Ratings based on 534 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Nice Hotel, good food

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The food was very good, both at the buffet and at the restaurants. The rooms were nice and clean. They had Jack at the bar!
Cons: The nightly entertainment was average at best and could definitely be improved.
Location: Location is great, being just a 5 minute cab ride to downtown Playa and the shops and restaurants and clubs.
Of course it is a nice hotel, after all it is a Riu Palace. Food in the buffet, as well as the a la carte restaurants was very good, always fresh and delicious. The deserts in particular were great! Hotel in general is very nice, smaller than other Riu palaces that I have been to, and also quieter than others. Seemed like an older group of guests, but very good none the less. The nightly entertainment was fairly average, and things wrapped up pretty early. All in all a good stay at a nice place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Covina, California

Our family was together and it was wonderful.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Good the shuttles took us everywhere.
I will never forget this day and was glad we shared it together Richard and me and our kids, Grandkids, and our new family members. Love you all!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great staff and amazing food.

Posted May 28, 2015
I have been to the riu palace a couple of times and loved it every time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

I love riu resorts

Posted May 27, 2015
I have stayed at this resort three different occasions and loved it every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but seaweed covered beach.

Posted May 25, 2015
The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The buffet served many options and the specialty restaurants were limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Location, great staff

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: This is my third stay. The staff, the hotel is excellent.
Cons: Air conditioning system does not work properly.
Location: Improve transportation! We arrived in Cancun. No transportation available by Best Day. Waited forever! Return trip was 25 min late arriving.
The hotel staff is just excellent. Food, hotel location , services: excellent. The only issue is the A/C system. Even at full operation the humidity in the room is too high and all your clothes get a musty smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

The Ultimate Travel Experience!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Everything from checking in until we checked out. My girlfriend got sick first night from flight, they opened pharmacy up late for us! So grateful!
Cons: Don't forget my ash tray hahaha I don't want to dirty your balcony! :-)
Location: Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins, Chizcenitza, Cozumel Island, Adventure tours, much much much more! For all ages! Get into all kinds of trouble or don't lol!
Let me start by this is my second time staying at the Riu Palace Mexico! SUPERB! I originally booked my first trip through AAA however after further research for the second trip and feeling pretty comfortable ordering through Expedia online I saved a boat load for the exact trip $2,000 USD to be exact! If you are looking for a All inclusive resort in the Playa Del Carmen, MX area this is the absolute best one you could choose! So close to town walk, taxi, bike, scooter, your choice! Those of you worried about Mexico news saying it's unsafe.. American streets scare me much more than the Mexico streets keep that in mind. Every country has crime just be smart and trust your instincts. Don't be a target. Police however are everywhere and the area itself is highly secure. The Riu Palace Mexico is located inside a secure compound with gates at every entrance that only allow licensed taxis etc. in exchange for their license until exit. I have no complaints other than I think my house keeper forgot my ash tray a few times after cleaning my room. I only dislike this because I hate littering my nasty butts anywhere. Plus they keep the grounds INSANELY CLEAN!!!!! They work hard to make sure the grounds are pristine and I tip accordingly! I have a few employee's that made my first trip AMAZING and the second even more spectacular with their personalities that just shined. Kikeh- Is a pool bar server and the best! I consider him a friend now! Luis-Monica both night servers GREAT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Our stay was fantastic! There was something at every meal we enjoyed. The buffet was pretty good, breakfast was my least favorite because it was the same every day. The restaurants were fantastic! Our room smelled slightly like mildew. Every single person on the staff was amazing, and kind. The beds were very comfortable! The beach was clean, and amazing! I loved this hotel, we had a wonderful time at the Riu and would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Littleton,CO

Nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The bathrooms around the hotel are the only things I have an issue with. Several of the bathrooms were very dirty and toilets backed up. Not just one bathroom but most of the them had this issue. We would just go back to our room to use the bathroom because these bathrooms around the hotel were so bad. Other then that very nice and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Food was very good. Staff excellent. A little more quiet for a senior highscool break- but overall very nic.