Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel, great ubication. Walking distance to bars, restaurants etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calero

Great location, amazing staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The location, and the staff of the best of the hotel, you can't get better in playa del carmen, the hotel has a unique decor, and i love it i will recomend the hotel, you can see that they are making huge improvements in the hotel, very well located that is the best!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael

Poor Receptionist Service

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night at the hotel on our way to Tulum. We called the Manager Aaron for a wake up call and advised him we had a tour planned with a pick up at an outside location. In the morning we were not called. We eventually wake up and speak to a Jonathan who states that it was not documented and he is sorry. We asked him to cover a cab fair to make our schedule as a courtesy. He initially states yes but when the cab arrives does not. We speak later to Aaron the manager in the afternoon and he makes not efforts to make the situation right. we made our tour by 1 minute. It was not a pleasant experience. For a hotel that charges more than American rates, in a country where the average person makes 10 dollars a day, you would expect much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Antonis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Green Bay

Great Hotel Close to 5th Ave

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: The lighting is a bit weird, but that is part of the design.
The Reina Roja Hotel is great. It is close to beach and 5th Ave. The hotel is unique and the rooms are comfortable. Housekeeping did there job and all the staff we talked to were helpful. The breakfast include was perfect for what we wanted. The bar has made fine cocktails. This is more of a party hotel than a quiet retreat, and the music never bothered us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terry from portland

hip place - different in a good way, good location

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: it was something different and cool
Cons: price should be closer to $100 per night
Location: cool bars, shops, locals right out the door
cool place for sure, i'd stay again in Playa ... nice showers, beds are pretty cozy and the breakfast in the morning onsite is rad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably would have been a great hotel five years

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Cons: Hotel should offer bottled/purified water. Confusing light switches in room (and most do not work). Horribly uncomfortable bed.
While I think this hotel was probably pretty fantastic five years ago, it's clear that it has begun to fall apart a bit. Beds are uncomfortable, many non-working light switches resulting in really dark rooms, and no bottled/purified water. Staff were great and I liked the pool, rooftop, complimentary breakfast, and room decor. But overall this place has deteriorated a bit, and it seemed like we were the only people staying there the whole time. Odd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ChloƩ from L

Great location, trendy hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is stylish and extremely conveniently located right by the pedestrian area of Playa del Carmen. Very trendy looking hotel, with spacious and modern rooms. The breakfast is amazing, with complementary coffee, juice, fresh fruit and granola and your choice of egg dish. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful, and they offer free underground parking for your rental car. I would highly recommend staying at La Reina Roja.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Juan Santana from Montreal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nelson from Miami

Very Central ... Modern Style

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, fun and modern!! Location is perfect. The music at bar does get a bit loud so ask for room on 2nd , 3rd or 1st floor backside (not above lobby bar).