Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Beautiful Resort!! The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Awesome time at The Reef!

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: food, pools, room
Cons: Staff does not clean up plates,cups, garbage left around by ignorant people. CLEAN UP THE GROSS SEAWEED OFF THE BEACH____YUK!
Location: Not far from 5th avenue. Do yourself a favor and hide your hotel bracelet. The "salesmen" will not leave you alone.
We were pleased with the hotel for the price. Food - delicious! Room - gorgeous! Grounds - Nice! Staff - Friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Reef Playacar Sept. 13 -20th 2014

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Peace and quiet, smaller resort
Cons: Food choices could be better, also entertainment
Location: Town is close by, lots of shops & restaurants
We stayed at this resort for 7 days. This was our 6th time to this hotel. We were given diamond status which means you are entitled to some extra things which are not included with the standard bracelets. I have been to Mexico many other times and stayed at a variety of other resorts. I enjoy this resort and I have to say it was a great vacation, I did notice that they have cut back somewhat on the nightly entertainment and also some of the food selections. They seem to run out of certain food options from time to time.There are 3 restaurants here,the buffet and 2 sit down restaurants upstairs above the buffet. Sometimes they will close 1 of the 2 sit down restaurants without notice so you don't always have a wide variety of food options. What they do have is a fantastic group of people that will go out of their way to make sure that you are happy with everything. This is a 3.5 star hotel which means it is not as fancy as a 5 star, but I'll tell you what, it is a nice smaller place with a charming atmosphere and I have always have had a great time despite some of the very negative reviews I have read from other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Nice hotel, very close to beach

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Web
Cons: Less birds in the buffet restaurant, cleaner upper pool.
Pros:Staff were very friendly. Hotel was clean. Our room was excellent with a nice view. Cons: pool with the bar attached wasn't kept clean as well as it should have been. all & all good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Over all our stay at the reef was an enjoyable one. The grounds on the resort are well maintained and very lovely. The rooms are older but clean and simple. the staff was friendly, but weren't very informed about what was going on around the resort. The food was good at all three restaurants.the pools are nice and stay open later than other resorts we have visted.I would recommend this resort if your looking for a reasonable priced vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jersey City, NJ

Posted Sep 5, 2014
It is a small hotel and very tiny pools, no variation in the foods.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I had a vas expericen with a person who got stick
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice View, but not worth the stay

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The beautiful view
Cons: The sales people at the resort were also pushy & arrogant. The food was also blend & very repetitive. There is NO AC in the restaurants!!!!
When we first arrived at the room we proceeded to unpack & the room was extremely hot. I turned down the AC, but to my surprise the fan was broken. I immediately went to the front desk & advised about the problem. They told me I had not flipped 1 of switches correctly. I told them that was not the case & a maintenance man was sent to our room. The fan finally started to work, but it did not have enough power to generate a nice breeze. We left for several hours & upon our arrival I noticed the room was not cold. I turned down the AC to the lowest setting & after taking a cold shower we started to get ready for bed. Upon lifting the covers from the bed, we discovered several pieces of hair from various parts of the human body on the sheets. By that time it was already too late to call housekeeping, considering that this hotel does not even have room service. The next day I went to the front desk & I was assured the problem would be fixed. Several hours later we returned to our room & housekeeping had been there, however there were still 2 pieces of someone’s hair on the sheets. The new pillow cases also had orange stains. I went back to the front desk a 2nd time with pictures & I explained my problem to another person. I was assured the problem would be taken care of. After enjoying our time at the beach we went back to the room & the dirty sheets were still there. I went to the front desk for a 3rd time, talked to a manager & the sheets were finally changed to our satisfaction
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from frisco tx

Nice hotel but a few dislikes

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Hotel was nice and staff was wonderful! Food was excellent and beach was beautiful. Close to 5th street so lots to do! Dislikes: no beer in mini ridge in room (not that big of a deal) no waiters on the beach so prepare to walk to bar each time, no shuttle to and from airport so you have to pay a taxi which is not cheap. The final complaint which was the worst to me and most annoying (all the other stuff I could deal with) is the constant up selling! Daily phone calls trying to get you to come to a breakfast to look at their vacation rooms, they hound you as soon as you get there after you having been traveling all day and just want to go unwind. We just didn't expect that at our hotel but other than those few things everything was great and my 5 year old had a blast! It is a good hotel for the price but beware of all the extras but I guess that's why they are cheaper. Overall a great visit:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Reef Playacar Best Day Travel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Location: Playa del Carmon's 5th avenue....also a little shopping district 10 minutes south of Reef on main road
Our 2nd stay at the Reef Playacar (1st when it was the Reef Club) was wonderful thanks to their great Staff....upgrading options allowed us to enjoy unlimited beverage, restaurant choices...room with ocean veiw including safe,coffee,stocked refrigerator....buffet at the Chulavista was great...food at restaurants Terraza Boticelli was fantastic. ..We used Best Day Travel for transfers got us from to the airport without a hitch courteous drivers Jose their rep at the hotel made sure things went smooth...We had a great time!