Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean

Posted Mar 24, 2014
I was only in my room for about 5 hours of drunken sleep but it was clean, secure and close to the main tourist strip. Would have been cramped with more than one person but had a cool Mexican look to it and the towels were folkded into big swans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Mason, Mi.

I love the Play Lingua

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, friendliness of staff, the location. The free breakfast was great too!
Cons: Well, for me, I had to buy an airmattress to sleep on. But most people staying liked the firm othopedic mattress.
Location: The busy 5th Avenue was just a half block away. The public beach was a 10 minute walk. There are plenty of sights to see nearby and plenty of ways go.
I dd love the Play Lingua. It is not a luxary hotel, nor did I expect one. It was a great economical deal for me. When I travel I want cleanliness and peace. I found both at Play Lingua. The staff was excellent. The two maids worked very hard and everything was always very clean. The pool is small but efficient, and kept clean too. The free breakfast was great with a very good omlette chef. Very heathy menu. I also appreciated that the Play Lingua ia a language school. I met and conversed with folks from all over the world. Next year I will return and enroll in the Spanish classes for two weeks!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by la from vancouver

verrry noisy

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
do not stay here unless you like music until 2.00 a.m. outside your rom
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the 5th avenue and the beach!

Posted Aug 3, 2013
They have a single room option, so, if you travel by yourself is a great option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

good budget hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you don't mind shared bathrooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura from Norfolk, VA, USA

Great for young travellers

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: bed
Location: Great for party animals & non-party animals!
Great location: not far from clubs & quiet area. Breakfast included! Really nice staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Monty

Posted Mar 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good basic hotel close to downtown and beach. You've gotta like cold showers. Substantial breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael

Good affordable hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights. Took the single shared bathroom option. Rooms are adequate size for short stay. Clean, simply furnished room with safe and air con. Shared bathroom not an issue. Showers clean with ample hot water . Air con works quietly and effectively. Turned it off as I was too cold. Breakfast (included) was sufficient for most people. Best single rooms are balcony rooms facing pool/ garden. Less chance of noise from local bars. Avoid street facing balcony rooms. Returned here for second stay at end of my holiday. Would recommend as a short stay budget minded traveller.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabi from Australia

Great little hostel in PDC

Posted Jan 20, 2012
Pros: Great value for the price. Great brekky!
Cons: Pool was a bit small and not super clean but not a big deal as beaches nearby and amazing
Location: 20 metres from the main drag, made it so easy to get around
Myself and two girlfriends stayed here for three nights. It was in an awesome location, only about 20m from the main drag in Playa Del Carmen. Rooms were really comfortable and clean. Great brekky!!! Great value.