Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

“Sandos All-Inclusive - Great way to relax”

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We came to join my son and his family, and their friends (total of 10 adults and 9 children). The resort is everything that I was expecting and more. The abundant activities keep everyone engaged with plenty of things for the children. The variety of restaurants kept us well fed (we usually opted for the buffets for breakfast and lunch, and the regular restaurants for dinner). With the exception of one day (excursion to Tulum, etc.) we spent and enjoyed our days at the beach. The entire staff at the resort were excellent, courteous, polite and informative. I want to give a special thanks to our beach waitress, Yasmin, who always greeted us with a big smile, and was always there when we needed to order something. She made the beach experience especially nice. Our vacation turned out exactly as we wanted, enjoyable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Spring Break

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: My favorite was the access to the beautiful beach and I enjoyed the amount of restaurants and quality of the dinner food.
Cons: The main pool area could be updated and music on the softer side.
Location: We enjoyed the Cenotes and there are a lot of them nearby to visit. It was a fun experience. We went to Tulum which was educating but HOT.
We just came back from 1 week at Sandos Playacar with 3 others families. It was a very good time! Positives: Centrally located if you want to go to the Cenotes, Tulum and into Playa Del Carmen. Nice property with a lot of restaurant options most of which we tried and enjoyed the food. A good amount of activites tennis, mini golf, kayaks, bicycles and a very nice fitness facility and spa. The beach area was beautiful with plenty of seating and beach sports ie: volleyball, soccer, fitness. Our friends upgraded to The Haciendas Suites and they were Very nice, clean and new. Unfortunately for us closer to the back of the hotel near the entrance vs. the beach area which we preferred. We stayed near the beach in a standard room and while it was clean it was definitely older. My only negatives would be that the main pool area is very busy and we are use to that however it was very loud with music and activities in the pool that you had to leave if you wanted some relaxation. There was a larger and quieter pool on the property but again it was near the front of the hotel and along way from our room. And of course we were highly disappointed because our room type did not allow us access to any premium lounge/bar and you were not able to upgrade service unless you upgraded your own room. So there were many classes of service you could have at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Commerce, MI

Great hotel! My son had a ball!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We've been to Mexico many times. And this was hands down the best all-inclusive resort we've stayed at! We booked a Jr. Suite for more space in our room because of our 9 year old son. Loved it! It was in an eight unit building with a private pool and hot tub out back. Clean and updated. There were endless things for our son to do. Too many to list! He was a busy little guy from sun up til sundown. And he made friends from all over. The staff were so kind and went out of their way to make sure you you were taken care of. And not always looking for a tip! Although, we did tip because they absolutely deserved it! Beautiful beach, every amenity you can image. And being in the gated community of Playacar we felt very safe. We highly recommend staying here! There is an all adult area that we never visited, but heard it was very nice as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the entertainment, good food, nice rooms.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: I liked how I felt safe. It was very family oriented. Things for adults and children to do.
Cons: I would improve on the staffs english
Location: We went snorkeling to see the turtles.
First time at an all inclusive resort. Very pleased with our stay. Will recommend to others. The entertainment group did a great job, looked forward to the different entertainment each night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid for ocean front room/adult only..but not...

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The service staff was good as most are in Mexico.
Cons: The hotel is outdated. There should be an adult only pool if you are paying for an adult only area.
what we got. Had noisy children running around the room above ours every morning! Food was repetitive and mediocre. Breakfast service was slow. They made it hard to get drinks, long lines and slow service. Not going back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Disappointing Hotel next to the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: On the beach, and the people
Cons: Updated rooms and furniture. The buffet
I first want to say that the staff at Sandos Playacar was absolutely friendly. Especially the girl on the beach serving drinks and all the bartenders, waiters, waitresses, almost everyone. Except for one guy that was passing out the bicycles. The staff was great. For the facility itself, well it just feels old. For example, the rooms furniture felt like it was at least 15 years old. The Bathroom's decor was from the 70's. I just don't think that a place with the name of Sandos Hotels can continue to call themselves a 3.5 star hotel. Not with the outdated rooms and beds. For the food. The buffet is a buffet. I understand that. Saying that, I have stayed at four other hotels on Cancun, and Playa Del Carmen that their buffets were above and beyond better than the Sandos. The food was not up to par with even the Reef Playacar. I was just dissapointed in this place. This is my first bad review of any of the places I have stayed. I hate to write bad reviews but I felt I had to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: There is a lot of activities for the beach and the pools.
Cons: The room maintenance.
Location: Near to all Playa del Carmen's places.
Close to the beach, good pools and lot of activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Nice hotel..decent. Price equals value- no doubt

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location was great, service....pools. Staff was great
Cons: Less selling...I know its Mexico but it starts with the moment you walk in....and never lets up
Location: Downtown is close...its nice to be at the end of the hotels.
Great experience...reservation based places to eat were great. Main 2 buffets were good...as good as they can be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Food wasn't very good . Staff was okay . Not good , not bad .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Better food, more snack options between meals, better wine. Add more features to the swimming pools and a hot tub.
Location: We only went to Xel-Ha and it was COLD that day. My 8 year old daughter and I swam with dolphins, which was the highlight of the trip.
My family (3 small kids, husband, and I) just got back from Playos Sandacar. Overall, it was a nice resort. There were many things I would change, but then it would be more expensive. On the plus side, the staff were all very friendly and courteous. The rooms and facilities were kept clean, and stocked throughout the duration. Here are some of my issues with the place. The restaurants all kept the same hours, so if you were hungry between 10:30AM - 12:30PM, your only option was cupcakes and a few pieces of fruit. My kids got so sick of cupcakes and bananas. Same for late afternoon. There were no healthy snack options other than fruit, not even in the gift shops. Just overpriced junk food. Secondly, the pools were fine, but nothing interesting for the kids. Next time I'll pick a place with slides/waterfalls/climbing features/etc... They got bored pretty quickly. My last issue was a lack of a Jacuzzi. We had some cold weather and filling up a bathtub in the room is not nearly as fun as an outdoor hot tub. So, like I said, nice place, good value, but I personally won't go there again.