Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E from LA

Ok hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Need to work on customer service and repair items in rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is nice. Great for kids

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Food was good. Not a lot of choices but tasty. However they have many different color bracelets that will allow you to use different facilities
3 out of 5
by BellaMamma from UK

Huge place. Ok for some, not right for us.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Beach, a la carte dining, night shows, game room. people always seem to be working on upgrading/maintaining/cleaning grounds.
Cons: Tired decor. Politeness of other guests.
Location: didn't do anything.
There is a lot going on here. The beach is stunning. Cool to have a cupcake cafe. Teen game room was a hit and a la carte dining was lovely. But overall, room was tired. Resort too big for us. Loud buffet was intimidating for kids. Don't regret our stay, but wouldn't go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pasquale from New Jersey

great beach and facilites

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: better beds -way way to hard-
Location: Playa a five minute taxi ride away-great little town-a jungle to explore if u dare-
I loved being among the monkeys and animal life and iguanas_the beach and the palapas r the best food outstanding-only ate at buffets restaurants i heard were OK-rooms were a little mustydue to the humisity but its clears away after A WHILE -staff r great -the only con was losing my phone in lobby left it on table and whoever found it never turned it in -so dont trust anyone probably one of the guests now they have a pretty worthless paper weight-otherwise it was beautiful place to vacaton -ill be back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

nice hotel, beautiful beach, tropical feel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the lush tropical areas, easy access to everything
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms need to be updated and wifi could be made available in the rooms
Location: Location is good, easy access to shopping, sightseeing
Beautiful beach, plenty of shady areas, nice restaurants, very nice staff. The only thing I would say about the hotel is that they need to update the rooms as well as the bathrooms as they are kind of dated. We stayed in the ocean front room and for the price I expected a little more modern room. Overall the hotel is nice but the best part is the beautiful beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelly from Chicago

wonderful family vacation

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: activities, food, restaurants, entertainment and most of all the BEACH
Location: location great - being close to plya Carmen was fun and the beach was huge and beautiful - loved that the resort was the last of the strip of hotels!
Beach so gorgous. kids club staff was great and their activities and shows were awesome for the kids. The entertainment staff was outstanding from morning to night. we loved bagel beach and the staff there was wonderful. Diana Delgado from web services helped with our dining reservations and was very helpful. We traveled to and from the airport with Best Day Travel - and would highly recommend them,. Trip was very fun and relaxing and we would recommend to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

this place is awesome!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Location: mayan adventure tour included snorkel trip in lagoon, cenote exploration and great swimming and zip lining into a cenote pool. Awesome side trip
All was well and the staff was great. Great for families. No complaints at all. Enjoy this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tone from Littleton, CO

Playa del Carmen is our favorite...

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Clean, food was great, Beaches were perfect, best of all we felt like nobody else was there even during spring break.
Cons: First the Disco (smells, small and out of date) Next get softer beds.
Location: Very big property, down town 5th Ave a must visit, walk within 40 minutes or $7 taxi ride. Visit Tulum and the Alux Restaurant. No Timeshares......
Overall the hotel was pretty great. The only complaint I would have is the hard as a brick beds. Read them in prior reviews but thought to myself many people prefer different beds but they were right, super hard beds. This resort has it all but is super large. The main portion of the room are far away from the beach and food but it wasn't a big deal for us cause we liked walking through their gardens everyday. The pools were super clean and easy to get a chair every time. The food was very good, I was surprised with an all inclusive resort. Top notch restaurants too. Your only allowed to reserve 3 times but we picked the steak house, Asian and Mexican which all were great. Bring your dollar bills as you will get way better service in the bars. Not many people tipped so when you do they appreciate it. The Michael Jackson tribute show was shockingly great, the rest of the shows were pretty subpar and many people walked out on them during 1/2 way through. This place is perfect for a quite time with no college partying. The whole place pretty much dies by 11 pm but they do love starting early like 6 am. Pay the few extra dollars and stay in the Adults only part, will be much easier to sleep in. Overall we fell in love with Playa and will stay again in the future. Oh, a must visit is the Alux which is a restaurant in town that's down in a cave. Great experience in down town which was a 40 minute walk or $7 taxi ride.
2 out of 5
by Jodi from Calgary, AB CAN

Not what it claims to be - Certainly not 4 star

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Proximity and cleanliness of the beach was good.
Cons: Service could definately be improved. The staff doesn't seem to be cognizant of the fact that the guests may understand Spanish.
Location: Close to Playa del Carmen and easy to get to 5th Avenue - about 7USD cab ride. 15 mins from Xplor, Xcaret and Akumel Beach. 30 mins from Xel-ha.
We booked 12 days in a junior suite for a family of 4 a month in advance. When we got there, the room wasn't ready, so we had to stay in a 'standard' room for the first night. No discount was offered and no english when asked about being discounted for not getting the room that we paid for. We moved into the right room on day #2 - however we had to leave the standard room by 8:00am and the jr suite wouldn't be ready until 3:00pm. Very inconvenient to have nowhere to go with our luggage for an entire day. The jr suite had mold all over the bathroom, shower leaked into the toilet area and brown water from the faucet of the jacuzzi making it unusable. Even though we tipped the maid every day, we had to go to guest services twice for no water or coffee left in the room - don't even bother trying to call "34" Guest Services. All lines were busy for the entire duration of our stay. You have to go to the lobby Guest Services if you need anything - and be prepared to wait in line. Efficiency and customer service is not a strong feature of this hotel. Room service is included in this all-inclusive hotel - but there's no menu in the room. Bats all around the hotel, cats too, and we killed an american cockroach in the hallway on the way back to our room. Definately not 4 star in service or quality. On numerous occassions, I experienced the staff complaining and making fun of the guests in Spanish.
2 out of 5
by Daniel from Minneapolis

Super spread out, nice staff, slow drinks

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Our stay was a mixed bag. The staff was super friendly with "hola" seeming to be a requirement of employment. On the other hand you could walk up to a bar and stand there ignored for endless minutes while the bartender avoided eye contact to finish whatever behind the bar task he was on... and then on occasion only find out that they were closed. We were in the family section but all of the amenities are down by the beach (big pool, buffet, bars etc) so it was a constant hike there and back. The elders in our group were stuck between making the draining walk or waiting an inconsistent 5-25 minutes for a shuttle cart. My biggest complaint would be in the level of "noise". The entertainment staff was extremely in your face with games and activities... which would be fine to keep people busy, but the volume was excessive and constant. There were also a couple staff that could use an attitude adjustment, but they were the exception to the rule. It was just unfortunate for me that a few of those individuals I had to keep coming back to... to get a sail boat for instance.