Ratings based on 1,114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel close to beach, good food, great staff

Posted Jul 23, 2015
If you arrive before check in time, as we did, you most likely won't get checked in early. We arrived at 1:30 (check in is at 3) and rooms were not available. Staff is very kind and friendly. Food was good and there was variety for all three meals. Room was clean and comfortable. For TV, there is only 1 channel that gets English the rest is in Spanish, I took my iPad, paid for wifi (which was about $7.50 a day for up to 3 devices) and we watched Netflix. Make sure to use mosquito repellant, because any slight rain or them watering the grounds stirs them up and they will eat you alive! My only complaint is that we had very young children in rooms next to us that seemed to cry all night and all morning. My next visit, I would request not to be put in a room next to families with young ones!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Older, boutique hotel not very kid/family friendly

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Small resort, the food was okay. Didn't offer much variety only 2 small pools to choose from and had to make sure you were there early to be able to get beach chairs near by. The kids club had fun activities but very small facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corinth, TX

Very relaxing resort with beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 12, 2015
We read the reviews after booking and were a little concerned about how enjoyable our stay would be here. I'm happy to say our visit was more than pleasant and I really can't wait to go back! The rooms and beds are a little small but they are renovating and we really weren't in the room except to sleep and shower. The grounds are just beautiful and the pool area was large with a wonderful swim up bar. The beach was very nice also despite a lot of seaweed which is I abundance there right now. However this was an issue all the way down the beach at every resort and they did try to scrape and bury much of it every day. The food was always fresh and the drinks delicious. The resort was never overcrowded and everyone had a great time! We will plan to stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointed with The Reef at Playacar

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: The tropical surroundings were beautiful and the staff and the buffet were very courteous and friendly.
Cons: I have already discussed the check in staff. The bartenders and snack area staff could use more assistance during peak hours.
Location: Unfortunately the check in staff did not share any of this information with us.
Unfortunately, first and last impressions tend to be the lasting ones. The hotel check in / check out staff were rude, unorganized and offered zero information about the hotel and its amenities on check in. This was disappointing as there were many amenities we did not know about until our last day at the resort. The lobby staff need assistance in greeting customers and sharing information about the resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Hotel service was horrible!!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I stayed a week in this Hotel The Reef Playacar the hotel is horrible old and with a lot of issues. I stayed without water for a day when I was there and no hot water to shower not enough staff one bartender for about 50 people they were always short on staff bad service...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Budget Experience

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The rooms were nice and cool, and for the most part clean.
Cons: Just about everything.
Sadly, we were very disappointed with this hotel. We planned this as a last-minute long weekend trip, and knowing the short nature of our stay, were happy to go with a more budget-friendly resort with plans to just veg out by the beach for three days. However, within minutes of arriving we quickly realized that we had chosen poorly. We've stayed at similarly priced resorts in the area, and had a much better time. Air-Conditioning - The lobby was equipped with AC at least, but it seemed to rarely be working. In the morning, it wasn't on at all. And only one restaurant (which you have to pay extra to eat at) was comfortably cool. So unless you're in your room or choosing to eat at that one restaurant, plan to be hot and sweaty at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Service - A few staff members were lovely, but most were either far too busy or just completely ignored us. During meals in the buffet, it was impossible to get a glass of water - and I'm not talking about waning a refill every 5 minutes, but , but just an initial glass when we sat down. Several times at the bar we were ignored entirely - even after placing an order, we had to ask for it multiple times as the staff chatted among themselves. Pool - The main pool with the swim-up bar was filthy. Hair, bugs, etc., floating throughout. Ocean - The resort can't control the seaweed situation, but they weren't making any effort to clean it up/rake the beach each day, as many other resorts do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield CA

Nice

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Cons: Unfortunately the beds and pillows were terribly hard and uncomfortable for me.
The Reef feels pretty small compared to the other hotels in the area. The landscape looked really cool and the sound of water running is everywhere. I had read several reviews saying the food was bland but I really enjoyed it. Overall, the food wasn’t amazing but good. The Italian restaurant was the best. It is a 25 minute walk or nine bucks for a cab ride to 5th Ave. The beach is nice and clean. There is a lot of seaweed but there is nothing The Reef can do about that. The hotel did their best to clean it up each morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

Never again

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Remodeling. Excesive noise..… Did not care at front desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grate resort. Wonderful staff.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Great and wonderful place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Staff members took the time to know us and assisted our every need. Food was good, specially breakfast. Close to attraction sites. Would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Jun 21, 2015
I previously stayed at Reef Coco beach and tought this would be an upgrade, but except for a bigger beach it is not. I always look at Expedia customer survey for but this time I feel like it was not helpful. Food was terrible. Always same food, every single day, not much taste. We went to Italian restorant and it was little more tasteful, but not much better. Most staff does not speak English, those that do English is poor. They have a lot of guests from Argentina, maybe they cater more to Spanish speaking population. Kids club is closed on rainy days?! Also they could not stream a movie due to poor internet. Ac is poor in lobby. Rooms are small. We had a lots of vawes in water during our stay. Even the waiter at the bar at beach could not give straws for soft drinks?! Fast good place was not bad. There is a ice cream place which is excellent and they serve afternoon coffee and cookies in green area in middle which was good. 5 th avenue is close, but if you take cab it will be cheaper if you pay with pesos than dollars.