Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Beautiful beach and great workers!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Almost everything!
Cons: Time for a bit of repair work, but nothing bad. Get rid of the arm twisters trying to sell time shares!! I went to be on vacation, not to be bothered!
Location: 5th avenue in Playa and trip to the Mayan ruins!
Good beach, good food, good drinks, good staff! It was a great vacation. Just be aware that someone is going to try to sell you something!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful beach old rooms

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: the beach, location, drinks and food.
Cons: rooms
Location: Location is great..very natura, lots of animals walkign around..monkeys etc..liked it much more than Cancun hotel strip.
The beach is amazing. Beautiful water, lots of places to sit and great shaded areas, lots of trees. The location of the standard rooms (where we stayed) are great..short distance to pool, beach and amenities. There are more updated rooms (jr. suites) that are about 7-10 minute walking distance form the beach, pool and amenities. The standard rooms are very old and are in need of renovations. The food is also pretty good. 2 buffets and 5 restaurants which are all good. Drinks are good. Overall, it is a nice hotel but wish the rooms were nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best All Inclusive Trip

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Beach and food. Perfect white sand beach
Cons: Room is good but needs some minor maintenance.
Location: They provide bike with locks that you can ride to town. Take a backpack for shopping and save a taxi.
I have done AI resorts in Playa del Carman about 7 times. Sandos is the best of the lot. Excellent variety in foods from several al-a-cart restaurant without a need for reservation plus a couple great buffet restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MICHIGAN

pretty good hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: KID FRIENDLY . TRANSPORTATION !!!
Cons: THE BEDS , THE ADULTS SECTION SHOULD BE AT THE BEACH . TRANSPORTATION !!!
Location: PLAYA DEL CARMAN 5 MINS AWAY
i travel quite a bit . if you want to enjoy yourself book a hotel that is rated 4-1/2 to 5 star, because you know the food is going to be good. 7 restraunts pretty good . the french restaurant is formal , so the men need long sleeve and pants/ nice shoes . kid friendly . the resort is very long so if any people have handicap issues this resort is NOT for you ! the transportation is horrendous !!! Very safe I love the fact your in a gated community , you can walk around out side of the resort and feel very safe ! 5 to 6 mins from downtown by cab . restaurant are great downtown. i do not like the fact that the adult section is in the front of the resort, far from the beach . friends of ours stayed in at Riu Yucatan 2 doors down from us and they sayed the food was awful, they went downtown every night . rated 3 1/2 star DID WE LIKE STAYING : YES AND NO WOULD WE STAY AGIAN : NO MY RATING : 4 STAR
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Lots of activities and a helpful, friendly staff. We had a great time here. We were impressed by how clean the campus was kept. I also appreciated how eco-conscious the facility was -- lots of compost and recycling bins and the reusable cups were great! The beautiful beach was of course the big highlight. Overall, a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice All Inclusive

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. The food was very good The hotel was staffed perfectly
Cons: The beds and pillows need to go! Some of updating could be done
Location: Near Playa del Carmen and Cozumel Snorkeling, Para Sailing, Jet Ski, Sailing, Scuba....
Our first time here and was overall very happy with the accommodations. It is situated at the far south end of the hotel strip from Playa del Carmen, with only a neighbor to the north. The grounds are very well kept, but the structures could use some updating. I am convinced the beds and pillows are the hardest in all of Mexico. The food was very good, with a wide variety to choose from. The individual specialty restaurants were also very good. The staff was good, but not over the top as described by other reviews I have read prior to our trip, but this did not diminish my view of the place. Very nice beach and pools as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for families and couples

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, bar staff was very nice as well
Cons: More ambience, games, during the day
I went with a girlfriend of mine for a girls' weekend. Resort is nice and easy to navigate through. A lot of couples and families. SO, if having poolside games and such for a young group of friends is the goal, then this is not the prime place to do that. The disco on campus is not busy at all but we made our own fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Loving Mexico

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Beautiful resort, lots places to eat, bars everywhere and great staff.
Cons: The right room the first time and better pillows.
Location: Chichen-Itza is one of the new seven wonders of the world. Tulum Extreme tour was awesome. Shopping on Fifth street. Cozumel is a fery boat way.
We were placed in the wrong room the first night. We were moved to our beach front king bed room the next day. We found two other couple this happened to..... REALLY! The new room was much newer and also roomier! So much to do not enough time. We will be back not sure if we will stay at the same resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sacramento

Beach is the best

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Beautiful beach but hotel itself needs some remodeling. Beds very hard and room has a moldy smell. Found a coach roach crawling in room, manager said its because "we are in the jungle". But overall the beach is the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great hotel on sandy beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The food. They had an interesting kitchen tour with food. This has some special certification for food that only 2% of hotels in Mexico get.
Cons: Don't leave anything of value in the room. A few coins left on the dresser were taken.
Location: We went to see the dolphins. It was interesting but the travel company uses a different exchange rate from the bank rate to inflate the price.
This was a good choice of hotel. Food was very good and plentiful. Rooms were fine but pillows not so good. Lots of swimming pools and a lovely sandy beach. Good amenities. We had a great time. Weather at end of January was warm.