Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The 24 hours room services, All the meals during the day, The pool and the beach area
Cons: More activity at the pool with music and More show at night time
Excellent hotel, the food was wonderful, the pool and the beach area was good also
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Washington

Beautiful trip

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Went for my friends wedding and was not sure what to expect since it was my first trip to Mexico but we were very pleased and would definitely go back to another RIU resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful beach but not the greatest food

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Room design was strange. Food was not the best, just OK and did not have a feeling I was in Mexico. Pool was not large. Staff are friendly and respectful. Beach was really beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Great stay... Excellent vacation... Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This is a hotel to rest and relax...not a party hotel but everything is great!!! The food was amazing including lobster, staff very friendly and polite, me and my husband had a wonderful experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice surprise. Much better than expected.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The easy way concept. Modern contemporary.
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Great location
Perfect place to relax and to enjoy beach life. Food and comfort just what we needed. I liked the easy way of this resort. Great staff and location. Sure we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Playa Del Carmen trip

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Wifi in room
Cons: Food at buffet, food at the restaurant especially fish. I love fish but unfortunately the fish at buffet and Dolce Vita not fresh and very very salty.
Overall pretty good, nice staff, nice hotel, food can be improved (more variety and fish overall not as good as other Riu I have been to)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from L:A California

High Quality Resort on a white sand beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: What we enjoyed most was the service staff, the excellent beach, and the available activities. Food was high quality. I especially enjoyed the seafood
Cons: Rooms could be made quieter. sometimes you could hear late night revelers.
Location: You really do not have to leave the facility to enjoy this resort. There are Mayan ruins nearby (Tulum/Chichen Itza) and Mayan theme parks
My wife and one of our sons (a part of three) stayed here for a week. After a long day of travel, our shuttle brought us here from the Cancun airport. The check in is quick and fast, they serve you a lush tropical drink as you are checking in. from there, it just gets better. Air conditioning in the room was great. Hot days and warm nights with very warm ocean temperatures. Snorkeling right off the beach. Swim up pool bar ready to serve anything you wish. Your choice of fine dining restaurants or the international buffet. This is a cruse ship on land. Mini bar is stocked in your room and can be re-stocked with a phone call. The service staff was always ready to serve. Staff is fully bilingual,(Spanish/English) and some are tri-lingual as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU PALACE MEXICO: GREAT HOTEL

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Location: MANY NICE TOURS AND ALL VERY GOOD. IF YOU GO TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN OR CANCUN GO TO ISLA MUJERES IN THE SAMBA CATAMRAN AND CHICHENITZA. WILL NOT FOGET!!
VERY NICE HOTEL, PEOPLE ARE EXCELLENT, FOOD IS AMAZING, POOLS AND BEACH ARE VERY NICE. THE ROOM IS SLIGHTLY SMALL BUT VERY, VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r colorado

Nice hotel next to beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Good customer service, very clean, good food, nice rooms; would Defenitly go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing experience.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff and the delicious food.
Location: The hotel is located only a 10 minute drive and a 25 minute walk. There was a path that led into town that was very safe and very clean.
While looking at places to have my destination wedding this hotel stood out. I choose the hotel based on the reviews I saw online and it didn't disappoint. All my guests were very happy with their stay and not one person had any complaints. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The facilities were clean and the layout was simple. My husband and I got married in Playa del Carmen at the Capilla de Nuestra SeƱora del Carmen and had our reception at the convention center at Riu Tequila Mexico, located right across the street from Riu Palace Mexico. We had access to Riu Tequila and we often went to the night club located there. The staff wasn't as friendly and I was always glad to return to our hotel and see our friendly bartenders and servers. I'm very happy I choose Riu Palace Mexico and I will definitely go back.