Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

DISSAPPOINTED!!!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The beach, water, food was pretty good, cupcake café for frozen drinks and coffees, community of Playacar (very safe). Hotel staff were great
Cons: Rooms need some refurbishing, games room needs new ping pong paddles, all have partial handles, table is worn out for net, won't stay tight
Location: Local shopping just a 5 minute walk, fifth avenue is a short cab ride away. Beach, parasailing, jet skiing, kayaking and snorkeling
Our room was small, very little storage for clothes-some of us lived out of our suitcase, black mildew on calking on outside bottom of shower. Maids did there best to clean the room, but room needs some TLC (replace calking). Last year we did a condo-hotel (two bedroom, two bathroom, full kitchen and living room), not all-inclusive and we thought we would go back to an all-inclusive this year for convenience when it came to feeding the kids. After our first few days we wished we did the condo instead of Sandos! Too busy for our liking, line up for food, line up for drinks and smokers, smoking where ever they wanted, very rude! LAST TIME DOING AN ALL-INCLUSIVE------NOT FOR US!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Good hotel for the price!

Posted May 2, 2015
The Jr suite is nice! Good size, the food is actually good but they don't have to much variations on the buffet! Dinner is good on ala carte restaurants, something good is the fact that you don't have to make reservations for those anymore, so you can can go to a different restaurant every night! The night shows are not that good, but again for the price you can't ask for much! The best part is the beach! Clear water not to many waves! Great for kids!! If this hotel is in your price range don't even think about it! Is the best option on this price! Well ill probably recommend the gran bahia principe coba, but the beach is much nicer at sandos!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Beach - TERRIBLE Entertainment & resort - AWESOME

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Most of the staff were nice, hard working. Entertainment was EXCELLENT! Loved the animals. Loved the crepes. Pools were heated which was awesome.
Cons: GROSS beach!!! Cigarette butts and garbage in the sand. My kids hated it. RAKE the sand!!! Towel/chair game is so UNFAIR to your guests!!!!
Location: Dolphin experience was FANTASTIC but they will try to rip you off with the photos and videos.
BEACH - wide, dirty with tons of cigarette butts, plastic utensils, at 6 am band aids etc... they do not rake it like they do in CUBA. Shoreline further down from resort was horribly scared by plastic and garbage. I was SHOCKED!!! People were reserving beach chairs and pool chairs at the main pool so it was impossible to find a spot to seat. They do not enforce the 30 minute rule. Pool in family section was AWESOME! But far from main areas, and golf carts were always full of people so we only got to ride in it once. Adult section is even further away. Lots of walking to do. FOOD - I liked it even though my daughter and I got diarrhea and horrible stomach aches. No reservations req'd for a la cartes except RODIZIO which is for elite members, everyone else has to wait.There is a CREPERIE and they make AWESOME crepes. ENTERTAINMENT - awesome! Mini golf, arcade (for all ages under 17, not just 13 - 17), fantastic shows, main pool seemed nice but impossible to get a seat unless you played the towel/chair game at 6am (same with beach palapas) Mexican night was awesome. Lots of vendors. ROOM- family section for five was great. Sofa bed was totally fine. Jacuzzi in the bathroom was a fun retreat for the kids and me. ANTS in the safe!! They bit me!! And the lights on the main wall did not work so it was very dark at night. Air conditioning was okay not perfect. STAFF - majority of staff - excellent. BUYER BEWARE at the gift shop. $6 US for a big bag of LAYS, very expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom british columbia

Excellent resort

Posted Apr 28, 2015
This was our second time staying at this resort, and we were again very pleased with it all. The staff is always very gracious and helpful, the room is comfortable and we slept very well. Easy to leave the resort and navigate around the area. Lots to do for families and singles. So happy to see the same faces from our last trip 3 years ago! Thank you for a wonderful vacation, we will continue to recommend to all our friends and family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

“Sandos All-Inclusive - Great way to relax”

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We came to join my son and his family, and their friends (total of 10 adults and 9 children). The resort is everything that I was expecting and more. The abundant activities keep everyone engaged with plenty of things for the children. The variety of restaurants kept us well fed (we usually opted for the buffets for breakfast and lunch, and the regular restaurants for dinner). With the exception of one day (excursion to Tulum, etc.) we spent and enjoyed our days at the beach. The entire staff at the resort were excellent, courteous, polite and informative. I want to give a special thanks to our beach waitress, Yasmin, who always greeted us with a big smile, and was always there when we needed to order something. She made the beach experience especially nice. Our vacation turned out exactly as we wanted, enjoyable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Spring Break

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: My favorite was the access to the beautiful beach and I enjoyed the amount of restaurants and quality of the dinner food.
Cons: The main pool area could be updated and music on the softer side.
Location: We enjoyed the Cenotes and there are a lot of them nearby to visit. It was a fun experience. We went to Tulum which was educating but HOT.
We just came back from 1 week at Sandos Playacar with 3 others families. It was a very good time! Positives: Centrally located if you want to go to the Cenotes, Tulum and into Playa Del Carmen. Nice property with a lot of restaurant options most of which we tried and enjoyed the food. A good amount of activites tennis, mini golf, kayaks, bicycles and a very nice fitness facility and spa. The beach area was beautiful with plenty of seating and beach sports ie: volleyball, soccer, fitness. Our friends upgraded to The Haciendas Suites and they were Very nice, clean and new. Unfortunately for us closer to the back of the hotel near the entrance vs. the beach area which we preferred. We stayed near the beach in a standard room and while it was clean it was definitely older. My only negatives would be that the main pool area is very busy and we are use to that however it was very loud with music and activities in the pool that you had to leave if you wanted some relaxation. There was a larger and quieter pool on the property but again it was near the front of the hotel and along way from our room. And of course we were highly disappointed because our room type did not allow us access to any premium lounge/bar and you were not able to upgrade service unless you upgraded your own room. So there were many classes of service you could have at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Commerce, MI

Great hotel! My son had a ball!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We've been to Mexico many times. And this was hands down the best all-inclusive resort we've stayed at! We booked a Jr. Suite for more space in our room because of our 9 year old son. Loved it! It was in an eight unit building with a private pool and hot tub out back. Clean and updated. There were endless things for our son to do. Too many to list! He was a busy little guy from sun up til sundown. And he made friends from all over. The staff were so kind and went out of their way to make sure you you were taken care of. And not always looking for a tip! Although, we did tip because they absolutely deserved it! Beautiful beach, every amenity you can image. And being in the gated community of Playacar we felt very safe. We highly recommend staying here! There is an all adult area that we never visited, but heard it was very nice as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the entertainment, good food, nice rooms.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: I liked how I felt safe. It was very family oriented. Things for adults and children to do.
Cons: I would improve on the staffs english
Location: We went snorkeling to see the turtles.
First time at an all inclusive resort. Very pleased with our stay. Will recommend to others. The entertainment group did a great job, looked forward to the different entertainment each night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid for ocean front room/adult only..but not...

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The service staff was good as most are in Mexico.
Cons: The hotel is outdated. There should be an adult only pool if you are paying for an adult only area.
what we got. Had noisy children running around the room above ours every morning! Food was repetitive and mediocre. Breakfast service was slow. They made it hard to get drinks, long lines and slow service. Not going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Disappointing Hotel next to the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: On the beach, and the people
Cons: Updated rooms and furniture. The buffet
I first want to say that the staff at Sandos Playacar was absolutely friendly. Especially the girl on the beach serving drinks and all the bartenders, waiters, waitresses, almost everyone. Except for one guy that was passing out the bicycles. The staff was great. For the facility itself, well it just feels old. For example, the rooms furniture felt like it was at least 15 years old. The Bathroom's decor was from the 70's. I just don't think that a place with the name of Sandos Hotels can continue to call themselves a 3.5 star hotel. Not with the outdated rooms and beds. For the food. The buffet is a buffet. I understand that. Saying that, I have stayed at four other hotels on Cancun, and Playa Del Carmen that their buffets were above and beyond better than the Sandos. The food was not up to par with even the Reef Playacar. I was just dissapointed in this place. This is my first bad review of any of the places I have stayed. I hate to write bad reviews but I felt I had to.