Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Fantastic resort hotel right on the water

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Only 40 minutes south of Cancun, you can still go there or see some of the Mayan ruins of Coba or Tulum. However, going to Chichen Itza is appx 2 hrs
This was a great hotel and the reviews were pretty accurate. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room clean and accurately described. The staff seems to be constantly maintaining the resort which is very nice. The food was very good overall and fresh. No concerns over health issues at this place. Alternately, my criticisms overall include the portions of the food were just a little small. The hotel is very nice if you want to relax but there is no nightspot on the resort as there are the other neighboring hotels in Playacar. It is quiet at night and is meant to just relax which seems to be their business model. That being said, if you want night life there are places to go in town which is safe and immediately as you leave the Playacar hotel strip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Very good Service but everything ends early

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The pool bar closes at 6pm. No music after 11pm. No nightlife, is like for adults over 60 or if you only want to rest. Allthough the service is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new york

Amazing staff at a great resort.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Staff first and then restaurants.
Cons: Liven it up a little by the pool, it doesn't have to be all day and night but it was to quiet.
Location: We went to downtown Playa every night. It was about a $10.00 cab ride which was tip included. Mandala night club was a blast.
I can't begin to say enough great things about the Royal Hideaway. The resort was beautiful and very relaxing, a little to relaxing for us. We are more into the nightlife which this resort doesn't have but all in all if you want to get away to relax it's definitely the place to go. The AMAZING staff is what gives this resort 5 stars, in my book they gave it 10 stars. I am so impressed with the dedication and work ethic their employees have and they should all be recognized. One person in general was Fernando who is a waiter in Spice and The Grill restaurant. Fernando constantly had a smile on his face and a warm personality. He remembered our names and drink orders, (as well as many of the other wait staff) and was always happy to serve us. Thank you Fernando. The restaurants in this amazing all inclusive resort was to die for. Not once did we have a meal that wasn't just as good as any NYC restaurant that we've been to. My favorite by far would be Azia. The food is was fabulous. Enough about the restaurants, the pools and beach were amazing as well. I would only have one suggestion, play some music. It doesn't have to be loud or hip hop but the silence was killing us. Like I said, if your looking to unwind and read a book, this is the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Aug 17, 2014
(August 2014 with husband and two near adult boys). Beautiful site, excellent accommodations. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful with questions and seeing to needs. Very relaxing and calm, if you want that. SO nice to leave lines, traffic and lots of people behind at home, none of that here. Definitely would go back!! Excursion to Tulum with zipline, snorkeling (Xtreme with Aventuras Mayas) was a lot of fun, and our guide Ellie was outstanding. Has a good time on fishing trip with GO FISH, although the highlight was snorkeling on the reef and the lunch Matt and Carlos prepared beachside. We did catch barracuda, but not much else was running that day. Great time for our first trip to Mexico!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful resort with groomed landscaping.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff is very friendly and so helpful. Javier was our favorite waiter on the beach and at The Deck restaurant. The pools and beach are gorgeous.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great. We parasailed from the beach and did take an excursion to Xcaret. Had a romantic dinner on the beach as well. Perfect stay
The resort was clean, beautiful and so friendly. All the restaurants were amazing and the food delicious. Our room was so comfortable and very clean. Just did not have any complaints about our trip at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

great stay - but hotel needs work

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: food, beach and service were top notch
Cons: hotel needs large improvements and upgrades.
Location: location was excellent near the golf course and near the town , yet secluded enough.
great service, great food ,great location- but hotel needs lots of tlc, rooms are nice but a/c needs work , coundn't enjoy view because needed to keep room closed due to lack of a/c- pillows and bed need work also, but room amenities overall were good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas Tx

A beautiful hotel for a nice relaxing experience

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cons: Try to enforce dress code for dinner time,there was people that did not care about it,they should have more respect for your policies and others
Over all really nice installations,the staff was always very professional and attentive to any little detail to make us feel a 5 star hotel experience,the variety in high cuisine and beverages was outstanding,we will go back and bring friends with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best vacation!!!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Everyone at the hotel was happy and wanting to please you. Everything is close but has tons of privacy
Cons: I would like to see nightly activities.
Location: The location is great, 40 minute cab drive from airport. Five minutes away from 5th ave(the pier) shopping and where the ferry goes to Cozumel
From the moment we arrived we felt like royalty. The place is beautiful, clean, elegant, fun, and has a gorgeous beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SC

Very Relaxing resort- great for couples

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Great Food
Cons: more activities at night
Location: you can take a 40 minute ferry ride to cozumel for the day
Great Resort! Very relaxing. They Treat you amazing. No nightlife- if you are looking for a party scene, not the place. You need dress pants at all dinner restaurants. We also upgraded to dinner on the beach- it was amazing! and the couples massage is fantastic. Highly recommend:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

quiet luxury vacation

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Playa del Carmen is walking distance or a very short cab ride. It is the real Mexico experience if you want to slip away from the Royal lifestyle.
Had been to other all inclusive resorts in the area, which we enjoyed very much. This place was much nicer. Unlike all inclusive the food is top notch. Mostly sit down restaurants where you order off the menu. There is a breakfast buffet and a lunch grill buffet by the pool. Again this food is incredible. Made to order. Smaller resort, no nightlife what so ever. Only one bar open throughout the day, and only one open at night, which closes at 1AM. This is a perfect resort for couples who want to relax in paradise, with quiet nights. We were the youngest there, in our mid-20s. Enjoyed the experience very much. The name is very accurate it was indeed a Royal Hideaway. We were treated with Royalty from the moment we arrived (champagne and cold towels) to the moment we left, and we were very much in a hideaway from the rest of Mexico.