Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Especially loved the beach! Fantastic staff!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We thoroughly loved our stay! My only complaint is that we only stayed for seven days...wish it was at least 10 days! There is lots to do if you so desire.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week of New Year's 2014/15

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Location: I wouldn't recommend the fishing through the yellow 'hut' next to the adult only lounge area on the beach. Nice guys but not worth the price
Sandos is a nice establishment however I don't think I'd return. Most of the staff are very pleasant- especially the food and beverage employees and undoubtedly work very hard to provide for their patrons. The shows could be improved. Also the beds are very hard. I'd suggest the cupcake café for coffee/espresso and good cupcakes. Food is plentiful and very good and flavorful! It's nice to be on the beach and be able to walk to other hotels but when I return to Playa, likely I will choose an all-inclusive that has amenities available at other resorts as well, so there are more options such as dining and entertainment to choose from. Also the gym does not allow anyone under the age of 18 to enjoy the facilities. My son had a friend who was 17 1/2 yo and wasn't allowed to workout. That may seem trivial but to the boys who train - and the manner in which they were treated- it wasn't a pleasant experience. Interesting how one can sign a waiver to jetski, yet can't be accompanied by an adult to workout. I realize all of the employees work really hard but there is a bit of a 'cold feel' one experiences from employees and staff.....for what it's worth. Also I'd choose the beachfront rooms as opposed to the adult only section.....much more fun and much less of a trek to and from the beach....not worth the extra $$$ in my mind although the rooms are much much nicer in the adults only section.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 out of 5 and 1 is for the beach.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The pool was nice, but only played music when they did the water aerobics. But the beach was absolutely beautiful! Staff did the best they could with
Cons: Hotel warns you about the airport timeshare people, but leave out that they're going to do the same thing. Would have made plans at a different hotel
Location: 5th Ave for shopping is cool. Fifteen min walk or $7 cab ride. If you haven't changed currency yet, look around for the best peso for your dollar.
Sliding glass doors open into the lobby where about 10 employees divided on our left and right sides are clapping as we walk in the doors. The look of embarrassment among the group employees who stand through out the day. What a waste of time. Clearly there's more important things they could be doing, like cleaning! This place is falling apart. The reception desk walls were dirty, it’s time for a paint job. After a 12 hour red eye trip with 2 children, we walk into the nightmare of a timeshare drill. We had no idea about the timeshare they call The Members club. First show me my room and let me clean up before you try to sell me something. Wait! Our room smelled like mold from air conditioner. Walls were dirty and needs a paint job too. Furniture is covered in dirty hand and finger prints. Mirrors are all rusted, mold and holes in the curtains, shower had mildew in the tiles. Something yellow kept leaking out of the Jacuzzi tub faucet. Wish I could post pictures... BED AND PILLOWS ARE HARD AS A BRICK! One blanket for two beds, 2 pillows for 4 people? I tried to call the front desk, but no luck. 4 attempts, each time there's already too many people holding, so I need to call back. Come to find this out after day 2 of complaining to our Concierge, once you become a member you will have a better chance on a better room and better drinks. Food and drinks are both watered down and with no flavor. They don't care. I WON'T BE SPENDING MY MONEY THERE EVER AGAIN
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Excellent Beach & Fun place for Kids

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Beach, beach and beach. We also liked the Mexican restaurant there.
Cons: Room was really crappy. We were in a standard room and it was so compact for a family of 4! The room didn't have enough lights or electric outlets.
Location: Really nice location. That is the best thing about this hotel. Excellent beach & La Quinda, the main shopping area, was a short distance away.
We were at Sandos playacar during Christmas. It was overall an OK experience. Would we go there again...NOPE. things it had going for it were... 1. Great beach front property & the beach is beyond awesome here. Lovely sandy, white beach with no rocks. 2. Lots of activities for kids. There was miniature golf, arcade club and cupcake cafe next to it, face painting and entertainment till 11.00 3. Decent pool and pool activities. 4. A really nice Mexican restaurant, the rest of the restaurants were OK. 5. Very near to La Quinda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, lots to do!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: service, location
Cons: the rooms are a little dated, but who goes on vacation to stay in the room?
Location: Diving, sight-seeing, beach, sailing
Lovely resort, not perfect, but very good. GREAT service, everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice hotel, great restaurants and awesome beach

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The card keys to room do not work. You have to insert card moree than 10 times to open door to room. I did go main lobby to ask for assistance Luis was not helpful at all he did not want to give me new cards or did he send someone to open room as he said he would. I returned 20 minutes later to guest service and Pedro switched our cards and was polite and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, very clean beach

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Weather was beautiful no rain, went into town (Playa Del Carmen) a few times. Make sure prices for taxi's and other cost are established prior to committing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

Gorgeous part of the beach at Playacar!

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The daytime and evening activity staff were wonderful. Enthusiastic and fun! The yoga instructor is a true yogi and offers an inspired workout.
Cons: You might find more engaging evening entertainment in town!
Location: Gorgeous location! Tons of stuff to do. I chose to hang out on the beach, which was perfect for me!!!
Went for a short jaunt to the Mayan Riviera and had a great time at Sandos Playacar. The beach was gorgeous, food was great and hotel staff were awesome - friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Cons: the beds
was a great experience. had monkeys visiting our rooms every morning for a daily feeding
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Beautiful beach, average hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2014
I didnt like selection of food, and rooms are too old