Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kerrville,texas

Royal hideaway

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Tranquil
Cons: Food
Location: Taking a cab to town was fun. Playa del Carmen is full of fun things to do and see
Perfect place to go when you need to relax. I loved the gardens that surrounded the buildings. The little villas make for a feeling of privacy. I loved all the little animals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014
Dear Susan, Thank you for your kind comments. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay. We are looking forward to host you again at Royal Hideaway Playacar. Warm Regards, Reputation Manager, Royal Hideaway Playacar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great place to eat well and relax

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The food and the service were amazing.
Cons: I wish there was entertainment every night. There were some nights when there was nothing going on at the hotel.
Location: Great beach. There are some ruins nearby as well as the 5th Avenue shopping strip.
We had an amazing stay and enjoyed delicious food and exceptional service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014
Dear Rodfam, Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your straight words about our services at Royal Hideaway Playacar. We hope to see you coming back soon, Royal Hideaway Playacar
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

A great trip that had a bad ending...

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The staff in the restaurants, cleaning, grounds were amazing. They were always friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
Cons: Better process for making dinner reservations
Location: It's an easy walk to the downtown area where there is shopping, restaurants, etc
We chose the hotel because they were rated as being very accommodating. My husband was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. This was going to be our first trip since his surgery. He now deals with strict dietary confinements. I contacted the hotel months ahead to make sure his needs could be met. They assured me that there would be no issues with making reservations for restaurants and the foods available. I was told I could make reservations when I arrived. Dinner at 9:30 is not an option for him as it is not enough time for him to digest. I made the reservations upon arrival. When we arrived at the restaurant that night, they said we didn't have a reservation for us and couldn't accomodate us anywhere else. The concierge had made the mistake and they weren't willing to help us. They took no responsibility for their own employee's error. Human error I understand and accept but management should have done something to improve the situation. I had numerous emails from management telling me the exact problem I was afraid of happening, would not happen. Up until the point of this incident, we were happy with our trip. The hotel promotes themselves as caring so much about their guests. I guess it was hard for me to accept they couldn't do more for someone who had to dealt with cancer and has had his life altered forever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clinton, NJ

Perfect for a relaxing vacation

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Couldnt ask for better food, better service, or a more beautiful resort. I will absolutely go back as soon as I can.. Not a party resort, don't plan on a rowdy trip. This is a first class resort, perfect for couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Luxury all inclusive with amazing food!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
I can't say more than fantastic. Staff was great. Everyone was so happy and met any need possible. Beautiful beach with not the huge swarm of crowds. The food was absolutely awesome! This was our first all inclusive and I was a little scared for how the food would be.... It was better than any place we have ever been! We cannot wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, MI

5 Stars! We would go back in a heartbeat!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The food, the service, the layout, the rooms, tea time... The views... The landscaping... The location... Pretty much everything...
Cons: Some minor cosmetic repairs on the buildings themselves and some outdoor chairs that have been worn out.
Location: The strip mall is directly across the street. It was great! Lots of handmade souvenirs, sombreros, blankets...
5 Star Dining! 5 Star Service! 5 Star Resort! This was the best week of my life... Perfect romantic getaway... We only left the resort to walk across the street and purchase some souvenirs at the local strip mall in Playacar... You walk in and receive a glass of champagne and a cool towel... and before you know it... it's time to go home... Our greeter Roberto was so pleasant and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. Best restaurants were Spices (overlooking the beach) and their Italian Restaurant "Palazzo"... I definitely recommend having tea in the main lobby where they brew tea, serve you tarts and you are serenaded by an instrumentalists EVERY DAY from 4pm-6pm. (We loved the flautist!) We wanted to relax and didn't have any desire to try out scuba diving or jet ski's, but there are plenty of options for motorized sports... They also have water aerobics... Or for the lazy folks like us... There are cabana's and covered beach loungers. LOL They have a beautiful dinner theater that is open two nights a week so be sure to make your reservations! The show was fantastic and always, the food was excellent. The best part was having our drink orders taken on the beach and by the pool... Impeccable hospitality. (Try their Miami Vice - Half Strawberry Daquiri/Half Pina Colada) All in all... We hit the jackpot choosing a resort... Gentleman, bring slacks and closed toed shoes for dinner and ladies bring a few nice dresses... This resort is upscale and amazing..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus

2nd Time Back

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Location: It is walking distance to Playa del Carmen...about 1.5 miles by beach walk.
This was our second time back to Royal Hideaway. We were married there 11 years ago, so we wanted to return. The foold was amazing and very gourmet. That was the best part of the trip. Also, top shelf liquor available in drinks. We went 3rd week in October and unfortunately it rained heavy every day. This was very frustrating as the sun only shined a couple hours a day and we were there for 7 days. However, there is no place that I would rather be in the rain, other than Royal Hideaway. It still felt luxurious and the staff really takes care of you and provides plenty of dry pool towels, great umbrellas, and offers activities despite the rain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puyallup, WA

Best view in Playa del Carmen

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Smaller property, quiet, staff are accommodating. Fantastic beach. The grounds are well maintained. Could use some quoi fish or turtles in the ponds.
Cons: Room décor needs updating & refresher look in terms of lighting, minor repairs, artwork. Bring back the Spanish guitar music at the Grill.
Location: The hotel is in a planned community, feels very safe.
This was our 3rd trip to Playa del Carmen and our 2nd to The Royal Hideaway. We absolutely love it and will return again!! We love the service we receive and the food is amazing. There are no tacky buffets. All meals, except for room service or the pool side service are served in their restaurants. They have an award winning executive chef who is great. The Royal Hideaway is a smaller property in comparison to others in the area. While the larger resorts are very pretty, they are too big for our preferences. We prefer the size of the Royal Hideaway. At the Royal Hideaway, they cater to a quieter crowd. The atmosphere is restful. No loud music, ongoing obnoxious guy on a microphone screaming at you to play pool games. The last thing I want is a "spring break" mentality when I go on vacation. The villas all have their own concierge who help accommodate special requests or address room concerns. This year we were in a villa next to a neighboring property which was very loud late into the night from their shows. We were offered to move into another villa however we ended up staying with the addition of a fan in our room. The West Indies décor of the hotel, it's elegant. The rooms need a refresher only in terms of updated artwork, upholstery and better lighting. We had a great time with our friends this year. My husband and I are frugal travelers. We feel the experience at the RH is well worth the expense.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Folsom, CA

Classy, relaxing getaway with great dinning

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Great food, classy people, great service, well groomed beach, excellent shows
It took about a day to unwind and appreciate this resort. Once we settled in, we had a wonderful time. Food is a really big deal for us and this resort delivered. Service was great. The staff is very friendly and went out of their way to ensure our requests were taken care of. The view from the infinity pool is like a post card. Spent a lot of time there sipping on drinks and taking it all in. The beach is very clean (no rocks). Nothing but white sand as far as the eye can see. I couldn't wait to play in the waves every day. I already miss it! Great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom monterrey n l

Excelente muy agusto cómodo y muy buena comida

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Todo comida habitaciones instalaciones comidas
Cons: No creo es un muy buen hotel
Location: Para todos los gustos y lo que desees hacer
Instalacienes bellas mucha naturaleza un sus caminos y una atención excelente