Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

We want to do it again!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The traditional decor was inviting and the grounds were lush and well kept. Pools were sparkling, and the the short walk to the beach was invigorating
Cons: More non-smoking areas.
We enjoyed a day at the Mayan ruins in Tulum. Another day we went on a quad ride to the jungle and underground water caves, Carlos from the Riu Tequila was an excellent tour guide. Walks on the beach were amazing as were the sunsets. The food choices were delicious and all the staff was courteous and delightful to be around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Beautiful hotel surrounded by gardens!!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was awesome!!!
Cons: We've stayed at other RIU's and they usually have a happy hour gathering around 5pm in the lobby area where you can mingle with other guests-not here
Location: Loved the Playacar town plaza and Tulum Ruins!!
We loved the staff--they were very friendly and eager to help. The hotel and grounds were very well kept up--and we totally enjoyed the 5 min walk to the beach---the beach was absolutely beautiful--and we loved that it was just a 40 minute walk up the beach to go shopping on 5th ave and the town plaza where they had things going on every evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Best deal ever!!!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Excellent choice, food was great, drinks didn't stop coming at the bars, beach was crystal clean, only white sand and the ocean, no algues, no rocks , it feels like gigant pool. We went the 1rst week of November and the weather was wonderful. Just love the Riu experience. One tip though: ask for a room with no babies next door if you don't want to wake up too early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Onset

A lot of bang for your buck!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
More than we expected or needed. The food was great! So much to choose from and it did seem to vary a bit from day to day, dinners especially. Staff was friendly and most helpful. The shuttle to the beach was a nice offering since it's about a 10 minute walk. The shows at night were fantastic! Very varied and talented musicians, dancers and m.c.'s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B.C., Canada

Best hotel ever.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The Hotel had a Mexican feel to it, unlike some of the other Rui's in the area. The staff were FANTASTIC!
Cons: The food could have been better. The Mexican Restaurant VERY was disappointing, Shows could have had Mexican content, that's why we went to Mexico...
Location: We went to Explor and it was fantastic. Tulum was also great!
This is only our second all inclusive experience, and our first in Mexico. This hotel is great. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There are lots of activities set up for guest. The shuttle to the beach is great but if you want to walk it only takes about five minutes. This walk is the same distance as many hotels that are beach front. They have a lot of free ocean equipment rentals which is great if you are travelling with kids. The only thing I would change is the Mexican Restaurant which was totally not worth going to. In Mexico you should be able to get great Mexican food at your resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was nice

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Everything was nice except for the people that feed the crazy cotis they will do anything for food so be careful when u eat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, N.Y.

We has the Greatest first family Vac since 2009

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Our 2 kids boys 4.5 & 2.5 years old has there first out of country vacation! Did not wan't to leave the pool. Also love the wild amimals living on the Resort. The food was 5 Star and Entertainment was great for all ages everynight after dinner. We also visited all the other RIU Resort's about a 5-10 min walk near by to swim in the Ocean and play in the sand. Aslo 5 avenue Shopping was a graer place to shop only 7 dollars for a taxi ride 10 mins dive. Wonderful Shops and everyone was very nice helping us with our double stroller which was the way to go with Two kids under 5 years old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

very enjoyable

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: fifth ave was fun
staff was very friendly the hotel was clean and i liked the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff...
Cons: The Asian food! Too many animals on property!
Location: Not too far from town & 5thAvenue!
Our stay was very pleasant....we found the food very good....the walk to the beach was not far!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom providence, rhode island usa

the best hotel and the best location

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: every think.
Cons: . they should deal with us currency, and they should have a wine list.
Location: excellent location, and nice to walk to stores and to be beach.
was the best resort that I have stayed, that is no words to describe, from the reception to the towel kiosk. I would like to recognize chef Daniel, Carlos, Leo, Bernardino, Felix, Rangel, David, Nonas, Rey and all the bartenders and wait stuff.