Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Convenient location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Staff and breakfast buffet.
Cons: Later hours for the pool would be nice (closes at 8).
Location: Endless options to restaurants and shops, a lot of security.
Overall nice location in close proximity to many shops and restaurants. The staff greets you with freshly squeezed fruit juice upon arrival. There are no refrigerators in the rooms. The suites have a fridge but the food spoils easily due to lack of power when you are not in the room (the power is activated by the room key only). For the single king rooms, the shower is in the room and provides minimal privacy (covers from the shoulders down and there is no lock on the door). The location was difficult to find since there is a fence limiting access to the garage. Also note there is a bar and a hostel directly across from the hotel that play very loud music until 3 am making it difficult to sleep. Room was cleaned daily by courteous staff that would wait until we were out of the room. Overall, the staff was very pleasant and welcoming and truly greeted my family and I with a smile every single day we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel!!! Will be staying here again!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Nice hotel close to the beach, restaurants and shops. The rooms are so clean. The beds are very comfortable. We had no problem with noise(music) the rooftop pool is amazing. I would definitely stay here again. The staff is amazing and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff at the front desk was very unhelpful

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The front desk was not helpful or friendly and did not honor requests given. The staff on the bar at the roof top was exceptional. Totally different experience. I left my stay two days early as a result. They were in willing to reimburse my extra nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, great location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Rooftop terrace, staff, rooms are very comfortable
Cons: Breakfast is acceptable but could be improved with a wider selection
Located less than 5 minutes walk from the beach and right in the town centre, the hotel also offers a great rooftop terrace overlooking the city. Staff is friendly and very helpful. If you're not a party animal, try to get a room off the street as the places across the street are pretty noisy til quite late in the night (4.30am).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 days in Playa del Carmen

Posted Jul 24, 2014
This hotel is beautiful, perfect location, one block from the highlight "5th Ave". The music is LOUD but we came to Playa to "Turn-up". Lots of space, free breakfast, lots of food on the buffet. Very nice helpful staff. Will stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midland tx

Great modern hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
It is a great hotel for young adults. They have the best looking rooftop that has a DJ almost every day playing dance music. Rooftop turns into a club at night time. Rooms are clean. If you want a quite room make sure to ask for because some of them are facing 5th street that could be very loud at times. Overall my wife and I had a great time there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: the roof top pool and bar was amazing and the snacks were superb
Cons: if they could organise for the bar across the road to keep the music down I think a lot of people staying on that side of the building would be happy.
Location: location was great it was right in the middle of everything, you only had to walk a few hundred metres to anything
loved our experience at the Palm at Playa, the only issue we had was the bar across from our hotel would play music extremely loud until 5am every night and keep us awake, other then that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. we spoke to several people staying there who had the same complaint about the noise. our room number was 118.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belize

Best location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Clean room, rooftop pool, secure parking and location.
Location: The Palm isn't directly on 5th Avenue which meant there was privacy. However, 5th Avenue is immediately accessible.
The Palm was in the perfect location with easy access to all of 5th Avenue and the beach. Being that we were visiting from Belize and therefore drove to Playa, we loved that The Palm had secured underground parking. We got the Loft on the "quiet" side and the room was perfect. Very comfortable and clean. The entire grounds is well kept and the staff was helpful and friendly. We'd degpfinitely recommend giving The Palm a try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Great stay

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Really nice and modern place, great breakfast , and rooms are cozy. Recomended
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicolas from San Luis Potosi Mexico

Nice hotel in the tourist party area of Playa

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are cozy, clean and convenient for me and my wife. TV cable and air conditioner, good. The pool in the roof is small but nice.
Cons: Well, there is nothing they can make to change the noise and views of the hotel, which are not the worst, but just not what I expected for the price.
Location: Good spot if you like the party/touristy environment, just half block from the 5th avenue. Later we learned there are other interesting spots in Playa
The hotel is OK overall. It is not on the beach, which we knew in advance, and the closest public beach is two blocks away, and is not really a nice beach. It is a noisy hotel, since there is a bar just in front with loud music at nights and also the hotel have music on weekends on the roof pool area, so if you like party is OK, if you want to sleep quietly at night this is not your spot. The hotel services (beverages, food, etc.) are pricey as all the area surprisingly is. The pool at the roof is the most important attractive of the hotel, it is OK, but we were in low occupancy season, and were almost alone on the pool, I think it may be too small if a larger crowd is on the site. The room have an interesting and original lay out, which is fine for couples, but inconvenient if you are a family with kids, because the twin showers are inside a transparent booth. The beds are great, the cleanliness and quality of the sheets is excellent, the pillows are too soft. For some reason the A/C had a leak of condensed water, which seems to be a common problem, not big deal, but you have a towel in the floor and the dripping at all times. No chairs in our room which was standard type. So, we asked for room service food and had it over the bed. We asked for chairs and they gave us a couple from the bar. Personnel is friendly. Breakfast is just OK, but the best in the area. Next time we will look for options in the beach and/or far from the 5th avenue. Cost/ benefit is questioned for me.