Ratings based on 719 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Sandos Playcar May '15

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: More places to wash off coming from the beach.
I have stayed many places, some better, many worse. I'm sure this is not the fanciest place in Playa, but it is fantastic none the less. We stayed in the beach front adults only section, it was great. The room is just a standard hotel room, but the bathroom was real nice. The real star of the room was the balcony, it was fantastic. Great view of the beach and ocean. We got this room for the ocean front and were not disappointed, and lets be honest if you are going for the sun and sand you are not spending time in the room. The food was better than I expected, service was top notch, and everyone was friendly. I plan on returning, and will not hesitate to recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Big resort with lots to offer

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Big, lots of activities, appealing room with everything you'd expect from an all inclusive, a few decent restaurants, great night entertainment.
Cons: I guess the consistency of the food. There are hits (French, Asiana) and misses (Mexican -and I love mexican-, and some buffet options)
Location: The entire resort region here is behind a security checkpoint (has resorts and timeshares) so you can travel through here freely. Rent a bike.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Sandos Playacar. The staff was very helpful and never too far if you needed something from them. If you are over 21, the adult only package is a must as it gives you access to; the best pool in the resort which includes the swimup bar, and the best restaurant in the resort (French) hands down. I found the beach to be a big perk, the sand was beautiful and it carried out into the ocean (no worries about coral here). One warning-- if you get the adult package and you can't stand to wait (at most) 10 minutes for transport to the beach OR are incapable of walking for 5-10 minutes you will likely become frustrated. Also note that if you fall into this mentioned group of individuals, you have much bigger problems that you should focus your time on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dayton, OH

Surprisingly fantastic!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Clean, friendly with great food and wonderful people. They made our week incredibly relaxing!
Cons: I would improve the information you give in the rooms about the restaurants. We couldn't find hours of operations anywhere!
Location: I would recommend the Coba Experience tour with Altournative Tours. It was AMAZING. Ruins, cenotes, rapelling, ziplining and kayaking with Mayan lunch
We went down for our 10th wedding anniversary looking for a week on the beach and maybe some good food. We were blown away with the resort. It was beautiful, the staff was great and the food was wonderful. We had a beach front room with adult only bracelets (which are so worth it if for only the Premium Bars!). We loved the French, Brazilian and Mexican restaurants. The Italian and Asian weren't anything to write home about so I wouldn't waste your time. Just eat at the French and Brazilian as many times as you can. The Brazilian is literally a 9 course meal, just to warn you. The Blue Moon bar down by the beach has GREAT burgers as snacks. I think we ate lunch there every day but one. Also, Wednesday is Mexican night at the resort. Plan on eating the food they set up in the square by the main buffet. Seriously, it was fantastic! The staff was so friendly and most spoke fantastic English. They took good care of us the entire week giving us the much needed break we were there for. Many reviews mention the musty smell...it is a tropical environment people, what do you expect? We ran our AC and it took care of most of the moisture. Also, we chose to skip the "welcome tour" as we weren't interested in the time share and we don't feel like we missed out on anything. Overall it was a lovely resort, great week with wonderful food. My husband and I can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

DISSAPPOINTED!!!

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The beach, water, food was pretty good, cupcake café for frozen drinks and coffees, community of Playacar (very safe). Hotel staff were great
Cons: Rooms need some refurbishing, games room needs new ping pong paddles, all have partial handles, table is worn out for net, won't stay tight
Location: Local shopping just a 5 minute walk, fifth avenue is a short cab ride away. Beach, parasailing, jet skiing, kayaking and snorkeling
Our room was small, very little storage for clothes-some of us lived out of our suitcase, black mildew on calking on outside bottom of shower. Maids did there best to clean the room, but room needs some TLC (replace calking). Last year we did a condo-hotel (two bedroom, two bathroom, full kitchen and living room), not all-inclusive and we thought we would go back to an all-inclusive this year for convenience when it came to feeding the kids. After our first few days we wished we did the condo instead of Sandos! Too busy for our liking, line up for food, line up for drinks and smokers, smoking where ever they wanted, very rude! LAST TIME DOING AN ALL-INCLUSIVE------NOT FOR US!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Good hotel for the price!

Posted May 2, 2015
The Jr suite is nice! Good size, the food is actually good but they don't have to much variations on the buffet! Dinner is good on ala carte restaurants, something good is the fact that you don't have to make reservations for those anymore, so you can can go to a different restaurant every night! The night shows are not that good, but again for the price you can't ask for much! The best part is the beach! Clear water not to many waves! Great for kids!! If this hotel is in your price range don't even think about it! Is the best option on this price! Well ill probably recommend the gran bahia principe coba, but the beach is much nicer at sandos!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Beach - TERRIBLE Entertainment & resort - AWESOME

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Most of the staff were nice, hard working. Entertainment was EXCELLENT! Loved the animals. Loved the crepes. Pools were heated which was awesome.
Cons: GROSS beach!!! Cigarette butts and garbage in the sand. My kids hated it. RAKE the sand!!! Towel/chair game is so UNFAIR to your guests!!!!
Location: Dolphin experience was FANTASTIC but they will try to rip you off with the photos and videos.
BEACH - wide, dirty with tons of cigarette butts, plastic utensils, at 6 am band aids etc... they do not rake it like they do in CUBA. Shoreline further down from resort was horribly scared by plastic and garbage. I was SHOCKED!!! People were reserving beach chairs and pool chairs at the main pool so it was impossible to find a spot to seat. They do not enforce the 30 minute rule. Pool in family section was AWESOME! But far from main areas, and golf carts were always full of people so we only got to ride in it once. Adult section is even further away. Lots of walking to do. FOOD - I liked it even though my daughter and I got diarrhea and horrible stomach aches. No reservations req'd for a la cartes except RODIZIO which is for elite members, everyone else has to wait.There is a CREPERIE and they make AWESOME crepes. ENTERTAINMENT - awesome! Mini golf, arcade (for all ages under 17, not just 13 - 17), fantastic shows, main pool seemed nice but impossible to get a seat unless you played the towel/chair game at 6am (same with beach palapas) Mexican night was awesome. Lots of vendors. ROOM- family section for five was great. Sofa bed was totally fine. Jacuzzi in the bathroom was a fun retreat for the kids and me. ANTS in the safe!! They bit me!! And the lights on the main wall did not work so it was very dark at night. Air conditioning was okay not perfect. STAFF - majority of staff - excellent. BUYER BEWARE at the gift shop. $6 US for a big bag of LAYS, very expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom british columbia

Excellent resort

Posted Apr 28, 2015
This was our second time staying at this resort, and we were again very pleased with it all. The staff is always very gracious and helpful, the room is comfortable and we slept very well. Easy to leave the resort and navigate around the area. Lots to do for families and singles. So happy to see the same faces from our last trip 3 years ago! Thank you for a wonderful vacation, we will continue to recommend to all our friends and family!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

“Sandos All-Inclusive - Great way to relax”

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We came to join my son and his family, and their friends (total of 10 adults and 9 children). The resort is everything that I was expecting and more. The abundant activities keep everyone engaged with plenty of things for the children. The variety of restaurants kept us well fed (we usually opted for the buffets for breakfast and lunch, and the regular restaurants for dinner). With the exception of one day (excursion to Tulum, etc.) we spent and enjoyed our days at the beach. The entire staff at the resort were excellent, courteous, polite and informative. I want to give a special thanks to our beach waitress, Yasmin, who always greeted us with a big smile, and was always there when we needed to order something. She made the beach experience especially nice. Our vacation turned out exactly as we wanted, enjoyable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Spring Break

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: My favorite was the access to the beautiful beach and I enjoyed the amount of restaurants and quality of the dinner food.
Cons: The main pool area could be updated and music on the softer side.
Location: We enjoyed the Cenotes and there are a lot of them nearby to visit. It was a fun experience. We went to Tulum which was educating but HOT.
We just came back from 1 week at Sandos Playacar with 3 others families. It was a very good time! Positives: Centrally located if you want to go to the Cenotes, Tulum and into Playa Del Carmen. Nice property with a lot of restaurant options most of which we tried and enjoyed the food. A good amount of activites tennis, mini golf, kayaks, bicycles and a very nice fitness facility and spa. The beach area was beautiful with plenty of seating and beach sports ie: volleyball, soccer, fitness. Our friends upgraded to The Haciendas Suites and they were Very nice, clean and new. Unfortunately for us closer to the back of the hotel near the entrance vs. the beach area which we preferred. We stayed near the beach in a standard room and while it was clean it was definitely older. My only negatives would be that the main pool area is very busy and we are use to that however it was very loud with music and activities in the pool that you had to leave if you wanted some relaxation. There was a larger and quieter pool on the property but again it was near the front of the hotel and along way from our room. And of course we were highly disappointed because our room type did not allow us access to any premium lounge/bar and you were not able to upgrade service unless you upgraded your own room. So there were many classes of service you could have at this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Commerce, MI

Great hotel! My son had a ball!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
We've been to Mexico many times. And this was hands down the best all-inclusive resort we've stayed at! We booked a Jr. Suite for more space in our room because of our 9 year old son. Loved it! It was in an eight unit building with a private pool and hot tub out back. Clean and updated. There were endless things for our son to do. Too many to list! He was a busy little guy from sun up til sundown. And he made friends from all over. The staff were so kind and went out of their way to make sure you you were taken care of. And not always looking for a tip! Although, we did tip because they absolutely deserved it! Beautiful beach, every amenity you can image. And being in the gated community of Playacar we felt very safe. We highly recommend staying here! There is an all adult area that we never visited, but heard it was very nice as well.