Ratings based on 878 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Exclusive and well managed resort

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Riu Palace Riviera Maya is an excellent get away place and has the most accessible and well maintained amenities, This place is highly recommended,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel on beach, but room smelled!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Very clean, excellent friendly service. Top notch staff!
Cons: Fix the cause of the smelly room Remove piles of seaweed from edge of the beach early each morning
Location: Great location on the beach! We visited the shopping area in Playacar several times - found several great buys!! 5th Avenue shopping was good too.
Gorgeous hotel, very clean, excellent friendly service, good food. The only negative was the room stunk with a moldy, musty smell that seem to get stronger each day. The front desk said it may be due to humidity?? We spent as little time as possible in the room - and slept with the sliding door to balcony open but we wouldn't go back to this hotel for that reason. Also, we were disappointed there wasn't a dance club at night. Very little to do at night other than walk on the beach or watch the show put on by the staff. Most important: we had 2 days of pristine beach (beach looked like pool water!!) but 5 days of seaweed. Wish we knew not to go in Sept.-Oct. (seaweed season). We were told that the beach has no seaweed all the other months (Nov-Aug.). Hotel could have done a better job of cleaning up the seaweed each morning rather than having to step over piles of it to get into beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Gorgeous hotel with great atmosphere

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We went for our honeymoon. We had a great time. The hotel was clean. The staff was extremely friendly. The food and alcoholic drinks were amazing! I will definitely visit again. My only complaint was the entertainment staff. We decided to go with them to a nightclub on the town. When we got there we realized they tried charging us extra. We paid double for the cab ride and tried telling us the cover was 20 dlls each.. only to realize that we didn't even have to pay cover. Interesting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R., OKC

Ground floor courtyard view

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Had mostly blocked view of ocean, but at least not by the theater that is loud till 10:30 every night.. Toilet wouldn't flush properly and it took about 5 hours 3 phone calls and trip to reservation counter to get someone to get it fixed... The same when we need toilet paper.... Room service was max. 15 minutes.... AWESOME! Food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Everything Was Great

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Great place and staff!!!! Close to everything and the restaurants were amazing. We would def go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston texas

making plans to come back

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: everything especially the hospitality made us feel at home
we enjoyed everything there except our flight but we can always fly another airline.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa

It was nice, but I needed more.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
All inclusive liquor... Well yes but their brands only. Spent most of our time at pool and they serve very few name brands. Finlanda is their vodka.. Did not recognize the tequila or whiskey brands. Every bar made the same drink completely different. It was hot! As a Floridian I am used to having a/c... Not sweating and mold musty smells in every room. They changed our room twice just trying to get us one that was less than 85 degrees. The property is breathtakingly beautiful. We felt safe for our girls trip since the riu resorts are together in a gated community called playa. Palace Rivera is just a 9 minute cab ride from 5th ave where the town is. 15 bucks for all 9 of us in a van by taxi. Shuttle from airport was 45 minutes. We booked our own and were very happy with best day. Food was great. Breakfast and dinners were amazing. Lunch was pretty good. Late night was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Best Hotel we are been.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Wonderful and unforgettable. This hotel is beautiful and very clean with excellent staff attention. Beautiful beach and great pool. The food is excellent and the entertainment is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We went in the middle of September with our 2 young children and The AC did not work in our room during our entire 3 night stay despite having gotten it fixed 4 times and switching rooms. The floors were dirty and the bed sheets gave us rash. We are not very picky and I have never reviews a hotel before but I felt I mended to since the hotel staff wAs so unaccommadating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very fine place with an outstanding staff.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Close to most all major attractions.
Great staff, beautiful beach, and great food. Only complaint was/is room air conditioner not sufficient.