Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Cons: The food - it seemed like everything at the many restaurant + buffet options was very much the same food, served different ways.
We loved Sandos Playacar!! Can't wait to return next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Just average

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Spa, adults only pool and option, and the beach.
Cons: Entertainment, drink options, and updating rooms.
Location: The town of Playa Del Carmen was safe and wonderful for shopping and food. Many great excursions available.
Food/Drinks. fair. Our favorite was the French restaurant and the Asian restaurant. Emmanuel and Bitia were wonderful servers at the adults only breakfast buffet and riviera maya! Premium bars for adults only had a few recognizable liquors: Bacardi, Beefeaters gin, and Don Julio. Guestavo and Carlos Puc were excellent bartenders! Beach- Beautiful. Fairly easy to get chairs. Very far from adults only section. Pool- Adults only pool was wonderful but could use more entertainment. Family pool was very crowded. Almost impossible too get towels at the adult pool because there was nobody at the towel hit during the posted hours of operation. And we were often refused to be given towels at the family section due to the fact we were part of the adults only section. Entertainment-Primarily located at family section of the resort. Not much to do after 10-11pm. Room (Jr. jacuzzi suite-adults only)- Bed was hard as concrete. Cleaning staff did a wonderful job. Shower leaked, mirror was tarnished and unable to be used, lighting was very dark, needed updating, refrigerator door was difficult to shut, and a cockroach was in our room and was a complaint of other guests. Loved the jacuzzi tub! Grounds- Loved that there were cats, dogs, raccoons, and monkeys; however the dogs often begged for food and were a little mangy looking (had ticks). The adults section was about an 8 minute walk which was ok but got old by the end of the week. A golf cart was available which was a great service!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Time share presentation

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The food and service staff was really good.
Cons: The beds were hard and left us with back aches.
Location: Shopping within walking distance was reasonably priced and they had a good selection.
We were abducted and put through a three hour time share presentation and telling them no only resulted in more offers that we had to refuse. We did NOT pay for a premium resort to be subjected to this type of sales pressure. We will NEVER go there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

NEVER AGAIN

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Drinks were watered down, food disgusting. Concierge was condescending and rude. Hotel tried to push extra charges on us at check out. Not accommodating for a large group (was there for a wedding). An all inclusive that wouldn't bring a bottle of champagne to the brides room as she did her hair...tried to charge a $100 for that!!! Beds were hard and uncomfortable, AC was sub-par and showers went from luke warm to scalding without warning. Save your money and stay elsewhere!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Highly recommend!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Very nice and clean. Friendly staff. Delicious food. Above and beyond my expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Very nice all inclusive.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Most everything. Especially the resort staff. Beach is the best.
Cons: Not much. The property is a little dated but ok.
Location: 5th Ave is close. Spent a day in Cozumel. Tulum is worth a trip.
This all-inclusive property, beach and staff were wonderful. Stayed in adults only section. The food was good to very good. Especially nice is the Gourmet French all adult restaurant. Room was clean and large. Beach is great with no rocks. Do not be afraid to book this resort. Check in was easy and no pressure from time-share sales. We will go back. This was our fourth trip to area. Happy with this choice. Even though this is all-inclusive, tip generously. The staff is helpful, polite, friendly and they work hard to please everyone...even those cleaning your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Not what I expected

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The stay at this hotel was a nightmare. The rooms were dirty. The staff had gotten the room and arrangements wrong. Staff when serving food was picking their nose. When brought up to their attention they didn't care. Food was awful, cold all the time. Ruined my vacation. I will not go back or recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NE

Nice resort, secluded.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Very nice resort, clean. Food could be better, best food was the snacks by the pool. Drinks were great. Wish the adult section was closer to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississauga ON Canada

Nice resort that cares about pets and animals

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Excellent food, nice facilities and the fact they care about pets and animals
Cons: Program for dogs, similar to what they have for cats with some veterinarian care. I'm sure it would make it a great advertising for the resort.
We have arrived at the resort around 2:00 AM. Check-in took quite long time, it looked like they were not really ready for our arrival however our accommodation got upgraded to the hacienda room (we were supposed to stay in adults only section (select club)). We stayed at the resort for one week (Jan 24-31) and had a really good time there. Facilities are nice, a lot of a la carte restaurants with excellent food (especially French Restaurant), good entertainment (we really liked the Latin Band). We like walking so the distance to the beach from adults only or haciendas sections did not really bother us. Staff for most part is friendly and helpful and rooms are clean. What I really like about the resort is the fact that they have some sort of feeding program for cats-I am a pet lover and I can really appreciate it. They also have 2 very cute donkeys. This is a very first time we stayed at the resort that cares about pets and animals To bad they do not have similar program for dogs, there are four dogs coming to the adults only section ( 2 adults and 2 puppies) which are being fed by some patrons (I was feeding them entire week). The adult dogs look like they have a tough life and I feel very, very sorry for them. I have discussed it with some of staff there and apparently they are thinking of having a similar program for dogs (they could use some medical attention as well), which would be great and I'm sure a lot of people will appreciate it. I would come back to Sandos.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Need More chairs at the beach

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Good food and staff.. Needs more entertainment for everyone at night.