Ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Reef Playacar Best Day Travel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Playa del Carmon's 5th avenue....also a little shopping district 10 minutes south of Reef on main road
Our 2nd stay at the Reef Playacar (1st when it was the Reef Club) was wonderful thanks to their great Staff....upgrading options allowed us to enjoy unlimited beverage, restaurant choices...room with ocean veiw including safe,coffee,stocked refrigerator....buffet at the Chulavista was great...food at restaurants Terraza Boticelli was fantastic. ..We used Best Day Travel for transfers got us from to the airport without a hitch courteous drivers Jose their rep at the hotel made sure things went smooth...We had a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Cons: more variety in buffets.
My wife and I stayed for one week and had a wonderful time. The food was good but could use more variety. staff was friendly and helpful. We liked that it wasn't a big complex, easy to get around. It's nice that it's so close to 5th ave. especially if you like more of a night life. we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, Michigan

Nice hotel but feel ripped off

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I paid all inclusive and didn't get a wet bar refill, I got a coffee maker and was never brought coffee. The reef hotel blamed Expedia. I paid the high price for nothing. My flight home was diverted took six hours instead of four. I think I need some sort of refund or at least half because I only got half the amenities.. they have me a coffee pot with no coffee all five days, no iron, rooms musty smelling. I was there. They just gave me the run around and blamed Expedia. I ask the concierge he blamed Expedia. Who do I send my complaint asking for some sort of credit or partial refund. They swear its your fault. Because I booked through you and nut them. Business relations between the two companies need work. Alot of it.Totally unacceptable. Will not use Expedia again nor plan a trip through them. Not very customer oriented we were there to just relax not party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from commack, NY

Family Fun!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
We had a great experience with lots of food and drinks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Give the hotel staff a raise!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The Reef is a medium size hotel that is not too big like the rest of the hotels nearby. My boyfriend, son, and I vacationed at the Reef from July 25-July 29, 2014. The positive aspects of our hotel stay at the Reef: 1. Great staff (Mario, Willy, Daniel, Karina and Yessina), everyone was nice and kind. The service was great and they deserve a raise! Tipping is very appreciated by the hotel staff so be generous, 2. Good food, we paid for the superior upgrade but only ate at the Mexican Buffet once. We mainly ate at the main buffet dining room most of the times. The Italian restaurant was okay but the service was slow, and 3. Our room was average and enough for 3. Overall with a flat screen TV that we hardly used. Our room was in building 12 with a view of the hotel next door. Not what we wanted The negative aspects of our experience at the Reef: 1. Our room, we arrived at 9:00AM at the hotel due to an overnight flight. We were told my the hotel staff that as soon as a room becomes available around 12:30PM to 1:00PM that we will be notified. In the meantime, we were at the pool area waiting for hours for a room. We checked in twice with the hotel staff and did not get a room until 3:45PM, 2. Timeshare/vacation pitch, I have sat through one awful one in Mexico years ago (suckered into it). The one at the Reef was not that bad of a deal and sounds reasonable to be fair but I did not want to attend a sales pitch on my vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great Family vacation

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful beaches, decent food
Cons: Update all the rooms, give free safes in the room rather than renting.
Location: 5th Ave is a 20 minute walk or a short cab ride away.
I take my kids to Mexico every year and we decided to try this resort rather than Cancun. My kids are age 14 and 16. We had an excellent time. Some of the rooms have been totally updated and are amazing but some are older and a bit dated. However, we stayed in one of the older rooms and we found it perfectly fine. The overall resort is amazing. Easy, walk up beaches with calm ocean water. Much unlike the hard waves you find in Cancun. No rocks, just soft sandy beaches. The staff was amazing. Always helpful, smiling and seemed to go out of their way to smile and make us feel welcomed. Lots of planned activities - sand volleyball, water aerobics, pool games and more. Nightly shows were provided, however we did not attend. The food was good. My kids, who are picky eaters, always were able to find something to eat. The Italian restaurant had great good but the men in our group were asked to return to their rooms and put on closed toe shoes. We usually just ate the buffet which always offered a wide array of food - beef, chicken, pork and pasta at every meal. It is not gourmet but hey, it was still really good. The swim up bar in the pool always had cold beer and beachy type drinks. There is another bar but in order to access you have to have a special bracelet which you pay extra for. This allows you access to the top shelf alcohol and access to the Mexican restaurant, Overall, an excellent trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA- Colorado

annual beach visit

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Always amazed at the number of guests from ALL over the world...Germany, France, Russia, Sweden, Hungary, USA-many states, Netherlands..to name a few
Cons: nothing
Location: we stay at the hotel for the amazing beach. we have done all the tours in previous years but the best place is right here...at the beach
We have come to the Reef at Playacar for several years. We love everything about it. The food. The people...staff and guests. The dreamiest beach ever. Every room is a good room.....there are no bad rooms. It's amazing. The only year we didn't have the best time was the one year we didn't stay at the reef....won't happen again. The Reef is the place for the most relaxing vacation...ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West New York, N.J.

A very typical rain forest stylish Hotel.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The feeling of been inside of a rain forest, smelling and sensing nature. The nice open buffet right in front of a beautiful beach. Wonderful beach.
Location: The 5 minutes walking distance to the 5th Ave. is a lye. There is nothing to do near by unless you go on a tour or take a taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Celebrate Diversity!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The grounds and Coffee Time at the cenote.
Cons: The gym was antiquated. Why bother having one if most of the equipment is old and hard to use? Might be better to have an air conditioned yoga studio
Location: Walk to Playa del Carmen
Enjoyed the cultural diversity at this resort. Mostly Spanish spoken, with many guests from Latin America: It gave an authentic flavor to the place. Reef is economical and well-kept. The food was good and plentiful. (Italian restaurant not good). Staff probably a little overworked, but friendly. Some staff, like Willy and Carlos, sincerely nice people with excellent language skills. It was our first all-inclusive, so not sure what others might expect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Vacation Trip.!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Hotel room not in perfect conditions, smelly odor, other than that staff are great, restaurants not the perfect ones either food is ok but you normally eat same food all the time P.s Don't go my the pictures you see in website.!.!! Totally different.!!!