Ratings based on 723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culver city, Ca

Jungle on the beach

Posted Sep 27, 2014
My son (age 5) and I went on a quick getaway to this place. So glad I picked it he really enjoyed it and the night shows obviously were amazing! We didn't use much of the big pool we stayed on the quieter side. The Mediterranean rest. was my favorite! Since it feels as if you're in the middle of the jungle there will be a lot of small bugs in your room on a daily basis but the staff cleans everyday and more of you ask. Overall had a great experience with my son! Family will really enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from md

Sept 15th

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Staff friendly. Let me use computer and print things for free. Nice breakfast. Wish they would have had a crib to use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pool is really not the top, but could be good if you upgrade onsite - but then for adults only... Beach is not the best either. Eco-concept is good and this hotel is a Kids Place for sure. Towels can only be changed at the main pool if you don't have the gold status, so annoying, especially when you have 4 towels to carry all day long and again the place is huge... May kids go back alone? :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eureka springs, ar

Nice Eco resort on beach

Posted Sep 16, 2014
We love this place! So much fun, so much to do.. Animals everywhere, we saw monkeys:) great beach, can snorkel, lots of fish! All the shows are awesome and food is great!! This was our second time and got upgrades both times! Staff very friendly. Drinks are the best! The place is huge, u will not get bored! Fun shopping on site , nice spa. We loved everything about it, sure u will too. For families or couples or friends, whatever
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The hotel is nice BUT (1) there are rocks when you enter the water and i strongly recommend purchasing a pair of shoes that you can wear and (2) if you are traveling without children try to book the select adult package (if you don't, you can always upgrade for $22 per person per night when you get to the hotel)-the rooms are nicer and you will be allowed to go to the select pool and beach which I found to be nicer as well. Otherwise, the staff was very nice and the resort is huge. I recommend this resort. It's not a 5 star luxury hotel but very nice clean place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: This hotel employs the most friendly staff I've ever encountered. They're accommodating and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect.
Cons: My only complaints were the hard mattress and the games at the pool were a little loud. We upgraded to adult only so that took care of the problem!
Location: We only left the resort for one day. We took a trip to Isla de Mujeres and spent some time on their beaches.
My boyfriend & I visited Sandos Caracol the 1st week in Sep and we absolutely loved it! 2 weeks before our trip, I contacted Fatima, the web relations rep. I had read from other reviews that it's a good idea to make dinner reservations. I made reservations for three nights and Fatima was very prompt and answered all of my questions. When we got to the resort, we were greeted at the front by Pasquel & he was our go-to guy throughout the stay when we had any questions. He even fit us in for dinner reservations on the nights we didn't have any! The room was nice & cool & very clean. Our mini fridge was always stocked with beer and there was sparkling wine and fruit waiting for us when we got there. There was also a water cooler in the room so there was no concern about fresh water. My ONLY complaint was the mattress. It was a little too hard but they have massage services on the beach to take care of that! On the 2nd day, we decided to upgrade to the Select Club. It was a very small upcharge since we decided not to move our room. Through the Select Club, we were able to use the adult only pool and had access to the Fogo de Brazil restaurant all day (which was our absolute FAVORITE). Big shout out to Isidro for keeping our stomaches and shot glasses full. He was our favorite waiter. The Select beach area also made the upgrade WAY worth it. If you can take the boat ride with Jesus. He let us in on some fun cultural facts! Can't wait to come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect place to stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
A heaven for kids, so many places for kids to play all around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants and leaking roof

Posted Sep 8, 2014
ants, bugs in rooms and the beds, roof leaks and people tried to sell us time shares even when we said we were not interested. Also there was a particular staff member that was very inappropriate and rude to us. They would not even let me post this the first time, so now it getting even more rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice all inclusive resort with lots of activities

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Sandos caracol is a nice all inclusive resort with lots of activities for the family. We saw lots of animals. We loved the shows at night and the water park and the pool. The beach is a bit rocky but nice. I only wish there had been more beach activities - para sailing, jet skis etc. the spa is great but for a family resort it's a pity children aren't allowed to enter. The resort is well located for tours. The food at the buffet was great with lots of choices for adults and kids
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Mixed review

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms in the jungle are dark, dank, and humid. The patio of our first room did not have enough room for three chairs (two was pushing it).
Cons: The service really needs improvement. I would also like to see improvement in the dinners.
Location: Xel-Ha was fabulous!!!
They started by putting us in the wrong room. The room we were in was much too small, it was dark, dank, and humid. The second day they moved us to a beautiful room that was wonderful. Most of our stay we felt like second class citizens. Evidently we did not book the correct level of wrist bands. Beware, that at Sandos you are only allowed to eat at the nice restaurants a few nights of your stay. The buffets are ok, but get very boring very quickly. Finally, when we were ready to check out asked for help with our luggage. I figured that 30 minutes would be enough time. WRONG! They took over 1 hour to come to our room. Nearly made us late for our plane! Again, I feel that we had the wrong wrist bands as other people with the correct wrist bands received much better service.