Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obsipo, CA

Beautiful resort!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: We liked everything. Any and all of the staff had a smile and were helpful. The pool bartender, Carlos was our favorite. He always had a smile!
Cons: The walkways, pool areas and La Palapa restaurant floors are quite slippery. They might want to add a bit of rougher texture to avoid slips and falls.
Location: Great location to Playa del Carmen and a taxi or tour bus away from all kinds of activities. Adventures, ruins or a ferry to Cozumel.
We loved the Royal Haciendas! The resort and staff were all fabulous. We received a free upgrade to an oceanfront room and had a million dollar view! The entire resort was clean, staff helpful and friendly. The swim up bar was a fun perk and the poolside cafes served a good variety and everything delicious. The all inclusive buffet had plenty of choices for everyone with healthy salads and fruits available as well. The resort had something for everyone! We're planning a return trip in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Will definitely be coming back!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I feel like it is difficult to put into words how exceptional this resort is and how impressive our stay was from the minute we walked in. The rooms are breathtaking, the patios/ balconies were wonderful. There are multiple HUGE pools and we never had an issue finding a chair. The staff is so nice. Our concierge was Carla, she was so sweet and very informative/ helpful on information regarding the resort as well as what to do around the area. The food and drinks were great. Ive seen reviews and complaints about hidden fees and complaints about giving your room number/name when ordering and am honestly confused on how that is a complaint. There are a small handful of food items that have anywhere from a $4-7 charge beyond the all inclusive package due to their expensive nature but they are clearly presented that way and most everything is included. Giving our room number was never time consuming or inconvenient, don't let that shy you away. We will definitely be returning and recommending Royal Haciendas to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Fantastic vacation, especially for the price

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: very friendly and helpful staff; plenty of places to relax (pools, beach, multiple hammock areas); in room kitchenette; every room with a terrace
Cons: limited food options (though what's available is very good); beach is fine for the sun and wading, but not much for watersport lovers
Location: Mayan sites, cenotes (swimming holes in underground river), Mayan-themed activity parks, Cirque du Soleil
My sister and I took our parents and our own families on a family vacation to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. Everyone (ages 3 - 71) had a great time. The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space to store your clothes/items. The food was very good and the weather was fantastic. We had no trouble getting spaces by the pool or beach, nor getting seated for dinner. It was a very relaxing vacation. The resort is beautifully landscaped with the buildings in an "E" shape with the legs toward the beach. The spaces between the legs are two very similar courtyards, each with a kids pool, lap pool and large social pool with a swim up bar on the back of the pool side bar/café. The social pools have shallow (~1') areas for little ones to be near adults in the main area (~4' deep). There are multiple hammock areas and one courtyard has a small playground set (a few swings, some items to climb and a slide) that our 3 year old loved. All the rooms face the inside of the E, so they all, technically, have an ocean view. In reality the views from the lower levels are blocked by the courtyard trees/buildings and some upper level rooms have an limited angled view of the ocean. Nevertheless, every room's patio/balcony has a pleasant view and is a nice place to relax at the end of the day. There are a handful of rooms actually beachside on the ends of the buildings (limited availability and higher cost, I assume).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Excellent most of the time

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, facilities.
Cons: Room change overs on Saturdays, Wifi!
Location: We didn't leave the hotel.
We stayed here for our honeymoon. At first we were overjoyed by the service, condition and facilities, we were even allowed to check in a few hours earlier! However, the second day we had to change rooms (which we expected), this is where the debacle began. We were only moving next door, the bellman came up to let us in and the room had not been cleaned. The bed had been slept in, there were hairs everywhere, tissues on the floor and the safe had been jammed. The bellman was meant to give us the new key but informed us we would have to go down to reception to get it. After a few phone calls and a visit to reception we were waiting for the handyman to fix our safe so we could lock up our valuables and go for a swim. This took ages which meant we spent hours in our hotel room doing nothing. wifi was terrible, one day it didn't exist at all which meant by husband was unable to watch the World Cup Final! Other than this small hiccup we loved our stay at the Royal Haciendas. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful, all inclusive was great, food was fantastic, buffet had so much choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Paradise

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Amazingly gorgeous
Cons: wifi was a bit slow
Location: Downtown is a very short drive away. You can take a ferry to Cozumel from downtown.
My husband and I stayed at this hotel April 12-April 17. It is hands down the most beautiful resort that we have ever stayed at. The grounds are beyond amazing. Our room was pretty and spacious. The fridge was stocked everyday. Room service was fast and the food was great. Each night the buffet had a different theme for dinner, which we really enjoyed. The pool and pool bar was my favorite. Carlos at the pool bar is amazing! He gave us wonderful service and remembered our names. We had a fantastic experience and are already planning to try to go back next month!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great quiet place to stay with hard beds

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Great staff and grounds were amazing. The room was very nice as well!
Cons: More restaurant options and keeping the pool bar and staff servicing the beach guests open longer. Softer beds would be nice too.
Location: You were very close to downtown Playa del Carmen for shopping and such at 5th Ave and the pier to take the ferry to Cozumel. Beach was amazing!
We had a 6 day 5 night vacation at the Royal Haciendas from April 12th to the 17th. Overall it was an amazing experience but there was some room for improvement but it did not damper my experience at all! The beds were really hard and for me sleeping was a little rough, but my husband didn't mind. The resort itself was amazing! It was super clean and the staff was amazing. The buffet had excellent food and we enjoyed everything they served. The room service food was really good too. We never at the fancy restaurant that you had to have a reservation for because that was inconvenient and it was a pain to even try to get in so we passed on that. The drinks were awesome and couldn't be happier with any of that. Other reviews mention having to sign a receipt after everything you do, which is true, but really didn't affect my opinion of this resort. I didn't like that the resort was pretty much dead by 8 PM. There was one night that they had a small show other than that they had some small stuff in the a building somewhere which was never a real hit as it was pretty dead there too. I didn't like that after 6 your only option for food was the buffet or room service if you didn't have a reservation because the restaurant options are very limited for an all-inclusive, but as I mentioned the food was good so it really wasn't a bother for us, but could be for someone else. Overall I would recommend this resort to someone!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sherman oaks, ca, usa

unhonest front desk sfaff, bad choice for a couple

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The beache is swimable because of the low tide.
Cons: hotel staffs at the front desk & dinner reservation .
Location: A lot of tours at the water park 20 minutes drive from the hotel.
after my long hours at the airport & on the airplane, we expected some relax after the checkin but we just wasted 90 minutes more because of the hotel staff. they gave us a terible garden view room instead of a ocean view as we booked . i came back to the front desk asked them why with my booking voucher then they said that room is considered an ocean view room to them...after a few minutes, they gave me a difference room with really a ocean view...90 minutes wasted for moving from 1 room to another. we had only 2 people but had to stayed in a room with 2 double beds. we requested a king bed or they can remove 1 bed out, but they said " they coudn't do that".... then making reservation for dinner is a big headache too...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

The worst experience of all.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Besides the grounds, room and the weather we did not like anything - motel 6 has better service than this resort
Cons: Get rid of concierge service and remove the signing part. Let people decide when to give the personal tips rather pushing only for tips
Location: Close by the town nothing to do in the resort. one buffet rest.,one rest. for reservation and two beach rest. with the worst food i ever tasted.
First this resort doesn't need to give bracelets when they do not serve any real meaning besides the security on the beach that is writing down your room. It is to much signing for everything and if you don't give them a tip they do not do their job. Mediocre food experience everywhere Also there should not be concierge assign to non-timeshare owners. Simply they do not help you, but obstruct your stay. We asked our concierge to reserve a spot in the only restaurant and he didn't do it since we didn't go to the timeshare presentation. Also the diner time for this restaurant from 6-8 is reserved to timeshare folks but that is not shared with the general public. This is the only hotel/resort in the world that we never had shampoo even when we asked nothing happened. I called the service desk to bring me "don't-disturb" sign (it was not in the room) and never came. It was good that one cleaning lady gave it to me. We had twice cleaning lady in the room first she fixed only the bed and replaced the towels, but nothing in the refrigerator (we haven't had anything in that refrigerator to begin with). The second time she put some beer and some soft drinks fix the bed and replace the towels, but no water and no shampoo both times. We met with other people and they had shampoo in their room. At the end they put an envelope to put the tip for the housekeeping - like they've done anything useful. Horrible service everywhere focused only on tips, not on the work they sign up for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for young families

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: View, rooms, pool
Cons: Septic smell near the main dining area was extremely pungent --
Location: Play del Carmen is a 5 minute shuttle ride away --
Rooms were spacious. We had to change rooms on a Saturday -- took 2 hours in the middle of the day for staff to move luggage. The pools/grounds were very pretty. The only caveat is that there were not many dining venues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom T

Wonderful!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Everything about the Royal Haciendas was wonderful except for being under staffed.