Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Lovely interesting hotel, shame about the water

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The decor of the hotel is fantastic and quirky. We loved the use of red throughout. The mannequins were a cool and different touch. Unfortunately the temperature of the water in the shower was lukewarm at best in the 3 days that we stayed at the Reina Roja Hotel. It was very disappointing to go to a more expensive hotel and have no hot water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Coolest hotel in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jan 20, 2015
This hotel is amazing ! The decor and green effect ! The staff is great especially Ure who greeted us with Mimosas and sent us away with reusable gift bags ! My only complaint is they have an adult themed room which unless you're I to that you may get unexpectedly ! So make sure to ask before checking in !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

Great location close to beach and shopping.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cons: The only thing I did not like was my room faced the street so there was a bit of noise from early morning delivery trucks etc. Otherwise, no problems.
Location: Great location! A walk away from beach and shops, ferry, buses, and taxis to nearby Tulum, Cenotes, Coba, Xichen Itza...
I wasn't sure I wanted to stay in this hotel because it is not on the beach. It turned out to be perfect for me traveling alone because it was in a very safe location on the 5th Avenue and only a 2 block walk to the beach. I could easily walk to the bus station, Cozumel Ferry, and grab a taxi from the front lobby. I will stay at Reina Roja again! The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, Ontario

A very unique hotel close to Calle Quinta

Posted Dec 29, 2014
I needed to extend my stay and the staff solvedy problem. They gave me the same room even though it had a higher rate. Thank you. I will definitely stay in this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

muy buena experiencia

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: su diseño y ambiente
Cons: mantenimiento general al hotel
el hotel como concepto y diseño es excelente, sus habitaciones temáticas y el diseño en general es excelente, pero definitivamente deben de darle mantenimiento, en mi cuarto el after party, algunos focos y la bola disco ya no funcionaban, cosa que le quita lo temático al cuarto, en la zona del fondo de la planta baja, todo se ver en desuso y las zonas de agua vacías le dan un aire de descuido al hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rod

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Excellent hotel, very celan and locación is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Perfect location close to everything incl beach.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: WiFi
Location: everything is nearby.
All aspects very good. Staff & service amazing. Random wifi strength but this is an issue in most Playa hotels. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, CN

El Hotel es un tipo diferente a lo comun,

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: MUY CERCA DE LA 5A AVENIDA LO CUAL HACE MUY FÁCIL VISITAR ESTA CALLE COMERCIAL DE TRANSITO PEATONAL REPLETA DE TIENDAS, BOUTIQUES, Y RESTAURANTES.
Cons: EL HOTEL ES DE UN CONCEPTO DIFERENTE Y UNICAMENTE LA PLANTA BAJA SI NECESITA UNA REMODELACION PARA APROVECHAR MEJOR ESA
Location: PUES HAY DE TODO, Actividades en el mar, como sorf, Snorquel, Jet sky, etc, etc. la playa esta a 3 cuadras, asi que lo que quieras. Restaurantes.
MUY CERCA DE LA 5A AVENIDA LO CUAL HACE MUY FÁCIL VISITAR ESTA CALLE COMERCIAL DE TRANSITO PEATONAL REPLETA DE TIENDAS, BOUTIQUES, Y RESTAURANTES DE TODO TIPO, LO QUE HACE MUY RELAJANTE CAMINAR POR ELLA QUE HA DE TENER AL REDEDOR DE 2KM DE LARGO. ADEMAS EL HOTEL SE UBICA EN LA MEJOR PARTE DE ELLA. EL HOTEL ES DE UN CONCEPTO DIFERENTE Y PARTICULARMENTE DE BUEN GUSTO, UNICAMENTE LA PLANTA BAJA SI NECESITA UNA REMODELACION PARA APROVECHAR MEJOR ESA AREA, POR LO DEMAS ESTA MUY BIEN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Hotel looking tired. Wifi does not work in room only common areas Swimming pool long but too shallow to swim in
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hermosillo, Sonora.

Muy agradable, siempre tranquilo.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: La ubicación.
Cons: Deberían de abrir un más temprano el restaurant, los días que tenía visita a los parques (8h15) me fui sin desayunar porque aún no había servicio.
Location: Está cerca de la 5ta avenida, se puede ir a cualquier lugar interesante en playa del carmen caminando.
La atención es buena y la ubicación perfecta. No necesitas tomar taxi para llegar a la 5ta. avenida y mucho menos a la calle 12.