Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ricardofrom orlando,fl

A++ great food and service

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Many things to do. Nice beach hotel. A++++++++. Dance, play vol, footb, karaoke. Etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sammyfrom chicago

Really nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The staff in there is so helpful. Always trying to please the guest
Cons: The matress is so hard.
Location: This resort is just 20 min away from xcaret :)
The staff is excellent. I've been going for vacation for the last four years and I'll keep going. This hotel is near to every interesting place in playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pam

hermoso lugar

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: la atencion
Cons: la comida
impecable excelente atencion trato y un lugar maravilloso donde volveri a ir
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Evafrom Reims/ France

Lupita is a fair compromise.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Location of the hotel. Pool and beach area pleasant to stay. Efficient shuttle service to the beach.
Cons: Towels should be replaced. A dress code be imperatively introduced as a courtesy to guests and the staff who really do a hard job!
Lupita is a nice place to stay but you must be ready to make certain concessions. Ground floor rooms smell musty. Own textiles don't take long to smell alike. Towels /dark brown!/ are not moisture absorbing. It takes effort to use them even once. Impossible to use them for a second time even if you are eco minded. Beach towels are better. The room was not properly swept as the oversize dead insect of the first night stayed with us for the whole time of our stay. Guests had better wrap up theirs bodies when taking their meals at the beach snack bar as barefooted ladies and gentlemen wearing dripping, wet bathing suits and XXL size topless guests are hardly eye cacthing. This kind of presentation is respectless towards the staff who really works hard to get the succulant meals ready for you ! Same people show up for dinner in T-shirts and all kinds of shorts and flip-flops. Lupita should impose a dress code like other Riu hotels do. There are no toothpicks on the tables making guest disobey basic table manners. There are no lunch boxes provided when you are out for excursions. Be prepared to miss your lunch the day you arrive or leave as checking out time is 12.00 and checking in starts at 15.00. Lunch, however, is served between 1.00 and 3.00 p.m. and without your RIu plastic band there is no access to any eating facility despite paid all inclusive. To sum it up: You get what you have paid for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Billfrom Rochester, Mn.

Feb. Vacation 2014 -

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: all staff.
Cons: beds could be less firm.
Location: Good walking to downtown, bike rental onsite and swimming at the resort very relaxing. Shuttle to the Riu Lupita private beach good to take.
All staff very friendly. The update to the main dining hall since 3 years ago was a good improvement. Nice good selection. Rooms redone with better flooring and bathroom updates very nice. The beds are still hard though. Overall, a pleasant stay in Playa Del Carmen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcofrom Gallarate -VA-

hotel Riu Lupita a Playa del Carmen

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: La posizione tranquilla
Cons: L' animazione serale
Location: Pullmino e centro citta' raggiungibili velocemente
Bell' hotel piccolo e confortevole con molto relax e tranquillità,bella posizione anche se non si trova in spiaggia ma ce un ottimo servizio navetta che fa avanti indietro tutto il giorno con la comodita che ce una fermata che ragginugi in centro citta comodamente a piedi. Molto buono anche il cibo che e abbondante.Bravissimo il personale dell, hotel cortese e gentilissimo e sorridente.Buona anke la pulizia delle camere che offrono tutti i comfort neccessari.Mi sono trovato molto bene e ci ritornero.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BUENO con exepcion de distancia a playa

Posted Jan 14, 2014
los cuartos comodos, la comida mejor de lo que esperaba, la atencion buena, su unico problema es la distancia a la playa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by My-Linhfrom Pasadena

Good price-quality ratio all-inclusive

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived on a Saturday morning very early as we had a red eye flight from LA. However the hotel service was really nice as they allowed us to go to the pool and have meals until we got our room. We were meeting with our family and we asked to be all in the same building and they were able to suit our request, which was nice! The guys at the reception speak (at least) Spanish, English, French, they are really nice and helpful. For breakfast they have all you can eat for breakfast (sweet, salted, fruits, etc.) and lots of great drinks with fresh mixed fruits! For lunch and dinner they have salads, fish, meats, lots of side dishes, bread, fruits, cheese, desserts, ice cream, wine, beers... The restaurant was renovated last autumn and it is really well renovated with new table and chairs, modern style. The waiters and waitresses are really nice, they speak a bit english but they appreciate if you try to speak spanish. There are 2 pools, one "noisy" where there are all the animations around and one "relax" pool where it's quiet! The bar next to the "noisy" pool is great, you can order lots of different drinks and cocktails! They have a tennis court that you can rent with rackets & balls. Room was clean, big with a fridge full of drinks (sodas, water and alcohol) refilled every two days.They have a shuttle that takes you to the town & to the beach every 30 minutes. The hotel has a private beach with its own restaurant & a pool near the Riu Palace. The spa (Renova Spa) is good too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cordobefrom argentina

Buen hotel para disfrutar el ocio

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Cons: La calidad de las bebidas, si bien son gratuitas en all inclusive, no quita que jugos, cervezas, vinos, y en general, se sirven en forma muy diluida
1 out of 5
by Marcfrom Europe

Avoid, avoid and avoid

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: Part of a bigger chain which should've meant the facilities would've been shared (all were marked 5 STARs so no excuse for this), but this wasn't so!
Cons: Food quality and Staff training thus their attitude.
Location: Far from the beach however there was a shuttle every 30mins during the daytime.
Very disappointed with the food quality. The staff were not happy hence it showed in their responses to you. Don't want to elaborate much!