Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Great Week!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Gran semana. Buena comida y servicio. Ideal para ir en pareja con amigos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila, Pa

Enjoyed going back!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was great!!
Cons: Making reservations for dinner is a bit inconvenient, having to wait around almost everyday at noon can run into daily plans
Location: 5th Ave is a relatively close walk, or a short taxi ride. Xcaret is only a 15 minute drive-nice!
We love visiting the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, this is our 2nd stay here. The grounds are incredibly beautiful, the staff is always courteous and willing to help. The entertainment group is, well, entertaining! This sight is within walking distance of 5th avenue either by street or by beach, we chose the beach to keep cool. The only downfall I saw this time compared to our last visit was the food was a little less appetizing and the rooms-at least ours was-more noisy. The walls are pretty thin and the screaming child in the room next to us was at 3am was a bit, how do you say, ANNOYING!! This also goes along with the other room next us who had their tv playing ALL night!! You may want some cotton balls or ear plugs for your visit. Other than that, I think I'll continue to visit this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Fantastic Beach! Gorgeous Hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: We loved the clean white sand beach so close to the pools! Even had waiters by the beach! Lots of shade from the many palm trees! Calm, clear ocean!
Cons: I honestly can say that we would loved every part of our stay and would not change a thing!
Location: There is so much to do at the resort, you don't need to leave the property, but there are many popular tourist attractions around Playa de Carmen.
We spent a wonderful family vacation at Riu Palace. We experienced exceptional service at every part of our stay--from checkin, to dining, to the pool side bars-the service was first rate! We loved the food and drinks at this all inclusive resort. A wide variety of delicious food and every drink imaginable offered day and night! So impressed with the gluten free options available!! Riu resorts are definitely first rate and our family agrees that this particular resort in Playa de Carmen is among our favorites!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice beach. Hotel and pool need updates

Posted Aug 15, 2014
A little expensive for the property. Rooms need upgrades and the pool needs to be redone. We had fun but the advertisements about the property are a bit misleading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Took chance on all-inclusive for quick honeymoon

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Beach! Pure white sand with crystal clear water. Mild waves for just wading around. Tons of trees for shade and plentiful choices for lounge chairs
Cons: Beach/pool-side bar closed at 6p.m. Always felt we could stay out longer, but the scene faded after that.
Location: Approx 50 min. cab ride from Cancun Airport (that's taking an independent with no other stops). Cost $60-$120 if you do not plan in advance :(
After over thinking destinations for our "mini-moon" (we were leaving our 10 mo. old for 1st time), chose Riu on recommendation of wedding-planning friend and really had a great time. Our biggest concern was meals due to our gluten-free, dairy-free, meatless, basically-vegan lifestyle…and it was possible!! Next chief concern was beach, and this one delivered. Brought our ENO hammock from home and there were nice palms in the shade to hang it. The beach was beautiful and we actually never used the really fun looking pool with swim up bar because we were so excited to be by the ocean (traveled from Colorado). Got awesome daily massages in the cabana. In summary, we're really glad we booked this vacation and was very happy with the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawthorne, CA

Best vacation ever!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Staff was so attentive and made sure you were well taken care of if you needed anything. The hotel was amazingly beautiful in a gated community and with amazing views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff!! The beach and the scenery was amazing.
Cons: The beds were incredibly uncomfortable - quite hard. The pool water was really hot but not much you can do with that sun beating down!
Location: Snorkeling was great!
The staff was excellent! Super nice, helpful and friendly! So fun and absolutely beautiful beach, pool, and hotel! Would definitely go back for another vacation there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

nice hotel... beautiful beach near Playa del Carme

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: beautiful beach and I liked the fact that is located in a private area and close the Playa del Carmen.
Cons: qualify of food on the restaurants specially the reserved dinner ones. buffets were ok but not excellent.
Location: Playa del Carmen is very close that u can even walk or take a taxi. I recommend to visit 5th avenue its very fun with nice restaurants and shopping.
Very nice hotel overall... only two complaints: food was ok didn't like the dinner at Brazilian restaurant at all meat was very low quality and also we requested a king bed and had two twin beds fitting together that was very uncomfortable and too hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel needs an update for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The staff and beach location.
Cons: Air conditioning, musty/cleaning solution smell. Better food and drinks.
The Riu Group has big hotel down to a science. The staff is very well trained and the guest feels welcome. The hotel runs very efficiently. But, the hotel itself is due for a serious refresh. The rooms are humid and a bit musty. There is a heavy smell of cleaning solution, and I do believe the rooms are clean, but the smell is a bit much. I am in the process of washing every article of clothing even the ones I didn't wear. And my luggage is stinking up my closet. The food is adequate and plentiful. It's not gourmet it's buffet. Designed to feed a whole bunch of people fast. The two buffets felt like a cross between a cafeteria and Golden Coral. The drinks are free flowing and served fast and with a smile but very sweet and very short of alcohol. The hotel is on a stunning stretch of beach. The pool is big, a bit tired looking, and actually pretty gross considering there are hundreds of people in there but probably the same at any large hotel pool. The pad around the pool is crowded and crammed with chairs. The beach is much nicer and cooler under the palms. Chairs around the pool are hard to come by after breakfast but there are plenty on the beach. The hotel runs like a cruse ship with activities every hour on the hour and shows at night. If this hotel gets a major update and face lift then it will be great. For now the price is bit high for the outdated accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Riu Palace: A marvelous resort.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The scenery is absolutely spectacular. Beautiful grounds.
Cons: The front desk needs to do a better job at explaining how the restaurant reservation system works.
Location: Located on a beautiful beach. Conveniently located to Excaret and Tulum.
My wife, daughter and I had a fabulous time. I have nothing but nice things to say about our experience. The grounds are beautifully maintained and the staff was always friendly and accommodating. As for the pristine beach, it is as if we had stepped into a postcard. That is how beautiful it is.