Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UTah

Great Atmosphere Some drawbacks

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Great Beach, Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Cons: Thicker doors so you don't hear your neighbors, better wifi and more staff.
Location: Play del carmen is a short walk away, we also visited Tulum.
The resort is in a great location, you can take a walk 15 minutes into Playa del Carmen. The beach out front of the hotel was beautiful, with great waves to play in. The surf was varied some days the waves were large enough to body surf in and other days we only had small surf. The ambiance of the resort itself is different than most hotels. The center area of the resort has large trees and a cenote. The sound of the cenote fountain and the wind in the trees is very relaxing. There are several great areas to sit during the day and at night and enjoy the atmosphere. You can also watch the small wildlife run around. The room was clean and updated, I believe they had just finished remodeling the bathroom and did a nice job with the tile and fixtures. The staff was very friendly, we loved the ice cream parlor and the great service we received there. The snack bar staff and restaurant staff was always friendly. The Bartender in the lobby had was great at making a drink as well as giving you info on the best things to see and some of the local traditions. The doors on the room are very thin and we could hear our neighbors hanging out in front of our room at 6:30 in the morning as well as 1 or 2 in the morning, it made it hard to sleep and was very frustrating. The food was good but not great. There was only 2 real restaurant options unless you wanted to upgrade your wrist band for the day. There was some nickel and dimeing a nespresso from the lobby in the morning was 50 pe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
If your expecting a 5 star hotel - then this is not for you If your flexible, looking to create your own good time, easy going, looking for a property where you can kick back and just "chill". Then take a look at this property We had a great time, made friends with the staff and the other guests Had a ball and would consider going back Only 200 rooms so max amount of people would be 800. I think we only saw 300+ max for mid feb You see the same people at breakfast, beach/pool, dinner We did not go with premium drink service -- really no need to either Stay away from Juan and his HARD sell for the time share Say "Pablo" says high to the event staff and find the hardest and coolest bartender Felix!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom White Lake, MI

Beautiful Location, uncomfortable bed

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect. Staff were friendly. Beach was great.
Cons: Food could be improved a bit. Most importantly though, they need more comfortable beds!
Location: Located in the Playacar area, very secure and safe. Go into town to 5th avenue for restaurants, bars and other tourist activities.
This hotel is at a very beautiful location, located in the the Playacar area of Playa Del Carmen. In my opinion, the Playacar community is the only place to stay. Hotel was nice. Staff were very friendly. Cleaning staff did a good job. Food was pretty good, not great, but compared with other all-inclusives, I thought it was better than average. The only complaint I had was that I booked a room with a king bed, and got a room with 2 doubles. I asked to be moved, but they said there were no rooms available, so we were stuck there. Additionally the beds were very uncomfortable. But that was my only complaint. Really a beautiful place, and I would return to the same hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice, but probably not again

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location, pool, beach.
Cons: The rooms were not insulated for sound very well which didn't allow for sound sleep. The finish to the room interior was sub-standard as well.
Location: Lots to do on-site. The walk to town was a bit long after a few trips, but it provided lots of shopping, eating and drinking opportunities
Overall the property was nice. The food and drink options were fine as well. Our main gripe about the place was the comfort of the beds and the noise. There wasn't any loud parties, but the walls were so thin that you could hear every footstep and conversation nearby. It was nice to get back home to our own beds for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms were convenient to all activities. The separate dining rooms were very good.. Drinks were not watered down.
Cons: The front desk could be more efficient. Concierge was helpful but wasted my time suggesting various vacation plans of which I had indicated no concern
Nice hotel with helpful and friendly stall. Facilities were very good.Senior
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Walk to beach, bar, nice scenery!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: beach front, pool bar
Location: closer to 5th avenue would have been nicer
Bed wasn't comfortable, but spent no time in room, friendly staff, very accomadating and activities are right on the beach, great views of carribean and Cozumel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Relaxing in the Caribbean.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The staff at the hotel and restaurants were great. Always willing to help and make your stay comfortable, beach beds were very comfy. Beach was great.
Cons: The rooms were in need of an update. Tub had a 6 in. hump in it. You could hear everything outside and in the adjacent rooms. Bathroom window shade.
Location: Within walking distance of 5th Ave. Beach was wonderful. Golf course right across the street.
Staff were great. Food was more than adequate. Not a lot to do on site, but a great location for beach and relaxation. Rooms were far below expectations. I don't know if you can request an updated room or if they were only for club members. Will be looking for something new next year. The free non-motorized equipment staff were very rude about any kind of help unless you were willing to pay for a lesson. There was a portable bed and mattress , staked up by are buildings entrance two days before we left, it still may be there ? Room mini bar had two beers that we had to ask every day to be replaced or we got none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York State

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The experience was very pleasing. The bed was not very comfortable, and the food was good, but buffet food stayed almost the same the entire time, so it would have been nice to have a greater variety. The restort's mexican and italian restaurants provided very good food which was nice for a change. The rooms we reserved were not available, so we got two queen beds instead of a king. The pool could have been cleaner. Staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My husband and I spent 5 nights there for our 30 year Anniversary. It was lovely. The room needed a little updating and we had difficulty getting hot water the first two days but we enjoyed ourselves. The large terrace was a big bonus and my husband enjoyed the outdoor tub. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First Trip to Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 8, 2015
All inclusive resort. Used to staying at Marriott Resorts so that is my comparison. Room was accommodating, but beds were hard, not comfortable. Thus, not as relaxing as would have liked. Lost opportunity here. Buffet was good. Lots of variety, but nothing special. Overall, an enjoyable experience, but not a place I would rush back to even though the resort is located on a beautiful beach and is just a 15 minute walk to Playa del Carmen. Main issue was the lack of more personal attention to the subtle things that contribute to the guilty of the stay. Grounds were a little tired, service touch was not really present. With the right management attention to greater detail and guilty of food and better mattresses could be a great experience. Message to ownership and management: invite me back once you have made some of these improvements. Great location.