Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Resort

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff was great about drinks. Size of the resort was nice because it was easy to get around to the different locations.
Cons: l would have liked a pool with a deep end personally. There was a lack of hot water for showers, most of the time it was luke warm.
Location: Within an hour of the hotel we were able to do some excellent snorkeling as well as head over to Playa del Carmen for dinner.
This was my first all-inclusive resort and I was very impressed by the hospitality of the staff and the cleanliness of the entire place. We really enjoyed hanging out in the sports/game bar in the evenings where we were able to hang out and play all sorts of games that the resort provided. At no time during our stay did we ever have a problem getting a drink. The constant breeze coming from the ocean made pool time feel great. I personally would have liked the pool to have a deep end. It could be difficult to find a couple of lounge chairs with an umbrella if you didn't get to the beach/pool early enough in the day. We didn't hang out too much at the beach during our entire stay because there was a lot of seaweed in bloom washing in. However at night there were no issues going out to the lounge chairs and relaxing by the beach. Most of the drinks were kind of sweet so we learned to order doubles of brand name booze to make them taste better. Each evening there was some type of event going on which was entertaining to watch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a poor beach

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Service & room
Cons: The beach and food quality
Location: N/A
We went here expecting a nice beautiful beach but we were very disappointed. Service was very good and the food was fair. It's a cozy size not to big. We don't think we would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Relaxing & Pleasing Stay

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Everything is well maintained and stuff are exceptional!!
Cons: More pool umbrellas and selections of bed pillows
Location: 15-20 minutes north of Playa del Carmen; 45 mins from Cancun airport; and short distance to good tourist destination
Highlight of the stay are the staff at Secrets Capri, especially Eloy, Eva & Moises. Thank you for making the stay more relaxing and enjoyable. Suggestions for improvements - a selection of pillows (non fluffy, fluffy, soft, hard, etc). With the four available pillows which were all medium it was difficult for us to sleep. And should have more umbrellas available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful Resort, Gluten Free Friendly

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Delicious fresh food, VERY gluten-free friendly, comfortable & clean rooms, well-trained & polite staff
Cons: More classic Mexican food options, making sure turn down music in empty rooms is turned off
This resort was absolutely outstanding. We visited in mid-January 2015, and we're still talking about it. The service was wonderful from beginning to end. All staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. Our favorite was Medardo who prepared made-to-order eggs and omelettes for us every morning. He greeted us with an enthusiastic "Good morning, ma'am/sir!" Our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and updated. We had a main floor room that walked out to the pool and was a great view of the mid-week entertainment. There wasn't a perfect panoramic view of the ocean, but you could see it a bit and there was a nice view of the pool and palm trees. The food was delicious and offered different options from Italian to Asian to some Mexican. The even bigger plus was it was VERY GLUTEN FREE friendly! Menus always noted gluten free options. In addition, the waiters and chefs were incredibly well trained and knowledgeable on gluten intolerance. They knew way more about it than majority of waiters in the US. My boyfriend has Celiac's and gets very sick with even a trace of gluten. The chefs often personally came out and reassured him his food was prepared in a designated gluten free area. Minor complaints: 1. Empty rooms next to us had the "turn down service" music playing all night and we could hear it through the walls. It took over an hour at 2AM to get a staff member to turn it off. 2. The water wasn't as clear/blue as expected. Maybe because of a rainstorm before we arrived?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
We enjoyed our stay; I can't think of one negative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A memorable vacation

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Mostly everything
Cons: Pool needs some work. Beach definitely needs help. Very small and dirty.
Location: Playa del Carmen, 5 th Avenue, rip off. Store merchants were rude and items were very expensive.
Great place, needs a few renovations. Pool, beach, some grouting in the bathrooms. Restaurants were very good, needs another one open for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast buffet was very good , plenty of variety. Service at the hotel was beyond excellent, the staff goes out of their way to please you. Shops at the hotel were very expensive which I feel is not necessary. All in all , great vacation spot. I would definitely go back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Posted May 18, 2015
Lovely vacation location. The staff is absolutely wonderful! We really enjoyed the Italian dinner fare (Jesus was great) and the Seaside Grill (Eloy is a great server!). Very relaxed environment with a variety of things to do. Thanks for a great week. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ventura, ca

Married on the beach

Posted May 16, 2015
Great trip, great wedding! More than we expected! If you are planning a destination wedding and having a hard time choosing a resort, sectrets capri is the one you want. From the staff to the food, services and rooms, everything was great. Seaweed did suck but it wasnt anything that would ruin your trip, and its going away. I would think by end of june it will be a beautiful shoreline again. Enjoy channel 14. Secrets capri is perfect no kids resort!!! Small enough to meet great new friends. Big enough to stay just to yourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aberdeen

Excelent hotel for a relaxing holiday

Posted May 15, 2015
Hotel, food and staff aĺl excellent. Premium drinks served in the bars. Hotel a bit remote, disappointed no shuttle bus to Playa del Carmen, taxis only and $20 each way. Seaweed a bit of problem on beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Mediocre

Posted May 14, 2015
Hotel was clean and well kept. Hotel staff was always nice and pleasant. Very old time Mexico feel to it but not the greatest you can get for your money in riviera maya. If your a person who goes for the beach you definitely won't want this hotel. The beach is next to none and full of seaweed. Food and drinks were good. Resturaunts were ok and dress was casual which was convienent. If you like a older, smaller feel this is the perfect hotel for you.