Ratings based on 905 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom lasalle

Quiet, low key resort

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: the location and beach
Cons: the food
Location: location was great! Fifth Ave perfect walking distance
First off this resort is definitely a 3 star, so don't expect anything more. The resort is very small, there is no night life. If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway with no young party goers this is the place for you. The beach is by far the best around! Quiet and clean. It's about a 15-20 min walk to downtown 5th ave. we walked both the street and the beach. Food I would have to say was mediocre. The buffet restaurant was hit and miss. The two fancy restaurants were very good, but they need at least one more, because switching from one to the other got old fast. We upgraded and got the premiere room and bracelet, I would def say it was worth it. Nicco's bar was always fun and drinks were great! The employees were very pleasant especially, Willy at the front that helps out with the bags. Lucio at the pool bar was terrific! Orlando and Victor at Nicco's made awesome drinks and were very friendly. We might try another resort next time but we also would come back to The Reef, because of the wonderful beach, location and the great employees we got to know!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: bathroom
Location: we were happy to be able to walk into town
it was good they moved our room after one day the bath room was not nice ....the new room was fine we were happy with the hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

For older couple not enough activities

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Not enough variety of wines and food limited. Not for children
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Second time there . Going back for more . If you like smaller more personal [ they remember your name] this is the place for you . Mexican feel not like the palace next door . good food ,friendly staff that go out of their way to make your vacation one to remember .Once you go you will be hooked and will be back with friends .Great area close to town , gaited community ,high end residential area . Hope to buy in the area in the next two years .PLAYACAR is the nicest area with the best beaches in all of Mexico .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great place for families. Loved the food too!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
My wife and I stayed 2 nights here with our 3 and 1 year old. Our kids loved the kiddie pool and the family friendly activities. The food was excellent. The buffet offered a great selection and we loved the Italian restaurant dinner. Wish we could stay longer. The only negative is that the rooms could use a little upgrade but overall we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom piedmont traid, north carolina

Friendly staff all around.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Jesus, Abraham, Willy, Oliver. great guys.Everything.. poolbar, coffee in the jungle, ice cream parler, very relaxing
Cons: some buildings need upgrades, some were going on while we were there. lobby shop smelled very musty moldly
Location: playacar shop and 5th ave shop were in walking distance, beaches were keep clean. cancun is just to far to ride to enjoy excursion.
We enjoyed all this resort had to offer. this is a small resort and we like that and you couldnt ask for more relaxing suroundings. there is a jungle in the middle of this resort. and they have coffee everyday at 4 in the middle of it. the pictures online dont compair to it in person views. the pool bar area was quite and well maintained. see abraham the bartender, he is a great guy, speaks english well, knows alot about drinks (scoobydoo's) he will not let you go thirsty.lol...just skip the time share meeting if you didnt come to buy one, its a waste of your time and thiers, most concierge work on commision. but if you have 2 hrs to kill, you can get money toward most excursion there. we did the dolphin swim, fantastic dosent come close to the experence we had... everyone from the front desk to the bellhops,(willy, oliver) cooks and waiters, bartender, were very polite and willing to help you with anything you need. just ask. thank you all, for the great time we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spring Hill, Tn

Great location, great beach.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The resort rooms are getting a little tired, but they were making updates.We didn't get wash clothes unless we asked. This seems to be the norm.
Location: Easy walk to shops in Playacar. Nice walk beach or street to Playa del Carmen. All kinds of watersports at the beach.
This was our fifth stay at this resort. We love the size, the beach and the great staff. We have been going to the Cancun area since 1986 and have stayed at many different resorts, large and small. The staff at the Reef does a great job, making you feel very special. The food is good, this is the only resort that I haven't had stomach problems. Believe me that is a big plus. Easy walk to Playa del Carmen. The beach is fabulous. The beach bar staff is great, no problems getting anything you want to drink. Very interactive. Of course Willie the bell hop is a legend, such a nice guy. Doesn't miss a beat. The buffet staff are great also. Just a great time. We stayed ten days this time and of course it went way to fast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel & Beach, Watered down drinks.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, beach, food, hotel.
Cons: The drinks. Do not water them down.
Location: 5th Avenue, paddleboarding, Flyboy, Kayaking, parasailing, snorkeling....
Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Beautiful beach. Descent food. My only complaint is that I believe they water down their drinks A LOT!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, NH

This was an amazing resort for our honeymoon!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
This was an amazing resort. The inner portion of it is like a jungle with waterfalls along the paths. When you keep walking you get to the beach. This beach is awesome! We couldn't get over the white sand and turquoise sea. The sand was so smooth and it wasn't rocky or shelly. The food was amazing! It was the best place for a relaxing honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Nice , small , friendly

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Great resort for families, good variety of food, beach is fantastic, staff is so friendly