Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the hotel and the beach

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We loved everything food was good hotel super clean and nice !!! Beach was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

What a great Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2014
the hotel was amazing! the staff was THE best! we travel a lot and this hotel is definetly in our top 5! The only minus is the seaweed, there is a lot of seaweed but i guess that's just the ocean. Housekeeping was excellent. Los Murales- the fine dine restaurant was delicious and upscale and alos included in the all-inclusive option. The beach service was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2014
WE HAD A GREAT TIME, AFFORDABLE, NICE STAFFANDGREAT LOCATION. EVERYONE WAS HELPFUL, BILINGUAL AND READY TO HELP.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great for a relaxing trip! Beautiful Views!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Uncrowded beaches, quiet resort, well kept facilities, friendly staff, good food and drinks.
Cons: Not having to sign and wait for 'bills' when on the all inclusive package. Avoiding have to switch rooms on Saturday when resort is not at capacity.
Location: Shuttle to playa to shop and see the city. Great beaches to walk down even pas resort property.
Royal Haciendas was very well maintained, great staff, beautiful facilities and gorgeous views. The food from the buffet was good but the food at Los Murales was fantastic and a great experience. The beaches were very uncrowded and great for relaxing. The staff were attentive and always pleasant and ready to assist you. We were there with the all inclusive package and having stayed at other all inclusive resorts were a little surprised that we had to sign for EVERYTHING and constantly have to hold on to receipts or wait for our "bill" even though we had the bracelet on. Additionally, because we were staying over on a Saturday we had to switch rooms even though when we checked in the attendant told us they were not at capacity. The switching was not that big of a deal but it did take a LONG time and they informed us our room was ready but when we arrived the maid was still cleaning so we had to wait another hour to get in the room. Also you have to sign you a towel and return by 7pm. We felt they definitely treat folks who arrive on Saturday or do the traditional week long stay differently as we arrived mid week and a great deal of information was not told to use or provided regarding accommodations, etc. We had to "learn" as we went. The shuttle to Playa was a nice perk but they want you to reserve it a head of time so no spur of the moment trips. All in all we had a great trip, enjoyed relaxing and spending time together despite this complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Grounds are clean and kept up well.
Cons: For an all-inclusive they have only 1 nice air conditioned restaurant and you need reservations. Very hot to eat at other 2 outdoor places.
Location: Went into Playa for a wedding and then one day for shopping.
Very nice. Food is good but our room fridge was never stocked. Had to call everyday for water. Had to call for towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great place for a vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Six of us just spent the week at the Royal Haciendas resort.. It was great. This is a low key make your own fun establishment so if your looking to be entertained 24/7 go someplace else. If you like to meet people hang out by the pool, and relax a ton book your next trip here! Don't get me wrong there is plenty to do if you want, or do nothing at all it's your choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Couples Stay Away- Swarming with Families

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Staff/Concierge/Waiters were all pleasant. They were always working/cleaning/painting the hotel. Very clean.
Cons: Be more specific about what's actually included in the "All-Inclusive" Package and be consistent with what's included at each restaurant.
Location: Shuttle or Taxis to Playa del Carmen; less then a 10 minute drive from hotel. Catch Ferry to Cozumel.
Don't go if you are looking for a quiet couple's retreat. There were small children EVERYWHERE, even in the areas that were supposed to be Adult Only like the hot tub and lap pool. No one enforced the adult only rule in these areas so we felt overwhelmed by children screaming/crying/splashing when we were trying to relax. There was a lack in entertainment. The only restaurant open after 10pm was one small bar with tv's and you could never find a seat. We were stuck going to our rooms every night by 10pm due to the lack of festivities around the hotel. All-Inclusive meant a very small buffet for every meal. If you ate at a restaurant with a menu, there were only certain items you could order, the others had surcharges. Alcohol drinks included in the plan were extremely inconsistent. Each restaurant had only two beers available to order in the plan. But when you go to a different restaurant on the grounds, the beer that was included at one place was not included at the other. Room Walls were very thin. Would hear guests that were two rooms away. One night hotel maintenance were taking down beds after Midnight in the room above us and kept us up with banging. Overall very inconsistent. One day we took the shuttle to Playa del Carmen and booked a certain way, and two days later we tried to ride the same shuttle and they changed the way they booked the shuttles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Very good value for your money.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Everything was great. Rooms, staff & safety. However, I was a little dissapointed by the buffet. The food was a 3 out of 5...Also, if you check in on any day, other than a Saturday, they will move you. We checked in on a Sunday and the next Saturday (on day prior to departure) they moved us. I was far from my teenage children. They don't tell you this when you book the package. Other than that, it was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

A perfect vacation for many.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, well kept. I loved how the pool faced the Caribbean. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. I liked how there was theme nights for dinner.
Cons: The concierge service should have more coverage. We had an issue when we were checking out and the concierge was not available at that time,
Location: Many different activities outside the hotel and in the hotel.
Overall a great vacation. Hotel was clean and well kept. Wait staff and maids were great. Loved the activities. Paco did a great job with water aerobics. Food was good and varied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Charles, MO

Time share resort not a good all inclusive

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Rooms are very nice. Everything was clean and very well taken care of.
Cons: Food options are very limited and servers should really learn how to mix the drinks. Most of the drinks I ordered ended up being thrown away.
Location: Very nice facility right next to the beach. Nothing close to it, you will need to take a taxi to go anywhere. Plenty of options for excursion.
We stayed at this hotel for our family vacation last week (8/9~8/16/14). The hotel facilities are great, right next to the beach and with several nice swimming pools. They could really use some improvements for the food and drinks. We had an all inclusive package and even thou they make you wear those bracelets they ask you to sign Boucher's with cero balance for everything. By the end of the second day I was totally tired of signing Boucher's even for a glass of juice. This resort is a time share facility and they sell the all inclusive packages to fill empty rooms and to try to get you hocked in one their time share deals. If you are looking for a time share this place is for you. If you want a real all inclusive resort then keep looking for something else.