Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Overall a great place for everyone.

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: We liked the character and ambiance of the hotel, the friendly staff and the all-inclusive no worries.The use of the Riu Playcar and Yucatan is nice.
Cons: Beds were a little small. Some rooms could use a little updating. The room we were changed to looked like it had been updated.
Location: Xplor and Xcaret are a 200 peso($13 USD) taxi ride.Downtown Playcar is a 90 peso ride($6 USD).The location is closer to most parks/ruins than Cancun.
We just returned and had a wonderful week vacation. When we arrived we were not sure we were going to like the hotel. I am happy to say we really enjoyed the stay! Originally we were given a room in the rear of the complex, the farthest from the amenities. With kids we found this difficult and on the second day asked to be moved. The front desk staff was very receptive, made the move easy, and gave us a wonderful room on the second floor of building 2 (200's). If you have a family of four, ask for a roll away bed or see what the price is for two rooms. The beds are a little small. We love the Mexican open air feel to the hotel. We did not want a modern looking hotel (we can get that anywhere). The staff is terrific. The kids (and parents too) enjoyed all of the activities(water polo, air rifle shooting, basketball...).The walk to the beach is not far but we often found ourselves taking the golf cart shuttle since it was there every 5 minutes. The pools are nice. Love the towel service. It is so nice to always have a dry towel. The beach is great and we would dip in the Riu Yucatan pool after the beach. The food is good, but pace yourself the first few days, you will taste it all eventually. Many of the parks are a quick taxi ride away so consider that when debating on a tour package versus going on your own. We are already planning on returning next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Small compact friendly resort!!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
The resort itself is fairly small and compact. It has only 3 major restaurants which is fairly common. The two main pools are great. The entertainment staff is very great and friendly. The food is very good with a huge variety. Cons: you have to wake up early to make restaurant reservations, beach requires a walk.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse New York

Don't Book this hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: They didn't allow me to stay here
Cons: The customer service
Location: Beautiful beach and town is very nice
Booked this hotel back in August I believe of last year.Arrived April 3rd and was given the choice of staying at their sister hotel across the street or go find a place to stay.Accordind to the hotel hostess in my booking contract they are allowed to do this if they overbooked the hotel.Amazing that I was offered this choice standing there with my 14 year old daughter on spring break.We did make the best of our time and didn't allow Riu to ruin our holiday but I will never stay at another Riu property again due to the lack of obvious customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Riviera Maya Rules

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, and quiet rooms. Soft sand volleyball court. Beautiful pool with swim up bar. Sports bar and disco were fun.
Cons: Shows were pretty lame. Transportation to and from the hotel to the beach was scarce.
Location: Playacar has the most beautiful beach in the entire Cancun/Riviera Maya area. The is also plenty of shopping within walking distance for the ladies.
Another great time in Riviera Maya. The grounds of the RIU Tequila hotel was well kept by the staff, the bar tenders and restaurant workers also worked very hard. The pool at the hotel was also beautiful. There was a sand volleyball court, and a basketball court at the hotel. Even though it was a very busy time of the year, you never had to wait much for anything. The food was good, always able to find something that we liked. The main complaint at this hotel was that you rarely would see the shuttle that took you between the hotel and the beach. When you did, there was only room for about seven people, so we were never able to catch a ride. Even so, we did fine with the walk especially since we tended to eat and drink a little more than we should have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bang for our buck

Posted Apr 3, 2015
We recently stayed at the Riu Tequila in Playa del Carmen. The resort was a 45 minute drive from the Cancun Airport. We used a private transport company to get to and from the airport. Definitely worth the money! We arrived at the resort very late and when we checked in the staff provided us with sandwiches since we missed dinner. There is 1 bar open 24 hours so we were still able to get a drink after dropping our things at the room. There is free wifi in the lobby only for a max of 90 minutes a day. You can have it in your room for an extra fee. There is a main dining room that has a buffet for every meal. But there are also restaurants that you can make reservations at for dinner. Highly recommended! Make your reservations as early as possible each morning for the best times! Pool is located in the center of the resort! One side has a swim up bar. Lounge chairs go fast! Put your towels on your chairs to save your spot. While this resort is NOT considered beach front, it is pretty close! From the main entrance of the resort to the beach was about a 5 minute walk or 10 minutes on vacation pace on a private walkway. But the hotel did have a shuttle to take you every 15 minutes if you didn't want to walk. While we saved money by not being beach front, this resort provided all the amenities of being beach front property. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

O.K. for a Few Days

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing stands out. Everything was just o.k. It's an aging property, and showing it's age. It was good enough for a short stay. Adults only pool.
Cons: Provide room service. Provide drink servers at pools. Lighten up on towel regulations. Upgrade rooms. Serve a la carte meals. Some sparkling wine.
Location: 5-10 minute walk from the beach through the Yucatan.
We booked late, so we were running out of options and settled on Tequila. I wasn't expecting luxury, and that was good, because it wasn't luxurious. It was fine for a 4 night getaway for the northeast U.S. to warm up. Had I paid attention to the fact that there is no room service, I would not have booked it. We've never stayed at an A.I. without room service, so I never thought about it. We also didn't realize that the "specialty" restaurants are not a la carte...just another buffet limited to one cuisine. The main buffet had more options. The Asian was not good. For the Mexican, we made the mistake of going to the Playacar by mistake. Apparently we were supposed to be at the Yucatan. Playacar would not accommodate us, and we weren't about to rush over to the Yucatan in time. So we skipped it. The main buffet was pretty good for buffet style food. Just know you won't be ordering a la carte from a menu anywhere. Small, dated room. One bath towel each...really? Sheets didn't fit the king bed. Tacky. The ocean was terrible this time. We usually love this stretch of beach, but it was full of seaweed this time (03/10-03/14). Not the fault of the hotel. Just Mother Nature. We have been here at times in late Fall and in Spring and the beach was wonderful. Room had a shower only that felt like a cave...not even a light in it. And it had a (eew) shower curtain. One pool towel per day...really? Con't plan on turning in your towel for a fresh one the same day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Previous reviews are accurate!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Staff is great!
Cons: Better beds and pillows in room.
Location: Location is about 2 miles from main part of Playa Del Carmen. The walk is very safe and sidewalks are good. About a 45 minute ride from the airport.
Hotel is somewhat dated and the rooms are adequate. 2 Double Beds for 4 people is not very comfortable. There were only 2 outlets in the entire room which I thought was odd. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They work very hard in the restaurants, the bar area and the entertainment staff around the pool. The grounds are in immaculate shape and the pool area is very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Wonderful, clean resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Adding room service or at least coffee makers in the rooms.
We stayed at Riu Teq. Mar. 2 - 9, 2015. We loved the resort, the rooms were private and spacious and very clean which is important to us. It's really spread out which means lots of walking but they have beautiful walkways. We initially thought that since the resort wasn't directly on the beach that we wouldn't like it but they have a golf cart shuttle that runs constantly throughout the day that takes you back and forth. The pool was large, the bars were all open all day long, all the staff were very friendly and made our stay more enjoyable. It's probably the best food we've had at an all inclusive and we've been traveling to the Caribbean since 1999. We typically only stay at a resort 1 time as there are so many to experience but we would definitely go back again. The only negative for us was that they offer no room service so we missed our morning coffee on our balcony; if they would add that or at least provide a coffee maker in the rooms, it would make it perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roquevaire

L hôtel est à 5 minutes à pied de la plage

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Le riu tequila hôtel au top aceuil restaurants animations chambres piscine rien à dire
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2015
We originally booked at Riu Tequila and once we got there they informed us we were staying at the Riu across the street. It wasnt as nice and updated, but it was on the ocean. We had a great time regardless, but felt like we were taken advantage of since we had no control over the situation. We had researched and spent months believing we were staying at Tequila and suddenly we were thrown in a cab being sent to a different resort.