Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on 5th Ave.!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Rooms were comfortable and clean, but small. The bathroom could have really use an upgrade and been a bit cleaner. Besides that the staff was incredibly helpful and courteous. As for the WIFI we found that it worked perfect from our third floor room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eva from San Diego

Close to beach

Posted Apr 12, 2014
It was clean. Close to a lot of restaurants. You can walk to bus station (takes around 15-20 minutes). No continental breakfast. They don't let you have guests in your room. Air condition works in room. Good price for what you get. Wifi doesn't work in room. Wifi works in lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Wisconsin

Ok facilities, accommodating staff

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Room had a musty smell. Staff provided a dehumidifier to assist with musty smell. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from WI, USA

Relaxing and quiet.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The ambience.
Location: Hotel is convenient to restaurants and shopping. We only stayed one night as a stopover between Cozumel and the airport.
Very comfortable and clean room. Hotel staff was very accommodating, courteous, knowledgeable and friendly.
3 out of 5
by Chuck from Minneapolis, MN

Not as good as the pictures

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the interior of the building is interesting.
Cons: Nearly everything in the room; the ACs, the bathroom, the toilets, the mattresses, the ceiling fan, the lock, the safe. It needs a serious pimping up.
Location: Many restaurants are nearby the beach is fairly close.
While the staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself didn't live up to our expectations from the pictures we saw and the reviews we read. The mattresses were very hard, and felt much like sleeping on work-out mats. Toilet paper could only be thrown in the waste bit, which left a poop stench in the room from time to time. The AC would turn itself off quite often throughout the night, causing us to wake up sweating. The ceiling fan was difficult to adjust. The over-worked staff however, were very friendly and helpful. Seeing them work 12 hour days and maintain their composure left me feeling like this awful hotel didn't deserve to have such quality people working for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, fairly quiet.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Nice, clean rooms and friendly people at front desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Norma from Seattle, Wa USA

Charming boutique hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The ambiance
Location: The location is excellent, right near the end of the pedestrian mall, so you're in the heart of the activity, and yet near the end of the street .
My stay at Posada Mariposa was delightful. The location is excellent, and as a woman travelling solo, I felt completely secure staying here, and it was fun being in the centre of all the activity. I would definitly stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posada mariposa

Posted Feb 12, 2014
The first room I was given only had a tiny window looking inside the building which you couldn't t open if you wanted any privacy. It was extremely claustrophobic and I was less than impressed. It was more like a room in a hostel. Horrible bed, musty smell, ect. Not what you'd expect when you're paying more than $150/night. I complained and they moved me to a much nicer room with a window. I would only stay here if they guarantee you they're not giving you a room with a garden view because that essentially means you can't even see outside the building. Definitely would not stay here again. Oh, and the wifi was bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Nice place beds were not comfortable. Would recommend for a one or two night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from London

OK but not 'deluxe' as per Expedia description

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, comfy bed (once the many many scatter cushions were removed)
Cons: WIFI! Hang a curtain over the entrance?
Location: Near the classier end of 5th Ave and the beach. Go to Da Gigi restaurant - see end of review above!
We were a bit disappointed as we thought we'd book somewhere nicer for our last two nights in Mexico, but wonder if we got a 'bog standard' room due to the Expedia deal? It was described as 'deluxe' online and lots of rooms available but a couple of days later when we arrived we were told it was full and we couldn't switch rooms. We wanted to as we were on the ground floor, overlooking the 'garden' - more of a central courtyard /walkway which was open on one side to 5th Av - so it was a bit noisy and no privacy if you wanted to open your curtain! The room felt a bit damp and there was a cockroach in the wardrobe - maybe normal for Mexico - no biggie. The major issue was the wifi - the worst I have ever used and never working long enough to open a page (altho that could take ages) and you had to be in the courtyard to stand any chance of that. To be fair the receptionist let me use the office one which was fast - maybe there were loads of geeks downloading 3D films or something? Best thing was the Italian restaurant we found on 10th Av and 20 Calle - Da Gigi - amazing range of perfectly cooked pizzas, decent pasta and glorious salmon. Nom! I don't work there but feel it deserved to be busier (and I would like it to survive so I can go again!).