Ratings based on 1,166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Good hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Dec 14, 2014
The Secrets Capri is a good hotel with a nice pool. The food was consistently good and we enjoyed the daily activities at the hotel. Some other reviews mentioned an odor in certain areas of the main building and I agree, but I smelled the same smell while kayaking out in the ocean, so I'm not sure what the odor was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom detroit

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: the staff, from reception to maid service, they work very hard to ensure you have a wonderful stay
nice resort, staff is exceptional, 3rd visit and never had a bad meal. beach needs some work. my only complaint is the excessive volume during shows and entertainment. had to shout to have any type of conversation and the music at the bar, we could hear the pounding of the music from our room and forget about sitting on the balcony listening to the sound of the surf...I get it, people want to party, fine, but management should try to keep the noise under control and contained, some of us like the peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older resort (~10 yr), but amazing staff and food

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Went dec 2014. Got a great deal from Expedia, but forgot it didn't include airport transfer. Ok place for couples in late 20s-early 30s. The crowd usually tends toward the older segment. Really amazing food even if you are vegetarian or healthy eater. The staffs are top notch and treated you well without the constant pressure of a tip. Approximately 20 min to dive shops in playa de Carmen by taxi. Prices in town were far superior than onsite dive op even accounting for the cab cost. Great place for cenote, bull shark, couzmel dives, but wouldn't recommend local reef dives. Our ground floor garden view room received little to no sunlight, but otherwise was pretty luxurious. Upgrading to a ocean view room was very expensive, so don't count on that on check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Il

Playa del Carmen on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The staff, food and drink, the hotel and grounds were lovely.
Cons: Small upkeep issues (tiny spots of mold on ceiling/chipping paint - all in common area), club chairs in Desires had torn armrests.
Location: On ocean in Playa del Carmen, near town of Playa (not worth the trip to shop at), 1-2 hrs from many amazing archeological sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Wonderful place to eat drink and play in the sun

Posted Dec 8, 2014
For the money we spent its unreal. From filet steaks to scallops to duck paitai noodles the food and drinks were great! Lots of stuff to do on the resort. Only complaints would be that the pool was cold and hot tub wasn't hot...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

It was comfortable.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: The food would be my biggest complain. It was not bad but definitely nothing to write home about or recommend to friends.
Location: Very easy to get to Downtown Playa del Carmen.
My boyfriend and I spent a week at this adults-only hotel resort. It was comfortable and quiet. Concierge, restaurant staff and bartenders were super nice and courteous. The entertainment staff, I've noticed, only gave special attention to certain guests--unsure whatever the reasons were. The buffet was only ok--most nights, less than a handful of table were filled. Buffet food was just ok. The individual specialty restaurants were excellent, esp the Italian restaurant. The beach was right there, and it was great !!! We could not rent kayaks out b/c weather condition did not permit. Water was choppy most of the days we were there. But we were able to take out a catamaran and that was fun ! It was easy to go outside of the hotel resort and take a van to Downtown Playa Del Carmen, if guests want to. No need to spend $20 USD each way to do so (unless you want to, of course !). All in all, had ok time staying at Secrets. Nothing was bad, but nothing was great either for the price. But then it was my fault probably, I booked super late like two weeks prior to departure. So I can't complain too much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Nice resort about 45 minutes from Cancun airport

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms were sizeable and clean, restaurants offered variety of food options, staff was very attentive.
Location: Took one excursion to Coba that took 1.75 hrs to get there. This was a long day due to the 3.5 hrs travel time. Hotel has a lot of daily activities.
Secrets Capri has a good location; beach is OK but not superb; high winds restricted parasailing and kayak activities during our stay; meals were all very good and the wait staff was also very good; appreciated the adults only hotel; all guests were friendly, respected each other, and seemed to enjoy the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Clean resort, great beach but mediocre food!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The beach was the best thing for us!
Cons: The food! Some restaurants trying too hard! Keep it simple!
Location: Close enough to Playa del Carmen by taxi $20 each way. We are familiar with the area so did our own touring with taxi's.
We stayed from Nov 5 - 14, 2014 & were overall pleased. We would recommend this resort for the size, as well as the beach/water. We were very lucky with our weather when we went, it was sun, sun & more sun. The water was very calm & not too windy. There were a couple of days that the wind picked up & the water was rougher however never rough enough that you were bombarded with seaweed or could not enter the water (I just bought a floaty from the resort store to hang out in on these days). Sand bottom, no rocks! Towels are a plenty and we marked our beach spot early in the morning. The capacity ebbed and flowed - there was never a problem getting space at the beach & there were three of us. The pool appeared to be nice but full with people, lack of shade & birds :) The resort is older but clean (although the same pieces of hair stayed in the top corner of my shower our entire stay?) We seemed to sleep earlier this trip but attribute that to the successful weather and being able to swim and lay at the beach all day! We did not attend or participate in the evening entertainment but once and it was pleasant enough. The food...oh the food! We are foodies but did expect more based on the reviews. Breakfast and lunch seemed better tasting (Cactus Club by the beach); dinner options were limited and we cannot say we truly enjoyed anything. Sad to say the food is the only reason we would struggle to go to Secrets Capri again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Secrets was GREAT!!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Everything - my wife's experience at the SPA was excellent - massage, facial and "foot works"
Cons: Can't think of a thing
Location: We went there just to "chill out" for a few days and that's exactly what we did.
Our stay at the all inclusive Secrets Capri Riviera Playa del Carmen was outstanding. Our room was gorgeous and the maid service was excellent. Nicely stocked mini bar, nice bathroom and wonderful ocean view. We had ALL of our meals at the "in house" restaurants and every meal was very good - no food issues at all. The drinks were "free flowing" - premium pours. The "Entertainment Staff" was fun - they kept you going at all times with different activities, or, if you chose to, you could just "chill" at the pool or on the beach. There was entertainment almost every evening. The grounds, pool area and beach were "SPOTLESS" - someone always there trimming or picking up. Don't see how our stay could have been any better. They did mean "Adults Only" - there were no crying, screaming, running around kids - truly an "adults only" resort. Any questions or services asked of ANY of the employees was immediately taken care of - none of that "it's not my job" stuff - ALL of the employees were friendly and helpful. For us (my wife and I) we can't help but give Secrets a FIVE STAR rating - our stay exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Our stay was great and would love to go back again.