Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Excellent stay will be returning

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Jet skis, snorkeling, pool bar, scuba diving, Xplorer, Xcaret
The hotel was very well kept the food was also very good, I read some bad reviews about food but I for one was very pleased. The location was great and the nearest resort was a long walk through the beach which I thought was a plus. Its good to be isolated from other resorts it really gives a sense of being away. The staff for the most part was very nice and helpful but as always you are going to run into grumpy or maybe someone who is just having a bad day, I'm referring to the check in staff. Which is the only reason I gave them 4 stars other than that everyone else was pleasant and attentive. One thing I would suggest is that the hotel does very little to advertise the scuba diving they have on site. I found out this was available on my last day, had I known I would have definitely took the lessons. Will definitely be planning a trip back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very enjoyable.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
It is a great resort. Food was good. The gardens are beautiful. Rooms are clean and the staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Beat my expectations!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: All inclusive, amazing food, friendly/helpful staff, condition of the hotel/grounds, beautiful beach.
Cons: 2 things: All of the hot tubs were only warm (approx. 85 degrees F). They need to be hot. Second, more structured activities at night.
Location: During our stay we visited Tulum, Akumal, Xcaret, and Cozumel; I recommend all of these amazing places too.
My wife and I (age 33 and 34) stayed from 11/13-11/20/14. The weather was sunny and warm 5 days and rainy/cloudy and slightly cooler 2 days. The staff was very friendly and eager to help with whatever: tours, money exchange, using facility's safe, rec activities, you name it. The hotel and grounds were clean and well maintained. The beach was gorgeous and there were always lounge chairs available. This hotel is close to Playa Del Carmen and there are several inexpensive modes of transportation to get there any time of the day or night. The food was amazing every meal at the buffet; I was pleasantly surprised. We did the all inclusive which was wonderful and highly recommended. Hotel facilities got 4 out of 5 because of the warm hot tubs described below. We are not time share owners so had to move rooms on Saturday. This was not a big deal and the hotel was very accommodating. We left our luggage with the hotel staff all day while we went to Tulum and got our luggage and new room upon our return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Beach Getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Very good food for an all inclusive Large drinks rent bikes to go to 5th ave
Cons: entertainment music by the beach and pool
Location: 5th ave is 10 mins away visit Cozumel
My boyfriend and I stayed at Royal Hacienda Nov 8-15th. We had a great experience over all. The property is well kept and safe. The staff is very nice. They would remember our names the next day when we would see them and ask about our day or night before. This hotel is also a timeshare. So there are members which is nice because the food that is included on the all inclusive deal is mostly made to order since the members are able to purchase. There is one buffet that doesn't have many items but everything is delicious. You can order room service whenever and boxed lunches for your day trips- all included on the all inclusive deal! There is wait staff on the beach taking orders for food and drinks. The drinks are normal size drinks, not the usual small no alcohol drinks you get from other all inclusives. Not sure if this is just the time of year that we went but we were the youngest guests at the hotel. (mid 30's) This hotel is not a party hotel. People seem to go here for a quiet relaxing vacation. There was no hotel entertainment staff or much going on at night. No hotel club either. They did have a band and DJ in the bar area a few nights a week. 5th avenue is close by for the bars and restaurants at night. I would suggest the fish tacos at the pool restaurant. They are so good!! Don't be shy to ask for a double drink!! Overall we had a great time!! Definitely make it to 5th avenue!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service...but BORING

Posted Nov 20, 2014
We had a big family vacation (12 people in total). We were attracted to the 1-2 Bedroom suites as we have 2 kids and prefer to have separate bedrooms. The hotel was very nice and our rooms were spacious! Pool, Grill, Buffet and Lobby bar staff were amazing and service exeptional. Our tips were supposed to be included but we ended up tipping anyways because the service was so good..Except for their fine dining Las Murelas. The manager was arrogant and would not let us sit in the same sections even though there were empty tables all around! Not a big fan of having to sign for every drink/meals though. Warning! there is NOTHING to do after 6 pm in this resort except for dining. We had never been to an all inclusive resort without any nightly entertainment. No shows, discos etc. With kids, it was pretty boring after dark. I guess the hotel caters to the retired crowd but we were not impressed with the lack to activities. We're not looking for a party place at all but a few nightly shows would be great to take the kids to see. Overall, service and condition of the hotels, pools were the best part. I would recommend it more if they can add some entertainment after 4pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Secluded and close to everything

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Location, all-inclusive, view, service, price. No noisy teens. Only a few kids with parents or grand parents.
Cons: Need raw or at least cooked fish on sushi night. Rice wrapped in seaweed is not sushi. They need a rice cooker for the white rice also, not 100% done
Location: Close to Tulum, xtream and Coba. Lots of close local Cenotes if you venture out in a rental car.
Perfect location. I have stayed in Cozumel, Cancun, Cabo and a few other places. If you plan on doing any shopping or tours this is the perfect location. Better beaches by far than Cancun. All the staff is friendly and not just fake friendly. Rooms are clean. I think it's the 1st time I didnt see even one cockroach. The food in the restaurants is good although someone needs to explain to them that sushi is not rice wrapped in seaweed with a piece of fruit. lol No raw or even cooked fish. :( Service was always very good. Drinks are a little weak, you need to ask for a double and no I'm not a big drinker. Dont go to the time share presentation, you might end up buying one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ND

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Clean and easy to find the your way around.
Was wishing there was a little more night entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe, Nevada

Great Resort

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We were here Nov 7-14. Loved the resort! It is huge, 2 large pools with swim up bars, 4 jacuzzis and 2 separate kids pools. Room was nice, we just had the regular suite but had plenty room for the two of us. Nice bathroom. No ocean view as our room was in the far back and on the ground level but that was fine for us. We were hardly in the room anyways. Resort let us use kayaks and bikes to ride into town which was fun. Food was good, we were all inclusive which I recomend. There were mostly members there who did not have the all-inclusive bracelet waiting for happy hour. We stayed successfully full and drunk the entire trip with no hidden fees. Overall, very good trip and a beautiful & fun resort! Wifi in room and around the resort was ok most the time. All the staff & service was amazing! Especially loved all the bartenders. Beach area was nice too with good service out there as well. Wish we were still there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Augusta, Georgia

Outstanding Experience

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Everything was clean from the hotel, the room, the grounds and all of the amenities. All spotless and well maintained.
Cons: Nothing, maybe more pillows in the rooms.
Location: Everything is close to the resort and very affordable.
Wife and I finally had the honeymoon we never had. The customer service was outstanding, they went above and beyond all of our expectations. Vincent our concierge was incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Asheville, NC

Incredible trip

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: We ate and drank more than we could have ever dreamed of. We even ordered room service a couple of times (included in all inclusive).
Cons: More water bottles in the room (I know. This is all I can think of) . We got 2 each day when they restocked the mini bar, but a girl gets thirsty!
Location: Playa is beautiful--water is so clear and blue. Its a ferry ride away from Cozumel. We went to Xplor one day (zip lines, ATVs, cave swimming). SO FUN
My fiance and I LOVED this place. Incredible beach views, friendly staff, food was fresh and there was plenty of variety, drinks were refreshing. This place is a time share, so we did get moved to a different room on Saturday but our new room had the AMAZING ocean view. We didn't even pay an upgrade fee to move from a garden view to the ocean view. With the all inclusive, kayaking/snorkeling at the resort was included. They also have a golf course and tennis courts if that is your thing. Cancun is 30 minutes away if you want the party scene, but we stayed at the resort 5/6 days and had a blast (we are late 20s/early 30s).