Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a relaxing holiday

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Location, beach, plenty of restaurants, activities.
Cons: Only 3 gourmet restaurants dinner per week. You should be able to go each night.
Location: Xcaret is totally recommended.
We had a very nice and relaxing week at this Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmingdale, NJ

Great Beach! Great Location!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was on a beautiful beach. The food was very good for all inclusive.
Cons: Pool cleanliness - it was cloudy and always had some sort of debris in them.
Location: 5th Ave shopping. Flea market shopping. Jet skis Snorkeling
PROS: The ocean was beautiful! Great stretch of beach - clean, plenty of chairs and water sports steps away. The food was very good regardless of what some said and it was great that you did not need reservations for the restaurants (with the exception of the Brazilian restaurant) Room service was also included - no surprises with extra charges, etc. The cupcake cafe has the best coffee. The hotel is spread out so there is walking involved if you are not in the rooms near the main pool and ocean but it wasn't bad and we didn't have a problem catching the shuttle to and from our rooms. We were in the 8000 series rooms near the main reception area. You can walk to the flea market and it's a short taxi ride to 5th Ave for shopping. CONS: There was confusion with our (2) rooms - they were not ready until 5pm the day we arrived even though we requested an early check in and one of the rooms smelled very musty/moldy. We changed rooms the next day with the help of our Expedia rep. It was annoying but it got worked out. The main pools were not very inviting - looked cloudy and debris in them. We used the pools by our rooms instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el paso, texas

nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: many evening activities. food great!
Cons: add washing facilities
Location: great! things to do close by. took taxi to la quinta twice
7 night stay. staff was very friendly. room clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Eco friendly hotel in nice surroundings

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: That it was eco friendly which meant that you could hear monkeys during dusk and see a variety of wild animals walking around the premises.
Cons: Like I mentioned above the reservation related to restaurants seemed way to complicated to what it should be.
Location: Playacar is a stone-throw away from Playa del Carmen and although we did not really go there much there is plenty to see around there including Xcaret
We had a very good week at Sandos in Playacar, the hotel upgraded us to one of the Haciendas and it is highly recommended that you stay at the haciendas rather than the hotels. The resort had all amenities that you could ask for and with 3 kids it was great to be able to rely on the kids club and the teen club when we did not bicycle around Playacar or go Scuba diving with the Scuba Libre staff on site. The only thing that potentially took away something from an excellent vacation was the hassle with getting a dinner booked at the various restaurants, however the staff was always very friendly and assisted as much as they could do. All in all I would recommend this resort and I can even see ourselves go back to this resort in 2 - 3 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fair lawn

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Excellent hotel. Food just Ok. Rooms were very well kept but beds were soooooo uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

timeshare

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: beach area and the cupcake bakery
Cons: quit pushing guest in buying any timeshare some people just come here to relax
Location: location is wonderful it is a private community very safe, 10 min ride from hotel to quinta avenida 5th avenue 45 min ride from the airport.
hotel was ok beach was excellent food buffet was ok too small for a huge hotel, but they do have restaurants in the hotel did not have the time to go, was traveling with children. hotel staff very pushy about wanting to get you to see there haciendas for you to purchase timeshare would not recommend this hotel and if you do decide to go just say flat out your not interested in buying a time share. pool area is just too small for a huge hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and good food

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: Please run more shuttles between two area. every 5 minutes is not enough in the morning and dinner time. And it's very hot to wait.
Pros: many many activities, nice staff, good food, good restaurants, nice beach, etc... Cons: Resort is separated two area. so... inconvenient. I will not visit again even though there are so many good things in the resort. 1. Rooms in the meeting point area are too old and small for family, and pool in this area is too crowed compare to pools in main lobby. 2. Shuttle runs every 5 minutes, but it wasn't enough. Usually shuttle is crowed and sometime I should wait for next one. it mean you may need to wait another 5 minutes outside...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexio

30 year aniversary

Posted Aug 11, 2014
First time in this hotel, we love playa del carmen and this hotel made it a great expirience for our 30th aniversary. The beach is absolutely wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great Beach and staff.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Great location and staff. Food selection very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Sandos review

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Sandos is a hotel not for American, is geared to Latino customers. Great beach , one of the best However, -There is no service at the beach. -if you are looking for good food, don't go there. -The buffet is hot and humid with no air condition and lots of flys . -Almost impossible to find a table at any Resturant . -If you ever find a reservation , try the Mexican and the Brazilian Resturants. -Good experience to improve your Spanish since the majority of the staff don't speak English .