Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Boutique Hotel with Exclusive Feel, yet affordable

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: It has Strong AC! Location! Very close to Avenida 5, where it seems 90% of the tourist hang all day. And Calle 12 where the young nightlife is best
Cons: The internet signal could be boosted. It works for the most part, and when it does, it's strong, but I had difficulty finding a signal occasionally.
Location: Coco Bongo is a MUST DO for first timers. I thought it was just a night club, but its actually a whole show. Look up other reviews about it and GO!
The Palm at Playa is the BEST non-all-inclusive hotel in Playa Del Carmen!! If you're on a budget staying at a smaller hotel or don't want to pay triple the price for an all-inclusive resort, definitely try P@P. The rooftop pool & bar is the best in PDC for two reasons, the staff and the feeling of exclusivity. Unlike the huge resorts, this pool has a very private feel to it, much welcomed when coming from a big city. The other boutiques have nice pools on the ground floor but they are surrounded by the hotel structure which means limited hours of sun, while P@P is on the roof so you get sun all day! On Saturday and Sunday they have a DJ pumping chill, deep-house music from 1PM to 6PM. Plus the drinks are reasonably priced and the snacks are great. If its your first time playa you'll discover most people DON'T hang at the beach because of the seaweed and the smell, so a good hotel pool is key. Alberto runs a great operation! Unlike the large, all-inclusive hotels, P@P gives you the freedom to explore the many delicious restaurants in the city instead of being stuck at the resort. I recommend Plank & Improvist (fancy food $$$), Kaxapa Factory (Venezuelan), Don Sirloin (the best cheap tacos 1/2$), or if feeling adventurous take a taxi to the edge of town and try Alux (it's in a Cave). P@P includes a free breakfast between 6-11, is amazing! You get juice, coffee, a small fruit platter, toast upon request, and one main breakfast dish - try the green chilaquiles!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Staying at The Palm at Playa

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Clean rooms Great staff Lovely pool Gym facilities are a bit outdated The free breakfast is nice overall with lots of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC suburbs

Modern hotel, excellent location, responsive staff

Posted Jul 14, 2015
#208 is a spacious, quiet corner room. #217 is above 8th street, facing a bar that plays loud music until 2AM. Avoid at all costs. We stayed 7/9-7/13 2015. Wifi: C-. You have to hunt for the right spot for max signal. Cleanliness: A. Common areas, hotel room clean Staff: A. responsive, front desk mostly bi-lingual. Room #208: A. king w/ loft. Spacious, sexy showers (two person rain showers), modern simple furniture, 2 AC units function perfectly. Rooftop bar/pool: didn't spend time there. Hip vibe with electronic music DJ. Smallish, Arrive early to get a spot. Ocean view. Restaurant: A. Breakfast is included: 1 fresh juice, 1 coffee/tea, 1 small fruit platter (pineapple, melon, papaya, with a yogurt dip) toast, 1 small side of refried black beans, 1 entree choice (two eggs or omelet, hot cakes, quesadilla, breakfast tacos.) We only ate breakfast in the restaurant. very empty for lunch and dinner. Overall: hip, modern vibe. This was a perfect place for a laid-back, somewhat luxurious birthday trip. I am a mid-30's hospitality professional w/ 0 children. particular about cleanliness and quality. I measure good service by responsiveness and the staff's ability to anticipate need. I don't want staff to fawn over me, but I do expect quick solutions when I experience issues. Location: A+ 4 blocks from ADO bus station, 5 blocks from Cozumel Ferry, 4 blocks from Walmart, 1 block from Balconcito, a food court w/ cheap eats WISH LIST: Microwave, better wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico DF

Excelente ubicación y el personal muy atento

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Excelente decisión de hotel. Muy bien ubicado y servicio. El personal muy atento y te da recomendaciones de lugares y restaurantes. Muy recomendable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, mA

Excellent hotel!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Would definitely stay here again. Great location, clean hotel and very spacious units
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach

Close to perfection... and everything else

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Staff, comfort, location, parking
Cons: Did not care to have to wear bracelets the entire time- yet understand the need for security
Location: Beach! Shopping! 15 minute drive to XPLOR and XCARET! Easy access to highway for pyramids, Tulum and Cancun
Entire staff is friendly and helpful. Loved the decor, bed, pillows and waterfalls. Great breakfast and easy parking! We WILL be staying here again !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel, good location close to nightlife.

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: location, roof top bar/pool
Cons: refrigerator, breakfast
Location: nightlife 8th and 10th
Clean, small rooms, no refrigerator, breakfast was a joke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted May 31, 2015
It exceeded my expectations. 2 minute walk to the beach. Tons of shops and restaurants around. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Definitely going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indpls in

Best place in playa!!!!

Posted May 13, 2015
This was a great trip. My wife and I had a great room. I'm not sure about the people who have stayed here in the past? But our room was quiet and we slept well every night!!! Can't wait to get back. Only thing that I can say is that the wifi in the room was ok, the roof top was a lot better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great hotel close to 5th Avenue

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The bar, the pool area, the jacuzzi, the rooftop view, the modern room look and the price!
Cons: The time that the pool is open til. (It closes at 8pm.. too early)
Location: All of the 5th avenue shops/restaurants/bars/clubs
We had an amazing time at this hotel. We were looking for a place that was a reasonable price, not all inclusive so we could go out into the town and get to know the area. It was great for us because of the environment. There wasnt any kids while we were there, party type of crowd. Hanging out by pool, jacuzzi,bar.. .which is exactly what we were going for. The pictures really do show what its like there. The people were really nice, walkable distance to 5th ave. We will definitely come back to this hotel when we visit playa again.