Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Wonderful

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: the hotel staff and food are awesome
The hotel all inclusive is just wonderful, check in and check out were easy! we really enjoyed the food and drinks ( no watered down drinks) the beach is serene and the cabanas were beautiful. The staff was attentive on the beach ( taking timely food orders and bringing drinks) The specialty restaurants were really yummy , the chef does a great job (very high end), we will be back for sure. very amazing vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas tx

Gorgeous, secluded, affordable

Posted May 23, 2015
The resort is beautiful and very well kept. Even the pool bathrooms are immaculate! Food and drinks were above expectations, and the beach is very pretty despite the seaweed. Drinks stop flowing at 6:30 though, and with a few exceptions staff were dismissive at best. Definitely not a party spot, but for families or anyone looking to stay in peace and take a $10 taxi into town for nightlife - I'd recommend The Royal Haciendas highly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Time

Posted May 22, 2015
Hotel was awesome Staff was awesome Food was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Second time here

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: staff , not to crowded and beach
Cons: food selection on the buffet
Location: try to visit the cenote that is very close from the hotel
we spend a week for a second year in a row and it was very pleasant not as the first time but was OK .. we were very disappointed with the food selection on the buffet at la palapa , the service " a la carte " has a lot of options but sometime you don't want to wait to get serve the rooms are very well maintained and clean .. the staff is very friendly and ready to help you with your needs. I would come back next year hoping that they improve the food selection on the buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The seafood restaurant was excellent. Juice and expresso bars nice touches and AI.
Cons: AI buffets were acceptable but uninspiring. Expedia incorrectly list sailing as AI activity. They had no hobie cats..had to walk up beach to rent $50
Location: Near Playa.....restaurants and shopping. Took a drive down the coast to cenote swim at Labnaha and with the turtles at Akumal.
Nice and relaxing stay....relatively calm place...not for those who want nightlife. Hopefully the seaweed beaches wont be like that forever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom greenville, SC

Will try another place next time

Posted May 17, 2015
Front desk staff s rude to all inclusive guests, housekeeping and waiters are nice probably bc they get tips based on performance. They want to sell you timeshare all the time. Will try a different resort next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest satisfaction rates and we regret not achieving this goal with you. Rest assured that this is by no meaning a behavior Royal Resorts promotes nor encourages in staff members. Guest Services Manager has been informed and she will take all the counteractions required to ensure no future guests share this perception. Front desk is the first interaction going with our guests and we won't accept anything bellow excellence in this area. We hope that you reconsider and allow us to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockton, ca

Nice resort; beach ok

Posted May 17, 2015
Recently travel to playa del carmen, great experience overall; the hotel is located a little too far from Downtown, but they have a shuttle service for a small fee per person. Breakfast is good; and you can have really good lunch in la palapa del sol grill located very convenient by the pool and close to the beach,It was the best food for us. The buffet diner could be better, but they also order from the menu. Drinks were really good, best I had in a all inclusive resort. Watch out for the margaritas; pretty strong!! Hotel stuff was great, they really try to please you and do a great job. Definitely will come back with my family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Wonderful family vacation

Posted May 15, 2015
We could not have asked for a better vacation!! Everything was perfect! Can't wait to return next year :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel, amazing food, not for snorkeling!

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The food and drinks were great! The rooms were nice, wait staff was great. Pool and pool bar was awesome. Quiet at night!!
Cons: Get rid of all inclusive bracelets. Figure something else out. Beach is nice but the swimming sucks for "Caribbean water".
Location: Only a 10 min taxi ride to 5th Ave. for shopping and approx. 15 min. to the Ferry. Most excursions are 30 min+ away but most have pick at the hotel.
We stayed there because we love to snorkel and the reviews made it sound like it was great for that. It is not. Where the water is deep enough to swim the water is very murky. Can't see your hand under the water. Unless you swim wayyyyy out where boats are then it gets beautiful and clear. Where you can see the bottom it is only about 1-2 feet deep and it is red flagged for swimming for obvious reasons. That was a huge bummer. The hotel was a very nice, clean hotel. The wait staff was very nice and the food was amazing. There buffet dinner was a different theme every night so it was always different and the cocktails were not watered down. We decided to take the stroll from 5th Avenue back to the hotel along the beach. We read that is takes about 45 min but is a beautiful walk. We are not slow people, nor are we out of shape but it took us an hour and a half and it was in the middle of the day so we were burnt beyond burnt by the time we got back to the hotel. Just be ready to walk if you do that. If you've never been to Cozumel, definitely take the ferry over there. That's where we usually stay but decided to try Playa Del Carmen this time. Wish we would've stayed in Cozumel. The water is amazing everywhere, no freeways, you can scooter everywhere! Very friendly place and very cool little bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. Beach flags are a way to communicate the overall conditions of the sea in a given day. Sometimes, strong wind can persist for more than a couple days and the flag will remain red. This is not the standard since in the Caribbean we enjoy nice weather suitable for water activities in the vast majority of days. The Royal Haciendas is located in the vicinity of the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System, however: the best of this reef system is located far away from the shore. Snorkeling in the beach from almost anywhere in Quintana Roo State will result in sandy bottom with little to see. However: several adjacent destinations may provide the biodiversity an experienced snorkeler like you may expect. We cordially invite you to try some of this places during your next visit. We hope to be able of welcoming you again during your following Caribbean Vacation. Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia USA

Resort on beach

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Resort on beach. White wine option were nice. Desserts were excellent. Loved water aerobics- went with my dad daily. And tried zumba class
Cons: The vegetarian food options. Beach/seaweed needs to be cleaned daily. The mixed drinks were too weak. Nightly entertainment and movie nights
Location: Resort is isolated. We took 10 min cab to downtown- delicious restarurants. Also did 2 day trips to Maya ruins.
This was a family vaca. We rented a 2 bedroom villa- it was excellent. Had 2 separate balconies with a hot tub. We had a view of the resort/pool and a little of the ocean. The clearning service was great- she came everyday. They even had turn down service at night. Resort is right on beach which is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2015 by Cristobal Galindo., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We appreciate your kind words and will look for ways to improve our service so during your next visit we get a 5 star rating instead of a 3 one. Warm Regards.