Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Great location! Never had to leave the resort. Great access for PADI scuba too. Restaurants were amazing, but Azia was the absolute tops in all categories! Definitely a do-over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Playacar

Paradise!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The beach was beautiful, the hotel was awesome, the food was amazing and the staff was extremely nice! We had an awesome time :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, United Kingdom.

Good food, surroundings, resort straight to beach

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly service, very good food and landscaped surroundings.
Cons: Shelving in bathroom for toiletries to be stored during stay. More plug sockets. Mirror in bedroom (hair can only be dried in bathroom right by sink!)
Location: Beautiful location, long white sandy beach against the azure blue sea. Playa del Carman shopping centre is a 20 minute walk.
Very good and friendly service. Staff are genuine, enjoy the work they do. Food very good and varied cuisines. Room service quick and as requested. Activities available for those that wish to participate. Excellent service around pool and beach for drinks/foods. Cater for special occasions/requirements. Spa and beauty facilities to hand, along with a few shops in the lobby, although a few local shops across the road from hotel. Also business centre within the hotel with computers/printer if required. Playa del Carmen is about a 20 minute walk, although extremely hot and humid for carrying this out. The beach has beautiful white sand, very clean and wonderful for taking a long stroll. The sea is azure blue, but often like a 'washing machine' when you are in it (quite strong waves, although fun to jump, even at 55....). On the beach the hotel has lots of sunbeds, some canopied for those that wish to be out of the direct sun some of the time. Hotel grounds are very landscaped, beautiful kept, lots of palm trees with ponds, fountains and three Jacuzzis spread about - lovely ambiance in general, especially at night when lit, although often very humid to be sat out at night, unless in 'The Grill Restaurant', where you have the sea breeze. Other restaurants were generally air conditioned, along with the rooms you stay in and the air conditioning is quiet, which is a God send - we had this on low, every night of our 10 night stay (it was needed). An enjoyable stay in all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, USA

Nice 4 relaxing, less if you love fun,food,drinks

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The best thing about this hotel was the staff, it was extremely nice and accommodating. Beautiful beach and property
Cons: Drinks and food are average. Not really close to a 5 star resort
Location: Playa del Carmen is near by, you can do a few minutes walk, use bicycles available at the hotel or just take a taxi.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff, it was extremely nice and accommodating. The rooms looked very nice and clean. But during shower the temperature constantly changes from hot to cold, I can only assume that whenever some other room in your villa is using the water, the pressure on the pipes changes and your temperature changes accordingly. The food at Spices restaurant and the Deck was average at best. I can easily eat better Mexican and more authentic food here at Miami in a fast-food Mexican restaurant. Ventanas and Palazzo restaurants and Club Royale, serve set menus. The decor is 5 stars but the food is average. They put lot of effort to make your food look great, but we have to left food on our plate in several occasions. They overload the dishes with too many, small portion, ingredients, and the taste is far from great. So far the only good restaurant is Azia (Japanese, if you like sushi, like us, you're saved) Drinks are also terrible. Only the cheapest beers and liquors are available. Even famous Mexican beer like Corona o Negra modelo are no where to be found. Cocktails are also cheap and not prepared using the naturals ingredients you could expect. Any drink that use fruits or lemon juice will be prepared from concentrate. If you are used to enjoy a good margarita, you'll be disappointed. Not really what you're expecting for a 5 starts all inclusive resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Treated Like Royalty

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere. Very relaxing. Excellent dining. Outstanding service. Great location. Beautiful beach.
Cons: It would be nice to have a larger bar (maybe convert The Deck) open until 11:00 at night. There is no where to meet other guests after dinner.
Location: Very close to shopping in town. Tulum is a short trip away. Cozumel is an easy day trip if desired.
From the minute we arrived on Monday, until we left Saturday morning, we could not have been treated better. Check in went very smoothly, after which we were escorted to Spices for the first of many great meals. The best attribute of The Royal Hideaway - besides the great location, beautiful views, and immaculately kept grounds - is the people. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Every personal contact was of the highest order. Everyone was constantly smiling! Special "thank you's" go to Christian and Benito at Spices, Mario by the pool, Sergio and Elvis with the entertainment team, and Jesus with the spa team. The food and dining experiences are top rate. No detail is left to chance. We enjoyed the Viva Mexico show in Club Royale the first night, and also had dinners in Ventanas, Palazzo, Azia, and Spices. Ventanas was my personal favorite, but all were excellent. The buffet breakfast in Spices is a great way to start the day, and lunch at either The Deck or Spices is hard to beat. The atmosphere at RH is very laid back. No loud music playing, no kids screaming, no high pressure sales pitches to annoy you. Just great people everywhere. We met multiple couples who come every year, and even one couple who has been there over 10 times. This was my 2nd trip, and we will definitely be back for many years to come. Yes, the rooms show their age a little. But you aren't there much. And the attitude and friendliness of the staff make the stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for me hotel like nursing home -for people over 60

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: restaurant and food was perfect
Cons: music and bar by the pool, day bar in lobby ! improving rooms conditions !
Location: location is good
could be better after major improving (to boring for people under 50)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Disappointing for a 5 star resort!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The blue ocean front, 2 restaurants, the spa (masseuse) and room service!
Cons: The resort is in need of overall repair as noted above. More management presence to ensure a good experience and areas to dance and meet other guests
Location: This resort is a mere 5 min cab ride or 12 min bike ride to Playa del Carmen, which affords many safe shopping, dining and bar offerings.
As a fairly frequent traveler, I look for a highly rated resort (4 or 5 star) as well as a variety of restaurant choices, entertainment and activities to do while there. This resort did not deliver on several fronts. If you enjoy live music, bars, lounges, etc. where you can dance and interact with other guests, do not choose this resort. The musical entertainment and activities around the pool area are practically non-existent here. There was one very small lounge (that could probably seat 14-16 ppl) that had karaoke for 2 nights and live music that was primarily in Spanish. The average age of the guests were 45 and above and there was an overall somber feel at the resort. The resort appears to be in a state of disrepair with the majority of the lounge chairs around the pool having ripped or missing material, wood rot on many buildings and rust on almost all metal surfaces. The room had a clogged sink and tub from the onset (which was repaired once reported), a toilet that ran frequently and a shower that vacillated between extremely hot and cold no matter how the dial was turned. Half of the restaurants had less than desirable food in terms of types and flavor, while the other half of the restaurants were exceptional. There was a lack of resort management presence and not once was I asked how my stay was or what could be done to improve it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mesquite, TX

Beautiful property

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Laid back but elegant. Lot's of open air areas with beautiful tropical landscaping.Very clean.Adults only.
Cons: The computers in the business area need updated virus/malware protection.We experienced a virus while attempting to connect to our US bank account.
The hotel's landscaping is lush and very tropical.They are meticulous in the grounds care. The beachfront is beautiful white pristine sand. Waitstaff on the beach was always excellent with both drinks and food delivered right to your beach chair. All waiters, including the restaurant staff were friendly and very accommodating.The restaurant food was all very good; mostly gourmet.We would have enjoyed one more casual dinner choice.Spices breakfast was by far our favorite experience. From made to order omelets by the always chipper Carlos to cereal with any breakfast item you can think of in between and beautiful views of the ocean; it was perfect.The hotel is very clean and cozy.There are areas, like older looking loose wallpaper that show it's age but only in spots.The guests were mature and all seemed to have one thing in common; relaxation.No one was rowdy or loud, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic resort hotel right on the water

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Only 40 minutes south of Cancun, you can still go there or see some of the Mayan ruins of Coba or Tulum. However, going to Chichen Itza is appx 2 hrs
This was a great hotel and the reviews were pretty accurate. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean and accurately described. The staff seems to be constantly maintaining the resort which is very nice. The food was very good overall and fresh. No concerns over health issues at this place. Alternately, my criticisms overall include the portions of the food were just a little small. The hotel is very nice if you want to relax but there is no nightspot on the resort as there are the other neighboring hotels in Playacar. It is quiet at night and is meant to just relax which seems to be their business model. That being said, if you want night life there are places to go in town which is safe and immediately as you leave the Playacar hotel strip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Very good Service but everything ends early

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The pool bar closes at 6pm. No music after 11pm. No nightlife, is like for adults over 60 or if you only want to rest. Allthough the service is excellent.