Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and experience

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Hotel accommodations were very nice and comfortable
My family had a great time during this trip. Hotel accommodations were very nice and comfortable and staff were pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Wonderful, except . . .

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: about the problem to do anything about it. You could get a connection in the lobby, but it was a long hike for us from our room to the lobby to have
Cons: to do it 4-5 times per day. The in-room internet service needs to be more consistent.
Location: There didn't seem to much to do near the hotel. Being used to Cancun proper, where you can just hop on a bus and go anywhere, RH seemed isolated
We (myself, daughter, son-in-law, and 2 grandchildren) just finished a week at RH. We booked through Expedia and reserved a two bedroom Ocean View room, all inclusive. When we checked in, we were upgraded to an Ocean Front 2 bedroom and this was very nice. The room and grounds were immaculate. The facilities are wonderful. Everyone had a great time, and this included grandpa, mom and dad, and the two little ones, ages 7 and 4. However, I cannot give the resort a 5 star rating because of the internet service. All of the literature that we received prior to arriving and in the literature given to us at check-in and even in the literature already in the room, indicated that the room had high-speed Wi-Fi connectivity. In fact, the in-room literature also gave us an extension to call in the event that there was a problem with connectivity. There was no problem connecting on Saturday afternoon when we checked in, but around the middle of the afternoon on Sunday, we lost the connection and couldn't get it back again. Despite our attempts, we couldn't regain the internet service. I called the extension for assistance and nobody ever answered the phone. I told the people at the front desk and the concierge and they just indicated that there was a problem and it would be taken care of. In a nutshell, we didn't get a connection back in our room until Friday afternoon, when we were starting to pack our things to leave the next day. It just seemed that nobody cared much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great all inclusive resort#

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The only thing close to a complaint is the room temp. It was very hot during our stay and the room never got as cool as I wanted. Although my companion was fine I wanted it cooler. The deals they offered to attend their time share presentation was insulting! Can't say enough good things about everything else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Billings MT

Great Rooms Average Food

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: rooms.
Cons: they should honor what they promise.
Location: Great golfing at several nearby courses, Xel-ha was fun excursion as was Explor, Tulum would be a must on our next visit. Playa trip.
The concierge was not honest with us and the management staff did not honor the promise he gave to our group of 13 after 5 adults sat through their 2 hour time share presentation. Other than that, the line staff were awesome, the rooms are fabulous (except the fact that we had to waste a day in the middle of our vacation to be moved from our rooms/suites to a new room/suites since they do those room changes on Saturday and we had booked a Wednesday to Wednesday vacation), the beach is great and the pools are beautiful. The nice restaurant that you have to get reservations for is good food, the buffet is just average. All of the staff that do cleaning, serving, bartending, cooking and any other line service were very nice and always smiling. Front office staff make you jump through some hoops.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Location: nothing
Bad bad bad. Terrible beach. Really? in Playa del Carmen?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laurel, maryland

Nice resort, would recommend to friends

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The resort was nice, food was great. Hotel staff is excellent. Only thing I did not like was beds, they were very uncomfortable. This resort does not have a great beach, lot of sea weed and rocks but the pool suffice for the beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel for value for your money. Hotel staff is simply great, very clean hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

well maintained hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: property, amenities, rooms
Cons: all-inclusive and tipping system
The property is great, clean, very well maintained. Staff is polite. Great spot for families with young kids, however if you're looking for active night life, this is definitely not the place. We got a good deal through expedia for all-inclusive stay. The all-inclusive system in this hotel is quirky - they make you sign receipts all the time (with zero balance) - this is because the hotel is actually a time-share and so there are other vacationers who have to pay for stuff which is otherwise included into the all-inclusive package. There was a little too much pressure to tip the staff on every interaction (and you do have to interact with the staff a lot there), however if you don't pay attention to not-so-subtle reminders about tipping and just leave as much as you see fit, you're good to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York ny

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel and pool was beautiful, very close to the beach and the food was delicious. I would recommend to family and friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great beach for swimming and beautiful pools

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We had a great stay! The grounds are large, and fun to explore. The pools were gorgeous. We loved all the restaurants, specially El Palapa Del Sol with the incredible breeze coming through. We had great dinners at Los Murales and the pool side Luna Grill had excellent fish tacos. We loved the access to kayaks, and it's a great place to paddle around, snorkel or swim. The rooms are really comfy, and the large porch with jacuzzi tub was amazing. The concierge was very helpful, and was not pressuring us for a timeshare presentation. We had a blast, and would for sure return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Beautiful location. Nice beach. Good food. Friendly staff.