Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU Yucatan

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Again, the staff are attentive to the needs of quest and very competent.
Cons: The late-night snack area lacked cleanliness and the variety of food. There was also a mosquito problem that could also be addressed.
Location: The beach is remarkable and the resort's proximity to town is a plus.
A remodeled hotel that has all the accommodations of a three-star plus resort in the U.S. The beach and quiet pool are the selling features of this resort, as well as the friendliness and attentiveness of its staff. The food, although plentiful, is adequate. I spent seven days at the resort and really enjoyed my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie from Melb

Fun & welcoming staff

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Staff were wonderful, really happy and made the mood really happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rach from USA

Big Beach - Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Huge, beautiful Beach. Great staff. Always something to do. Jungle setting. Nice Pools. Use of other nearby Riu resorts.
Cons: Add an area for early risers to get a good cup of coffee. Self serve.
Location: 5th Avenue is a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute cab ride.
We stayed at Riu Yucatan March 13th through March 19th. This was our first time staying there and the first time going to Mexico without a group. We truly enjoyed our stay. The food was pleasing, always found something to eat. We had an AWESOME waitress named Fabiola. She was always right there when we needed something. The room was ok and large. The grounds were well groomed and kept clean. The resort has been updated and is spread out back in the jungle. We loved walking the grounds and watching the animals and lizards running around. We did not mind the walking at all, after eating so much! Walking to 5th Avenue takes at least 30 minutes whether you walk the beach or sidewalk outside of the resort. Great little shopping mall not far from the resort. which has a Starbucks! Jonathan at front desk very helpful! We felt safe walking around the complex at night, we went for a walk each night. Loved that we could go to 2 other Riu resorts to each breakfast or lunch, drink and hang out at their pools or beach. We took advantage of it. Same food at all 3 resorts and the BEST coffee I have had at any resort in Mexico. The pools were nice, beach chairs comfy - get clean towels each evening and go save your chair in the morning or you may not get your preference, since the people staying at the Riu Tequila use our beach as well. The beach was AMAZING!!!! The beach made the trip. It is HUGE and very nice. Lots of palm trees to sit under or pull your chair into the sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhonda from Minneapolis, MN USA

Renovated hotel; great beach; excellent service

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Location: The location is great! We went to Tulum and Xel-Ha one day. Another day we took the ferry to Cozumel, rented a car and drove around the island.
This is our second stay at the Riu Yucatan. The recent renovation is nice and really gives it an updated feel, even though I do miss the Mexican feel a bit. The service here was EXCELLENT, from accommodating our room request to giving us more towels and pillows to printing out a coupon for rental car, anything we asked for was taken care of quickly with a smile. My favorite part of this hotel is the beach. It is one of the nicest of the eight resorts I've visited in Mexico. The pool area is great, too, but you do need to get up early to get a good spot. I like this hotel because it draws a lot of Europeans and I love meeting people from around the world. I really liked the food! I always found several things that I liked. My only complaint would be the Internet. You only get 90 minutes free per day in the lobby and you have to use it all at once and then can't go online again for a full 24 hours from the time you logged off. Very inconvenient if you're trying to keep up on things at work. The 90 minutes was OK, but I wished I could've gone online at the same time early each morning instead of waiting a full 24 hours from when I logged off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Boston MA

Nice Hotel, great pools & Beach

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: staff was friendly & beaches were very nice
Cons: The food, was ok but specialty restaurants were not up to par.
Overall we had a great time, wish the food was a little better. drinks limited to one type of beer, keg wine either white or red along whatever mix drink you like - can't compare with dining experiences on a cruise, but wonderful beaches & pools. I'd do it again !! Had a great time with our friends, people we met & the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Honeymoon

Posted Mar 6, 2014
After searching and reading many many reviews my husband and I decided on Riu Yucatan for our honeymoon. We truly had a wonderful time, the staff was wonderful, and the resort was very clean. You could tell the staff truly cared about the property. Food was honestly delicious. There were many options for each meal, so you did not get tired of eating the same thing over and over again. The drinks were well made, premium liquor was available, you just had to ask for it. The resort was about a 1.5 mile walk down the beach into Playa Del Carmen, so the location was perfect. We felt completely safe the entire time and loved going out to explore. My only "complaint" is that the beds were rather hard, other than that, everything was wonderful and we would go back again in a heartbeat!
3 out of 5
by Kevin from North Dakota

OK resort

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Rooms were OK, but very musty smelling and we are used to this based on numerous trips to other resorts. Ok food, same thing everyday. Lunch was very disappointing for variety and for casualness. We found out that the Riu Tequila guests were able to come to our beach as they did not have one....that was OK as there were numerous loungers available on the beach. The frustration with this was the lunch, it was very congested every day, we had to clear or own tables as staff was over worked due to all of the people from both hotels eating lunch. Food was usually available if you could get to it! We did have lunch at the Riu Playacar, much more casual and BETTER food choices. Another disappointment was the evening entertainment. Again, we have been to numerous resorts in the area and this was the most disappointing as the only entertainment was using the guests as 'cheap entertainment' on stage.......NOT entertaining. The Riu in Bloody Bay Jamaica had GOOD entertainment every night when we were there last year.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great resort (and I do not do reviews often)

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The food was 7 or 8, the staff was a 10, the hotel itself was a 9, the atmosphere was a great....clean, nice, and fun! I would definitely go back. The food didnt upset our stomach at all, it was better than decent but not amazing. Get dinner reservations and beach chairs early, before 9:30am if you want to make sure to reserve either. Tip your bartenders a little each time, it goes a long way! Thats about it.....this resort was great and I would go back! P.S. Beautiful weather every single day (Feb 11-17th)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irina from New York

A solid 4 stars

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a very nice beach, friendly staff, and large enough public areas to accommodate the guests without making them feel crowded.
Cons: There should be more sun protection on the beach for those who want it, and the specialty restaurants could use nicer facilities and a spruced up menu
Location: The Playacar location is excellent and a busy shopping area is within walking distance for those who are interested in retail therapy.
I spent a very pleasant week at Riu Yucatan and commend their friendly staff, cleanliness, and beauty of the beach. A few things prevented me from giving it a full 5 stars, but they are relatively minor. First, and foremost, there were no umbrellas or huts on the beach, so it was difficult to find lasting shade. The palm trees are planted too far apart to offer genuine protection from the sun, and for those of us who burn even with sunscreen, that can be an issue. The d├ęcor of the hotel is rather unappealing, with too much plastic and neon lights to be called charming or pleasing, and the rooms are very generic. Not a huge deal since this is not a place where you spend a lot of time inside, but it's always nice to be in a beautiful place. The food was overall very good, but the specialty restaurants were below average and not very attractive at all. The steakhouse was the converted lunch buffet are and they serve mozzarella sticks and onion rings -- not exactly gourmet. I expected better from a chain as popular as Riu. Otherwise, everything was very satisfactory, and I would readily recommend this hotel to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Haley from Chicago, IL

Loved it! Couldn't say enough good things!

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Food was great. The service was impecable. The staff really were engaging, they were beyond accomodating and they really all impressed us.
Cons: Nothing, we loved everything.
Location: Location was great. Easy to walk to 5th Street or take a cab. Beach walks were great. Location was wonderful.
We just got home from our stay at the Riu Palace Mexico and it was amazing. The service was beyond wonderful, the beach was so clean and the food was delish. My brother is a vegetarian and was able to enjoy every meal without needing specialized items made for him. We originally were supposed to stay at the Yucatan, but got upgraded due to overbooking and ended up at the Riu Palace Mexico just next door. We can't wait to go back.