Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Treated Like Royalty

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great atmosphere. Very relaxing. Excellent dining. Outstanding service. Great location. Beautiful beach.
Cons: It would be nice to have a larger bar (maybe convert The Deck) open until 11:00 at night. There is no where to meet other guests after dinner.
Location: Very close to shopping in town. Tulum is a short trip away. Cozumel is an easy day trip if desired.
From the minute we arrived on Monday, until we left Saturday morning, we could not have been treated better. Check in went very smoothly, after which we were escorted to Spices for the first of many great meals. The best attribute of The Royal Hideaway - besides the great location, beautiful views, and immaculately kept grounds - is the people. Everyone there went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Every personal contact was of the highest order. Everyone was constantly smiling! Special "thank you's" go to Christian and Benito at Spices, Mario by the pool, Sergio and Elvis with the entertainment team, and Jesus with the spa team. The food and dining experiences are top rate. No detail is left to chance. We enjoyed the Viva Mexico show in Club Royale the first night, and also had dinners in Ventanas, Palazzo, Azia, and Spices. Ventanas was my personal favorite, but all were excellent. The buffet breakfast in Spices is a great way to start the day, and lunch at either The Deck or Spices is hard to beat. The atmosphere at RH is very laid back. No loud music playing, no kids screaming, no high pressure sales pitches to annoy you. Just great people everywhere. We met multiple couples who come every year, and even one couple who has been there over 10 times. This was my 2nd trip, and we will definitely be back for many years to come. Yes, the rooms show their age a little. But you aren't there much. And the attitude and friendliness of the staff make the stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for me hotel like nursing home -for people over 60

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: restaurant and food was perfect
Cons: music and bar by the pool, day bar in lobby ! improving rooms conditions !
Location: location is good
could be better after major improving (to boring for people under 50)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Disappointing for a 5 star resort!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The blue ocean front, 2 restaurants, the spa (masseuse) and room service!
Cons: The resort is in need of overall repair as noted above. More management presence to ensure a good experience and areas to dance and meet other guests
Location: This resort is a mere 5 min cab ride or 12 min bike ride to Playa del Carmen, which affords many safe shopping, dining and bar offerings.
As a fairly frequent traveler, I look for a highly rated resort (4 or 5 star) as well as a variety of restaurant choices, entertainment and activities to do while there. This resort did not deliver on several fronts. If you enjoy live music, bars, lounges, etc. where you can dance and interact with other guests, do not choose this resort. The musical entertainment and activities around the pool area are practically non-existent here. There was one very small lounge (that could probably seat 14-16 ppl) that had karaoke for 2 nights and live music that was primarily in Spanish. The average age of the guests were 45 and above and there was an overall somber feel at the resort. The resort appears to be in a state of disrepair with the majority of the lounge chairs around the pool having ripped or missing material, wood rot on many buildings and rust on almost all metal surfaces. The room had a clogged sink and tub from the onset (which was repaired once reported), a toilet that ran frequently and a shower that vacillated between extremely hot and cold no matter how the dial was turned. Half of the restaurants had less than desirable food in terms of types and flavor, while the other half of the restaurants were exceptional. There was a lack of resort management presence and not once was I asked how my stay was or what could be done to improve it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mesquite, TX

Beautiful property

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Laid back but elegant. Lot's of open air areas with beautiful tropical landscaping.Very clean.Adults only.
Cons: The computers in the business area need updated virus/malware protection.We experienced a virus while attempting to connect to our US bank account.
The hotel's landscaping is lush and very tropical.They are meticulous in the grounds care. The beachfront is beautiful white pristine sand. Waitstaff on the beach was always excellent with both drinks and food delivered right to your beach chair. All waiters, including the restaurant staff were friendly and very accommodating.The restaurant food was all very good; mostly gourmet.We would have enjoyed one more casual dinner choice.Spices breakfast was by far our favorite experience. From made to order omelets by the always chipper Carlos to cereal with any breakfast item you can think of in between and beautiful views of the ocean; it was perfect.The hotel is very clean and cozy.There are areas, like older looking loose wallpaper that show it's age but only in spots.The guests were mature and all seemed to have one thing in common; relaxation.No one was rowdy or loud, very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic resort hotel right on the water

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Only 40 minutes south of Cancun, you can still go there or see some of the Mayan ruins of Coba or Tulum. However, going to Chichen Itza is appx 2 hrs
This was a great hotel and the reviews were pretty accurate. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean and accurately described. The staff seems to be constantly maintaining the resort which is very nice. The food was very good overall and fresh. No concerns over health issues at this place. Alternately, my criticisms overall include the portions of the food were just a little small. The hotel is very nice if you want to relax but there is no nightspot on the resort as there are the other neighboring hotels in Playacar. It is quiet at night and is meant to just relax which seems to be their business model. That being said, if you want night life there are places to go in town which is safe and immediately as you leave the Playacar hotel strip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Very good Service but everything ends early

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The pool bar closes at 6pm. No music after 11pm. No nightlife, is like for adults over 60 or if you only want to rest. Allthough the service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new york

Amazing staff at a great resort.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Staff first and then restaurants.
Cons: Liven it up a little by the pool, it doesn't have to be all day and night but it was to quiet.
Location: We went to downtown Playa every night. It was about a $10.00 cab ride which was tip included. Mandala night club was a blast.
I can't begin to say enough great things about the Royal Hideaway. The resort was beautiful and very relaxing, a little to relaxing for us. We are more into the nightlife which this resort doesn't have but all in all if you want to get away to relax it's definitely the place to go. The AMAZING staff is what gives this resort 5 stars, in my book they gave it 10 stars. I am so impressed with the dedication and work ethic their employees have and they should all be recognized. One person in general was Fernando who is a waiter in Spice and The Grill restaurant. Fernando constantly had a smile on his face and a warm personality. He remembered our names and drink orders, (as well as many of the other wait staff) and was always happy to serve us. Thank you Fernando. The restaurants in this amazing all inclusive resort was to die for. Not once did we have a meal that wasn't just as good as any NYC restaurant that we've been to. My favorite by far would be Azia. The food is was fabulous. Enough about the restaurants, the pools and beach were amazing as well. I would only have one suggestion, play some music. It doesn't have to be loud or hip hop but the silence was killing us. Like I said, if your looking to unwind and read a book, this is the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Aug 17, 2014
(August 2014 with husband and two near adult boys). Beautiful site, excellent accommodations. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful with questions and seeing to needs. Very relaxing and calm, if you want that. SO nice to leave lines, traffic and lots of people behind at home, none of that here. Definitely would go back!! Excursion to Tulum with zipline, snorkeling (Xtreme with Aventuras Mayas) was a lot of fun, and our guide Ellie was outstanding. Has a good time on fishing trip with GO FISH, although the highlight was snorkeling on the reef and the lunch Matt and Carlos prepared beachside. We did catch barracuda, but not much else was running that day. Great time for our first trip to Mexico!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful resort with groomed landscaping.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and so helpful. Javier was our favorite waiter on the beach and at The Deck restaurant. The pools and beach are gorgeous.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great. We parasailed from the beach and did take an excursion to Xcaret. Had a romantic dinner on the beach as well. Perfect stay
The resort was clean, beautiful and so friendly. All the restaurants were amazing and the food delicious. Our room was so comfortable and very clean. Just did not have any complaints about our trip at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

great stay - but hotel needs work

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: food, beach and service were top notch
Cons: hotel needs large improvements and upgrades.
Location: location was excellent near the golf course and near the town , yet secluded enough.
great service, great food ,great location- but hotel needs lots of tlc, rooms are nice but a/c needs work , coundn't enjoy view because needed to keep room closed due to lack of a/c- pillows and bed need work also, but room amenities overall were good