Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Playa Del Carmen trip

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Wifi in room
Cons: Food at buffet, food at the restaurant especially fish. I love fish but unfortunately the fish at buffet and Dolce Vita not fresh and very very salty.
Overall pretty good, nice staff, nice hotel, food can be improved (more variety and fish overall not as good as other Riu I have been to)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from L:A California

High Quality Resort on a white sand beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: What we enjoyed most was the service staff, the excellent beach, and the available activities. Food was high quality. I especially enjoyed the seafood
Cons: Rooms could be made quieter. sometimes you could hear late night revelers.
Location: You really do not have to leave the facility to enjoy this resort. There are Mayan ruins nearby (Tulum/Chichen Itza) and Mayan theme parks
My wife and one of our sons (a part of three) stayed here for a week. After a long day of travel, our shuttle brought us here from the Cancun airport. The check in is quick and fast, they serve you a lush tropical drink as you are checking in. from there, it just gets better. Air conditioning in the room was great. Hot days and warm nights with very warm ocean temperatures. Snorkeling right off the beach. Swim up pool bar ready to serve anything you wish. Your choice of fine dining restaurants or the international buffet. This is a cruse ship on land. Mini bar is stocked in your room and can be re-stocked with a phone call. The service staff was always ready to serve. Staff is fully bilingual,(Spanish/English) and some are tri-lingual as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU PALACE MEXICO: GREAT HOTEL

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Location: MANY NICE TOURS AND ALL VERY GOOD. IF YOU GO TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN OR CANCUN GO TO ISLA MUJERES IN THE SAMBA CATAMRAN AND CHICHENITZA. WILL NOT FOGET!!
VERY NICE HOTEL, PEOPLE ARE EXCELLENT, FOOD IS AMAZING, POOLS AND BEACH ARE VERY NICE. THE ROOM IS SLIGHTLY SMALL BUT VERY, VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r colorado

Nice hotel next to beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Good customer service, very clean, good food, nice rooms; would Defenitly go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing experience.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the delicious food.
Location: The hotel is located only a 10 minute drive and a 25 minute walk. There was a path that led into town that was very safe and very clean.
While looking at places to have my destination wedding this hotel stood out. I choose the hotel based on the reviews I saw online and it didn't disappoint. All my guests were very happy with their stay and not one person had any complaints. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The facilities were clean and the layout was simple. My husband and I got married in Playa del Carmen at the Capilla de Nuestra SeƱora del Carmen and had our reception at the convention center at Riu Tequila Mexico, located right across the street from Riu Palace Mexico. We had access to Riu Tequila and we often went to the night club located there. The staff wasn't as friendly and I was always glad to return to our hotel and see our friendly bartenders and servers. I'm very happy I choose Riu Palace Mexico and I will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wy

Rui Place Mexico

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: Entertainment Personal!!!
Location: If you go across the street there are some cute shops but very pricey.You can take a taxi ride for seven dollars to 5th street and there are shops
The Rui Was just perfect.The Hotel was very clean. I felt very safe at all times all the food was wonderful. I drank all the water and was never sick. The Hotel is on the beach with a 10min walk to the beach.The beach is beautiful.If you walk down the beach other places have ropes gating the water area which I did not like.You will not be disappointed at this hotel.All the drinks were good.The only thing I did not like was the entertainment staff were very very inappropriate with me and my three older daughters asking us if we thought they were sexy etc.. not going to go into detail but I will say they were very scared!! We hid from them our last day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great hotel...nuff said!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I got married to my wife in Mexico and our friends and family stayed with us at the riu palace Mexico (reception at the riu tequila right across the street). In short, this is probably the nicest all inclusive we have been too. The layout is modern and very easy unlike other hotels that sometimes seem like a maze. Here everything is more or less in one place as far as food goes (restaurants and buffet). I liked that there was one main road that went straight through the pools, pool bar, gym/spa, extra buffet and then ultimately the beach (which is great/no rocks). For 20-30 something's, this is definitely a family resort and the riu tequila is way more upbeat and has the dance lounge (none at palace) but you are only a 70 peso cab rise away from town if you are looking for some more action later in the evening, or you could cross the st. The palace bracelets are good at the tequila or any hotel for drinks and meals although the riu palace Mexico is the best as far as good goes. The food at this buffet is very good and you will not be dissapointed. We were definitely sad to go but we will have great memories of Mexico and especially this great resort. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from llanogrande colombia

Riu Palace I love you

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The Riu palace Mexico at playa del carmen make my vacation the best time ever . It is clean . Great food. Nice hotel room . Great amenities. The best beach and ocean I have ever seen . I felt sorry when I left . The ac is a little moldy by it is ok I guess is normal considering the hot weather .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitestone, NY

Great all-inclusive hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The hotel is very nice and there's more food than you can ever eat. The buffets for breakfast and dinner were good but we went to the steakhouse for dinner and it was a very very nice meal with appetizers, filet minon, salmon or lobster for the main course and dessert. The only problem I found with the hotel was that the rooms were always humid; maybe because there is no air conditioning in the hallways leading to the rooms. The drinks are endless, but not strong unless you ask for them to make them a double. I would definitely go back because I found it to be nicer than the other Riu hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, VA

We had a great time in this resort

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: beach, hotel ground, foods, drinks, and staff. Lots of shades with palm trees.
Cons: pool water is rather warm, it needs to be cool a little. Room needs to have a ventilation system.
Location: Walking distance to local shops. Water activities on site with extra fee.
The hotel ground is beautiful, staff (all around) are very nice, beach scenery is great, lots of activity to do. We had some minor hicup in our room, the AC did not work properly on the first day, after a call, they fixed the problem, no other problem since. Foods are excellent, I read some reviews before booking my trip, not sure what people were complaining about. Drinks are good, all bartenders were very nice. Although the alcohol seems to be water down a little bit, it is fine with me, but I thought I should have mentioned in this review. Our room is comfortable, but not a fan of the open floor bathroom. There is a live band playing nightly, pretty good. The specialty restaurant is okay, but I would recommend to stick with buffet restaurant (i.e. Don Julian), because of variety and convinience. Pool is okay. there are 4 pools, but the water is rather warm.