Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice hotel in Playacar. Good bang for your buck.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Service standards.
Cons: More flexible hours for restaurants and bars.
Location: 5th avenue on Playa del Carmen is very close by. Not really walking distance for my taste, but you could walk or bike.
Its a nice all inclusive hotel. Rooms dont have a view to the ocean. Lots of palm trees on the beach, makes it nice to have some shadow. Overall quality of food is good. Good breakfast buffet, and lunch buffet. For dinner you need reservations either for 6:30 or 8:30 seating. Overall, facilities close early every day. The quality of drinks is good. You dont really heave top shelf liquors, but the selection is ok. The service from the people working at the hotel is above standards. You can stay in some 5 star hotels and they sometimes dont have this service. Employees are not really looking for tips, being all inclusive, which is good. The pools might seem small to some groups.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Excellent facility on the beach

Posted Oct 5, 2014
We had a wonderful stay; the hotel was in terrific condition; our room was soundproof; there were lots of activities; the staff was very accommodating and always helpful; and there was a plethora of available dining experiences. Our overall rating is excellent, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ols

Family Vacation

Posted Sep 30, 2014
I spend 17 days with my two kids and my husband .Great resort excellent services good food the stake house was the best for me because I love the lobter they also have it at thurdays at the buffet very friendly staff all people that work at riu work hard for all turist tanks guys for made me feel like queen and I had my best vacation .they had good tequilas like don julio and el patron and others .you don't have to wait for drinks like in others resort they always worry to make you happy thanks migel marcos noel and all that work at riu because not matter what you always have a big smalie when you serve my table.NOTE For all that stay at riu don forget a tip fors those people that really works hard every day for us.only two complaints warm miilk at mornigs my kida luke cold milk and you have to ask if you want cold milk .and small bathroom they need to put exhaust fan theare are not to big deal anyways I recomend absolubtly this resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Excellent

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The 24 hours room services, All the meals during the day, The pool and the beach area
Cons: More activity at the pool with music and More show at night time
Excellent hotel, the food was wonderful, the pool and the beach area was good also
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Washington

Beautiful trip

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Went for my friends wedding and was not sure what to expect since it was my first trip to Mexico but we were very pleased and would definitely go back to another RIU resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

beautiful beach but not the greatest food

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Room design was strange. Food was not the best, just OK and did not have a feeling I was in Mexico. Pool was not large. Staff are friendly and respectful. Beach was really beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco, ca

Great stay... Excellent vacation... Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This is a hotel to rest and relax...not a party hotel but everything is great!!! The food was amazing including lobster, staff very friendly and polite, me and my husband had a wonderful experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice surprise. Much better than expected.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The easy way concept. Modern contemporary.
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Great location
Perfect place to relax and to enjoy beach life. Food and comfort just what we needed. I liked the easy way of this resort. Great staff and location. Sure we will be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.

Playa Del Carmen trip

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Wifi in room
Cons: Food at buffet, food at the restaurant especially fish. I love fish but unfortunately the fish at buffet and Dolce Vita not fresh and very very salty.
Overall pretty good, nice staff, nice hotel, food can be improved (more variety and fish overall not as good as other Riu I have been to)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from L:A California

High Quality Resort on a white sand beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: What we enjoyed most was the service staff, the excellent beach, and the available activities. Food was high quality. I especially enjoyed the seafood
Cons: Rooms could be made quieter. sometimes you could hear late night revelers.
Location: You really do not have to leave the facility to enjoy this resort. There are Mayan ruins nearby (Tulum/Chichen Itza) and Mayan theme parks
My wife and one of our sons (a part of three) stayed here for a week. After a long day of travel, our shuttle brought us here from the Cancun airport. The check in is quick and fast, they serve you a lush tropical drink as you are checking in. from there, it just gets better. Air conditioning in the room was great. Hot days and warm nights with very warm ocean temperatures. Snorkeling right off the beach. Swim up pool bar ready to serve anything you wish. Your choice of fine dining restaurants or the international buffet. This is a cruse ship on land. Mini bar is stocked in your room and can be re-stocked with a phone call. The service staff was always ready to serve. Staff is fully bilingual,(Spanish/English) and some are tri-lingual as well.