Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We loved our stay at Royal Hideaway! The resort was very clean and everyone was super nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfection!! Absolutely Wonderful

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Stayed last week of Sept. Staff was amazing! Food was very enjoyable & wide variety. Fine dining every night! There was no need to leave resort. It was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

15th Wedding Anniversary Trip

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: GREAT food, GREAT service and staff, afternoon tea service, several pools with more privacy, not too crowded, alot of little details that add value
Cons: Room condition such as paint, drywall repairs, and better sheets/bedding. Better stocked minibar with bottled beer. More room service choices.
Location: Great location in a gated, upscale community. GREAT beach, close to Cinquenta Avenida (5th Avenue) in Playa for shopping and authentic restaurants.
We selected this hotel to celebrate our 15th anniversary because of the ratings it received on various travel sites. We were looking for a 4.5-5 star, adults only quiet property with comfortable rooms and great food/ammenities. When we checked in we found our room was much smaller and less appointed than we expected of a 5 star property. We have stayed in other 4.5 star properties (Secrets Capri, La Garza Blanca) and found the rooms and bathrooms to be much larger with more luxurious appointments (fully stocked minibars vs pop and 2 CANS of beer, better terraces, better bedding, more attention to detail). We were given a ground floor room next to the stairs and were constantly awakened by the noise of other guests as late as 3:00 am. The next morning our building concierge (Juan) asked us about our stay and we told him we were expecting more and the noise was terrible (in fact at that point we were in touch with a travel agent to see if we could switch properties). Within 30 minutes, unnexpectedly, the Chief Concierge (Arely) was at our door offering 4 other rooms choices including a free upgrade to a Junior Suite. The staff went out of their way to salvage our vacation which we feared was going to be a nightmare. Even though the rooms and some maintenance are not to a 5 star standard, the food, activities, service, beach, and little details are. We are SO glad we gave it another chance and stayed. It turned out to be one of our best trips ever and we HATED to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice quiet get away!

Posted Oct 1, 2014
This was our second trip to the Royal Hideaway and it was just as great as the first trip. For an all inclusive, the food is exceptional. Hotel staff is very helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Beach is very large with pristine white sand. The town of Playa Del Carmen is a 20 minute walk or 10 minute bike ride and has lots of shopping, etc...The hotel is also located in Playacar which has great security. My wife and have been just about everywhere and we've found Playa to be the best bang for our buck. Great for a quiet and romantic get away...no kiddos :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Best all inclusive in Playa del Carmen!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: beautiful resort, amazing beach, infinity pools, totally all inclusive luxury, not like other resorts where they add little things to your bill. 5 restaurants to choose from, the sushi at Azia is delicious! The grill has great steaks, good wine selection (house wine is free and good quality). Adults only, no screaming kids, room service included, even breakfast in bed. Great shows and activities. Cons: men have to dress up for most of the restaurants, long pants, collared shirts (my husband is more relaxed), the entertainment ends pretty early. Overall amazing experience, we were able to 100% relax and leave our stress at home. We will be back again for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Great location! Never had to leave the resort. Great access for PADI scuba too. Restaurants were amazing, but Azia was the absolute tops in all categories! Definitely a do-over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Playacar

Paradise!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The beach was beautiful, the hotel was awesome, the food was amazing and the staff was extremely nice! We had an awesome time :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, United Kingdom.

Good food, surroundings, resort straight to beach

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly service, very good food and landscaped surroundings.
Cons: Shelving in bathroom for toiletries to be stored during stay. More plug sockets. Mirror in bedroom (hair can only be dried in bathroom right by sink!)
Location: Beautiful location, long white sandy beach against the azure blue sea. Playa del Carman shopping centre is a 20 minute walk.
Very good and friendly service. Staff are genuine, enjoy the work they do. Food very good and varied cuisines. Room service quick and as requested. Activities available for those that wish to participate. Excellent service around pool and beach for drinks/foods. Cater for special occasions/requirements. Spa and beauty facilities to hand, along with a few shops in the lobby, although a few local shops across the road from hotel. Also business centre within the hotel with computers/printer if required. Playa del Carmen is about a 20 minute walk, although extremely hot and humid for carrying this out. The beach has beautiful white sand, very clean and wonderful for taking a long stroll. The sea is azure blue, but often like a 'washing machine' when you are in it (quite strong waves, although fun to jump, even at 55....). On the beach the hotel has lots of sunbeds, some canopied for those that wish to be out of the direct sun some of the time. Hotel grounds are very landscaped, beautiful kept, lots of palm trees with ponds, fountains and three Jacuzzis spread about - lovely ambiance in general, especially at night when lit, although often very humid to be sat out at night, unless in 'The Grill Restaurant', where you have the sea breeze. Other restaurants were generally air conditioned, along with the rooms you stay in and the air conditioning is quiet, which is a God send - we had this on low, every night of our 10 night stay (it was needed). An enjoyable stay in all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, USA

Nice 4 relaxing, less if you love fun,food,drinks

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the staff, it was extremely nice and accommodating. Beautiful beach and property
Cons: Drinks and food are average. Not really close to a 5 star resort
Location: Playa del Carmen is near by, you can do a few minutes walk, use bicycles available at the hotel or just take a taxi.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff, it was extremely nice and accommodating. The rooms looked very nice and clean. But during shower the temperature constantly changes from hot to cold, I can only assume that whenever some other room in your villa is using the water, the pressure on the pipes changes and your temperature changes accordingly. The food at Spices restaurant and the Deck was average at best. I can easily eat better Mexican and more authentic food here at Miami in a fast-food Mexican restaurant. Ventanas and Palazzo restaurants and Club Royale, serve set menus. The decor is 5 stars but the food is average. They put lot of effort to make your food look great, but we have to left food on our plate in several occasions. They overload the dishes with too many, small portion, ingredients, and the taste is far from great. So far the only good restaurant is Azia (Japanese, if you like sushi, like us, you're saved) Drinks are also terrible. Only the cheapest beers and liquors are available. Even famous Mexican beer like Corona o Negra modelo are no where to be found. Cocktails are also cheap and not prepared using the naturals ingredients you could expect. Any drink that use fruits or lemon juice will be prepared from concentrate. If you are used to enjoy a good margarita, you'll be disappointed. Not really what you're expecting for a 5 starts all inclusive resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Treated Like Royalty

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere. Very relaxing. Excellent dining. Outstanding service. Great location. Beautiful beach.
Cons: It would be nice to have a larger bar (maybe convert The Deck) open until 11:00 at night. There is no where to meet other guests after dinner.
Location: Very close to shopping in town. Tulum is a short trip away. Cozumel is an easy day trip if desired.
From the minute we arrived on Monday, until we left Saturday morning, we could not have been treated better. Check in went very smoothly, after which we were escorted to Spices for the first of many great meals. The best attribute of The Royal Hideaway - besides the great location, beautiful views, and immaculately kept grounds - is the people. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Every personal contact was of the highest order. Everyone was constantly smiling! Special "thank you's" go to Christian and Benito at Spices, Mario by the pool, Sergio and Elvis with the entertainment team, and Jesus with the spa team. The food and dining experiences are top rate. No detail is left to chance. We enjoyed the Viva Mexico show in Club Royale the first night, and also had dinners in Ventanas, Palazzo, Azia, and Spices. Ventanas was my personal favorite, but all were excellent. The buffet breakfast in Spices is a great way to start the day, and lunch at either The Deck or Spices is hard to beat. The atmosphere at RH is very laid back. No loud music playing, no kids screaming, no high pressure sales pitches to annoy you. Just great people everywhere. We met multiple couples who come every year, and even one couple who has been there over 10 times. This was my 2nd trip, and we will definitely be back for many years to come. Yes, the rooms show their age a little. But you aren't there much. And the attitude and friendliness of the staff make the stay!