Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facilities, beautiful beach !!!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The room in the Adults only section was great. The beach, and heading a little south on the beach was gorgeous. Beverage and food service great.
Location: Best location on the beach. Next to undevloped land to the south which gave a great area for beach walks and discovery.
Staff was terrific, entertainment very fun, beach was exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Overall great place. Staff was excellent. Could NOT help enough!!! Enjoyed the adults section only. However, the distance to the beach was quite a walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Constantin from Las Vegas, Nevada

Nice hotel. however there is room for improvement

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Room was nice, food was good, evening activities are fun, beach is nice, staff is friendly, resort is well kept overall.
Cons: Stop using jet skies. These 2 stroke oil engines are polluting our lungs and our ears. In the water, on the beach I had to breath it and hear it.
Location: Location is fine. Thing to do near by is up to the individual, we were not interested since the resort it offers plenty.
We booked the premium package.It was a junior suite. Room was nice, food is good, staff is friendly, beach is beautiful. When I checked in It was pathetic to see this guy at the reception trying to be the nice guy and eventually trying to sell time shares. I hope management gets this, we're not there to buy time shares, stop being annoying. My wife was tired and I was in no mood to be sold on any of their gimmicks. Hope they get it. Beach activities are good. You have daily beach activities which is great, just make it happen. Have your employees get these activities jump started, There was zumba, which was great, what happened to yoga? When there are no beach activities please turn off the loud music, we need to hear the ocean, the waves, quite moments are deeply appreciated, we don't need to be loud 24/7, we come there to have fun, but also to charge our batteries and relax. Your employees trying to sell on the beach this and that, is ok with me, but train them to understand that NO means NO, Discourage lung and ear pollution that means mostly jet skies and parasailing. I was breathing exhaust fumes on the beach and in the water. We understand the resort has no control over water traffic, however for sure they can control their own behavior. Put your guests health above your profit. The profit is always there, the guests may not be...Encourage non motorized activities. Green is the way to go. Overall Sandos Playacar is a nice place, a 4 out of 5 stars is fair
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julia

Great beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Had a nice time in this beautiful resort . The only thing was not good is a mattress. Too firm. Other than that- no complains at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort near the beach

Posted Apr 13, 2014
We had a great vacation at Sandos resort! They have it all, very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya

Perfect getaway!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: beach, food
We've been searching for a great hotel for a long time and Sandos met all our criterias! The territory is huge and beautiful, the beach is perfect, the staff is really great, always smiling and willing to help, the food is oh so delicious! We've got a junior suite in Adults Only area, with a jacuzzi. Have nothing to complain about!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Philadelphia

Overall great experience with a beautiful beach!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the neatness of the resort, the adult only perks, the beach and entertainment.
Cons: Since we were staying 5 nights that we were only allowed to make dinner reservations at the restaurants 2 nights. We would have liked to try more.
I just returned from a 5 night stay at Sandos Playacar with a couple girlfriends. Overall, we had an excellent stay. We stayed in the adults only section and found the room to be very nice overlooking the pool. We loved that it was located by the adult swim up bar with a great bartender Luis who made us the best drinks! We were about a 5 minute walk from the beach which was down a nice path through the resort. The beach was absolutely stunning-large, plenty of chairs, and options to be in the sun or the shade. Food was pretty good, the Riviera Maya mexican restaurant was our favorite! We also loved the entertainment provided by the team at Sandos. The shows and bands every night were great! We highly enjoyed the fire show and beach party. Pedro and Armando from the entertainment team were fantastic! They were so friendly and really showed us a great time both on the resort and out on the town of Playa del Carmen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This all-inclusive was not for us.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Nice beach, good staff, nice pools.
Cons: The food and drinks.
Location: Furthest from 5th Avenue downtown but still walkable or get a bike (for free) and ride to town. We didn't do any tours but would want to see the ruins
This was our first all-inclusive experience. We were looking to get away and do nothing but relax by the ocean and pool while enjoying good drinks and food. Cons: -The food was NOT good. The Festival Buffet had a large selection but just very poor quality at breakfast and dinner (didn't try at lunch). Tried the Adults Only (AO) breakfast buffet and it had the same options just without the crowd. Made reservations at Le Gourmet and it was so hot everyone looked uncomfortable! Food at Le Gourmet was okay. Cupcake Cafe was alright, but not consistent and a couple times my "coffee" was so bad I had to throw it away. The ingredients are very artificial and sweet in all the drinks. Tried another reservation at Iztapalapa and my husband's steak was terribly tough. Only satisfying meals were had at the AO Ceviche Bar at lunch. We even left the resort to go eat the last day of our vacation! -Got lured into the timeshare sales pitch, caution the 90 minutes went well over two hours! Pros: -Glad we upgraded to the AO section. The AO pool was our favorite area to lounge while having drinks from the swim up bar, served by Luis who was great! Activities coordinator Edgar was a lot of fun at the pool too. -Massages at the spa we're wonderful but 25 min is about $80USD
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WATCH OUT FOR THE SWITCH!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: Highly recommend booking an excursion with your private tour dot com. It was outstanding!
After traveling all day to finally reach our destination, the hotel informs us that they are moving us to their Cancun location with a much nicer room. They claimed they were having computer issues and were overbooked. Having spent a vacation in Cancun and not liking it plus having to drive yet another hour; we weren't moving. We ended up speaking to the manager and rooms for us were magically found. The rooms were very nice, but the beds were hard. The food is good, no complaints. Staff is nice and helpful. Hated the beer (only XX), but I'm a bit of a beer snob coming from Wisconsin. One perk of their beach area is that they have many permanent thatched umbrellas set up so they have more shady areas along the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: services
Cons: the food
the restaurant's are not good,but everything else is ok