Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Stacy from Minnesota

Ok, but would not recommend or go back

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The location and food.
Cons: Overall conditions and staff that is friendlier and more accommodating.
Location: It was a 6 block walk to 5th Ave and a nice walk on the beach.
Playa is great, so I say all of this with that in mind. The hotel is old and outdated. Staff was not rude, but not friendly. Very few spoke any English and it was difficult to get anything other than a basic drink. They had limited shot glasses so getting shots was difficult. A diaper sat under the walk bridge for three, or more days. The pool was dirty, often and the place was flocked with birds and bird doo doo ( more so than other resorts) Overall it was not nearly as clean and tidy as other resorts we have stayed at and the rooms weren't cleaned until very late in the day. They charged $6 to eat at the Mexican restaurant and there was really nothing special about it. They charged for safety deposit boxes too. Perhaps most concerning was the entertainment guy (Anderson) who all but stalked my daughter and her friend and tried endlessly to get them to go to the club with him. Apparently they get spiffs if they get people there, but I found it disturbing. When they declined several nights, he became rude and made condescending remarks. On the plus side, the food was good overall and there was always a place to sit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Kansas City

Clean, friendly staff, beautiful beach

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: It is very clean. They clean the rooms and the hotel daily, and they're very thorough.
Cons: Add pads to the bottom of the furniture in the room so I don't have to hear them scraping across the floor when the people above us move it constantly
Location: The location is great, it's about 30 minutes from the Cancun airport. It's in a quiet part of the beach and they have free snorkling gear.
The staff is super friendly and accomodating. The beach was beautiful and the ocean was a patchwork of sea green, teal, and blue. It was gorgeous and I plan to go back again. The only thing I hope they do in the future is to add pads to the legs of the furniture so it isn't really loud when the people above you in the hotel are moving their chairs constantly. They also move the beds when they're changing the sheets, and so that is pretty loud since it's wooden furniture being dragged across a cement tile floor. The people above us were moving their furniture (sounded like chairs) across the room for about 30 minutes to an hour every night. I am not sure if they had kids or what, but it was very aggrivating and it's a cheap fix just to add some cloth pads to the base/legs of the chairs so that they slide easily and without noise across the floor. Other than that, the hotel was very nice, they had shows every night after dinner for entertainment and the weather was beautiful. We went during spring break, but since this is in Playa del Carmen which is 30 minutes south of Cancun, we didn't have hardly any young spring breakers, which was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tara

beautiful hotel! close to the beach. great food

Posted Mar 16, 2014
staff was very friendly and accommodating. absolutely beautiful hotel with great activity leaders by the pool. I loved how we could snorkel and kayak for free! definitely want to go back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LG from New York, NY

Beautiful resort-secluded beach-friendly staff

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Cons: Buffet variety from day to day.
Location: 5th Ave. is a $5 cab ride away or within walking distance if you are up for it. They have shopping and resutrants and bars. Good place to explore
The resort is about an hour or so away from the airport, and the package doesn't include transportation so you have to get a taxi.---around $100 one way but they had a promo for $150 round trip Once we arrived at the resort we were greeted by the staff and a glass of champagne. The resort was clean and the view from the lobby over looking the pool was beautiful. Room as a good size and everything was clean. The maid service was excellent as well. The pool area was wonderful and clean. The beach was nice as well, and after taking a walk down the beach we realized that it was very secluded from other hotels and locals. The food selection was okay, the buffet could have had a little more variety in my opinion, but overall it wasn't too bad. they have an Italian and Mexican restaurant as well. You have to pay $6 more at the Mexican restaurant though.. which was a little weird to me. There is an office there where you can book excursions. We went to Xcaret and spent the day there. It was really beautiful and a good way to do fun activities and learn about Mexican history. Definitely would recommend going there. All in all, I would definitely recommend staying at the Reef Coco Bay Resort. a solid 4.5 stars in my book. The food selection was the only downfall, but it honestly wasn't even bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ReNee from Nebraska

Very Nice Resort....Mainly for relaxation

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The Mexican restaurant and VICTOR!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5th Avenue!!
We stayed 7 nights, and anyone who says the food gets old must be the PICKIEST person in the world. If you don't like buffet, they had a WONDERFUL snack bar, if you wanted a restaurant GO UPSTAIRS. The Italian restaurant is free and you don't need reservations and had great food. The Mexican restaurant cost $6 a person but is well worth it. What can we say VICTOR is amazing he was a huge help!! Also Milton at the Disco bar is great. The rooms were very clean and the grounds were amazing!! The disco bar was fun because (we 8 travelers were the entertainment)! Hardly anyone was up past 10 pm!!!!!!!!!! So party life it is not, but you can party yourself in the disco, which is what we did. The beach is nice but small, but never crowded. If you are looking to get away and not spend a fortune....give the Reef a try. 5 blocks you are at one end of 5th avenue. They also have nightly shows that are fun!!
3 out of 5
by Jim from Ottawa

good rooms, location, pool but poor food

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: rooms, pool, location, beach,
Cons: Drop Wi-Fi charges, restaurant charges, Food, get some pizzaz in the menu, get meat you can chew. Man doesn't live on chicken alone.
Location: close to town. Good walk but easy and fun. Lots of tourist junk along the way.
Good location, rooms fine and clean. Pool area great, lots of seating. Beach was good. Everything was quite good and above average except the food. Just blaa! Ruins va-ca when you can't look forward to a good meal. WIFI charge ridiculous. Mexican restaurant definitely not worth paying for. Meat was so tough I couldn't eat it. Wine is the worst, must have bought a batch cheap because no one else would buy it. Surely there is enough profit to fix these things and come up to a solid and true 4 star. You're so close, make the effort and people will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Most excellent service I have gotten on vacation, food is good and rooms are very clean and cozy with a nice balcony view of the pool/ocean. Small resort making it more personal experience and a short walk to go shopping in the town! Would go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stephanie from Boise, idaho

Small, quiet, relaxed resort

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: Location & size
Cons: The place is pretty but would like more places to take pictures on the hotel grounds. Missed seeing iguanas lounging in the sun.
Location: 5th ave shopping is 3 blocks away
We've stayed at 4 different resorts In the area. This was the smallest of them all. It was nice, comfortable and best of all not crowded. We were told the hotel was full when we checked in but never had a problem finding a chair at the beach or the pool. We met a lot do great people from all over the world at the swim up bar. Since the place is so small we kept running into the same people all week. We made some great friends that we will keep in touch with. The staff at the Reef is very hard working and always smiling.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from smithland

Great beach .

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location was pretty good and great beach access.
Cons: The extra charges for internet and top shelf liquor. Mexican Restuarant being an extra fee . It's Mexico shouldn't charge for that meal.
Location: 5th Ave for shopping nearby. Nice beach area to the north about 1 mile.
The staff is exceptional and very helpful. The food is a little boring but most all-inclusive do get that way. Walking the beach is wonderful and is kept very clean in both directions.Tipping goes a long way as it does everywhere. Ocean view rooms are just okay and really can not hear the ocean anywhere on the grounds. There are plenty of lounge chairs available but they have them so close together it's almost impossible to get into them. No where to put your feet down beside them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yet ok

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Bad food hotel ok would stay again for a fee days in off season