Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

lovely hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: the roof top pool and bar was amazing and the snacks were superb
Cons: if they could organise for the bar across the road to keep the music down I think a lot of people staying on that side of the building would be happy.
Location: location was great it was right in the middle of everything, you only had to walk a few hundred metres to anything
loved our experience at the Palm at Playa, the only issue we had was the bar across from our hotel would play music extremely loud until 5am every night and keep us awake, other then that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. we spoke to several people staying there who had the same complaint about the noise. our room number was 118.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belize

Best location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Clean room, rooftop pool, secure parking and location.
Location: The Palm isn't directly on 5th Avenue which meant there was privacy. However, 5th Avenue is immediately accessible.
The Palm was in the perfect location with easy access to all of 5th Avenue and the beach. Being that we were visiting from Belize and therefore drove to Playa, we loved that The Palm had secured underground parking. We got the Loft on the "quiet" side and the room was perfect. Very comfortable and clean. The entire grounds is well kept and the staff was helpful and friendly. We'd degpfinitely recommend giving The Palm a try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston tx

Great stay

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Really nice and modern place, great breakfast , and rooms are cozy. Recomended
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicolas from San Luis Potosi Mexico

Nice hotel in the tourist party area of Playa

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Rooms are cozy, clean and convenient for me and my wife. TV cable and air conditioner, good. The pool in the roof is small but nice.
Cons: Well, there is nothing they can make to change the noise and views of the hotel, which are not the worst, but just not what I expected for the price.
Location: Good spot if you like the party/touristy environment, just half block from the 5th avenue. Later we learned there are other interesting spots in Playa
The hotel is OK overall. It is not on the beach, which we knew in advance, and the closest public beach is two blocks away, and is not really a nice beach. It is a noisy hotel, since there is a bar just in front with loud music at nights and also the hotel have music on weekends on the roof pool area, so if you like party is OK, if you want to sleep quietly at night this is not your spot. The hotel services (beverages, food, etc.) are pricey as all the area surprisingly is. The pool at the roof is the most important attractive of the hotel, it is OK, but we were in low occupancy season, and were almost alone on the pool, I think it may be too small if a larger crowd is on the site. The room have an interesting and original lay out, which is fine for couples, but inconvenient if you are a family with kids, because the twin showers are inside a transparent booth. The beds are great, the cleanliness and quality of the sheets is excellent, the pillows are too soft. For some reason the A/C had a leak of condensed water, which seems to be a common problem, not big deal, but you have a towel in the floor and the dripping at all times. No chairs in our room which was standard type. So, we asked for room service food and had it over the bed. We asked for chairs and they gave us a couple from the bar. Personnel is friendly. Breakfast is just OK, but the best in the area. Next time we will look for options in the beach and/or far from the 5th avenue. Cost/ benefit is questioned for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014
The view from the rooftop pool is simply amazing! Pure Caribbean Sea! Very chill atmosphere, with beds and hammocks around the pool. Excellent experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mmtz from mexico city

Amazing rooftop pool!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Pool area
Location: Great location, close to the beach and nightlife.
Great hotel ideally located close to the beach and the best restaurants and bars. Friendly staff and great amenities. Amazing rooftop pool with great service and cocktails. Great beds and linnens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Miami

Great time!

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful for everything we needed. They recommended delicious restaraunts.
Location: Tulum vs Coba Adrenalina Tours! We saw caves, rode ATV's, climbed pyramids and they also fed us. Great time.
The Palms at Playa is a beautiful hotel. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Every morning the breakfast there was amazing. The rooms are spacious and very nice. Everyday it was cleaned and the we had no issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cindy from New Westminster, BC

Great downtown Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location. Cleanliness. Staff. Breakfast buffet
Cons: Our unit would have been perfect if there had been a small fridge. Therem was lots of room for one. Clear glass door in bathroom was odd.
Location: Perfect location. Easy walk everywhere in Playa.
We had the pleasure of staying here for 17 days! This is a new hotel so everything was in good condition. The maintenance people were always working on something so I'm sure it will be well kept up. The rooms were awesome. The open shower in the middle of the room was very different so you need to be very familiar with your room mate? The glass door on the toilet was a bit strange. The breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day and had lots of choices. Angel on the front desk and Jesus as our bus boy were awesome. All the staff were very helpful with any questions. Make sure you see Moises at the upstairs pool bar. The rooftop pool was beautiful. We rented a car and the free underground parking was great since there are so few places to leave a vehicle in the downtown area. We were 5 minutes to the beach and 2 minutes to 5th Ave. We had a room at the back facing the courtyard as there are some loud clubs across the street. With the doors closed we didn't hear anything. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again with no hesitation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina from Canada

Great overall

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: it's modern, clean, and the staff are great. Also you get a pretty decent breakfast included! and the pool on the roof is awesome!
Cons: The rooms could use a few more amenities... I didn't like that the bathrooms were part of the bedroom.
Location: The location was excellent as it's just off 5th ave, 2 blocks from coco bongo!
This hotel was fantastic overall, the rooms are incredible but are missing a few things. There were a few days where we didn't get face towels or the bath mat... but a quick phone call to the front desk and someone came right up with towels. Also the Key Card system was a bit finicky... once the reader on the door ran out of battery and once the card got deactivated somehow. Again nothing major but a slight annoyance to have to go back down to get this fixed. Also the rooms are so huge and have this large sitting area with a bar, but no mini fridge so if you wanted to bring back some food or anything you had no where to store it. Also there is no mirror in this living/lounge area for you to use while someone else is using the shower since the shower and bedroom are all in one, it is not a separate bathroom area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved this place!!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
I am really picky with where I stay. The Palm at Playa was clean, modern, classy and just PERFECT!!! No problems at all with noise as other reviews mentioned... But we were placed in back.