Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful All-Inclusive Resort!!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Simply Outstanding! Far exceeded our expectations, very impressed. Hospitality was superb. All meals, beverages, entertainment, personal service, spa, amenities, etc. were the best. If you don't want to be pampered don't come here!
3 out of 5
by L.D from Ann Arbor, MI

Management Problems

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: As always, the food is excellent. The facilities are under renovation so some rooms and railings are newly painted/replaced. Beach is GORGEOUS.
End of vacation ruined by unmanaged wedding party and fraternity reunion. Hotel management dismissed complaints by non-group guests and completely catered to the large parties. Both groups were on site to party like teenagers and inconsiderate of everyone else - very UN-Royal Hideaway like. This behavior was acceptable and supported by the management staff. The atmosphere of the resort was completely different days before the groups arrived. Pools and beach were cleared to make room for wedding/reception nearly all of one day. Access to some restaurants/bars were limited. Hotel staff were run ragged trying to keep up with the group demand. Service declined significantly during those days. Heard a common quote many times from party guests AND STAFF/MANAGEMENT; "someone paid alot of money for the party to be here" - it was obvious that the party guests were far more important than the other vacationing guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from San Diego, CA

Great beach, food, and hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
My husband stayed at Paradisus La Perla 2 years before. We just got back from our trip to Royal Hideaway and had a great time. Their food was great. Their beach was great. Much better than Paradisus. No rocks on the beach. Great service. They serve you food and drinks on the beach. Best restaurants were Spices, The Grill, and Palazzo. Very quiet and mellow hotel. No parties if you are looking for a calm trip. We did have tiny sugar ants in the room but it didn't really bother us. We were not sure if we were going to like it but we were very happy with our choice. Had a great time and over ate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victoria from New Jersey

Gorgeous Hotel..Beach..and Pool

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Beach, pool, layout.
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Mayan Jungle Tour was fantastic!
I just returned from Royal Hideaway and I will say it was an amazing vacation. We had a room with no air conditioning when we arrived, the staff changed our room three times until we were satisfied, and then gave us a couples massage for 90 minutes on the beach for our inconvenience. My first stay at an all inclusive, I was hesitant because I am very particular with my accommodations, however the food was absolutely fantastic!!!!! Service was impeccable, the staff could not do enough to make everything perfect. I would absolutely go back!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E.

Beautiful Grounds and Beach!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Most everything!
Cons: The beds could use better pillows and the service in some dinner restaurants can be a bit too slow at times.
The most impressive things about this hotel are the grounds, the beach, and the staff. We had a wonderful week-long stay where we never tired of the beautiful surroundings and the excellent service. Some staff members that deserve special mention are Delia, our fantastic villa concierge who attended to our every need, and Carlos, an excellent member the activities staff who entertained my husband with daily ping pong or putting competitions. While there may be some minor areas that could use updating or improvements, overall this hotel is fantastic and one of our new favorites on the Riviera Maya. We'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and close to beach

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Food
Location: location is awesome, right on beach. 1 hour drive from cancun airport.
We really enjoyed our 5 day stay. The hotel is very attractive and well kept, we were really impressed with the staff and comfort/cleanliness of the room. Its so close to the beautiful beach with lots of chairs and umbrellas. The only donwside for us was the food. The restaurants at night were pretty decent, but breakfast and lunch were really just hotel food quality/par. Wish they could up the food, and we would love it even more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne from Calgary, Canada

Best hotel in playa

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The staff and the grounds are beautiful.
Cons: Another daytime bar. You have to go to the beach bar to get your drinks.
Location: There is a small plaza nearby that has all the touristy souvenirs so you don't need to go to 5th avenue.
Had another great stay at the Royal Hideaway. Staff are great and can't do enough for you. The only thing I think would be an improvement would be to have a bar in the main entrance/lobby that opens before 6 pm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from Coral Springs, Florida

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Beautiful hotel close to the beach. The staff is there to serve and please you with love and respect. The food is excellent!!! I would recommend this hotel to everybody and I would definitely come back!!! I'm happy I made the right choice to spend an spectacular getaway with my husband in this hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dadd105

Great adults only getaway

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Excellent dining choices on site (save one...see below). Unlimited drinks/wine.
Cons: The one spanish restaurant, Spices, (which is also the go-to polace for an exquisite breakfast), fell short on service and meal offering/preparation.
Excellent location and amenities. Concierge in each villa knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Selection of dining on site (save one venue, see below) all excellent with attentive staff, lovely venues and superb cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Excellent experience overall.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Our stay was excellent. Service was great without any variation in personnel - restaurants, bar, beach, lobby, concierge, and others. The food was excellent even though this is an all inclussive resort.