Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Honeymoon

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We went to the Royal Hideaway for our honeymoon. The service, food, and the enviornment was absolutely amazing! We were constantly greeted by our names which was a fabulous treat. Everything was above and beyond. Make sure you bring nice clothes for dinner because you will want to make sure you get to all the restaurants. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great experience!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Just came back from our trip. It was a great experience. The hotel is very nice, very clean and the staff is amazing. Everybody seems to go out of their way to make sure you are happy. Restaurants are very good. They offer a good variety of dishes, casual and formal dining. We were very impressed with how clean the hotel is. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4.5 Stars

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Great food, great staff and amazing beach. Restaurants are beautiful and well kept grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice hotel with a great beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: I liked the amenities and cleanliness. The food was also very good
Cons: It would have been nice to have the patio with tables next to the beach open in the evening for some drinks by the bar.
Location: Location was great right on the beach! Not far from downtown Playa del Carmen
I went with a friend for a mom's trip away to relax and that is exactly what we did! The facilities were very nice, staff was very friendly and the pools and beach were amazing! Loved how waiters came out to the beach to bring us water and other beverages at perfectly timed intervals. However, there was no nightlife so if that is something you are looking for this is not the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Absolutely wonderful!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: The pool are could use some music.
This was our second time at Royal Hideaway and we absolutely love this resort. The staff is very informative, professional and friendly. The food at the breakfast buffet is very good and all the restaurants have a wonderful menu selection! The A/C works ( not like some other resorts) and the beds are comfy. We are going back next year in April. Highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austria/texas

perfect concierges and wait staff

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: on site sport activity
Location: loved tennis
wonderful - hotel absolutely 5 star plus if not at full capacity - then probably a little crowded in space - elegant - expects you to behave to their standard - dress code / reservation times etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, the grounds, the pool, restaurants were great...loved everything about it.
Cons: The dinner show wasn't great and it was in a non air conditioned theater that got way too hot.
Location: Beach, Fifth Avenue. Each villa has a personal concierge who arranges excursions. I went to Tulum and Akumal for snorkeling. Lots of excursion options
What an amazing place this was! The people were wonderful and the hotel is beautiful. I met many people who have returned to the hotel every year and it is easy to understand why. The pool is great and the staff incredible. The proximity to the beach is perfect and it was an easy walk to Fifth Avenue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Great resort - excellent service

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, rooms, the infinity pool, and the excellent beach front. Great body surfing. Also the scuba diving experience was great.
Cons: Deferred maintenance on the exterior of some of the buildings - minor, and the air conditioning in the restaurant facilities.
Location: Close proximity to Playacar and Cozumel.
The staff of the Royal Hideaway couldn't have performed better. All were friendly and showed a sincere desire to make our stay with them an excellent experience. The atmosphere was relaxed and social. The dining experience was superb. In fact, I couldn't tell which was my favorite restaurant, although in a pinch, I might say Azia. The grounds were well laid out. The buildings themselves showed a bit of deferred maintenance,but the rooms were quite comfortable and functional. Being the end of June, the weather was quite warm, so we could have used a bit more air conditioning in the restaurants, as it tended to get uncomfortable at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Wonderful staff and a gorgeous beach.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
My wife and I visited the Royal Hideaway Playacar along with another couple and only had one complaint...that we didn't stay longer! The resort was so much more than we had even expected, and we will certainly recommend it to others. The food was sensational, all of the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to memorize your name, and their beach is gorgeous with some of the clearest water I have ever seen. This resort is smaller than some of the huge resorts located nearby, but this allows the staff to cater to you more and we never once felt like it was too crowded around the pool or at the beach. Royal Hideaway Playacar made our vacation a very enjoyable one and we look forward to going back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Awesome

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Felt like a King and Queen! We wish we could live there.