca vi um atendimento tão bom. Todos os funcionários são atenciosos e simpáticos. O serviço com certeza é o melhor que já vi (mesmo se comparado a hotéis 5 estrelas que já fiquei). O hotel é pequeno, se comparado com os mega hotéis que existem na região e também em Cancun, mas é perfeito. Muito bonito, bem localizado e com limpeza impecável. Isto também ajuda para que ele não seja lotado e barulhento. Perfeito para quem quer um ambiente relaxante, aconchegante e bonito. A praia do hotel também é linda. Isto é importante já que outros hotéis maiores podem não ter uma praia tão boa. A localização é muito boa, muito perto da 5a avenida onde há diversas lojas e de praça com lojas de grife. Dá para andar e passear bastante. Além disto parques como Xcaret e Xplor ficam a 10 minutos de carro. O ferry para Cozumel fica do lado do hotel. O sistema all-inclusive deste hotel é muito bom! A comida é maravilhosa, tudo de ótima qualidade. O buffet de café da manhã é demais! Apesar de não ter muitas opções de restaurantes, ambos os restaurantes Italiano e Oriental possuem cardápios bastante variados e são divinos. Além disto, o bar da piscina que também atende o serviço de praia possui snacks e lanches/pizzas bem gostosos. Recomendo a todos! Fui de lua de mel e não tenho nada para reclamar. A experiência foi perfeita.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Best Hotel on the Mayan Riviera, Mexico

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Accommodation, Staff, Service, Food, Facilities, Spa, Beach, Pool - basically everything.
Cons: It would be good if there had been a sailing boat or two available at the Hotel but the beach and sea swimming was so good it was not missed.
Location: Amazing beach, easy walk into the Playa Del Carmen town (centre 5-10mins away) arrange all tours etc in hotel (good deals) including dolphin swims.
We stayed in a number of hotels on the Mayan riviera in Mexico and the Yucatan and this was by far and away the best hotel. It had the best beach on the riviera, the room was in great condition, clean and very well presented, the staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating and the food and drinks in the all inclusive were brilliant - fresh cooked to order. Compared with many resorts which are too big, over populated, with catches to the all inclusive and the food cooked en mass, this was a brilliant hotel and we would recommend it to anyone considering a trip to the East coast of the Yucatan, or even a trip there just to go to this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Best Service, Best Location, Best Beach

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Service, Location, Close to Cozumel Ferry, Great Food , Great Value
Cons: Nothing
Location: Ferry to Cozumel and opportunity to visit the sister resort, Cozumel Palace, and enjoy their pool, service and snorkeling
It is not just beautiful place but excellent location and attentive staff. You could not ask for anything better. Many other visitors we met on the beach compared their resorts to the Playacar Palace and each wished they stayed here instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, close to Playa del Carmen center,

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: see above, more flexibility with "invited" guests
Extremely friendly staff, very good facilities, close to the center of playa del carmen (so you can walk to where the action is). Two minor disadvantages. 1)The formula all inclusive doesn't allow you to invite friends unless they buy a daily pass (100$). It is not even possible to seat with them in the lobby and offer them a glass of water. It is about security but the regulations are too tight! 2) quality of the water not excellent, as it is close to the ferry pier and in general it seems that at Playa del Carmen effluents are just out into the sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Great hotel but food limited

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Hotel was great but food was average.The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble.Compared to the other hotels this hotel looks to have the best beach. Two downsides would be food can be the same over and over again.The italian restaurent could have more variety and faster service. The planners also seem sooo busy and it can get annoying waiting for them.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Nice hotel very close to the beach

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The room and service were excellent. The food was very good.
Cons: Pool area is too small and too shallow. The entrance facade to the hotel is shabby. A bar with atmosphere is required.
Location: The hotel is in the heart of the hustle and bustle of fifth avenue.
The hotel and room were very clean. The bed was so comfortable! The food is good and the service is excellent. The hotel staff cannot do enough to help and are very courteous. There are a couple of things that let the hotel down, the swimming pool is not deep enough and although there is some evening entertainment, there is no decent bar to have a few drinks and socialise. There is a Lunar Lounge but this is very tired looking and although there is a stage of sorts there are a series of large pillars that obstruct your view. The lobby bar is very brightly lit and is more like a waiting area than a comfortable place to have a drink and meet people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The service, location and room size.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A few steps to the 5th ave.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel where the food, view and service are perfect.