Ratings based on 901 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

For older couple not enough activities

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Not enough variety of wines and food limited. Not for children
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Great place for families. Loved the food too!

Posted Nov 7, 2014
My wife and I stayed 2 nights here with our 3 and 1 year old. Our kids loved the kiddie pool and the family friendly activities. The food was excellent. The buffet offered a great selection and we loved the Italian restaurant dinner. Wish we could stay longer. The only negative is that the rooms could use a little upgrade but overall we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom piedmont traid, north carolina

Friendly staff all around.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Jesus, Abraham, Willy, Oliver. great guys.Everything.. poolbar, coffee in the jungle, ice cream parler, very relaxing
Cons: some buildings need upgrades, some were going on while we were there. lobby shop smelled very musty moldly
Location: playacar shop and 5th ave shop were in walking distance, beaches were keep clean. cancun is just to far to ride to enjoy excursion.
We enjoyed all this resort had to offer. this is a small resort and we like that and you couldnt ask for more relaxing suroundings. there is a jungle in the middle of this resort. and they have coffee everyday at 4 in the middle of it. the pictures online dont compair to it in person views. the pool bar area was quite and well maintained. see abraham the bartender, he is a great guy, speaks english well, knows alot about drinks (scoobydoo's) he will not let you go thirsty.lol...just skip the time share meeting if you didnt come to buy one, its a waste of your time and thiers, most concierge work on commision. but if you have 2 hrs to kill, you can get money toward most excursion there. we did the dolphin swim, fantastic dosent come close to the experence we had... everyone from the front desk to the bellhops,(willy, oliver) cooks and waiters, bartender, were very polite and willing to help you with anything you need. just ask. thank you all, for the great time we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spring Hill, Tn

Great location, great beach.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The resort rooms are getting a little tired, but they were making updates.We didn't get wash clothes unless we asked. This seems to be the norm.
Location: Easy walk to shops in Playacar. Nice walk beach or street to Playa del Carmen. All kinds of watersports at the beach.
This was our fifth stay at this resort. We love the size, the beach and the great staff. We have been going to the Cancun area since 1986 and have stayed at many different resorts, large and small. The staff at the Reef does a great job, making you feel very special. The food is good, this is the only resort that I haven't had stomach problems. Believe me that is a big plus. Easy walk to Playa del Carmen. The beach is fabulous. The beach bar staff is great, no problems getting anything you want to drink. Very interactive. Of course Willie the bell hop is a legend, such a nice guy. Doesn't miss a beat. The buffet staff are great also. Just a great time. We stayed ten days this time and of course it went way to fast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel & Beach, Watered down drinks.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Location, beach, food, hotel.
Cons: The drinks. Do not water them down.
Location: 5th Avenue, paddleboarding, Flyboy, Kayaking, parasailing, snorkeling....
Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff. Beautiful beach. Descent food. My only complaint is that I believe they water down their drinks A LOT!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, NH

This was an amazing resort for our honeymoon!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
This was an amazing resort. The inner portion of it is like a jungle with waterfalls along the paths. When you keep walking you get to the beach. This beach is awesome! We couldn't get over the white sand and turquoise sea. The sand was so smooth and it wasn't rocky or shelly. The food was amazing! It was the best place for a relaxing honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis

Nice , small , friendly

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Great resort for families, good variety of food, beach is fantastic, staff is so friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Close to town and the beach.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Resort is smaller and in a very beautiful setting. The beach is great. The staff is friendly and helpful. This was the third time we stayed there. Great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom central ca

small hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: small friendly
Cons: have tortillas with all meals
Location: many trips can be taken, assistance can be had in the front lobby
this is our third trip to the Reef and our 9th trip to the Cancun area. Our son located this resort 4 years ago and invited us we enjoyed it so much we keep returning. Even tho some the staff seems to change we still see some of the same faces, still every person on the staff is friendly and always makes you feel welcome. The restaurant food is good but there are two special restaurants that make eating pleasurable without the two specialty restaurants it could be Repetitive. The beach is just a few steps away and is one of the nicest beaches in the area. This resort is located about 15 minutes walk from 5th avenue. but if you want some good deals go a block north the prices are much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Love the quaintness of this hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly. The size of the hotel is great, not too big. It took us less than 1 min to get on the beach or anywhere in the resort.
Cons: The music in Niccos lounge was so lame. Mix it up. There were old and young people there. Also, fix the premium upgrade problem mentioned above.
Location: 15min walk to 5th Ave on the street about 20min on the beach. It is far from many excursions-if that your thing
The Reef Playacar was everything I hoped for. I read many reviews so I knew what to expect and look out for. The rooms were clean and the staff was accommodating and I love that it was so close to the beach. The food was fine. I don't vacation for food but I was there for 5 days and I could have had something different every night. There are a few things that would have made our stay perfect. First, I booked a premium stay through Expedia. After reading reviews I found that they will try to not honor all the premium upgrades. They say that since we booked through Expedia we can not have a safe, wifi, and mini bar in our room. They would have to charge us even more. I printed, straight off of Expedia, that all of this was included and presented it to them, only then did they honor all the upgrades. Its bad business and quite frankly made us feel like they may try to screw us on other things the rest of the trip. Also, the premium upgrade includes all premium liquors not the house/cheap stuff. The bartenders will not give you premium unless you ask for the specific liquor by name, ie...Bacardi, Grey Goose, Chivas etc..... Again, its bad business. They shouldn't be so cheap. Give the customer what they pay for. This all being said, I really did enjoy our stay. I will book with them again. The hotel has a super chill vibe and I love the jungle that it is set in.