Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Honeymooners stay away

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Probably a great place for families to stay. Lots of resort credits, things to do and close to everything. But not a place for honeymooners. <9yo's out number adults and there is ZERO activities for adults only. Even the "Luna Lounge" has more kids in it after 10pm than adults. Not a bad facility, nice rooms, nice people, but just not the place to go on a romantic honeymoon. Pools (realistically only 1 small one) are tiny and outdated. Good beach but seating and chairs are old and uncomfortable so most people use the pool anyway. Good food but only 3 restaurants (Mexican, Asian and Italian). Gets old after 4-5 days (we stayed for 10). We did visit Cozumel (even older and more run down) and Moon Palace. If you are going on a honeymoon and are mid 20's-30's GO TO MOON PALACE. It's like the Bellagio or an upscale Las Vegas resort. Awesome HUGE pools, TONS of awesome restaurants etc. It's family oriented too, but has adults night clubs etc. if I did it again I'd stay at Moon Palace (either the Nizuc or Grand wing). Palace is a good brand, nothing bad to say about the staff, but Playacar is not the place for honeymooners
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

Excelent!!!!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
We had a lot rain. But the staff always stay friendly. We had a fun time! Thanks, Maria Jaramillo
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES CA

Older smaller resort Great staff

Posted Jun 17, 2015
To start room type, "ocean view" room was actually a partial view room, from inside of room unable to see the ocean, at extremely small balcony, a small round coffee table and 2 chairs, you had a wall on the left blocking the ocean view and meant no sunrises in the mornings also a huge pillar blocking the ocean view, so in reality was a corner partial view. Was invited to a sales meeting, didnt mind used to these throughout Mexico. Was insulted and was reminded why we did not have an oceanview room by sales staff. At the buffett, food would be cold, on a daily basis approx. 8am would run out of ...conchas, mexican sweet bread. At the grill at the pool area, everyday before noon time they would run out of syrups for the smoothies. In addition was told they ran out of shrimp and had not recieved shrimp, keep in mind they have shrimp ceviche and shrimp tacos on their menu Lastly, on our last nite i pre-checked out at about 6pm to avoid any issues the following morning, was being picked up at 3:30 a.m, by our private transportation booked thru Expedia. We had ordered breakfast thru their roomservice and we called to inform them of this thursday nite, we were told to place it outside on the door knob and it would be picked up.by 11pm. So, at 230am, when we got up expexting our breakfast, and none, i called and they had no idea of our order, i explained to them our situation and order was brought to us as our transportation arrived. And at the lobby was treated as a thief.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francissco

First time and good time

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Cons: How about a little cafe??
4 of us stayed for 7 nights and love this resort. It i s small and relax and most importantly not crowded like a grand hotel or resort and easy access to the beach and pool. The employees of this resort work hard and good as a team to care for the patrons. The location is also good, we just walk to the ferry dock within 10 minutes. We go to the beach everyday and enjoy all of those 3 restaurants. We will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Colombia, Canada

Great location, alright resort.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The option of the restaurants is nice, but remember to book in advance. The main restaurant has a really awesome breakfast spread.
Cons: The amenities in the spa, or inform the guests at minimum about facilities not being in service. Better staff service in general!
Location: Walk on the main street, catch a fairy to the island, get a spa on the beach!.. better than the spa on the resort.
We stayed here for my brothers wedding, and the location for walking out on the main streets is great. The hotel itself doesn’t offer much in terms of entertainment, or atmosphere. There is a well spa, however during our stay half of the spa amenities didn’t work, and I thought it wasn’t professional they hadn’t bother to inform us until we were attempting to use them. We had a leak in our roof in our room, and it took the staff over an hour to relocate us to another room in the middle of the night.. the staff weren’t in any hurry or apologetic and considering the rating and expense of the hotel it wasn’t great service. Staff here won’t give as good of service if you don’t tip well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Excelente servicio!

Posted May 11, 2015
Fuimos a Playa del Carmen a celebrar nuestro aniversario de 10 años de matrimonio, y la experiencia en Playacar Palace fue inolvidable. Más allá de las instalaciones, las cuales son de primer nivel, de la localización del hotel (al lado del muelle que sale para Cozumel y a pasos de la 5a avenida), nunca tuvimos tan buen servicio en ningún otro viaje. Empezando por Luis en la recepción, el cual regalaba una flor todos los días a mi hija de 5 anos ("es porque me ama mucho papá...") y además resolvió todos nuestros tramites con increíble carisma y agilidad. Estuvimos también en las manos de Jessica Camelo para los tours y su atención fue espectacular. Su amabilidad y profesionalismo son increíbles. Nos brindó toda la información que necesitábamos e hicimos con ella toda la planificación muy rápidamente y disfrutamos muchísimo de todo. Quedamos también muy tranquilos después de conocer Miyuki del Kids Room, la cual nos traspareció mucha confianza para lo más importante que traíamos...y luego, para nuestra sorpresa, nuestra hija ya estaba prefiriendo quedarse en el kids room que ir a la playa... Imposible no agradecer el espectacular servicio que nos brindaron Lizbeth y Berenice en la piscina y playa, muy atentas en todos momentos. En el restaurante, Porfírio fue espectacular, no nos permitiendo faltar nada, con una increíble visión de las cosas antecipandose a las necesidades. Disfrutamos muchísimo de todo, y queremos regresar lo más pronto posible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis

Trip to paradise

Posted May 2, 2015
Beautiful resort, great service with smiling friendly staff. Romantic and fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lilian from Curitiba

Hotel para voltar e voltar e voltar....

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Mais uma vez uma ótima compra com a hoteis.com. Ficamos muito satisfeitos com este hotel . Ótima localização fica ao lado do terminal maritimo que vai para Cozumel, a praia em frente é maravilhosa, o hotel é impecável, atendimento comida e bebidas excelentes. Quarto muito confortável, hidro em todos os quartos. Todos os funcionários muitíssimos educados , sem exceção . Saudades da Crystal, Cesário ambiente acolhedor e tranquilo. Vc pode utilizar os demais hoteis para passar o dia em Cancun e Cozumel.Um hotel para voltar com toda a família.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Belinda G from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable rooms, convenient location, good value

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 4 nights with a friend in April. Location was easy walk to 5th Avenue shopping, yet quite and removed from the hustle and noise. Beds very comfortable, hotel staff very helpful and a good choice of options for the hotel credits - we visited Tulum, swam with Sting Rays on Cozumel and has spa treatments. Enjoyed 2 great dinners in both the Mo Mo No Ha Na and Terraza restaurants. Cafe Del mar was fine for breakfast but not a good choice for dinner. You cant swim in the pools after dark, and beach has a lot of seaweed so not that nice for swimming. What is missing is an adults only pool, which is deep enough to dive into and swim laps (lap pool), the main pool is only waste deep and full of kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The one thing that ruined this hotel for me....

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Service. The wait staff are fantastic.
Cons: Check in is ridiculously long. The beds were not comfortable.
Location: Great location on the beach quick walk to everything in town.
I was staying with a friend and we had requested two double beds. Upon the exceptionally long check in they told us that they "upgraded" us to an ocean view room, that's nice but does it have two beds because that is more important than a view. Yes a king and a cot...and it is the only room that we have so you don't really have a choice. So I spent $1700 for 5 days to sleep on a cot? They were not able to move us until the last night - at that point it wasn't worth moving all of our stuff. Otherwise the hotel was very nice, the food was great and other than the front desk the staff was very helpful.