Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place impoverished location.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Very pretty clean nice.
Cons: Customer service.
Location: 8 to 10 minute walk to main ave through heavy poverty and multiple sick stray dogs. Tulum ruins great but would day trip from pdc instead
Very nice but very enclosed. Even with small sunning deck and pool I felt smothered. The immediate surrounding area is poverty and sick stray dogs are abundant. Staff was helpful but compared to staff customer service at previous hotel staff assistance left something to be desired. Exchange rate at this hotel was 11 pesos to 1 usd which was the lowest /worst return we got from any location or business anywhere. Good use of security cameras but no in room safe. Bed comfy. Coffee maker but no in room coffee grounds or filters or easy way to access or buy grounds. Guess the other hotel spoiled me. Internet was down for roughly 20 to 24 hours making planning and travel very tough. Apparently down in whole city? Seems like hotel would have better brochures and resources for times like this. A so so experience and all things considered would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Quaint hotel set off the beaten track.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The beauty and thoughtfulness that went into each aspect of the hotel - from breakfast, to the layout, room designs and staff selection.
Cons: Retain the standards and experience for many more years!
Location: Difficult to find initially, as it's set off the main street, and maps are lacking in Mexico. It's within driving but not walking distance to sights.
A terrific choice if you just want to get away from the bustle of city living. Posada Yum Kin has rooms that enable you to cook your own meals and even your own smoothies, though why you would need to, since Tulum restaurants are amazing, begs the question. However, you would have no TV sets nor room phone - a happy discovery for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Derek

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chrisfrom San Francisco, CA

Very Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed two nights at this very quaint hotel. I was very impressed, and I would recommend it to others. The hotels condition is very nice! The service was excellent. The rooms were very clean and cute, and the pool was nice and clean. It's about 3 blocks (10min walk) from the main drag in Tulum. The people in the surrounding neighborhood are really nice. It may look like something you're not used to, or intimidating, but you should not worry. On a trip where I spent a total of 8 days in the Yucatan Peninsula, I stayed at one hotel in Cancun on Hotel Row that wan an affiliate of the W, and another beach front hotel in Playa Del Carmen, Posada Yum Kin was my favorite hotel of them all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany, CA

Oasis in Tulum

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Location: Town is a walk or short taxi cab ride away. The beach and the beautiful Tulum ruins are a taxi ride away.We booked a tour to watch tortoises. Amazing!
We stayed at the Posada Yum Kin for 5 nights ( 2 adults and my ten year old girl) and had a wonderful time. It's a lovely place, full of beautiful plants and flowers and hammocks right outside your door. The room was large and pretty with lots of Mexican tiles and very comfortable. Had A.C. and a fully equipped kitchen. Stove, sink, fridge, dishes, silverware, pots and pans etc. There was a lovely pool and the morning breakfast was much better than I had assumed it would be. Not just bread and coffee, but yummy eggs and pancakes and fruit, cereal etc. The staff, Liz and Claudia especially were very helpful and nice, making phone calls for us to book tours, taxi's etc. This hotel is not right near the beach, so if you want a hotel located right at the beach, this isn't the place, but if you want a lovely hotel near town where you can take a taxi ride to the beach, this is the place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Muy cómodo, tiene cocina y amplias habitaciones.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Esta muy bien, la alberca super limpia y grande. Habitaciones limpias y muy comodas, muy recomendable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neighborhood Sanctuary

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Great staff. Super clean.
Location: Located at the end of a residential street with no immediate neighbors, it is an easy drive or bike ride to the main boulevard with great restaurants.
I spent nine days at PYK during a recent visit that was mostly business, but--as all visits to Tulum are--also pleasure and relaxation. The staff was always eager to please, and the entire place was kept immaculately clean. Being a landscape designer and contractor myself, I always take note of the use of plant material and other spaces outdoors. PYK has a wonderful plant palette, with beautiful native tropical flora throughout the hotel. The use of natural materials in the architecture and spaces made for an exotic ambiance. I had a very small single room with only a mini fridge and coffee maker, but it only took a day to consider it my cute little home and sanctuary where I could conduct business, banking and correspondence online from my little desk in the room. The AC was quiet and efficient, with the chirping Geckos and tropical bird songs outside easily out-competing the dispensing of cool air. The WiFi was strong and consistent. The service by staff was thorough, yet unobtrusive. Book with confidence.
1 out of 5
by jackie

terrible location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: change locations
Location: nothing
no ammenities no taxicabs were too expensive hotelhas nothing to offer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Eduardofrom Arizona

a beautiful oasis

Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was excellent - they waited up for our late arrival. The surrounding neighborhood is sketchy/poor, although it did not feel or appear dangerous. We walked down the road leading from the hotel several times without problem. On the way to the hotel, we were like "what did we get ourselves into" given that it's at the end of a lonely road. However, when we opened the door to enter the property....wow were we pleasantly surprised