Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st

Amaizing steaks

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Amaizing food and drinks!! Ecxelent te station !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good margarita!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very nice expieeence whit the hipnosis show!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel di buon livello vicino al centro città

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pessima la gestione di Expedia. Arrivato in hotel, nonostante quanto scritto da Expedia, mi è stato richiesto il pagamento per intero del soggiorno, nonostante avessi pagato con carta di credito circa il 30% a Expedia. La gentilezza dell'hotel mi ha permesso di rimanere e accertare che cosa era successo prima di procedere al pagamento. il tutto ha richiesto quasi due giorni (perché in mezzo c'era la domenica). il problema era dovuto al fatto che Expedia, nonostante quello che mi aveva scritto, non aveva proceduto all'incasso senza neanche avvertirmi del fatto he avrei dovuto pagare per intero in hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Good value property in an excellent location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The wait and food/bar service staff are excellent, A+. The beach is great and the property is less than two blocks from the main PdC shopping area.
Cons: While we never had any trouble with other resources in a sold-out resort, it was always difficult to get enough dry towels!
Location: 5 minutes from the main shopping and dining district and the ferry to Cozumel. Sand beach, lots of nightlife nearby.
This is a comfortably small all-inclusive with good food and a laid-back atmosphere, very nice for families. Other than being quite close to the ferry terminal, the beach front is perfect: great sand and swimming. The rooms were large and comfortable, and the facility well-maintained, if not new and flashy. The Kids Club is recommended for children. The most impressive feature is the remarkably attentive and pleasant staff, both wait and food service (inside and pool-side) and the entertainment crew.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K. Arkansas

Great staff! Too close to ferry.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Hotel staff was amazing, but ferry kept the water rough & dirty. Elevator was out & our room was in the 5th floor! Right next to 5th avenue. Very clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington NY

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Staff very friendly; the beach was clean and not crowded. The location was excellent.Breakfast and lunch was perfect.
Cons: Diner. The main courses (fish/pasta/ meat) was consistently terrible at the Italian restaurant. The Asian restaurant was good; the main room boring.
Location: Excellent location literally next to town.the hotel is on a very nice beach.Very near many "attractions".
Overall a very pleasant experience. The staff were consistently friendly; the facility was always clean , and the beach and pool area was never overly crowded. The spa was beautiful. Unfortunately our room was on the second floor near the lobby.The noise at night was truly terrible; it sounded like I WAS ACTUALLY sleeping in the lobby. It was Chrismas week and they were adamant they could not change our room. The gym was sometimes crowed; I had to wait to use the treadmills. The food at breakfast and lunch was very good. Diner was spotty; the main room /menu was boring as it was the same space as breakfast and lunch.The "Asian"restaurant was good ;certain dishes better than others. The Italian restaurant main courses were all terrible. There were 5 of us and we went twice. Fish/pasta/meat ALL terrible. Appetizers/pizza salads all ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Overpriced hotel close to beautiful beach

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Great location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Expedia's pricing is not competitive.
Location: Safe location. Plenty of tours to do.
The hotel was located in close proximity to the beach. The all-inclusive restaurants offered a variety of food and also included a great hibachi grill experience. The variety of fresh fruits however was extremely poor. The bars offered the usual drinks. Nothing special tough. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Most of the services that you pay for (certain spa activities) are highly overpriced. However, close by the hotel you will find facilities that offer similar services for a good price. When talking to other guests, we had to find out that Expedia's pricing was significantly higher than what other guests from our region in the US paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Playacar palace was an oasis. We went at the perfect time-not too crowded and we could always find chairs on d beach & pool. We had concierge level service which we would recommend. Excellent food & service. We had some hiccups with room service but a few calls to front desk & everything was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Will not return to Playacar Palace

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The restaurant staff are very nice, and accommodating. Food quality is good, though choices are limited.
Cons: This aging building suffers from decades of deferred maintenance. It may be more costly to fix all the hidden damage vs. demolish and rebuild
Location: The beach is nice, but beware of bottle caps and other man-made debris. Ferries to Cozumel are just a short cab ride from the hotel, and cheap too!
When we arrived, the hotel staff greeted us nicely, and brought us refreshing drinks. The check-in process was a bit long, since there was only 2 people working at the front desk. Once we got in out room, I noticed that more than half our "Ocean view" was obstructed by a large building facet (a gigantic cylindrical stack), but given that we were planning on spending most of our time outside, we figured it was not a huge deal. I also noticed the room was recently painted, from the fresh paint smell. On the second night, there was a heavy rain storm, and I went back to the room to grab a diaper for my son, when I noticed the sound of water drops from above the bed/head board area. Upon further examination, I found water on our pillows, and running down the walls, with the fresh wall paint blistering and peeling. I decided to move our belongings away from that area and reached for the phone to call the front desk, but once stepped towards to phone, my foot landed in a pool of standing water and I slipped and hurt my shoulder on landing. Marble floors make it very hard distinguish between wet and dry. After I collected myself, and dialed the front desk, they sent someone up to "investigate". It took them 45 minutes to find us a dry room, and they assured us we "won't have to go back to the wet room tomorrow". Our new room had no view, mostly the red roof tiles of the adjacent property. No apology, no upgrade, and not even a comparable room. Spend your money elsewhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great service,great location, paradise at its best

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Amazing!!!! Friendly staff, clean, get pampered and the best beach in riviera maya. Best all-inclusive experience with top shelf alcohol. Low key, relaxing resort which is what we wanted.... Perfection!!! Playacar Palace does it right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo, Brazil

Hotel perfeito!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Tudo, mas principalmente do atendimento. Todos os funcionários são muito atenciosos e prestativos. Nunca vi nada igual!
Cons: Não tenho nada para sugerir de melhoria.
Location: Localização é ótima. Dá para ir andanando à 5a avenida, há uma praça com lojas de grife ao lado, atrações como Xcaret e Xplor são muito perto.
O hotel é maravilhoso. Nunca vi um atendimento tão bom. Todos os funcionários são atenciosos e simpáticos. O serviço com certeza é o melhor que já vi (mesmo se comparado a hotéis 5 estrelas que já fiquei). O hotel é pequeno, se comparado com os mega hotéis que existem na região e também em Cancun, mas é perfeito. Muito bonito, bem localizado e com limpeza impecável. Isto também ajuda para que ele não seja lotado e barulhento. Perfeito para quem quer um ambiente relaxante, aconchegante e bonito. A praia do hotel também é linda. Isto é importante já que outros hotéis maiores podem não ter uma praia tão boa. A localização é muito boa, muito perto da 5a avenida onde há diversas lojas e de praça com lojas de grife. Dá para andar e passear bastante. Além disto parques como Xcaret e Xplor ficam a 10 minutos de carro. O ferry para Cozumel fica do lado do hotel. O sistema all-inclusive deste hotel é muito bom! A comida é maravilhosa, tudo de ótima qualidade. O buffet de café da manhã é demais! Apesar de não ter muitas opções de restaurantes, ambos os restaurantes Italiano e Oriental possuem cardápios bastante variados e são divinos. Além disto, o bar da piscina que também atende o serviço de praia possui snacks e lanches/pizzas bem gostosos. Recomendo a todos! Fui de lua de mel e não tenho nada para reclamar. A experiência foi perfeita.