Ratings based on 1,281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
It wasn't as nice as other secret resorts my wife and I have stayed at. Overall it was still a nice resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colo

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This is our 2nd time back at this resort. They impressed as even more than the first time. The shows are great, the staff even better. This is definitely geared for a crowd in their 30's who don't just party which was perfect for us. Would highly recommend trying it out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great customer service

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Staff was very attentive to their guests and their needs. Everyone was very polite and eager to please. My husband and I went for our 11th anniversary and took friends with us to celebrate. Our room was decorated each night with something new, such as rose pedals or chocolate covered strawberries, and champagne after just mentioning it to our conceirge at check in. We never asked for anything to be done during our stay. My husband had a cut on his foot which started to get an infection while we were there. The resort had an onsite doctor that checked it out. Then, the resort went to the pharmacy to retrieve his medications without us asking. They stopped by several times to inspect is bandage and assist in making him comfortable. I should mention that he did not cut his foot while we were on vacation. It had happened prior to us going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ga

Great hotel. Hands down best staff around.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Beach was nasty because of seaweed but this was everywhere from cancun to playa del Carmen. Awesome resort everybody is super friendly. Only wish they had ceiling fans in the rooms. The air does not keep the rooms cool in the day time. I would go back tomorrow if I could.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great getaway, exceeded our expectations!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Bartenders, nightly entertainment, restaurants.
Cons: The hallway concierges were basically clueless and no were help what so ever,what is their purpose??
Location: Go see the turtle excursion and snorkel in a cenote (underground water source you can swim in). Sandra and Luis were great guides!
The staff was so accommodating, we felt so pampered. The restaurants were great, the Italian one,Portofino, was five star and we ate there three times during our stay. Japanese Hibachi was good, our chef was very entertaining.Buffet was ok, breakfast was the best. Loved the grill everyday poolside and the Cactus Club had great food. Smaller resort which was great, not a mob of people there, pool bartenders work VERY hard to keep the drinks flowing. Room service was first class, brought our breakfast the morning we left after calling it in the night before. Akxel at check-in, ALL the bartenders, the spa staff, the waiters at Portofino, all get top marks. We upgraded to the Junior suite oceanfront and it was incredible and well worth the splurge. Beach had seaweed, because its on the SEA, so if that's a turn-off go to Dominican Republic.lol We spent all our time at the pool with the ever attentive pool waiters. We would definitely return to Secrets next vacation!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The staff service
Cons: Renovation around the property, control the mosquitoes and flies better despite wildlife conservation
Location: Tulum is an hour away from the resort. Didn't do other things outside the resort.
PROS: Staff service is pretty good. The staff around the pool/beach would come often. They also have staff coming around to pick up leftover cups/plates. A staff made stereotypical comments based on culture/skin color which was unexpected. Food quality is fair; limited selection @ buffet. CONS: 1. Beach being raided by seaweed. 2. They attempt to be discreet in promoting their timeshare by offering some resort credit. 3. Mosquitoes in the rooms on our first night-literally killed like 10+ within an hr. 4. Flies flying around in one of restaurant @ dinner but staff did nothing about it. 4. Beach is very small despite the seaweed raid. 5. Property definitely need an update all around. 6. Coupon book-has limitation in using. 7. Water sport people-doesn't seem to want to help you at all. A little shout out to Yesenia from Best Day tour-very helpful with answering all of our questions. Also shout outs to: the morning ladies at the Coco Cafe, Valente @ Seaside Grill, Dimitri, Jose & Carlos @ pool/beach, Alberto @ Cactus Club and Abraham-our housekeeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great experience!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
This was our second time to Mexico. Our first was at the Valentine Imperial Maya. Although the size is different, both were incredible experiences and I would recommend both for anyone whose range is from $1800-$2500 for a 5-6 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

First trip to Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Beautiful facility and wonderful staff! The entertainment and daily activities were extraordinary! Room temperature was very uncomfortable. Spa was amazing! Beach was not very inviting with lots of seaweed. Pool temperature was hot as well. Enjoyed the shopping trip to Playa del Carmen. Beach is really important to us, so will try other areas next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock Tx

Great hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The food was amazing and the service that we received was top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

The staff was Amazing- beware of timeshare scam!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
We chose this resort based on the name Secrets and it had excellent food reviews. HOTEL- very pretty, smaller than other Secrets resorts which was nice. The room had a musty smell and the air conditioner wouldn't cool the room any more than 80degrees F. We asked to have it looked at but it never improved. STAFF- Amazing, Accomodating, Friendlyand Helpful. I can't say enough about how kind they all are :) Pedro was hilarious at our 4th of July dinner and Hugo was wonderful at our dinner on the beach :) FOOD- was better than most all-inclusives! Now for the worst part- the "timeshare" presentation. Our concierge David offered for us to visit the Sandals Maroma resort to check it out and find out about the Rewards program with Sandals. In return we would get a dinner on the beach or a spa credit. So we said sure (we knew they would try to sell something but though for an hour and a half we could check out another resort and have breakfast :) ) When we got to Maroma we were paired up with June- an American- and asked why we thought we were there. We told her why and she said "Well, that's kind of it." We were paired up with Israel who was nice and we had a nice breakfast then toured the resort. He kept avoiding our questions about the bottom dollar. We quickly found out the bottom dollar was $40,000! When Israel couldn't close the deal with us- June came back. We told her we wanted to leave. She pushed more and we demanded to leave. I am so disappointed in this company.