Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Nice, large resort with excellent amenities. I highly recommend the spa, yoga lessons by Juan Carlos, and the Kid's Club if you have children travelling with you. Great entertainment, excellent staff. If you aren't travelling with children and prefer a quieter vacation, I would suggest upgrading to the Adult only section. Just keep in mind that it is located further from the beach, about a 10-15 minute walk, which can be exhausting in the heat, but there are also golf carts running regularly for resort transpiration. We booked a private airport transfer through Expedia and it was about an hour drive from the Cancun airport, I imagine it would be longer if you have to make multiple stops at other resorts on your way. The food was good quality overall, we liked the Brazilian Steakhouse, French and Mediterranean restaurants, did not care for the Mexican restaurant as much. The beach is nice, although seaweed is a problem as you'll read in other reviews. We did go on a wonderful snorkeling trip and enjoyed massages on the beach. Overall, I would recommend and would go back, as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

Too Many Kids

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The personnel go out of their way to help and are personable for the most part.
Cons: I don't care for the noise level, but it does cater to teens in certain areas.
Location: The resort is about 20 mins by cab to the town for shopping and tours are available from outside vendors.
Overall, a pleasant stay, but would have picked to be Royal Elite members as we were very disappointed with the clientele toward the front of the beach where we stayed. Tons of rude teens, loud parents and unsupervised children ruled the general area. We were given a tour of the members only area, which hopefully would be an improvement. We lost a lot of sleep with the general noise level coming from the beach at nght. The only way to do a place this size is the "Couples Only" area where you may experience some serenity and relaxation. The inclusive feature is good, the food is punctuated by succulent Chicken Mole and fresh papaya and bayabas. It tends on the bland side which may be because of the clientele from places unused to culinary authenticity. Most of the restaurants are open for dinner only, which is a limitation on offerings for lunch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Upgraded to what????

Posted Jul 12, 2015
They wanted to upgrade us to adults only but then we couldn't be with our family. And the adults only building was a mile from the beach! All of the alcohol coming out of the fountain was watered down. When they used the bottles it seemed better. It was supposed to be all inclusive but we weren't allowed some places. If we didn't have the gold or black band we were told no. We gave up the gold and black bands to be with our family which was close to the beach also. The food in the buffet and most of the restaurants was not good. The only really great meal was at the French restaurant. There were no Coke products, only Pepsi. The Michael Jackson Show was great! The other shows that I saw were just okay. Our room was always clean and nice thanks to Antonio. He was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Old with horrible food

Posted Jul 11, 2015
We stayed at the adult section only which was nice since there is where the pool bar is. Food was horrible, fruit full of nats. Asked for a steak well done, and the steak was still bleeding. Only 2 selections of beer (sol and xx). Not enough golf carts to move around the hotel. A friend of ours had a recent accident and needed help with the transportation. Golf carts took forever and if there were any driving by, they were already packed. Not handicap friendly. There are not enough beds by the pool to lay down considering the amount of guest the hotel has
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
It was ok. I went back because of the beach and it was horrible this year. Should have let us know there was lots of sea weed and couldn't enjoy the beach. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Great vacation spot

Posted Jul 9, 2015
We had an ocean front room which was a great view and very close to the pool, bars, beach, and many dining options. The golf carts were nice when going to dinner across the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Mexican and French restaurants, crepe shop
Cons: Better maintenance and repair.
Water leak in our room from upstairs unit. They moved us but didn't fix the problem; put someone else there right away. My cousin's room had a terrible smell- like something rotting and it took 3 days for them to get a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Great Resort very friendly staff great facilities. The room wasnt that great pretty small amd bathroom really old and not very clean. The pools and food were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Dissapointed

Posted Jul 6, 2015
When I made the Reservation on Expedia it said the room was 1 Queen bed, During check in they put me in a room with two personal beds that were locked to the floor, on the "Family" section of the hotel. I practically begged to be changed to what my reservation was with no luck. I had to sleep with my wife cramped on a personal bed the whole stay, the sad thing is that THEY HAD AVAILABILITY because I was offered an upgrade "if" only I agree to some kind of sales pitch during 3 hours that I did not accept. We came to the hotel with a group of friends for a birthday celebration, we did reserve at the same time and they sent me to the opposite side of the hotel complex which is pretty extensive. While all my friends were sent with free upgrades to the other side, may be to punish me because the complain they give me the worst: My Room was really noisy, starting at 5~6 am the noise of the workers running loud carts on the corridors people walking late etc Transportation within the hotel is Horrible, and if you decide to walk from one side to the other it takes a good 20~30 min walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Second year going

Posted Jul 3, 2015
We really like it ! Beds are not comfortable. Second time there. We would definetely go again. Kids loved it.