Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, UT

Second Time to This Resort

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Fantastic beach, great service, great location, lots of activities to do.
Cons: Update rooms, softer beds, less repetition with the buffet menus, higher quality food in the sit down restaurants.
Location: The location is great, short taxi ride to downtown Playa, shopping, snorkeling, golf.
Spent a week here with some family and friends, we stayed in the beach front rooms, what a nice way to wake up every morning looking out at the beach and the ocean. This is the second time that I have stayed at this resort and I have to say that I think it was better the first time which was 4 years ago. The two main differences are that it is definitely an aging resort and there is a lot of evidence of that however they are in the process of what looks to be a major remodel in the main courtyard area and from what I could see they are really doing a nice job. The rooms have expected wear and tear for their age but everything worked just fine, the beds are very hard and the rooms overall could use a good detailed cleaning. The last time I stayed was in the rooms at the very far end of the resort, they were newer and much cleaner but it was a good trade off to be close to the beach, I really don't spend much time in the room anyway. The second main difference was the food quality and repetition. I was not really disappointed with the food, there are always many choices to choose from but this time there was more of the exact same dishes offered every single day with little variation. The sit down restaurant dinners are not what they used to be either, not bad but they used to have a wow factor to them that really set them apart from eating at the buffets.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom buenos aires

Hotel en obra

Posted Jan 29, 2015
El hotel esta en obra y nadie te lo indica al momento del check in. Lo único que le interesa al personal es que compres tiempo compartido y que le des propina. La única rescatable es Tanya del resto de la piscina quien se merece un hotel mucho mejor que este para poder crecer. Tiene mucho potencual. Si alguien viajo alguna vez a un Resort del estilo all inclusive y tiene con que comparar definitivamente el sandos no es una buena experiencia. La plata es muy bonita pero debes levantarte a las 7 am para tener reposera dado que más allá de los carteles que dicen que no se puede reservar todo el mundo lo hace y el personal del hotel no controla nada. No te dejes engañar no importa la pulsera que tengas. Yo tenía una morada que te habilita a ir a una zona privada y tampoco conseguía. La comida en líneas generales esta ok. Pero las habitaciones del cuerpo principal sin tétricas dan a la calle de playacar. Una verdadera vergüenza. Nos debieron pasar a la hacienda que es mucho mas comodo. Realmente estuve en 7 oportunidades en playa del Carmen (playacar) y jamás volvería a este Resort siquiera gratis Suerte y no contrate este hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom British Columbia

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Hotel was good. Wifi is a HUGE issue. No reception during the day. In 2015 this is not ok. Beach is AMAZING and gorgeous. Lots of wildlife everywhere and a lovely mom and her puppies live at the hotel. Loved that.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Disappointing after previous visits to the area

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Location: The beach was great until the last day when a lot of seaweed washed up for some unknown reason. The pool was super. You can go to 5th Ave too.
Been to Playa del Carmen twice before but not the Sandos. These people were all about getting me to buy a recurring vacation at their hotel, but they didn't call it a timeshare. When I was pushed to choose yes or no-- the very FIRST day- I said no, as I had not even seen or enjoyed any part or the resort yet. After that, I felt like I was just taking up space. They said we would have a king size bed, but gave us 2 queens, and when I complained, it was me inconveniencing them, because then they would have to clean two rooms and move me. Food was so-so. Best restaurant was to Asian one. They had other activities, like archery, but when you went to do it, they were only there for 1 hour, like 4-5 pm, and everybody had to get a turn then. People had status according to the color of their bracelet and regular people had blue, which was bottom of the ladder. Gold or black got better treatment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Especially loved the beach! Fantastic staff!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We thoroughly loved our stay! My only complaint is that we only stayed for seven days...wish it was at least 10 days! There is lots to do if you so desire.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week of New Year's 2014/15

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Location: I wouldn't recommend the fishing through the yellow 'hut' next to the adult only lounge area on the beach. Nice guys but not worth the price
Sandos is a nice establishment however I don't think I'd return. Most of the staff are very pleasant- especially the food and beverage employees and undoubtedly work very hard to provide for their patrons. The shows could be improved. Also the beds are very hard. I'd suggest the cupcake café for coffee/espresso and good cupcakes. Food is plentiful and very good and flavorful! It's nice to be on the beach and be able to walk to other hotels but when I return to Playa, likely I will choose an all-inclusive that has amenities available at other resorts as well, so there are more options such as dining and entertainment to choose from. Also the gym does not allow anyone under the age of 18 to enjoy the facilities. My son had a friend who was 17 1/2 yo and wasn't allowed to workout. That may seem trivial but to the boys who train - and the manner in which they were treated- it wasn't a pleasant experience. Interesting how one can sign a waiver to jetski, yet can't be accompanied by an adult to workout. I realize all of the employees work really hard but there is a bit of a 'cold feel' one experiences from employees and staff.....for what it's worth. Also I'd choose the beachfront rooms as opposed to the adult only section.....much more fun and much less of a trek to and from the beach....not worth the extra $$$ in my mind although the rooms are much much nicer in the adults only section.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 out of 5 and 1 is for the beach.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The pool was nice, but only played music when they did the water aerobics. But the beach was absolutely beautiful! Staff did the best they could with
Cons: Hotel warns you about the airport timeshare people, but leave out that they're going to do the same thing. Would have made plans at a different hotel
Location: 5th Ave for shopping is cool. Fifteen min walk or $7 cab ride. If you haven't changed currency yet, look around for the best peso for your dollar.
Sliding glass doors open into the lobby where about 10 employees divided on our left and right sides are clapping as we walk in the doors. The look of embarrassment among the group employees who stand through out the day. What a waste of time. Clearly there's more important things they could be doing, like cleaning! This place is falling apart. The reception desk walls were dirty, it’s time for a paint job. After a 12 hour red eye trip with 2 children, we walk into the nightmare of a timeshare drill. We had no idea about the timeshare they call The Members club. First show me my room and let me clean up before you try to sell me something. Wait! Our room smelled like mold from air conditioner. Walls were dirty and needs a paint job too. Furniture is covered in dirty hand and finger prints. Mirrors are all rusted, mold and holes in the curtains, shower had mildew in the tiles. Something yellow kept leaking out of the Jacuzzi tub faucet. Wish I could post pictures... BED AND PILLOWS ARE HARD AS A BRICK! One blanket for two beds, 2 pillows for 4 people? I tried to call the front desk, but no luck. 4 attempts, each time there's already too many people holding, so I need to call back. Come to find this out after day 2 of complaining to our Concierge, once you become a member you will have a better chance on a better room and better drinks. Food and drinks are both watered down and with no flavor. They don't care. I WON'T BE SPENDING MY MONEY THERE EVER AGAIN
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Excellent Beach & Fun place for Kids

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Beach, beach and beach. We also liked the Mexican restaurant there.
Cons: Room was really crappy. We were in a standard room and it was so compact for a family of 4! The room didn't have enough lights or electric outlets.
Location: Really nice location. That is the best thing about this hotel. Excellent beach & La Quinda, the main shopping area, was a short distance away.
We were at Sandos playacar during Christmas. It was overall an OK experience. Would we go there again...NOPE. things it had going for it were... 1. Great beach front property & the beach is beyond awesome here. Lovely sandy, white beach with no rocks. 2. Lots of activities for kids. There was miniature golf, arcade club and cupcake cafe next to it, face painting and entertainment till 11.00 3. Decent pool and pool activities. 4. A really nice Mexican restaurant, the rest of the restaurants were OK. 5. Very near to La Quinda
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great location, lots to do!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: service, location
Cons: the rooms are a little dated, but who goes on vacation to stay in the room?
Location: Diving, sight-seeing, beach, sailing
Lovely resort, not perfect, but very good. GREAT service, everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice hotel, great restaurants and awesome beach

Posted Jan 4, 2015
The card keys to room do not work. You have to insert card moree than 10 times to open door to room. I did go main lobby to ask for assistance Luis was not helpful at all he did not want to give me new cards or did he send someone to open room as he said he would. I returned 20 minutes later to guest service and Pedro switched our cards and was polite and helpful.