Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great Location, great staff

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: This is my third stay. The staff, the hotel is excellent.
Cons: Air conditioning system does not work properly.
Location: Improve transportation! We arrived in Cancun. No transportation available by Best Day. Waited forever! Return trip was 25 min late arriving.
The hotel staff is just excellent. Food, hotel location , services: excellent. The only issue is the A/C system. Even at full operation the humidity in the room is too high and all your clothes get a musty smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

The Ultimate Travel Experience!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Everything from checking in until we checked out. My girlfriend got sick first night from flight, they opened pharmacy up late for us! So grateful!
Cons: Don't forget my ash tray hahaha I don't want to dirty your balcony! :-)
Location: Tulum Ruins, Coba Ruins, Chizcenitza, Cozumel Island, Adventure tours, much much much more! For all ages! Get into all kinds of trouble or don't lol!
Let me start by this is my second time staying at the Riu Palace Mexico! SUPERB! I originally booked my first trip through AAA however after further research for the second trip and feeling pretty comfortable ordering through Expedia online I saved a boat load for the exact trip $2,000 USD to be exact! If you are looking for a All inclusive resort in the Playa Del Carmen, MX area this is the absolute best one you could choose! So close to town walk, taxi, bike, scooter, your choice! Those of you worried about Mexico news saying it's unsafe.. American streets scare me much more than the Mexico streets keep that in mind. Every country has crime just be smart and trust your instincts. Don't be a target. Police however are everywhere and the area itself is highly secure. The Riu Palace Mexico is located inside a secure compound with gates at every entrance that only allow licensed taxis etc. in exchange for their license until exit. I have no complaints other than I think my house keeper forgot my ash tray a few times after cleaning my room. I only dislike this because I hate littering my nasty butts anywhere. Plus they keep the grounds INSANELY CLEAN!!!!! They work hard to make sure the grounds are pristine and I tip accordingly! I have a few employee's that made my first trip AMAZING and the second even more spectacular with their personalities that just shined. Kikeh- Is a pool bar server and the best! I consider him a friend now! Luis-Monica both night servers GREAT!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Our stay was fantastic! There was something at every meal we enjoyed. The buffet was pretty good, breakfast was my least favorite because it was the same every day. The restaurants were fantastic! Our room smelled slightly like mildew. Every single person on the staff was amazing, and kind. The beds were very comfortable! The beach was clean, and amazing! I loved this hotel, we had a wonderful time at the Riu and would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Littleton,CO

Nice hotel and close to the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
The bathrooms around the hotel are the only things I have an issue with. Several of the bathrooms were very dirty and toilets backed up. Not just one bathroom but most of the them had this issue. We would just go back to our room to use the bathroom because these bathrooms around the hotel were so bad. Other then that very nice and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Food was very good. Staff excellent. A little more quiet for a senior highscool break- but overall very nic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed over kids' spring break, last week in march

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The setting, the location, the cleanliness, the weather!
Cons: More options for vegetarians, stronger wifi.
Location: The hotel is close to Xcaret, Xplor, and Tulum. So close that for Xcaret/Xplor you don't need to sign up for an expensive bus a taxi is only 200 peso
Overall this was a great trip. The hotel was great and very kids friendly. It is an all inclusive establishment which was a first for us. It turned out to be a great thing. The food buffets always had something for the kids to eat and my wife who is a vegetarian could usually find something. My only critique would be a few more options for vegetarians.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and close to beach

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pools were great, food excellent,staff friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful place!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We had a great time at this beautiful resort! The hotel staff was exceptional - especially bar and wait staff. The pool was wonderful and the beach was great. There was a strange amount of seaweed in the area, but the facility consistently maintained it. We visited a couple of the other RIU locations. It was nice to have the variety, but the Palace Mexico was definitely the best! They offered a lot of activities for the whole family to enjoy. Small gym - but in good condition. The spa staff was very good. Great vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston ,mass.

Nice hotel ,close to shopping

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Good food ,right on the beech ,good nightly entertainment 'several swimming pool
Location: Walk to center of the town is very good
The hotel is nice and clean excellent food and fantastic nightly entertainment ,unfortunately the last day some one stole our beech bags and sandals ,and after several complain ,after we arrived at U.S. They found half of our stuff (the more expensive stuff was not found),they are willing to mail it at our expense 'which for us was not worth shipping them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, Canada

Beautiful Grounds

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: It was very clean
Cons: Coffee refills in the hotel room. I like to drink a couple cups in the morning, but I had to constantly request more coffee be brought to our room.
Location: Great location, stayed at the Riu Tequila last year, thus the reason we returned, but choose the palace this time. Will return next year as well.
Initially when we arrived, the room assigned to us had a very bad musty smell to it. I requested a room change to which I was told I would be moved a couple of days later. Once we were established in our new room it was very good. The food is awesome and the beach was clean and enjoyable.