Ratings based on 1,192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NW Arkansas

Background on taxi fares and time share pitches

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms; very friendly staff throughout-from housekeeping to wait staff; enjoyed cuisine in a variety of restaurant formats
Cons: 2 electrical plugs in the room were in need of minor repair and the shower door wasn't hung so that it could close tightly. Otherwise it was perfect
Location: Explor park was fun and only a 30 minute ride by bus
This is the second all inclusive stay for my wife and I in Mexico. I would say we made some improvements on this one primarily in the area of restaurants. A lot of the basic information about the hotel is provided in other reviews so I am going to use the limited area here to address getting to the resort and what to expect immediately upon arrival. You are greeted at the entrance with cold refreshing towels and a glass of champagne-or water if you prefer. The ride is about 30 minutes from the airport. Taxi fare is around $60-$70 for four adults depending on the type of vehicle. Not going to say that you can't bargain for less, but you can certainly pay more if you aren't careful. Check in was very quick, then be prepared for the obligatory time share pitch. Virtually every hotel of this sort is a time share property. If you want the perks they are offering to take the presentation (ours was about $300 in discounts for things that we planned on doing anyway) then figure you are going to spend about 3+ hours or so between the taxi ride, tour, and closing attempts. If you aren't interested, just politely decline and you probably won't be bothered about it again. One last tip: Don't be intimidated to take the tour or buy a time share that day. You can always change your mind later and I promise you they will be more than happy to accommodate you at a later time regardless of the "it has to be today" pitch. A lot of other good information in these reviews. Hope this helps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and friendly staff

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Breakfast buffet was very small and not well stocked. Only did the buffet at lunch one day and was not impressed. The burgers and ocean resort excelle
Had an amazing holiday at the Capri. The only complaint I would have is there breakfast buffet was small and if you were not there at 7:00am when they opened the trays were constantly empty. We had to talk to the manager a few times to replace eggs, ham, bacon etc. This was a small sacrifice when you are at an amazing resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Awesome staff!!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The staff teams are awesome! Cactus club was my favourite place to eat! Juan is the man at the pool!! Everyone is so friendly and I truly missed the piƱa coladas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was great

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We had a great time at Secrets Capri. Food was good, staff was attentive. Oscar on the beach is great, he made our stay so much fun. We attended the Euphoria show one evening which was excellent! We had a little trouble checking in as our room was not ready and we were told a time to check back, upon returning we were again told it wasn't ready and had to wait another hour. The only other complaint was the bed which had a very large dip in the middle. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Geneva

33rd Wedding Anniversary

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Food & Staff
Cons: room needs some updating
Location: We went to Playa Del Carmen and did take a lagoon hike which was alot of fun
Our second trip and the food is wonderful but the Hotel is starting to show wear. We feel that with some updating we would rate the hotel higher but it does need some updating not much but little things like a broken lamp & some new furniture. The staff can't do enough for you and the food was great. It was a great trip and woud recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Excellent hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The hotel installations are excellent. A perfect hotel for a home moon. The rooms are really comfortable. The pool really nice. The staff attention was excellent all the time. And the food is high quality. The perfect vacations in paradise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All Inclusive (adults only) on the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Customer service was their priority. The staff was very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure you were happy. Older hotel but very clean.
Cons: The beach was small. Roots from old Palm trees are sticking out of the sand. The lounge on ground level is carpeted and the area smells musty.
Location: Didn't travel off the resort this trip.
We took this trip to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We chose this hotel because the package price with airfare and accommodations matched our requirements perfectly. We were greeted with Champagne as we arrived. Our room requested was not what we were offered on arrival but was soon rectified. Please be sure to read this!! When you arrive to this resort, you will be approached by a staff member to take a tour of one of their (Secrets) new resorts which is 10 minutes up the road. They will tell you that it is to show off their new property so you are aware of it. They will tell you it will only take 1.5 hours of your time. They will treat you to breakfast at this new property and throw in a romantic dinner on the beach ($150 value). DON'T WASTE your time. Here's why: It's a sales trap to get you to sign into an agreement with Apple Travel. They want to take all of your vacation dollars you spend and commit it to Apple Travel. It was a waste of time because I was not going to sign any contract without a detailed analysis. I am on vacation, why are you wasting my time! The 1.5 hours turned into 3.5 hours. Before we could leave, we had to go through three levels of sales staff to try and make me sign! Food options,plentiful and very good. The bars were fine but limited high end liquors on the shelf. The beers were not ice cold, more like semi chilled. The room we stayed in was the Junior Ocean Front Suite. It was up front and very pleasant to stay in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful resort

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Location: We went on only one excursion, the Xoximilco tour, and we would highly recommend that as well. About 45 minutes from this Secrets resort (near Cancun)
Great resort, great service, great food, and great entertainment staff. We love Hector and Rodrigo! It was our first time visiting Mexico and our first time staying at an all-inclusive resort, so we figured there had to be a catch, but we were wrong - everything was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, AK

Felt like royalty for seven days

Posted Jan 14, 2015
This all inclusive vacation package was awesome and worth every cent. The staff was extremely gracious, hotel kept clean and food was absolutely delicious. I can't say enough on how well we were treated, it was pure luxury for my wife and I the entire stay (7 days). The only negative I could come up with is, the beach is small and gets deep fast as you step out into the water. So if you're all about endless smooth-as-glass ocean and pearly white sand, this may not be for you. Otherwise, I'll definitely be coming back to this resort when an opportunity presents itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Just tremendous

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, location, grounds
Cons: Nothing, pretty close to perfect for me.
Location: You can be as busy as you like. Just 15 minutes from Playa.
I've been to Playa del Carmen seven times, stayed in some nice places. Secrets Capri was the best. Yes, the resort could perhaps use a refresh, but it's kept in immaculate condition. Great food for an all-inclusive. Ignore any review that states otherwise. Beach was very nice, although just a ribbon of sand. Overall, a beautiful facility, great staff, wonderful food, great location, just a dream. We would return.