Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

timeshare

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: beach area and the cupcake bakery
Cons: quit pushing guest in buying any timeshare some people just come here to relax
Location: location is wonderful it is a private community very safe, 10 min ride from hotel to quinta avenida 5th avenue 45 min ride from the airport.
hotel was ok beach was excellent food buffet was ok too small for a huge hotel, but they do have restaurants in the hotel did not have the time to go, was traveling with children. hotel staff very pushy about wanting to get you to see there haciendas for you to purchase timeshare would not recommend this hotel and if you do decide to go just say flat out your not interested in buying a time share. pool area is just too small for a huge hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and good food

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: Please run more shuttles between two area. every 5 minutes is not enough in the morning and dinner time. And it's very hot to wait.
Pros: many many activities, nice staff, good food, good restaurants, nice beach, etc... Cons: Resort is separated two area. so... inconvenient. I will not visit again even though there are so many good things in the resort. 1. Rooms in the meeting point area are too old and small for family, and pool in this area is too crowed compare to pools in main lobby. 2. Shuttle runs every 5 minutes, but it wasn't enough. Usually shuttle is crowed and sometime I should wait for next one. it mean you may need to wait another 5 minutes outside...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexio

30 year aniversary

Posted Aug 11, 2014
First time in this hotel, we love playa del carmen and this hotel made it a great expirience for our 30th aniversary. The beach is absolutely wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great Beach and staff.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Great location and staff. Food selection very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Sandos review

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Sandos is a hotel not for American, is geared to Latino customers. Great beach , one of the best However, -There is no service at the beach. -if you are looking for good food, don't go there. -The buffet is hot and humid with no air condition and lots of flys . -Almost impossible to find a table at any Resturant . -If you ever find a reservation , try the Mexican and the Brazilian Resturants. -Good experience to improve your Spanish since the majority of the staff don't speak English .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family and adult hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: I liked that the hotel had a family area as well as an only adults area. Entertainment every night was great.
Cons: The reception people need to be more consistent. I had my mother added to my room but was initially told she was not in the reservation.
Location: It's about 10 minutes by taxi to the strip. Outdoor activities nearby.
The hotel is clean. The food was great in the buffet restaurants. The workers were very nice. The staff was not helpful when my mother fell on the property. Couldn't make dinner reservations at the specialty restaurants. The atmosphere was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, U.K.

Would recommend this hotel.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: A distinguishing feature is that it's the last resort on the strip so you can walk along the beach with the nearby eco-park as a back drop.
Cons: My Mexican wife says the tortillas could be of better quality!
Location: Lots of cenotes (natural pools) to swim in (and jump in to). Chichen Itza (pyramid!) is a 2.5 hour drive. Good golf course within walking distance.
Just an all-round fantastic time! The beach (fine white sand) and ocean (beautiful clear blue) are standout features and I guess common to all of the resorts on this strip. But I liked this resort as it is the last hotel on the Playacar strip which means you can take a walk along the beach for a few hundred meters (yards) and get away from the noise and crowds of the hotel (not that the hotel or beach are crowded or noisy--what you would expect and a good balance for an all-inclusive resort). Staff were genuinely helpful and friendly. The quality of the food at the breakfast and lunch buffets was better than expected (very good) and the restaurants offered great food. These needed booking in advance but there was no problem with this as others have reported. We stayed for 7 nights with 6 full days and 2 half days (on which we travelled there and back). Here is a summary of what we did: 1: Arrived a.m., spent p.m. on beach 2: Beach/pool 3: Took the free bikes of the resort and cycled to Playa del Carmen town centre for shopping and a walk around. Took around 20 minutes each way and 3-4 hours is enough. P.m. on beach 4: Chitchen Itza (THE pyramid): 2.5 drive stopping in nice city of Vallodolid. Rented car for 2 days 5: Tulum--ruins beach. Beautiful. Must go. 40 min drive. Blue azul cenote 6: Beach/pool 7: Golf for me, spa for wife then beach 8: Beach then home Not stayed at any other hotels in Playa but would definitely recommend this one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Beach

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Beach amenities, the pool complexes were nice, especially the adult pool bar
Cons: Room comfort, beds were hard. WIFI through out the property, Quality of food
I was referred by a friend who had been to this Sandos twice before. It was my first trip to Playa del Carmen and the beach was perfect. The hotel overall was acceptable. I had read numerous reviews prior to booking my trip, most reviews were accurate. Upon check in, the room I had requested was not available and was placed in a room with 2 beds. I was told I could move the next day, but chose not to. The food in the 3 buffets was ok, though the selection was limited and rather bland tasting. The restaurants were fine but missing the WOW factor. I was fortunate to upgrade to the Black bands, so I had more options. I will certainly return to Playacar and look forward to visiting other Sandos properties.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Relaxing - Enjoyable - Safe

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: You are very safe in the resort area. Beach area great. Lots of activities day and night to participate or you can choose to be reclusive.
Cons: Issue with leak in room, 1st day but was provided another room right away.
Location: Xel-Ha water park/snorkeling . Cozumel Island directly across from resort. Xichen ancient ruins. Shopping at 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen.
I would have no reservations in supporting this location and hotel/resort for a vacation. Great value. The hotel/resort is set up for both adults and children. Provide separate and common areas for both groups. Restaurant's (sit down or buffet) all have wonderful food and lots of choices. Daughter and fiancé had their destination wedding. Hotel did a wonderful job for the venues and catering for 60 family and friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beaches but Poor customer service

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We met some great people at this resort and it seems to be good for families. HOWEVER, it appears that money doesn't talk around here. Paying for upgraded rooms does not change the service you receive from guest services. The quality of the spa services is hit or miss and for the money it's just not worth the time. Almost 3 hrs for a non-pampering mani pedi.