Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rolling Prairie In

Great place

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Everything couldn't be any happier
Cons: The only problem I see at the resort is having to pay to rent a computer in the grocery store to and buy paper to print off boarding passes
Location: Didn't do much other then go to Playa for a afternoon of shopping. Very High pressure to get you into a store that was not fun but a no stops it
The resort is very clean and easy to get around. We did not have any problems getting someone to bring us a drink or find a place to get food. The buffet was good and the restaurant was great. The food at the pool bars was very good and the service couldn't have been better. The pools had plenty of room so you never felt like you are in a crowd. The beach was great with plenty of chairs. The beach did have some seaweed but they cleaned it up every day and you're in a ocean so what do you want. The entire staff at the resort is ready to help you with a anything. They could not have been better. They have activities that you can join in everyday from exercise to blackjack all for free. If you want a place to relax and not have to fight the crowds this is a great place. They even have a grocery store in the lobby if you need something. Reviews of other resorts in the area were not as good as this resort and we're glad we made this choice. If you want to go to Playa you do have to take a shuttle at a small cost but it was worth it. PROBLEM This is the only problem we had that I think the hotel should warn you about. When we went to Playa to walk around and do some shopping someone walks up to you and says hello and don't you remember me I was you're waiter last night. When you say you don't they tell you that happens all the time but they remember us because we were nice to them then they invite you into a store that there family owns and try to sell you something all lies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Babymoon Trip on April 20 2015

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Been to a few resorts in the past in Mexico and other countries. This one was one of the best I've been to. Booked Royal Haciendas a week before our trip. We are 32 weeks pregnant so we were looking for a comfortable and relaxing vacation. Our room was great. Had a microwave which came in handy once or twice. Clean and looked very modern. Great balcony with an awesome view. The resort is large enough to give you a nice selection of restaurants and bars but not too big where you have to walk 15 minutes just to get to your room. Beach was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Love the colorful look of the resort. Bars are all great. Awesome drinks. Food for the most part was really good. The key to the buffets is have the chef make you your meal specifically. Like all buffets go for what is fresh and hasn't been sitting for an hour. Example. Fajitas made in front of you for lunch. Amazing. Breakfast chef made us fresh omlet and pineapple waffles while I stood a few minutes and waited. Gave me enough time to hit the juice bar for a fresh smoothy. The restaurant at the pool was also grade A. If you like fish or seafood you can't go wrong here. Our concierge Adrian made it very easy to book an amazing couple massage as well as our trip to Xcaret. Also, if you come to Playa DO NOT pass up on Xcaret. It will be the best day you have in Mexico. Although a bit pricy. Well worth the money. Lazy river through the caves will be an experience like no other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great food, beautiful beach, beautiful resort.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Food, cleanliness, amenities.
Cons: There were six of us, would have preferred a bigger room, but instead only had the option of two smaller rooms through Expedia.
Location: Great location. Went into town to shop. One hour to Chichen Itza. Close to Xel Ha for snorkeling.
We really enjoyed this all-inclusive resort. The unlimited amount of food was amazing. Different themed nights at the buffet. Juice bar all morning. Restaurant required reservation, but was no extra charge and very fancy. Huge mosaics throughout the resort. Very clean, well-maintained rooms. Several pools to choose from. Really enjoyed the restaurant at the pool also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Villa outstanding

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Excellent , except for the time share discussions non stop. I don't want a timeshare I want my freedom and privacy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Luis Obsipo, CA

Beautiful resort!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: We liked everything. Any and all of the staff had a smile and were helpful. The pool bartender, Carlos was our favorite. He always had a smile!
Cons: The walkways, pool areas and La Palapa restaurant floors are quite slippery. They might want to add a bit of rougher texture to avoid slips and falls.
Location: Great location to Playa del Carmen and a taxi or tour bus away from all kinds of activities. Adventures, ruins or a ferry to Cozumel.
We loved the Royal Haciendas! The resort and staff were all fabulous. We received a free upgrade to an oceanfront room and had a million dollar view! The entire resort was clean, staff helpful and friendly. The swim up bar was a fun perk and the poolside cafes served a good variety and everything delicious. The all inclusive buffet had plenty of choices for everyone with healthy salads and fruits available as well. The resort had something for everyone! We're planning a return trip in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Will definitely be coming back!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
I feel like it is difficult to put into words how exceptional this resort is and how impressive our stay was from the minute we walked in. The rooms are breathtaking, the patios/ balconies were wonderful. There are multiple HUGE pools and we never had an issue finding a chair. The staff is so nice. Our concierge was Carla, she was so sweet and very informative/ helpful on information regarding the resort as well as what to do around the area. The food and drinks were great. Ive seen reviews and complaints about hidden fees and complaints about giving your room number/name when ordering and am honestly confused on how that is a complaint. There are a small handful of food items that have anywhere from a $4-7 charge beyond the all inclusive package due to their expensive nature but they are clearly presented that way and most everything is included. Giving our room number was never time consuming or inconvenient, don't let that shy you away. We will definitely be returning and recommending Royal Haciendas to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Fantastic vacation, especially for the price

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: very friendly and helpful staff; plenty of places to relax (pools, beach, multiple hammock areas); in room kitchenette; every room with a terrace
Cons: limited food options (though what's available is very good); beach is fine for the sun and wading, but not much for watersport lovers
Location: Mayan sites, cenotes (swimming holes in underground river), Mayan-themed activity parks, Cirque du Soleil
My sister and I took our parents and our own families on a family vacation to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. Everyone (ages 3 - 71) had a great time. The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of space to store your clothes/items. The food was very good and the weather was fantastic. We had no trouble getting spaces by the pool or beach, nor getting seated for dinner. It was a very relaxing vacation. The resort is beautifully landscaped with the buildings in an "E" shape with the legs toward the beach. The spaces between the legs are two very similar courtyards, each with a kids pool, lap pool and large social pool with a swim up bar on the back of the pool side bar/café. The social pools have shallow (~1') areas for little ones to be near adults in the main area (~4' deep). There are multiple hammock areas and one courtyard has a small playground set (a few swings, some items to climb and a slide) that our 3 year old loved. All the rooms face the inside of the E, so they all, technically, have an ocean view. In reality the views from the lower levels are blocked by the courtyard trees/buildings and some upper level rooms have an limited angled view of the ocean. Nevertheless, every room's patio/balcony has a pleasant view and is a nice place to relax at the end of the day. There are a handful of rooms actually beachside on the ends of the buildings (limited availability and higher cost, I assume).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Excellent most of the time

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, facilities.
Cons: Room change overs on Saturdays, Wifi!
Location: We didn't leave the hotel.
We stayed here for our honeymoon. At first we were overjoyed by the service, condition and facilities, we were even allowed to check in a few hours earlier! However, the second day we had to change rooms (which we expected), this is where the debacle began. We were only moving next door, the bellman came up to let us in and the room had not been cleaned. The bed had been slept in, there were hairs everywhere, tissues on the floor and the safe had been jammed. The bellman was meant to give us the new key but informed us we would have to go down to reception to get it. After a few phone calls and a visit to reception we were waiting for the handyman to fix our safe so we could lock up our valuables and go for a swim. This took ages which meant we spent hours in our hotel room doing nothing. wifi was terrible, one day it didn't exist at all which meant by husband was unable to watch the World Cup Final! Other than this small hiccup we loved our stay at the Royal Haciendas. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful, all inclusive was great, food was fantastic, buffet had so much choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Paradise

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Amazingly gorgeous
Cons: wifi was a bit slow
Location: Downtown is a very short drive away. You can take a ferry to Cozumel from downtown.
My husband and I stayed at this hotel April 12-April 17. It is hands down the most beautiful resort that we have ever stayed at. The grounds are beyond amazing. Our room was pretty and spacious. The fridge was stocked everyday. Room service was fast and the food was great. Each night the buffet had a different theme for dinner, which we really enjoyed. The pool and pool bar was my favorite. Carlos at the pool bar is amazing! He gave us wonderful service and remembered our names. We had a fantastic experience and are already planning to try to go back next month!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great quiet place to stay with hard beds

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Great staff and grounds were amazing. The room was very nice as well!
Cons: More restaurant options and keeping the pool bar and staff servicing the beach guests open longer. Softer beds would be nice too.
Location: You were very close to downtown Playa del Carmen for shopping and such at 5th Ave and the pier to take the ferry to Cozumel. Beach was amazing!
We had a 6 day 5 night vacation at the Royal Haciendas from April 12th to the 17th. Overall it was an amazing experience but there was some room for improvement but it did not damper my experience at all! The beds were really hard and for me sleeping was a little rough, but my husband didn't mind. The resort itself was amazing! It was super clean and the staff was amazing. The buffet had excellent food and we enjoyed everything they served. The room service food was really good too. We never at the fancy restaurant that you had to have a reservation for because that was inconvenient and it was a pain to even try to get in so we passed on that. The drinks were awesome and couldn't be happier with any of that. Other reviews mention having to sign a receipt after everything you do, which is true, but really didn't affect my opinion of this resort. I didn't like that the resort was pretty much dead by 8 PM. There was one night that they had a small show other than that they had some small stuff in the a building somewhere which was never a real hit as it was pretty dead there too. I didn't like that after 6 your only option for food was the buffet or room service if you didn't have a reservation because the restaurant options are very limited for an all-inclusive, but as I mentioned the food was good so it really wasn't a bother for us, but could be for someone else. Overall I would recommend this resort to someone!