Ratings based on 1,089 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sherborn, MA.

Nice beach!!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The beach was beautiful!!!!
Cons: Yes!!!. The team in charge of entertainment needs lots of help. They need to have more enthusiasm!!!
Location: Location was great. Less than 15 min. walk to 5th. Avenue. Lots of shopping :)
Stay at The Reef Playacar for 9 days. Overall, was a nice experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check in an check out not good.

Posted May 24, 2015
After we unpacked in our first room we wondered why the bathroom door was locked. Come to find our the bathroom was out of service. We moved to the next room and after unpacking a second time the AC didn't work. We then moved to the third room which was close to the pool with working AC. After complaining the next day they upgraded us to the premium package. After that we had no problems until check out time. The customer service people didn't want to help us print our boarding passes. I wasted 2"of my last beach hours trying to get it taken care of. We got our boarding passes at the airport. We did enjoy our stay and the staff was very friendly. Willie and Daniel were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
This hotel is lovely and we had a wonderful vacation. We chose this resort due to it's smaller size compared to others. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The food and drinks were plentiful and hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, MD

Service in this hotel was a disaster.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: location only
Cons: service and facilities
Location: very central to Playa del Carmen's downtown area but pricey because of location
While the location is fantastic and the facility acceptable what was the worst was the service. From bar service to snack bar to towels to front desk issues continued each day to be a challenge. On day 5 we experienced no hot water and no towels in our room. Attempted to resolve with the front desk/guest services with no resolution between 2 pm and 9 pm. Asked to speak to the manager and was told no manager on site until 9 am next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
The hotel is in a good location, close to downtown and nice beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Great resort, right on the beach.

Posted May 16, 2015
Beautiful resort that is steps away from the beach. All the staff were friendly and the grounds were always kept up. Beautiful beach and food and drinks were excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom louisville, ky

Love that it's not a huge place. Great relaxing

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The size is perfect. And we will return.
Cons: Include everything
Location: Perfect
We had so much fun. Can't get much better. Perfect to relax or party everyday. We defiantly will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city

No service

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: love the propertie has a abundance of trees and waterfalls
Cons: they need servers going around getting people food and drinks
Location: It is a 15 min walk to 5th street shopping or the ferry to go to Cozumel
The people at the reef ply car are great, the propertie is excellent condition they have plenty activities for all ages but there are know servers that walk around if you want a drink or something to eat you have to walk to get one depending where you are that could be a long walk for a little beer. If you do go upgrade to the premium and that bar is really closer than the rest when you are at the bottom pool or beach. It is a 15 minute walk to the 5 th street shopping district which we did three times. The food is not great but not bad either we were never hungry if they ever had servers I would go back but till then we will be going back to the Royal Hacinda
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Relaxing resort - walking distance to downtown

Posted May 12, 2015
I was disappointed to see the beach and ocean were covered in sea weed - probably 10 feet of the beach and at least 10 feet in the water was FILLED. The pictures on the website were deceiving and looked photo shopped as the beach looked perfect in anything I had seen. We heard it was due to a hurricane from a year or two ago. The food was fine - I know not to expect anything outstanding food wise from all inclusive resorts and don't have high expectations. The buffet was only open certain hours of the day which was difficult sometimes. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the jungle feel of the resort is very cool. The rooms were nice but very unlikely to get anything with an ocean view. Our reservation was supposed to be for a king bed but the first night we had to stay in a room with 2 doubles. They did move us on the second day though. Our mini fridge was never restocked after the first day - you need to pay for Wifi and the lock for the safe separately. It's a great location in that you can walk 10 minutes to downtown. Overall a decently nice place but unlikely to go back to this exact resort. Definitely more of a family type resort - not a lot of partying/people in their young 20s or loud music during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Recommended resort

Posted May 9, 2015
Every experience was at a positive note.. Very memorable family vacation. My 11 yr old son says he would difinetely go back. Thanks to Tommy and Fer in animation and every staff there. My only complaint would be the beds.. Very hard. The food was good for it to be buffet...