Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great! But ..

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Location! Cleanliness!
Cons: The utilities
Location: It is right off the strip in Playa, a great spot for everything, restaurants, etc, and the beach is close by.
It's a snazzy spot in Playa del Carmen, right off the strip, perfectly located. The rooms are very good, but the problem was the water. There was trouble with the hot water (and a friend had a problem with the AC). Everything looks great and the staff are kind and helpful, but the utilities caused trouble. The girl at the desk said they are in the process of fixing it. I will take her word for it because it really is a very good place - but when you need a hot shower, you really need a hot shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel, great ubication. Walking distance to bars, restaurants etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Capt chad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location but...

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Title says it all, It was a great idea of the hotel, modern, architecturally different and unique but they have not maintained it at all. Location was perfect!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bad servicd

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service was terrible. Unable to order room service from phone...they couldn't understand me. Have to come down yo make the order and still received the wrong order. Staff was rude and impatient. Not a 5 star in term of service. But nice hotel in term of look and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calero

Great location, amazing staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The location, and the staff of the best of the hotel, you can't get better in playa del carmen, the hotel has a unique decor, and i love it i will recomend the hotel, you can see that they are making huge improvements in the hotel, very well located that is the best!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

Poor Receptionist Service

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night at the hotel on our way to Tulum. We called the Manager Aaron for a wake up call and advised him we had a tour planned with a pick up at an outside location. In the morning we were not called. We eventually wake up and speak to a Jonathan who states that it was not documented and he is sorry. We asked him to cover a cab fair to make our schedule as a courtesy. He initially states yes but when the cab arrives does not. We speak later to Aaron the manager in the afternoon and he makes not efforts to make the situation right. we made our tour by 1 minute. It was not a pleasant experience. For a hotel that charges more than American rates, in a country where the average person makes 10 dollars a day, you would expect much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Antonis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Billfrom Green Bay

Great Hotel Close to 5th Ave

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: The lighting is a bit weird, but that is part of the design.
The Reina Roja Hotel is great. It is close to beach and 5th Ave. The hotel is unique and the rooms are comfortable. Housekeeping did there job and all the staff we talked to were helpful. The breakfast include was perfect for what we wanted. The bar has made fine cocktails. This is more of a party hotel than a quiet retreat, and the music never bothered us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terryfrom portland

hip place - different in a good way, good location

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: it was something different and cool
Cons: price should be closer to $100 per night
Location: cool bars, shops, locals right out the door
cool place for sure, i'd stay again in Playa ... nice showers, beds are pretty cozy and the breakfast in the morning onsite is rad