Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Great Family Vacation spot

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We visited the resort on our first family vacation out of country and were really happy with the stay. We would book for 10 days next time instead of just 7 cause there was so much to do and experience that we didn't fit it all in since we had a wedding we were attending that took a day and a half out of you time to explore. Our kids are 4 and 10 and they loved the kids club and all the other kids activities that the resort offered, they were sad to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great family resort

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The animals,and the staff
Cons: better optimize the specialty dinning options.
Location: lots of excursion options although my family choose to stay at the resort and enjoy the pools < the beach and all the great options at the resort.
Our second time staying here. we have a 7 &9 year old they love this resort. Family friendly lots to do, great getaway! If you like to scuba dive their is a dive shop on the beach. for the more advanced divers the cenotes are the way to go!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ont, Canada

We all loved the Eco experience

Posted Feb 24, 2015
My husband and I and 4 extended family memebers just returned from this resort. We had a wonderful time. Pros: Great food, friendly staff, close proximity to lots of things to do, 40 mins to airport. Cons: very small balconies/ private outdoor space. No access to waterview or waterfront rooms unless you were a repeat travellor to this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, SK, CAN

Very friendly and relaxing vacation spot.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Very Friendly, Clean, relaxing. Lots to do. Lots of pools, Lots of food. Beach was nice and cozy. Less waves than other beaches. good for swimming
Cons: A little tough to find your way around to start. Food was not spectacular, but it was good. Inside the water was rocky.
One week. Standard room was quite good (never in the room anyway). Did have to spend the first day figuring out how to get around the resort because of all the winding jungle paths. Food was not spectacular, but it still very good and lots of it. Hard to make reservations at a la carte during busy times. Lots of pools. Lots of bars. Everyone was very friendly. My 12 year old son had no trouble going off and doing his own thing all the time. Lots to do in the resort for a week. You don't even have to leave the resort. The shows at night were great, especially the fire show in the jungle. All the staff were great and helpful. All had to do was ask and it got done. Just remember, you are in Mexico, so you should leave little tips all the time. Just a dollar or 2 to the bar tender or the cleaning staff. It was very busy when we were there. There was only a couple times when it really seemed busy. But most of the time it did not seem anywhere close to as busy as it was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D.F.

FIN DE SEMANA LARGO

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: La unión con la naturaleza, el trato de los empleados, las instalaciones, su privilegiada ubicación
Cons: Si NO eres cliente REFERIDO; la "invitación" al desayuno YA PAGADO es un agresivo método para llevarte a la plática de venta de membrecías
Location: Ve con la idea de caminar, andar en bicicleta, meterte al cenote, sol en alberca y playa, con actividades y shows Pueblo a 10 minutos en taxi
Es un Resort Ecolólgico. Está apartado de Playa del Carmen, si eres mexicano no pretendas turistear en la 5a. Avenida, es para extranjeros. La comida en los restaurantes de especialidades es aceptable y los buffets para paladar simple, los snaks .. para espantar el hambre, con muy buen servicio en general. Si no eres miembro del club vacacional, ve preparado para caminar, caminar y caminar dentro del Resort. Los shows son para gringos (y solo en inglés). Se ven excelentes instalaciones para hijos pequeños. Si no eres miembro, tu cuarto queda apartado del lobby, restaurantes, playa, shows, kids club, etc. El transporte aeropuerto-Playa del Carmen-Aeropuerto vale la pena hacerlo en taxi negociando antes el precio; aunque puedes usar autobús ADO-taxi local-ADO (tienen horarios adecuados, el trayecto dura 1 hora en el autobús; puedes comprar boletos por internet)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY

A little bit of heaven

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Setting, staff, activities, FOOD, wild animals, beautiful beach, plenty to do
Cons: room smelled musty, pillows are horrible
Location: we were so busy on the resort that we never had a reason to leave
The Sandos Caracol Eco Experiences Resort was amazing. I just spend a week there with my two kids (ages 7 & 4) as well as my parents and some family friends. The resort is beautifully kept and is in a stunning jungle setting. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy all week long. In fact, we couldn't even get to all of them. I agree that the beach is not great for swimming but it's a beautiful beach and lots of space for sand castle building or even just sun bathing (but who has time for that?). My kids loved the AquaPark, the animals, the pools, the drinks and all the activities. Just amazing. They went to bed exhausted every night, as did I! Staff was very friendly. We spent a lot of time at the Tortuga pool as it was quieter than the main pool. I cannot say enough about how delish the food was either. I think that the people who give the food bad reviews are the type of people that want to go to McDonalds every meal. This was amazing, authentic Mexican food and was prepared perfectly. Kids found plenty to eat and the buffet was always well stocked. So... only complaint was that my room had a musty smell which could be because of the climate and the pillows on the bed are HORRIBLE. I left with a sore neck and shoulders. Those things would not stop me from a return visit!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom H

Bad mold problem in the rooms

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The rooms are old and moldy there is a smell of mold As you walk into the room it smells like mold there is black mold on the walls. Within a day all your clothes smell like mold. There was big problem with mosquitoes due to the stagnant water all around the property
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FRANCE

ESTUPENDO

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: TOUT EST GENIAL LA STRUCTURELE PERSONNEL LES RESTAURANTS LES PISCINES LE SPA ET LA SALLE DE GYM L EMPLACEMENT AUSSI
Cons: LA PLAGE DEVANT ET PEUT ETRE L ANIMATION CAR VU LA GRANDEUR DE L HOTEL ON VOIT PAS TOP D ANIMATEURS
Location: PAS VU D ANIMATEURS
UN HOTEL MAGNIFIQUE AVEC UN PERSONNEL ADORABLE. UN PARC SUPER BEAU AVEC DES ANIMAUX SINGES RATON LAVEUR TORUTES.... UN CENOTE 3 PISCINES 6 A 8 RESTAURANTS . SUPER GENIAL ON A PASSE UN SUPER SEJOUR. CET HOTEL EST JUSTE GENIAL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Great friendly staff, except for sales agents.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
They had great friendly staff except for sales agents. We spent half of our morning listening to agents trying to sell us time shares for a ridiculous price, that just didn't make sense, besides that everything was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sgf, Missouri

Honest review for this resort is about 3 star.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: We liked that the resort had great landscape, a lot of child activities, and a lot of other activities and games throughout. Lots of animals too.
Cons: Remodel, remodel remodel, improve the beach and build a bypass road for the service carts. Make the resort smoke free for children's sake.
Location: I didn't care about location since we stayed at the resort most of the time, but bit far from the airport.
The resort is nice, but needs updates throughout (buffets, pool, bathrooms, rooms, and spa area). The resort has a rocky beach, so we wanted to swim in the pool, but the water was really cold (In February) so the swimming was shot pretty much. The sister resort has a nice beach and is little better overall, but the shuttle is not provided therefore you will pay for taxi about $40 roundtrip ten mins away. The resort is great for children because of it abundance of kids activities and playgrounds, but unfortunately the resort is not a smoke free and you and your kids will breath second hand smoke. It's nice that they can take you on a golf cart to the room because of the size of the resort, but they need to either reduce the driving or build a bypass road not to interfere with all the guests walking.