Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney australia

Close to the beach and we had a nice 1 meter surf

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The families are limited especially compared to an Eco experience ofy had near Broome Australia That experience indicated less than good value. However comparing to other places in Tulum we did ok. Expect to rough it a fair bit
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great location; moderate accommodation for price

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Great location, sweet breakfast area overlooking the beach, in-room bathrooms with hot water, lovely staff.
Cons: Better and more relaxed communication from owner; something more than dry bread for breakfast.
Location: Perfect location--right on the beach and within walking distance to some of the best restaurants on the strip.
We definitely felt like we were paying for the location. Accommodations were adequate, but seemed to be the bare minimum for charging the high prices of the hotel zone on the beach. Cleaning and serving staff were so sweet, but the owner seemed like she was always in a bad mood or yelling at her staff about something. Fruit was nice at breakfast, but otherwise it was just dry bread and margarine. It would be great to have something with protein included, not to mention real butter. (Ordering eggs a la carte was an option, but very expensive.) Overall, a solid option if you're looking for something "mid" (though still a bit "over") priced on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte

Beach Paradise

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the beach.
My family (wife and 3 yr old son) spent a great 4 days in a cabana at Retiro Maya. The owner is great, and helped us find a dr. for an ear infection. The room is definitely Spartan, but it's comfortable and the proximity to the beach and the Mezcal Monk can't be beat. Water pressure is minimal, hot water is slow, and the coffee in the restaurant doesn't start until 8. If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't for you. If you want to be steps from the beach with a beach bar that serves great lunch, you can't beat this location. We'll definitely be back. Cell phone service was very spotty, but the wifi worked great. Bring shampoo and bug spray.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed 4 nights at the end of our trip

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The hotel and those gorgeous huts have to be paradise. That bit of beach is particularly extraordinary, quiet and you feel you have the place to yourself. The beach bar of the hotel is great with fun good humoured staff. The only 2 downfalls are the continental breakfast included is very very poor and the kitchen staff very very slow, and it takes ages to get hot water running in the hut, so you end up on cold showers all the time. These are small points compared to how great the place and the location are. I would recommend this to couples anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

We had a great time.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: It is private, very quiet and clean. It is also simple - we do not need to stay in high-end hotels and spend a lot of money.
Cons: As said before, the plumbing needs updating and roofs need to be checked for any leakage.
Location: Excellent location, right on the beach. Enough restaurants in the area and close to Tulum either by bicycle, car, Collectivo or taxi.
The room was clean, bed comfortable, there was one electrical outlet so you could connect laptop or any other electrical device. Bathroom was adequate and clean. Lights go out at 10:30 PM - we had brought our own LED light to be able to continue reading. Plumbing is the main problem with the hotel, but the staff was very helpful with solutions. We did not encounter any obnoxious insects or any other critters. The beach is raked every morning from seaweed and debris, lounging chair are provided.The beach view from the patio at the room is along the path through a hedge which provides privacy. Since there are no enormous hotels as in Cancun and Playa del Carmen, the beach is still relatively quiet - no loud music playing and no crowds. Amara, the front desk manager was very helpful, not only with problems but also to give us directions for local transportation and any points/tours for sightseeing. The staff was friendly and helpful - no complaints. Overall our experience was positive and we would come back here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcosfrom Cd satelite

Nos encanto

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nos agrado mucho, el lugar es paradisiaco, las cabañas bien con lo necesario es un lugar para olvidarte de todo por lo tanto el entretenimiento lo pones tu, solo agregaria una alberca y estaria de 1000
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

La mejor Playa

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: la playa
Cons: el desyuno incluido es muy pobre
Location: la playa es espectacular
Muy agradable, mejorable el desayuno incluido. Esta cerca de varios restaurantes de Tulum. Ideal para los que practican running ya que tienes a la mano lugares para hacerlo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay!

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place to stay in a great location. If you're looking for quiet, sweet accommodations in Tulum right on the beach without over-spending, this is a good option. They are a bit funny with lights turning off at some times of the day and such, but it is beach living after all and rustic-experience is to be expected.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pekkafrom Tuusula

Perheloma rannalla ja aktiviteettejä

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Varasin hotellin sijainnin suhteen. + Sijainti uimarannan lähellä, aurinkotulit ja pyyhkeet sisältyy hintaan. + Sijainti verraten lähellä tulumin maya raunioita + Liikenteen kannalta rauhallinen, vaikka aivan tulum - punta allen tien varrella + henkilökunta ystävällistä - kädenlämpöistä vettä tulee pitkän odotuksen jälkeen suihkut käytännössä viilleitä - Vettä ei ole saatavilla yöllä, vettä riittää vain yhteen pöntön huuhteluun, ei käsienpesuu, ei suihkuun. - Valaisu päällä jonkun ajastimen perässä, auringon laskusta n.2200 tms, asti - tuuletin ja latauspistoke toimii pidempään, tuulettimen tarvitsee kierrättämään tunkkaista ilmaa, ilmeisesti satanut sisään joskus, koska tuoksuu hieman homeiselta tms. - rodentsit jokaöisiä seuralaisia. Nähtiin ekana yönä yksi ja toisena yönä jokin oli tehtnyt reiän repun verkkotaskuun ja dyykannut sieltä löytyneen keksin kääreen, joka oli unohtunut "roskataskuun" - Pienellä lisävaivalla olisi ollut ihan ok, mutta tämä ei ole eristyksissä ja ympärillä nämä asiat kuulema toimivat. - Mökki oli reikänen, vessasta monisenttisen rakojen välistä suora näköyhteys viereisen mökin parvekkeelle, seinien ja kotn rajassa rakoja, ikkunan ja seinän välissä noin kolmen sentin rako jne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Undisturbed

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The quiet beach
Location: Tulum is relatively cut off (part of its charm), but there is a great resto nearby called El Pez, part of the hotel by the same name. Great food!
Tulum is one of those places that I fear in ten years will be piled with 1000 room hotels. As of yet it is still a quiet enclave of many owners, with small establishments on the beach. The beach is amazing, and the nights are wonderful, peaceful and romantic. I recommend this place wholeheartedly!