Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calero

Great location, amazing staff

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The location, and the staff of the best of the hotel, you can't get better in playa del carmen, the hotel has a unique decor, and i love it i will recomend the hotel, you can see that they are making huge improvements in the hotel, very well located that is the best!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Green Bay

Great Hotel Close to 5th Ave

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: The lighting is a bit weird, but that is part of the design.
The Reina Roja Hotel is great. It is close to beach and 5th Ave. The hotel is unique and the rooms are comfortable. Housekeeping did there job and all the staff we talked to were helpful. The breakfast include was perfect for what we wanted. The bar has made fine cocktails. This is more of a party hotel than a quiet retreat, and the music never bothered us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terry from portland

hip place - different in a good way, good location

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: it was something different and cool
Cons: price should be closer to $100 per night
Location: cool bars, shops, locals right out the door
cool place for sure, i'd stay again in Playa ... nice showers, beds are pretty cozy and the breakfast in the morning onsite is rad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Probably would have been a great hotel five years

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Cons: Hotel should offer bottled/purified water. Confusing light switches in room (and most do not work). Horribly uncomfortable bed.
While I think this hotel was probably pretty fantastic five years ago, it's clear that it has begun to fall apart a bit. Beds are uncomfortable, many non-working light switches resulting in really dark rooms, and no bottled/purified water. Staff were great and I liked the pool, rooftop, complimentary breakfast, and room decor. But overall this place has deteriorated a bit, and it seemed like we were the only people staying there the whole time. Odd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Juan Santana from Montreal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nelson from Miami

Very Central ... Modern Style

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, fun and modern!! Location is perfect. The music at bar does get a bit loud so ask for room on 2nd , 3rd or 1st floor backside (not above lobby bar).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ella Rodriguez from Texas

Close to all party venues

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is the second time I stay in this great hotel. And I will most definitely come back. Great party atmosphere if you are traveling with a group of friends, and walking distance from all party venues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Posted Jan 15, 2014
I love this hotel!!! The decoration is amazing
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanner from Idaho

Out of the ordinary.

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Strange remodel. Not much good to say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Danny D from Miami

very nice in the heart of everything

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved the hotel overall. I visit playa quite frequently and have made great friends there. I had one minor issue when I was bringing my friends to my room and one of the front desk guys said he would have to charge me $25 for each guest to go to my room , initially he said they could not go at all. However the next day I spoke with another front desk receptionist and he said he would make sure I wasn't charged. At checkout, I wasn't charged the extra fee.