Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Colombia, Canada

Great location, alright resort.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The option of the restaurants is nice, but remember to book in advance. The main restaurant has a really awesome breakfast spread.
Cons: The amenities in the spa, or inform the guests at minimum about facilities not being in service. Better staff service in general!
Location: Walk on the main street, catch a fairy to the island, get a spa on the beach!.. better than the spa on the resort.
We stayed here for my brothers wedding, and the location for walking out on the main streets is great. The hotel itself doesn’t offer much in terms of entertainment, or atmosphere. There is a well spa, however during our stay half of the spa amenities didn’t work, and I thought it wasn’t professional they hadn’t bother to inform us until we were attempting to use them. We had a leak in our roof in our room, and it took the staff over an hour to relocate us to another room in the middle of the night.. the staff weren’t in any hurry or apologetic and considering the rating and expense of the hotel it wasn’t great service. Staff here won’t give as good of service if you don’t tip well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires

Excelente servicio!

Posted May 11, 2015
Fuimos a Playa del Carmen a celebrar nuestro aniversario de 10 años de matrimonio, y la experiencia en Playacar Palace fue inolvidable. Más allá de las instalaciones, las cuales son de primer nivel, de la localización del hotel (al lado del muelle que sale para Cozumel y a pasos de la 5a avenida), nunca tuvimos tan buen servicio en ningún otro viaje. Empezando por Luis en la recepción, el cual regalaba una flor todos los días a mi hija de 5 anos ("es porque me ama mucho papá...") y además resolvió todos nuestros tramites con increíble carisma y agilidad. Estuvimos también en las manos de Jessica Camelo para los tours y su atención fue espectacular. Su amabilidad y profesionalismo son increíbles. Nos brindó toda la información que necesitábamos e hicimos con ella toda la planificación muy rápidamente y disfrutamos muchísimo de todo. Quedamos también muy tranquilos después de conocer Miyuki del Kids Room, la cual nos traspareció mucha confianza para lo más importante que traíamos...y luego, para nuestra sorpresa, nuestra hija ya estaba prefiriendo quedarse en el kids room que ir a la playa... Imposible no agradecer el espectacular servicio que nos brindaron Lizbeth y Berenice en la piscina y playa, muy atentas en todos momentos. En el restaurante, Porfírio fue espectacular, no nos permitiendo faltar nada, con una increíble visión de las cosas antecipandose a las necesidades. Disfrutamos muchísimo de todo, y queremos regresar lo más pronto posible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St.Louis

Trip to paradise

Posted May 2, 2015
Beautiful resort, great service with smiling friendly staff. Romantic and fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The one thing that ruined this hotel for me....

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Service. The wait staff are fantastic.
Cons: Check in is ridiculously long. The beds were not comfortable.
Location: Great location on the beach quick walk to everything in town.
I was staying with a friend and we had requested two double beds. Upon the exceptionally long check in they told us that they "upgraded" us to an ocean view room, that's nice but does it have two beds because that is more important than a view. Yes a king and a cot...and it is the only room that we have so you don't really have a choice. So I spent $1700 for 5 days to sleep on a cot? They were not able to move us until the last night - at that point it wasn't worth moving all of our stuff. Otherwise the hotel was very nice, the food was great and other than the front desk the staff was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom copenhagen

Really nice hotel on the beach 😄

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location
Nice hotel, pool and facilities. One primary restaurant beyond the buffet restaurant. The Italien is not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Playcar Palace

Great vacation!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Warm and friendly
Cons: The rooms are small and an option to have a larger room would be nice. That may be the reason we would try another resort.
Had a great time. Staff and hotel were excellent. Food was over the top - great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethany Beach, DE

Great location at Enjoyable Location

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location, dining staff (especially the professionalism of Crystal and her dining staff) and pool area/activities.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Perfect location for travel to sites, shopping and sightseeing.
Location, dining staff (especially the professionalism of Crystal and her dining staff) and pool area/activities where exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethany Beach Delaware

Great Place in Playa del Carmen

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The location and hotel restaurant, housekeeping and pool entertainment Staffs. Of particular note were Crystal and her assistants in the dining area.
Cons: Not much if anything.
Location: Lots of sightseeing and activities. Very safe, clean and fun place to vacation.
Our 3rd year here. A great place to vacation. The prices are fine and the sightseeing, activities, town, food, bars, etc are all excellent for every budget. We feel very safe and secure when we travel here and wander around the area. The people are extremely friendly and customer oriented. Over all of our visits (the latest for 10 days for 8 of us), we never had any problem or confrontation with anyone. A great place to see and experience with adults and/or children. Our most favorite continues to be our hostess Crystal at the dining room. The professionalism and service of her and her assistants are unsurpassed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Killara

Playacar Paradise

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Fantastic place to stay. Hope to return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

We had an excellent vacation!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: There was always someone around asking if we wanted drinks. Fantastic service! Location is great. Friendly staff!
Cons: The front desk didn't seem happy to help, and were not very friendly. They were fine at Check in, but after that, not so much.
Location: Right in Playa del Carmen- can walk into town for shopping, drinks, dinner anytime!
We loved everything about the experience ay Playacar- the food, the overall "feel" of the hotel, the staff- helpful and friendly, and the kids Club. My daughter was so sad to leave Miyuki and loved spending time with her at the Kids Club. The location is fantastic- right in Playa del Carmen town, which is very quaint. I also loved that we could use resort credits for the spa, golf and the dolphin discovery. The only complaint I have is that a few times, we went to the "front desk" to ask for things (the key wasn't working, we needed plastic bags etc.) and they were not very friendly or helpful. But this is just one small thing... I would return here again!