Ratings based on 274 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Tacky

Posted Nov 15, 2014
They must have been high when they did interior design of lobby and main reastaurant. Actually quite disturbing trying to eat amongst all that gaudiness. We wondered if it might have been worth having stayed across street where motiff was 1000% more appropriate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin TX

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Rooms a little bland.
Location: Close to little shop area and a short taxi ride into the town.
Very nice hotel, great staff. Restaurants and bars are wonderful. Close to the beach and easy to get into the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Rooms. Not very attractive
Location: Went on one excursion and spent rest of time on beach
Beautiful location and beach. Nice grounds were kept clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tennessee

Great scene

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Excellent staff Excellent food Clean rooms Best views in Playa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Everything was perfect
Location: The snorkeling is wonderful. I got a great deal at the dive shop Scuba Caribe right on the beach.
I had a wonderful time at Riu Yucatan. The service is top notch, all requests are taken care of promptly with a smile. The food was delicious--plenty of options catering to a variety of tastes. The buffet featured a different world cuisine every night. Gorgeous fruit carvings displayed at the salad bar; great beverage service at breakfast and dinner. Clean, bright and comfortable rooms provide a complimentary room safe, minibar, iron and large umbrella. The swim up bar overlooks a pristine white beach with swaying palm trees and crystal clear Caribbean waters. The pool is massive and comes with plenty of loungers to accommodate extra guests. Riu Yucatan is a popular hangout for guests of the Riu Tequila across the street. I can't wait to return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florifa

Nice, on a great beach.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Didn't like that when it rains u have to walk with an umbrella to the lobby and restaurants. The hall ways r TOO WHITE, they need to be painted. The food was good, the drinks were so so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maybe a three star

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Reception staff is nice. The rest rude they won't do anything to make your stay pleasant. Room is clean, common areas too The food is average , drinks are ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Huge Resort On The Beach

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach, staff, # of options for food/drink.
Cons: Room quality
Location: Definitely take a day trip to Cozumel and explore the nearby 5th Avenue!
Overall Riu Yucatan was a great time. The place is very big and there are lots of people. The food was OK. The breakfast buffet was large and very good and the dinners were good, but nothing to rave about. The food we ate outside of the resort at restaurants was much better, but we expected that. The staff were absolutely amazing, no complaints at all there. There was always someone there to answer any questions or help you with anything. Overall I would recommend it, but make sure you leave and explore a little as that was what made our trip better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We loved our stay here for the week. The pools are great. Food is ok too although speciality restaurants aren't that great. Staff is amazing and very friendly. Very clean. Close to playa del Carmen in taxi. Excellent for couples and families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Good lots food lots drinking it is fun I love it from the first day to the last