Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kelowna, British Columbia

Love the location!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Location: Very close to 5th Ave. we spent most of our time trying restaurants on 38th. Regina Fonda, Poilina, Mylos and a great meal at Salt Rock.
We had a great time in Playa del Carmen. We were happy with our room having a King bed. We were on the ground floor, which was our only complaint. We were unable to leave the screen door open at night. Our room was pleasant, but there was a small mold issue in the bathroom, that left the room musty smelling. The weather was 25 degrees cooling down at night, and we would have liked to leave the screen door open. The hotel staff were very accomadating and the breakfasts were great. The use of the Mamita's Beach Club was a bonus, as it would have been an extra charge to have loungers and a palapa for shade. Overall we were pleased with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing beautiful small gem in perfect location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Pretty and quiet with a nice small pool area. Enough towels and also beach towels. Helpful staff. Good coffee and great selection of breakfast foods.
Cons: Decor is mostly outside the room; the room is rather plain; but I'm not really able to think of much to improve.
Location: Walk to the beach or to the shopping street, what else? Easy to get to Tulum or Puerto Morelos.
A good location to walk to the beach but mostly quiet. Helpful front desk and tickets for beach club chairs. The front desk is a simple set-up, no business services and such, but just ask for whatever help you need and it will get done. There is good internet connection. A perfect breakfast in beautiful surroundings. Lovely honey shampoo and a comfortable bed. I can't think of anything more I could want!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Bueno, pero no excelente.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Es acogedor, agradable y el trato de la gente en el front desk fue bueno. Rápido el check in y checkout.
Cons: Ofrecer incentivos, como promociones con restaurantes o bares. Hacer algo respecto al ruido de las maletas en los pasillos.
Location: La playa y la quinta avenida muy cerca.. pero el area de mayor movimiento en la 5ta esta algo lejos, son mas de 10 cuadras que hay que caminar.
El hotel esta agradable, creo que en comparación con otros hoteles contra lo que ofrecen el costo es algo alto. El baño y las regadera no son muy comfortables. El desayuno que ofrecen es muy bueno. El piso en los pasillos es algo disparejo, por lo que cuando entra/sale gente a otros cuartos con las maletas rodando hacen mucho ruido y el asilamiento acustino no es un punto fuerte de los cuartos. Aunque está en la quinta avenida, si quieres ir a los antros, queda un poco lejos caminando, son como 15 cuadras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Nice hotel, close to Calle 5 and beach.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Great location, excellent facilities and warm and kind staff. I will definitively recommend it to others and I will consider it for future. The only downside is that given it's close location to the "action", it can get loud at night if you want to rest early, I guess you can't have it all, eh?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
This hotel is located in the heart of Playa 5th ave shopping/entertainment district. Tons of shops and restaurants right outside your door! Although it is close to the beach we have our favorite local beached we like to go to further south. The rooms were nice and clean and the over all decor was charming and authentic. The daily breakfast was great, usually pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, granola, and hot foods like eggs and beans. Some days they had chiliquilles! I likes have the choice of three fresh juices. While we were there it was orange, grapefruit, and carrot. Our check in/out was quick and easy. They provide beach towels at the front fest daily. We got up and out early every day and arrived back late so we just had basic interaction with the staff which was always pleasant. They seemed very helpful to the other guests that needed more help. When in Mexico we are always on the go, as there is so much to see and do locally and it's pretty safe to go out explore and easy to get around driving. For people that like to lounge around the hotel there is a small pool area, and a nice mezzanine area that would be great to chill and read a book or just relax and take a cat nap. There was also a bookshelf in that area to borrow books. Overall we had a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Good location. Hotel staff were super helpful. Bathroom could do with an upgrade, but everything else was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

keine Ruhe und Erholung

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Location: Eigentlich gute Lage auch zum Strand, jedoch auch dort nur laute Musik den ganzen Tag, Menschen über Menschen, man sah kaum noch Sand.
Leider konnten wir in diesem Hotel in keiner der 7 Nächte vor 3 Uhr in der Frühe schlafen,da es ringsherum nur laute Musik aus den Bars und der Strasse in Form von Technomusik kam. Da es natürlich nur ganz einfache Fenster in diesem Hotel gibt, war an Schlaf nur von 3 Uhr bis etwa 7 Uhr in der Früh zu denken, dann schepperte es wieder aus der Küche. Wir sind mehr wie enttäuscht, zumal wir uns im Nachgang fragen, wozu wir überhaupt für 2 Betten bezahlt haben. Vielleicht mag es ja in der in der Regenzeit bei mangelnden Touristen nachts ruhig sein, in der Hauptreisezeit sollte man eher keine zentrale Lage wie diese wählen, sondern sich entweder einen täglichen Abendspaziergang oder ein Taxi gönnen zum erholsamen Nachtschlaf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 4, 2014
The hotel is at a good location between the beach and 5th Avenue where all the restaurants, shops and bars are. It is about 9 blocks from the popular clubs but easily walkable. The hotel had some issue with the Beach club with which they were associated with but they sorted it out and we had a good time. The breakfast is basic but sufficient. The staff were helpful for any questions and suggestions. They have a tie up with one of the tour agencies for trips to chichen etc but we had not heard good things about that tour so didnt take it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Great Hotel, Staff, and Location!!!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We had a great stay in Riviera del Sol during Thanksgiving week in Playa del Carmen. We had a total of 4 rooms (friends and family) and everyone was happy about the service, room cleanliness, location, and staff. They also include breakfast (coffee, natural juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot options, breads).They are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant. The staff is Outstanding! They really made a difference, always friendly, helped with directions, tourism advice, transportation arrangements, special requests, etc. We will not hesitate when we book our next trip to Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com