Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good first experience with all inclusive

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We stayed on the adults only side. As adults we still had fun but at times it provided the needed relaxing environment that a family resort sometimes can't provide. It was great to have our own pool, designated restaurants, and adults only lounge. The room although clean, well decorated and comfortable did need some small improvements. For instance the floors were very slick in the bathroom and throughout the room, if they were to get we it could result in a fall. To remedy that we put down towels around the bed and left them on the bathroom floor. Also the shower had no shelf or storage for personal affects, everything had to be placed on the floor. I use loofah gloves and felt that placing them on the floor wasn't sanitary(even though the floors were clean). The hotel is pretty, and located within an aesthetically pleasing neighborhood. The food was above average, I think I enjoyed the buffets more than the al a carte restaurants. Although the meal at the Mexican a la carte place was really great, I had a very tender and tasty pork dish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach but rooms are aging

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: Complete the updates and get softer beds.
Location: Your are with in walking distance to Play Del Carmen. Maybe 25 min walk to town.
This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. They are working on the grounds everywhere doing a major upgrade to the property. The down side was that they put us in a room that was in need of up dating and repair. Two of the rooms next to ours were completely gutted and being painted during our stay and there was someone working on the room above ours as well. Food was good. Drinks are watered down unless you get them from the premium bar. Overall I would go back the beach is unbeatable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

walk to beach

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: It was a beautiful facility and staff was very friendly. Restaurants were great and lots to do. Beach was very nice also.
Cons: Rooms could have been cleaned better with more attention to detail. Some days we got soap, wash cloths, etc, other days we didn't.
Location: It was a long drive from Cancun airport. A long drive to most sites but worth staying where we were Kids had a really great time with lots to do.
Being in adult section, it was a hike to the beach, but well worth it. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food was delicious, room was lovely. Cleaning staff was adequate but not exceptional although the room was always clean. Restaurants were great. Would definitely come back and recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
no pool hot tub. It wasn't working at least 3 days before we arrived & still not working when we left. The bathroom was leaking when it rained. Rooms smelled damp & musty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Rooms on first floor all stink, had to change the room twice. Staff not very friendly, and speak only little English. Food not the greatest either, just mediocre. The beach was amazing, best so far. Many activities available, fun place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel, but we wont be back.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Nice property, great location, beautiful beach, nice staff.
Cons: The food is simply awful. Complete deal breaker. All inclusive food is never great but this was inedible. Ruined the all inclusive experience!
I will start with the good. The property is beautiful, well maintained and our room was spacious and very nice. The pool areas were great and the beach was awesome! The staff was very friendly, helpful and the service was mostly exellent. Also the location of the resort is perfect for excursions to cozumel, ruins, etc. Now the not so good. The adults only section is an almost a 10 minute walk to the beach. The property is long and narrow and the adult section is the farthest from the beach. The upgraded bars with better liquor close at 10 and the upgraded liquor is low end American liquor(Absolute, Bacardi). The entertainment staff was very active but all the night entertainment was terrible. To be fair this is true of most all inclusive resorts though. The WIFI is VERY spotty and unreliable. Now the just plain terrible. The simple truth is this...the food is the worst we've ever had! The 1st night we tried a buffet (italian) and it was inedible. No way around it. The 2nd night we tried a a la carte restaurant (french) and it was barely edible. The 3rd night we tried a different restaurant (steakhouse)and I got food poisoning! This was our 8th stay at all inclusive resorts including melia, riu, omni, and viva wyndham so we never have huge expectations for the food but this was BY FAR the worst! Breakfast was bad but you can find something and there are several places to get a casual lunch (burgers/hotdogs). Lots of food choices, just no good ones!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis, mn

Nice place. Stayed for a week dec 13 to 20.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Stayed in adult only area. Kind of far walk to beach and long wait for cart ride. Adult pool whirlpool not working entire stay. Friendly staff and better food than grand palladium Maya riviera. Expect long waits for restaurants. Overall nice place, would go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Grugliasco

Resort ben organizzato

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: La piscina e l'offerta di potersi sposare qui!
Cons: Tutto perfetto
Location: Buona posizione, 10 min. di bici dal centro di Playa del Carmen.
Siamo stati 15 gg presso la struttura riservata a "solo adulti" che appartiene comunque al resort. La camera era spaziosa, con balcone e jakuzzi. Tutto come le nostre aspettative. Ristoranti diversi dove cenare ogni sera previa prenotazione. Presenza del diving center e opportunità di noleggio bici. Relax e divertimento!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest

It Checked All the Boxes and Delivered!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
This was our first time all inclusive. We really didn't know what to expect. We spent two weeks in the Adult Select section because it had everything we wanted -- beautiful beach, premium alcohol, WiFi, unlimited ala carte, adult only areas and good value. We had no complaints. We would definitely go back. Two cautions. One the buffet food is plentiful but not very interesting but there is always something to satisfy everyone. Make good use of the ala carte or take a 35 minute walk on the beach into the city and eat there. We didn't eat in town but it was an option if we got bored enough. And second caution is the adult area is an easy, flat 10-12 minute walk to the beach. Walk to the beach, walk back, walk back for dinner and entertainment, walk back. And dont forget something or you'll have to walk back again. That does get old after awhile. There is a cart that goes back and forth all day. It goes about every 15 minutes. The resort is beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. The employees are incredibly hard working. I originally was not pleased about people saying to bring some money for tips but the employees work so hard we happily got more money to give for tips. The beach is wonderful soft sand (no water shoes needed) and shallow water. Great for all ages. The land next to the resort is wild beach with a nice little lagoon and man made barrier that has a few fish to snorkel (angel fish, Sgt major, jacks, tangs etc). For real snorkeling you'll have to do an excursion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MASS

Nice hotel , big resort

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant staff. Enjoyed the adult's only options avaliable
Cons: Organization/schedules of entertainment and events. Very confusing to figure out and also difficult to figure out schedules for restaurant's.
Location: Snorkeling, diving, shopping, night club's, beaches
Very clean and well maintained resort. Staff is excellent. Lot of construction going on during our stay which took away from the vacation at times. Did not care for food at some restaurants , was very bland. Other restaurants were very good though. Did not like children running all over the adult's only bars at night and the unenforced dress codes at some restaurant's ruined the experience. We enjoyed the adult's only section on the beach, was nice and quiet to just relax in the sun and read.