Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Don't let the adult only part fool you

Posted Jun 28, 2015
There may be sections for adults but they are very limited. To get to beach from there is a 10 minute walk or wait 20 for a golf cart shuttle which was almost always full and you had to wait for the next one. Food is more for people with family (ie chicken nuggets, hot dogs, pizza) and on beach drink service is horrible. Stray cats and dogs all over the place. But, all hotel staff regardless of position would greet you when your pathes crossed. That friendliness is about this resorts only saving grace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Very nice, great food, great staff.
Cons: dessert where not very good except the ones offered at the Mexican Restaurant
Had a great time! wish we would of made the vacation for 7 days instead of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Love this place

Posted Jun 14, 2015
This is probably one of the better resorts we have stayed in. The rooms, food and staff were fantastic. The wall to the beach was long however enjoyable and if you don't want to walk to the beach they has golf carts that will take you. We enjoyed the walk so much, we never used the golf carts. I love all the rescue cats and 2 donkeys, really makes the place special. We plan on going back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2015
excellent honeymoon! couldnt have asked for more!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sandos in May 2015

Posted Jun 8, 2015
I enjoyed my stay. I have been to Playa many times, and for the price, this hotel was good. The food was so-so, but the premium bars were a nice addition. The adults only area was far from the beach, which was only a problem during the hot part of the day. They should have shuttles running more often during peak beach times (12:00-4:00)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Affordable stay nice hotel.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: Shorten the timeshare meetings
Location: Close to 5th street a place for shopping and walking around, a short bike ride. Right on the beach.
The resort was pleasing, the grounds were nice and the public areas enjoyable. The staff was all very nice. The bed was stiffer than I like and the room did not get very cold; in fact, our AC actually broke and the handyman had to come fix it. The food at the lunch and dinner buffets were nothing to write home about, but they few sit down restaurants were great especially the French restaurant. Breakfast buffets were also pretty good. I wasn't a big fan of any of the drinks. I would stick to just wine next time. We stayed in the Select adult side, it was much more quiet, but far from the main activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Not enough lighting in room. Not enough outlits.

Posted May 29, 2015
Adult section Too far to beach. But did have golf cart transportation... Good drinks!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Resort 3.5 stars

Posted May 28, 2015
We were in Playa for a friend's wedding and stayed here as they chose the location. If I could have given 3.5 I would have; essentially it's a big resort. So, if you are looking for that experience then this is pretty much the same as a RIU resort. I have never been to Playa but have been to Cozumel and Cancun at big resorts and the most striking difference is that staff interactions here were not very friendly and the front desk particularly just provided wrong information several times. From printing to transpo to who to see for activities. I do not feel they were very accommodating to the couple that wa married after a combination of bigger and smaller issues the duration even on the day of the wedding. For example Staff would not give the wedding party more than 6 beers during the guys get ready time even though 10 different guys all with separate rooms were all hanging out in 1 room prior to. For an all inclusive it seems like some things are still really limited. If you drop that much $ for a wedding at a place like that then I think you should get room service to bring as many beers as you want. Last thing if you stay in the adult section you have a limited menu for room service past 11p (no fried food) can't order alcohol either. The hotel uses bracelets to identify your section and that bracelet limits use to certain restaurants, pools, bars etc...do your research first. I will not be visiting this resort in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden, CO

Quality All-Inclusive Destination

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The adult pool area and bar was very good.
Cons: The room towels should be upgraded to a better quality.
Location: The location of the property is close to shopping, offers excellent beach access and offers many activities.
The property offered all the amenities to make a traveler free comfortable and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Stayed in adults only section

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Unlimited alcohol and entertainment
Cons: Transportation to the beach, need more carts for patrons. They are always full or can never be found even after waiting 15 minutes or longer.
We stayed in the adults only section, my goodness it was a half mile walk to get to the ocean/beach. They state they have a cart which makes stops at pick up locations. The carts were either full or were hiding somewhere because we never ever caught a ride on one. They must only have one cart for the entire facility. Was very disappointed in this end of service. If you have health issues or don't like to walk DO NOT stay in the Adults Only area. The food was alright, I found it lackluster and not very tasty or flavorful. There are many options to choose from but here again if you are in the adults only section be prepared to walk to get to the restaurants. There were 2 restaurants close to the adults only area both steak houses. Good food as it is prepared fresh not a buffet atmosphere. They did have great entertainment all day and night. If you want to use a computer bring your own. The wi-fi is pretty good. They have 2 computers in the Elite club but they are old and out of date. One keyboard was so old the letters were literally faded away. Neither of the keyboards have the "@" symbol for you to check your email etc. The beds and pillows were super hard causing muscle aches for our entire wedding party of 30, to complain and have a poor nights sleep. If you like to drink and party this is the place for you unlimited alcoholic beverages and plenty of activities for all. It was very hot and muggy for our stay but the A/C worked fabulous. I'm not entirely sold on the resort