Ratings based on 1,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
A very beautiful place to stay with an amazing staff and facility with a fantastic view and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent food, nice Beach

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: FOOD, Beach, service.
Cons: Air Conditioning at the GYM. and better check in.
Location: Great Location, close to everything
Great location, with a beautiful beach front, good service at the restaurants and at the beach as well. Food was great, plenty of options for all kinds of tastes. Gym was Ok, but the A/C was broken and it was extremely hot in there, impossible to workout. Slow Check In, it took almost 40 mins to assigned a clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elkin, NC

This is a great place to stay.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The facility cleanliness is immaculate and the staff are great. I could not have asked for anything more from a resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as Good as The Previous Visits

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Grounds, Staff, The Beach, The Bartenders, View from hotel room, Spacious Suits, Prompt Room Service,
Cons: Room Maintenance, Air Conditioning, Potable Water from the Shower and Sink, Chairs and Umbrellas both Poolside and Beachside
Location: There are numerous things to do, of which included door to door transportation.
We have stayed here 4 times in the past, the first was our wedding, 7 years ago. The Staff is great, hands down. The facilities are starting to show their wear. The rooms smell very moldy, We changed rooms hoping for a better smelling room (not so much). We given a room with a spectacular view, but the ac was anemic, at best. The AC was broken for a day or so, throughout the entire hotel. (very warm and moist). The food was good, but the private Tapas restaurant and Japanese restaurants were mediocre. The buffet had great variety, but every time we had steak or Duck, it was very tough. I guess tender beef, is a tough go... We found a couple of cockroaches in the room and microscopic ants. The mattresses were very hard. The smell of sewage was apparent, outside the rooms throughout our 9 day stay. The pool while spectacular, was missing several mosaic tiles and numerous poorly replaced tiles. Several pool chairs and umbrellas were in poor condition. The hotel still looks very nice and staff is the absolute best. My complaints may seem petty, but It ( the entire experience) was not nearly as nice as the previous visits. Be sure to tip the maids, the are stellar, kind and very hard working. Giving 70 or 80 bucks at the end of a trip, is worth the smile and gratitude, you'll receive in return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L, Houston, Texas

Average hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We just got back from Riu Palace Riviera Maya and we will not go back. We have been going to the Riviera Maya for over 10 years and this Hotel did not meet my expectations. The pool area is very small for the size of the hotel, therefore its super crowded. The food is just average. We had our 11 year old daughter with us and many things that the entertainment staff were doing were very inappropriate for families with kids. We have been to nicer hotels for the same amount of money that we spent here. Also,we witnessed three arguments almost fights in the pool area by guests so that just tells you the kind of people that will be there. Also, our daughter got very sick one day and when i called the lobby to get a doctor they said they would have to call him And charge $150 dollars for the visit but it would take a few hours. Since our daughter was very weak from the vomiting all day we decided to take a cab and find a doctor faster in playa, the taxi driver took us straight to a doctors office, where they charged us $10 dls for the visit, i guess the hotel wanted to overcharge just because we were tourists. I would check other hotels that offer more for the same price. We were very disappointed and would never go back to that place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel at walking distance to 5th Avenue.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Another welcome drink, the juice they offer at registration is tasteless.
We have stayed at the Riu Palace for the last three years in a row; we got engaged by the friendly staff and the excellent food. The entertainment crew leaded by Ricky is really entertaining. I pay attention to little details that may mean nothing to other people such as drinks served in glasses and not paper cups. The resort offers a lot of activities that there is no need to go out, even though, I recommend everybody to visit Xcaret and Chichen-Itza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted Jul 9, 2015
2nd time at this hotel. Love the Riu Palace Hotels. Great customer service. Food is great atmosphere is wonderful. Took my two kids and they both had a blast. Beach was a bummer this time. So much seaweed but it's a Playa problem not just this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Beautiful hotel by the beach

Posted Jun 30, 2015
My family enjoyed our stay so much. Excellent Service from all staff, cleanliness was exemplary! Great food and drinks! Incredibly beautiful setting. Do not order excursions from beach vendors. The seaweed is bad, but Hotel workers valiantly kept beach clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Ohio

Great location and atmosphere. Staff great.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location! Very consistent service over the years.
Cons: Fitness center equipment definitely needs updating. Although not the fault of the hotel, the seaweed on the beach took away some of the ambiance.
Location: Walkable to Playa del Carmen.
This was our fourth trip to the Riu Palace Riviera Maya (10th to Cancun/Riviera Maya). There is no place like the Riu Palace.....the staff is extremely accommodating and they really acknowledge past-patrons. Food is always good and tremendous choices. Very clean and strong communication with customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denton TX

Staff is great!!!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Customer service
Cons: food and pool
Great customer service! They have an awesome entertainment crew. We had a great time here. The pool desperately needs repair and the food was a bit disappointing.