Ratings based on 891 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

From the room to the pool or beach or restaurant

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Close to everything from shopping to eating place on the 5th ave
Cons: Shuttle service would be good from airport
Location: All I can say in 5th Ave which was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. No need to take a taxi.
We wanted to have a good time with no worries and that is what we got. The pool, the beach, the restaurant were just a short walk via a jungle like setting. The staff was amazing and the mayan coffee from 4 to 6 was the bomb. We can't wait for next year because we are going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Piscataway, NJ

Second time around

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: I love the little rainforest feel when walking through the mid-section area. The sound of the waterfalls and the view from breakfast never gets old!!
Cons: Another restaurant that you would not have to pay additional for or don't charge extra for the grill.
Location: 5th Avenue, which is the main section of town is a 15 min walk up the beach where you can shop, eat or take in a show. Also has a ferry to Cozumel!!
This is our 2nd time at The Reef. This time we stayed 8 nights. We love the staff and how quaint the resort is. It's very tropical feeling and small which is everything we wanted. We stayed in the same room as our last trip and can't wait to go back again next year. We have made so many friends that we all look to travel back at the same time. If you are looking for a resort that isn't big with a tropical look & feel with staff that will bend over backwards for you then this is your place. My only recommendation would be to add another restaurant that you don't have to pay a little extra for. Other than that this place is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city mo

Nice property, clean and well kept,

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: free wireless internet
Location: walking distance to fifth. and mom and pop places to eat, we love sampling the local fare, usually way off fifth ave. el fogon, don sirloin,
we have been to the reef playacar eight times now. we are very satisfied with the property, staff, food, beach and location. we love the small villa style buildings, everyone has their own outside entrance to the room. every room has a patio with chairs and a table. the dive shop, reef marina is also excellent. we will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck, North Dakota

Smaller resort older but clean

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: smaller
Cons: softer beds
Location: close to 5th Ave. but honestly could care less if I go in town again. Paid $100 for dinner in town, and honestly the meal at resort better.
Great stay again, this is our second visit to the Reef. Sure the rooms needs updating but then your going to pay for it. Don't listen to the bad reviews,sure it's not a 5 star. The food is great. Pay the extra for the upgrade gold band. If your younger and looking for nite life this is not the place, pretty quiet by 10am. If you want rest and relaxation and lots of great food , drinks and many new friends this is a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful Resort!! The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Awesome time at The Reef!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: food, pools, room
Cons: Staff does not clean up plates,cups, garbage left around by ignorant people. CLEAN UP THE GROSS SEAWEED OFF THE BEACH____YUK!
Location: Not far from 5th avenue. Do yourself a favor and hide your hotel bracelet. The "salesmen" will not leave you alone.
We were pleased with the hotel for the price. Food - delicious! Room - gorgeous! Grounds - Nice! Staff - Friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Reef Playacar Sept. 13 -20th 2014

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Peace and quiet, smaller resort
Cons: Food choices could be better, also entertainment
Location: Town is close by, lots of shops & restaurants
We stayed at this resort for 7 days. This was our 6th time to this hotel. We were given diamond status which means you are entitled to some extra things which are not included with the standard bracelets. I have been to Mexico many other times and stayed at a variety of other resorts. I enjoy this resort and I have to say it was a great vacation, I did notice that they have cut back somewhat on the nightly entertainment and also some of the food selections. They seem to run out of certain food options from time to time.There are 3 restaurants here,the buffet and 2 sit down restaurants upstairs above the buffet. Sometimes they will close 1 of the 2 sit down restaurants without notice so you don't always have a wide variety of food options. What they do have is a fantastic group of people that will go out of their way to make sure that you are happy with everything. This is a 3.5 star hotel which means it is not as fancy as a 5 star, but I'll tell you what, it is a nice smaller place with a charming atmosphere and I have always have had a great time despite some of the very negative reviews I have read from other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Nice hotel, very close to beach

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Web
Cons: Less birds in the buffet restaurant, cleaner upper pool.
Pros:Staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean. Our room was excellent with a nice view. Cons: pool with the bar attached wasn't kept clean as well as it should have been. all & all good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Over all our stay at the reef was an enjoyable one. The grounds on the resort are well maintained and very lovely. The rooms are older but clean and simple. the staff was friendly, but weren't very informed about what was going on around the resort. The food was good at all three restaurants.the pools are nice and stay open later than other resorts we have visted.I would recommend this resort if your looking for a reasonable priced vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Posted Sep 5, 2014
It is a small hotel and very tiny pools, no variation in the foods.