Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from austin texas

Incredible property with the absolute best staff

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The staff is the best I've seen anywhere in the world. They all appear to sincerely care about you and that is not an easy culture to build.
Cons: The Sushi restaurant could be better
Location: The resort is where to spend most of the time but going into Playa Del Carmen is only 10 or 15 minutes away and there is a lot to do there.
This was our second time there and it is a perfect place to go for a five star relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Stayed for four nights and everything exceeded our expectations Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Best Hotel in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Service, ambiance, cleanliness, and lack of crowds (It only has like 100 rooms total and is a huge place).
Cons: Really there was absolutely nothing that we would have liked but didn't get
Location: Pros about the location are its isolation and closer drive from the airport. Con is that its a good 15-20 minute drive to downtown PDC.
When the only complaint you can have about a place is that they are almost TOO attentive, then you are really staying at a true 5 star place. Everything here is first class and it is truly a very different experience from the typical Playa all inclusive places. First off, the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a lagoon suite and to sit out on the deck and hear a myriad of birds singing and watch fish, turtles, (and crocs!) swim by was really a great experience. Almost feels like being on safari. The separation of the suites and the beach while seemingly a negative is actually a good thing. You can get bikes when you get there and keep them at your suite the whole time and use them to get around. Its about a 5 minute leisurely and beautiful bike ride through the jungle. If biking is not your thing, you can either grab a golf cart lift or even a boat ride through the lagoon. The beach is immaculate although not the kind of break if you are into surfing. The staff caters to your every need bringing complementary bottles of water and refilling the ice bucket every 15 minutes. You truly do feel pampered. The food is fresh and delicious but is expensive (~$30 per person for breakfast and lunch and maybe $75 per person for dinner for a pretty basic meal) but the quality and taste is excellent. Pro tip - they do have an ala cart menu for breakfast that is cheaper than the buffet but you have to ask for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent but expensive hotel.

Posted May 18, 2015
Wonderful relaxing place. Restaurants are great but expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Best resort in Mexico

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: It was well maintained, lush foliage, and the staff was incredible. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The waiters, pool helpers, etc.
Cons: Nothing. It exceeded our expectations and we will be back.
Location: There are three hotels on the Mayokoba property. We didn't go to any of others but we did ride our bikes to the cenote and explored it.
We planned this trip for a milestone birthday for me. We looked at other Rosewood hotels and decided on this one due to the total travel time from Atlanta. It was just my wife and I for a quick three night get-a-way. We began our vacation by opting to get picked up by the car service (Escalade). It was a splurge for us but it was well worth it. They were parked waiting for us right outside the doors of the airport. They took our luggage sat us in the truck. They gave us cold towels right away and opened up some Coronitas for both of us. The hotel was a 45 minute drive down one highway. The Escalade had wifi available so we could check emails on the way. Check in was great. We were greeted with mojitos and a quick tour of the lobby area and an explanation of the property. We got their a little for check in so they let us stay in a temporary room. It was one close to the the spa, that was two stories. This was so nice. Once our room was ready they moved us to it. Our room was fantastic. It was room 319. Ask for that room if you can. It was so private. The dock, plunge pool and lounge chairs in the back looked out over the more secluded part of lagoon and it was not across from other rooms. It was their standard room but it was far from standard. We liked it much better than the two story room they had us in temporarily. Our room had a large tub and shower that was glass and you could see into the back area where there was an outdoor shower and stairs to go upstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heavan

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Wonderful hotel and warm staff! Near perfection. Would go back in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darin from Miami Beach

Heaven on earth!!

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
We came to the resort for our anniversary. The resort was the perfect place to celebrate it. The staff was incredible and the resort was paradise. This is a one of a kind place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

EXCELENTE

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hospedagem magnífica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hilary from Cincinnati

Babymoon at Rosewood Mayakoba

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay here! Our room was luxuriously appointed and very clean. The outdoor shower and the heated private pool were fantastic. The resort pools were both beautiful and not overcrowded during our stay. My husband enjoyed his service at the spa and the gym was more than adequate. Food was (for the most part) very good. The overall service was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victor from Albuquerque

Romantic, quiet pampering

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
We spent a long weekend at the Mayakoba to celebrate our anniversary and stayed in an oceanfront suite. The room was spacious, with high quality architectural and interior design and furnishings. The location was convenient to the beach restaurant and facilities and, though roughly a kilometer from the main hotel restaurants, the golf cart shuttles were never more than a minute or two wait from the outside of our door. The butler staff for our room were exceptional and extremely attentive. One of the most notable aspects of the stay was the exceptional quality of the staff in general and their excellent English. We did not have any instance where we were disappointed or even remotely displeased with the service or staff. The same can be said of the facilities and grounds. The loaner bicycles were a nice touch and the ecotour of waterways was much better than I expected. The hotel never felt crowded and was never noisy (a personal pet peeve). All in all, an excellent place for an intimate, romantic getaway. Like all high end resorts, food and beverage can get a bit pricey, but was excellent for the most part. I am not sure we would consider staying in the rooms that front the waterways (most do). It seems a little odd to stay on a waterway when you go to an ocean destination. But dont get me wrong, we WILL be back. The stay was delightful.