Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Perfect Playa Experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very nice hotel; clean, well kept, well managed, and central location close to beach. Super nice staff is very helpful. Only downside is noise at night. Earplugs are recommended if you're in bed before midnight. Remember, Playa has a spanish culture, so late night eating an socializing is normal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel QuintoSol, Playa Del Carmen

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
I have been asked to write about my stay at the Hotel QuintoSol in Playa Del Carmen, and I do so with pleasure. This is the second time I have stayed there, and I will do it again for a third time. This hotel is perfect for a person who doesn't want to be confined to a resort. It is perfectly located on 5th Avenue, the Main Street in Playa, with many fine restaurants close by, and literally five minutes walk from the beach. The hotel itself is scrupulously clean, the rooms are a good size, air-conditioned, and the management is friendly and helpful. The room tariff is very reasonable. I love the place, and I will be going back all being well very soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dougfrom cancun

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Very nice atmosphere for this small, old boutique hotel. Staff we're very friendly, room was very clean and nice size. The only complaint was the noise--both from music and, even worse, the steady stream of trucks throughout the night. You'll need earplugs. Probably wouldn't stay again because of this problem.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Disappointed in poor customer service

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The most expensive hotel we stayed at during our 16-day vacation travelling around southern Mexico. The hotel itself is beautiful, but our room was next to the kitchen with water running and banging all night, a pump or laundry or something grinding behind a wall from 6 a.m., and no hot water after numerous tries. When we brought it to the attention of desk staff, we were treated like garbage. Never said sorry or acted sincere, only defensive and nasty. When we checked out, additional staff was in the lobby glaring at us, and they actually told us to wait so they could check the room "in case we left anything behind". We are a middle aged couple that certainly wasn't interested in stealing their towels and resent being treated like thieves. The desk agent also said he checked the water and there was plenty of hot, when just 5 minutes before I had let the hot tap run for 10 minutes and never got it to warm up more than lukewarm. After 6 hotels in the past 16 days, there are much cheaper and nicer options that this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Luisfrom Prague, Czech Republic

Great Time at Quinto Sol

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Hotel Design, Location, Condition of rooms.
Cons: can't think of anything to be improved.
Location: Near to the most popular beaches at Playa del Carmen, right at the 5a Avenida where all the shops, restaurants, bars, market places are..
We wish to thank all staff at Quinto Sol, specially to Michaela, a nice and pretty italian girl who assisted us every time really professionally, room was always clean, all services worked well, location of Quinto Sol is unbeatable, we are deffinitely going back as soon as we can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janelfrom Tucson, Arizona

Que bonito!

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a night on our way to xel ha. What a cool hotel right in the action of 5th avenue. Loved the vegetation including a large tree growing in the middle! They upgraded one of our rooms to one with a balcony where all 6 of us could sit and enjoy the outside. Staff was very helpful in carrying our bags to the 3rd floor and giving us a recommendation for a great restaurant. The rooms were clean and beds a but hard but comfortable. Some minor noise but nothing we couldn't sleep through. Loved the charming Mexican decor. Will absolutely stay there again. Slight trouble finding a place to park but otherwise an excellent time!! Starbucks right across the street was a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fromfrom Houston

Posted May 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Small hotel, perfect location, service was great. I will recommend it to my friends. Located close to all the fun places.
3 out of 5
by Wallyfrom Dubai - United Arab Emirates

LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING!!!

Posted Mar 4, 2013
Pros: Finishes in rooms
Cons: Let's see...Room 207, thumping music next door, no hot water, no air conditioning, no working jacuzzi, location
Location: Too far away from the main action on 5th Avenue, better deals elsewhere
On face appearance, the hotel appears to be in a great looking condition. But beware of what lies beneath the walls! Perhaps we had a bad run of luck but when we arrived there was no hot water and the jacuzzi was not working. Things got worse from there with the Luciano Bar next door pumping music to all hours of the night so we didn't get much sleep. The next night the Air Conditioning stopped working in our room and when reported late that evening as we were out all day, there was very little that could be done while we went out to dinner. To the hotel's credit, the hotel owner stayed at the hotel and waited for us to return from dinner and drinks at 1.15am, explained that there was nothing he could do about the air conditioning until the next day and offered to move us to another hotel at his own cost. We decided to take his alternative offer to use a fan for the night and the next day he gave us a full refund for one of the three nights of our stay. Fair play to him but next time I think I would prefer to stay somewhere else, particularly as the location is a fair way away from the main bus station and most attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by davefrom Manitoba, Canada

great little gem

Posted Mar 1, 2013
Pros: Very qaint, great location
Cons: Nil
Location: Perfect
Very qaint hotel. Right in the middle of little Italy, Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great stay for singles

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Location and a very nice Italian restaurant located in same space.
Cons: The garden level rooms.
Location: Located on 5th Avenue close to the new developed area you are a stones throw away from fun bars, good restaurants and short walk to the beach.
Great location, super friendly staff and spacious rooms with good lighting.