Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Aug 17, 2014
(August 2014 with husband and two near adult boys). Beautiful site, excellent accommodations. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful with questions and seeing to needs. Very relaxing and calm, if you want that. SO nice to leave lines, traffic and lots of people behind at home, none of that here. Definitely would go back!! Excursion to Tulum with zipline, snorkeling (Xtreme with Aventuras Mayas) was a lot of fun, and our guide Ellie was outstanding. Has a good time on fishing trip with GO FISH, although the highlight was snorkeling on the reef and the lunch Matt and Carlos prepared beachside. We did catch barracuda, but not much else was running that day. Great time for our first trip to Mexico!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful resort with groomed landscaping.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and so helpful. Javier was our favorite waiter on the beach and at The Deck restaurant. The pools and beach are gorgeous.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great. We parasailed from the beach and did take an excursion to Xcaret. Had a romantic dinner on the beach as well. Perfect stay
The resort was clean, beautiful and so friendly. All the restaurants were amazing and the food delicious. Our room was so comfortable and very clean. Just did not have any complaints about our trip at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

great stay - but hotel needs work

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: food, beach and service were top notch
Cons: hotel needs large improvements and upgrades.
Location: location was excellent near the golf course and near the town , yet secluded enough.
great service, great food ,great location- but hotel needs lots of tlc, rooms are nice but a/c needs work , coundn't enjoy view because needed to keep room closed due to lack of a/c- pillows and bed need work also, but room amenities overall were good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

A beautiful hotel for a nice relaxing experience

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cons: Try to enforce dress code for dinner time,there was people that did not care about it,they should have more respect for your policies and others
Over all really nice installations,the staff was always very professional and attentive to any little detail to make us feel a 5 star hotel experience,the variety in high cuisine and beverages was outstanding,we will go back and bring friends with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best vacation!!!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Everyone at the hotel was happy and wanting to please you. Everything is close but has tons of privacy
Cons: I would like to see nightly activities.
Location: The location is great, 40 minute cab drive from airport. Five minutes away from 5th ave(the pier) shopping and where the ferry goes to Cozumel
From the moment we arrived we felt like royalty. The place is beautiful, clean, elegant, fun, and has a gorgeous beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SC

Very Relaxing resort- great for couples

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Great Food
Cons: more activities at night
Location: you can take a 40 minute ferry ride to cozumel for the day
Great Resort! Very relaxing. They Treat you amazing. No nightlife- if you are looking for a party scene, not the place. You need dress pants at all dinner restaurants. We also upgraded to dinner on the beach- it was amazing! and the couples massage is fantastic. Highly recommend:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

quiet luxury vacation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Playa del Carmen is walking distance or a very short cab ride. It is the real Mexico experience if you want to slip away from the Royal lifestyle.
Had been to other all inclusive resorts in the area, which we enjoyed very much. This place was much nicer. Unlike all inclusive the food is top notch. Mostly sit down restaurants where you order off the menu. There is a breakfast buffet and a lunch grill buffet by the pool. Again this food is incredible. Made to order. Smaller resort, no nightlife what so ever. Only one bar open throughout the day, and only one open at night, which closes at 1AM. This is a perfect resort for couples who want to relax in paradise, with quiet nights. We were the youngest there, in our mid-20s. Enjoyed the experience very much. The name is very accurate it was indeed a Royal Hideaway. We were treated with Royalty from the moment we arrived (champagne and cold towels) to the moment we left, and we were very much in a hideaway from the rest of Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monterrey nl mexico

Excellent Hotel Incredible Service

Posted Aug 3, 2014
We Went for our 39 aniversary and just loved the peace and calm of the hotel! Super recommended😉
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco,CA

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Food, Location, Staff, Accommodating, Beautiful Hotel
Cons: More (all inclusive) lunch options
Location: The location is right on the beach, 5 minutes from the main downtown pier shopping area, 15 minutes from XPLOR.
The Royal Hideaway is a Palace. We booked our trip last minute with 2 hotel options and we are ecstatic we chose this place. There were no complaints at all besides not staying longer. Everything was quintessential. The food was beyond amazing, high quality food and all tasted delicious. The hotel is architecturally beautiful and clean VERY WELL maintained, the staff was extremely accommodating- anything we asked for they would make it happen. We are telling everyone we know about this fabulous Hideaway. The Royal Hideaway in Playa De Carmen will now be a annual vacation for our family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

AWESOME

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Very upscale
Cons: When you use all of the washcloths please give us new ones.
Location: It was excellant.
Overall it was a great experience. The staff were friendly. The grounds were clean and well manicured. All of the restaurants were excellent. I would go back again.