Ratings based on 1,118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Clean resort, great beach but mediocre food!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The beach was the best thing for us!
Cons: The food! Some restaurants trying too hard! Keep it simple!
Location: Close enough to Playa del Carmen by taxi $20 each way. We are familiar with the area so did our own touring with taxi's.
We stayed from Nov 5 - 14, 2014 & were overall pleased. We would recommend this resort for the size, as well as the beach/water. We were very lucky with our weather when we went, it was sun, sun & more sun. The water was very calm & not too windy. There were a couple of days that the wind picked up & the water was rougher however never rough enough that you were bombarded with seaweed or could not enter the water (I just bought a floaty from the resort store to hang out in on these days). Sand bottom, no rocks! Towels are a plenty and we marked our beach spot early in the morning. The capacity ebbed and flowed - there was never a problem getting space at the beach & there were three of us. The pool appeared to be nice but full with people, lack of shade & birds :) The resort is older but clean (although the same pieces of hair stayed in the top corner of my shower our entire stay?) We seemed to sleep earlier this trip but attribute that to the successful weather and being able to swim and lay at the beach all day! We did not attend or participate in the evening entertainment but once and it was pleasant enough. The food...oh the food! We are foodies but did expect more based on the reviews. Breakfast and lunch seemed better tasting (Cactus Club by the beach); dinner options were limited and we cannot say we truly enjoyed anything. Sad to say the food is the only reason we would struggle to go to Secrets Capri again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Secrets was GREAT!!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Everything - my wife's experience at the SPA was excellent - massage, facial and "foot works"
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: We went there just to "chill out" for a few days and that's exactly what we did.
Our stay at the all inclusive Secrets Capri Riviera Playa del Carmen was outstanding. Our room was gorgeous and the maid service was excellent. Nicely stocked mini bar, nice bathroom and wonderful ocean view. We had ALL of our meals at the "in house" restaurants and every meal was very good - no food issues at all. The drinks were "free flowing" - premium pours. The "Entertainment Staff" was fun - they kept you going at all times with different activities, or, if you chose to, you could just "chill" at the pool or on the beach. There was entertainment almost every evening. The grounds, pool area and beach were "SPOTLESS" - someone always there trimming or picking up. Don't see how our stay could have been any better. They did mean "Adults Only" - there were no crying, screaming, running around kids - truly an "adults only" resort. Any questions or services asked of ANY of the employees was immediately taken care of - none of that "it's not my job" stuff - ALL of the employees were friendly and helpful. For us (my wife and I) we can't help but give Secrets a FIVE STAR rating - our stay exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Our stay was great and would love to go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Santiago de Chile

Nice hotel, friendly service

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Friendly Staff, quiet atmosphere, only adults
Cons: water sports team and equipment
Location: pretty near playa del Carmen town. nice walks trough the beach
Very good experience overall! Small hotel, everything is close. no waiting for restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Neenah, WI

Very relaxing, beautiful view, nice beach

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, very friendly staff. Location was good. Food was wonderful.
Cons: Make sure you put valuables in your safe in the room. I was missing money the one day I did not use the safe. I cannot say anyone at the hotel took it
Location: We didn't do anything off the resort, but from past trips to the area, there are a lot of excursions in the area.
The grounds and hotel were very nice and clean. The resort grounds are not big, so the only place to get out and walk around is along the beach; which is very nice. We walked along the beach twice and from what we could tell from neighboring resorts, the Secrets Capri was definitely one of the nicer resorts. The food was amazing. Everything we ate was wonderful. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant. It was nice to not have to make reservations for dinner. The only reservations needed were if you wanted to sit at the Hibachi table in the Japanese restaurant. We did that one night...it was very good as well. Staff was very friendly. We did not care for the speech when we first checked in about trying to get us to visit a partner hotel, but we weren't too pressured about that. The scenery is beautiful, its more of a quiet atmosphere....which we really liked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Excellent service. Hotel needs updating.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The service. The staff was awesome! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. They remembered you from day to day and always had a smile ready.
Cons: The resort just needs some general updating and repair. Sometimes there was delay in a server getting to your table. Once started, service was fine.
Location: We didn't do much and didn't want to. We played volleyball a couple of times, fed the turtles and did the staff led lagoon tour-totally worth it.
We have stayed in two other Secrets resorts and this one by far had the best service. When they served you more than once, the servers tended to remember your preferences (drinks around the pool, type of tea you ordered at breakfast, etc.) We were also impressed that we arrived around 11 am, check-in was 3pm. Our room was ready before noon. We were also asked when we arrived if we were celebrating anything in particular. We said our anniversary and when we showed up to our room we had a "Happy Anniversary" banner on our door. Then our maid left us various surprises throughout the week - three different towel animals, one holding a rose, and rose petals in various patterns. The room and hotel in general were pretty much spotless. However, the hotel is in need of some updating - cracked/pitted tile, faded/peeling paint in some areas, the stucco on the outside of the hotel needs either some painting or repair. Our room had a musty smell initially, but we made a comment on the housekeeping card and we had air freshener in our room that night. It also helped initially when we left the air conditioning running and the screen door open one day so maybe the room just hadn't been used in a while. The Desires Lounge and the ballroom both had a really strong musty/moldy smell as well. We think the resort is aware of it because air fresheners were discreetly placed and common areas were being aired out whenever possible. This resort also had the smallest bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: We like that it is a small resort. Everything is right within a few steps.
Location: There is a lot for those wishing to leave to leave the resort and do some sightseeing. Playa del Carman is close by for shopping.
This our 7th year in a row going to Secrets Capri. We love this resort. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The food is wonderful. My favorite place to eat dinner is the Portofino. Jesus is the best waiter there. He took excellent care of us. My husband like Oceana the seafood place. Francesco was our great waiter there. We went there Three times during our last stay. During the day we like to hang out at the pool where Carlos, Oscar or Iliseo was our pool waiter. Bringing us cool drinks all day or food if we wanted. Another place I loved was CoCo the coffee shop. Lots of yummy coffee drinks and sweets. Every year we go Secrets has managed to improve something. We fall in love with resort year after year and sometimes we are able to have friends join us. No one has ever been disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location. The staff is amazing!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
They treat you like royalty! It was wonderful! It was our first all inclusive and we will definately go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Excellent, Excellent!

Posted Nov 2, 2014
We spent a week here and it was a great experience. From check in to check out everything was easy and staff great. Rooms were spotless and house keeping probably the best i've ever experienced. Restaurants are great and tons of activites everyday and evening. Will recommend to anyone and will defiently be returning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

Reserved ocean view with king bed but got 2 fulls

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Reserved a king room with ocean view but got 2 full size beds with no view. There were buckets and towels on floor in lobby area catching the water leaking in through ceiling. Staff and food was phenomenal!!!! Very upscale clientele