Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The service, location and room size.
Cons: Nothing
Location: A few steps to the 5th ave.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel where the food, view and service are perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

one of the worlds best

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the main street, ferry to cozumel one min walk
We just returned from 5 days at Playacar Palace at the end of August. This was my second visit to Playa but first to the palace and we had an amazing time here. So much that we extended for a day, considered cancelling the rest of our US trip just to stay longer. We are already planning our next visit(I looked at flights today even though we returned to AUS two days ago). The location is perfect for La Quinta(main street) the beach is beautiful, the service is amazing, we stayed in room 137 which was opposite thebar therefore were having drinks delivered to the balcony. The pool bar is fun , the entertainment is amazing, the food in the buffet alone is the equivalent of a hatted restaurant. The two other restaurants are also top establishments and all the staff are very accomodating and helpful. The best part of this all is that it is all inclusive- absolutely nothing spent in the hotel. All drinks are top shelf , I cant understand how they can possibly profit with such amazing food/drinks/location/entertainment. We met people who had been 15 times. I can guarantee we will be back within the year and each year thereafter. I cant wait and count the days till we return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This resort is awesome!! So peaceful, food is great, customer service is out of this world! They make you feel like royalty!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Room 101 was GREAT Staff was very nice but some didn't understand English Over-all the pool, beach, and view were second to none
Cons: Already mentioned that above
Location: The shopping right next door was great
would not restock refrigerator with beer requested. It's ALL-inclusive!!! one beer or twenty-one-----I paid for the ammenities. Two beers to MY liking per day don't make it. Nice place but would never go back PARTICULARILY when I was told the problem would be solved on two different occasions-----drinks at the pool are NOT the same tasting as in a can. IF all of their resorts are stocking frig ONCE a day with three beer selections and I only want ONE type and can only get two of "my" one type DAILEY when there's heat and humidity---we'll explore other all inclusive resorts in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beach First

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: the facility is very old. However it is update and very clean. The staff is incredible.
Location: Very close to shuttle over to Cozumel. Hotel sits next to beginning of 5th avenue the main shopping district.
Number one on the list for my wife and I was the beach. Playacar Palace fully met our expectation. The beach was incredible. It was maintained very well and the beach furniture was very nice to lounge on. The pool was very close to beach as well. The beach service staff never let you run out of your favorite beverage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Our vacation was amazing. The staff at this resort is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Just awesome, can't ask for more

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beyond perfect, steps to 5th ave for an evening stroll
Hi we were bless to be able to return for our 2nd time in 6 months. This hotel should be rated a 10 star for service and quality. There is absolutely nothing that you should want for as they offer everything possible. I requested certain rooms from Carmen and Elizabeth and was pleased my wishes were met. I unfortunately have food allergies to gluten and dairy and with the help and assistance of everyone I spoke to, they went out of their way to accommodate me and had no trouble at all. Please do not hesitate to spend your holiday at the Playacar Palace. Wonderful everything. A special hello and thanks to Javier, Viviana and Gamaliel in the lobby bar. They were the evening icing on the cake before we retired for the evening. They truly touched our hearts with outstanding smiles and service. Everyone is fantastic and makes you feel so special. We are a professional couple that has been travelling for over 20 years, and this is the first hotel ever that we have return for a second time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Small resort close to beach

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Room, restaurants, wet bar, clean and nice beach
Cons: Asian restaurant
Location: 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen is within walking distance (~10 mins), which is filled with local shops and hip places.
I went there with my family of two kids; 8 and 13. Our stay at the hotel was really awesome! When we checked in, the front staff upgraded our room to have ocean view, and the room was quite large enough for our family. It was on 1st floor, so when we opened the patio door, we could directly go to the beach. The hotel has three main restaurants; one buffet, one Italian and one Asian with Teppanyaki. All those restaurants served good foods, and the buffet and Italian restaurants were our favorites. Staffs in the resort were very friendly and kind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Medellin

Excelent!!!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: All
Cons: Deserts
Location: Playa del carmen
Wonderfull Hotel and Staff very friendly. Clean and fresh. Amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by B. Hartung from Playacar Palace

beautiful location, service was impeccable

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it all, food was outstanding even at the buffet. Only complaint was the thatched roof was right over our balcony, Big mess every day and too many pigeons flying in and around it, nesting, so therefor feathers and bird droppings within a few hours of being cleaned! The staff at the resort is top-notch, so accommodating and polite. The spa was 5 star all the way!