Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Nice stay but will not be returning

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Very clean grounds and friendly staff. Pool bars are great with good drinks.
Cons: Room furniture not comfortable, looks old and dirty. Bed pillows are pathetic and lumpy, old blankets. Nothing plush or luxurious. 3 stars at best.
Location: Ok location.
This resort is in great need of renovation. It looks very outdated, the lobby is very unattractive. There is absolutely nothing luxurious about this resort or the rooms and there is not enough restaurants. Basically if you have children, there is only the buffet to choose from at night. The food is ok, but nothing special. Not enough variety. That got old very quickly. The hotel only cleaned up the seaweed once. It got so thick and smelled so bad that a couple days we could not go near the beach. We expect to be pampered a little on vacation, and it was disappointing that this resort is just plain boring. There is nothing to do at night so our kiddos were bored. We had a fun vacation but we had leave the resort for all our activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Villa, IL

Great, relaxing vacation!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms. Nice staff. Good food.
Cons: Signing for everything gets a little tedious. Wi-fi is poor in rooms.
Location: Xplor is a fun activity for the whole family.
We were there Mar 21-28 with another family. We had called ahead of time to ask that our rooms be close together. When we arrived, we were pretty far away from each other. However, with one call, the check in receptionist was able to get us in the room right under our friends with the stairwell outside our door - it was perfect! We had the all-inclusive package and felt the food was really good. Some items had surcharges, but there were plenty of options, even in the nice restaurant, that didn't. All the staff were incredibly nice and accommodating. We did sit through the timeshare presentation to get money off our bill and discounted activities but never felt pressure to buy and they kept to the 90 minutes as promised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great place for families!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The rooms were great - we had the two bedroom suite and it was nice to have the kids in their own room. The view was great and was relaxing
Cons: For the all inclusive piece - it can be a pain to sign all of the receipts - it would be great to have a UPC code on the bracelets for scanning
Location: We stayed on the resort except for two excursions - horseback riding and the Xplor - Zip Lining; Amphibious vehicles, river swim - awesome time!
The Royal Haciendas is a beautiful resort with numerous amenities. Our family had a great time - all inclusive - the food and drinks were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible wifi connection. Slow service. Horror tra

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Cons: Wifi, accuracy, transportation, quicker service, and better food. Unimpressed.
Good small room. Nice room service. Terrible Wifi and transportation. Very slow service. Confusing staff. Ok scheduleing and food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful and attentive staff

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: Food
Location: Playa del carmen is very near. There are great local restaurants and pubs.
The staff at the hotel were always attentive, caring, and genuinely happy. The grounds were impeccable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Posted Mar 29, 2015
We went with a group of 20 from our church. Everybody had a wonderful time. The food was great, the beach was great,and everything was perfectly clean.The staff was friendly and worked day and night to meet all of our needs. I highly recommend this resort for people who are looking for a quiet place without a lot of partiers. They do not encourage springbreakers, which we like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Very Clean Resort

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The resort was kept impeccably well. The buffets were delicious and the variety of food was great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint are the beds and pillows were not comfy at all. The actual mattress was not very supportive so we woke up with sore backs every morning. The pillows were like balls of mush...not very good for people who have back and neck problems. FYI: Make sure you bring a lot of single bills for tips. It's not mandatory but it seems to be common place in Mexico to tip $1-2 for good service at the resorts. We tipped a $1 for each drink and $2 every time we ate at the buffet. We didn't mind since the service was usually excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
We all loved this resort. The staff, food, drinks and cleaniness was better than most other all inclusive resorts that we have been to in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hudson, WI

Beautiful resort next to the beach

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: rooms, 2 big pools, white sand beach, all staff, room service and breakfast buffet
Cons: lunch and dinner buffet food was ok. good have been better.
Location: great location to downtown and close to excursions
resort, staff, and rooms were fantastic. Our family went over spring break and we loved the 2 big pools and the beach. Resort was 90-95% booked and we could manage to find chairs either by the pools or the beach. No getting up in the morning to reserve chairs. From the moment we checked in to the time we left 5 days later, our experience was great! Thank you staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bemidji,mn

Great Hotel rite on the beach!!!!

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: This is a very quit,clean,fun Hotel. We did do some day trips but I would of been perfectly happy never leaving the hotel there was plenty to do there
Location: This hotel is rite on the beach and the town of Playa is a 3 mile walk
This is a fantastic hotel my sister and I stayed here for a week,we were more then pleased. The hotel sits rite on the beach granted you cant walk out of your room onto the beach but about as close as you can get. The beach was well kept and a nice swimming area. Lots of beach chairs and huts to sit under plus several pools to choose from.The hotel pretty much quieted down by 8-9 at night which was fine with us it meant we could actually sleep and get up earlier to enjoy the day. I could not get over how hard every one worked to keep every thing so clean very impressed neither one of us had ever stayed at such a clean hotel. The staff was always friendly and willing to help you out. I also loved that we were a 3 mil walk into town from the hotel and could really take in the area on the walk,plus lots of cool shops