Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel on beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Everything
Great family experience! Excellent children activities that they are able to chose what they want to participate in. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make your stay fabulous! Our child had special dietary needs, the chef and restaurant manager made special meals to fit the need. Our child felt special! (Way beyond anyone in the U.S. would do.). We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Excellence in all areas

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: The decor was great has the old Mexico feel beautiful
Cons: Would not change anything
Location: The resort is not so close to busy commercial areas everythin was a short ride away
One of the best resorts we have stayed at. Extremely clean and everyone was so friendly they made us feel like royalty. We took our eleven year old grandson and he loved it. The food was excellent the drinks were delicious grandson loved the unlimited room service and fruit smoothies. We will go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas city Mo

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly!
Cons: Faster check in process.
Location: Not much near by.
It was a great trip with Family and I really enjoyed myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

great hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness of the grounds and the beautiful flowers.
Cons: It would be nice if things in the market were priced in US dollars and pesos. Also there doesn't seem to be much to do if you don't swim-
Location: It is a bit of a drive from the airport, but worth it when you get there. We visited Fifth Ave and also took the ferry to Cozumel
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at your hotel. We arrived late and were greeted by a nice young man named Alexander. Our housekeeper, Alicia, was very thorough when she cleaned our room for the week. We enjoyed the daily buffet, room service and pool bar food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Very relaxing family vacation

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Food. Kids club. Activities. Friendly staff.
We stayed at the resort last week for 5 days. The resort was huge but did not feel crowded. The layout was nicely done as there were several areas for people to hang out. The staff was very nice and friendly. It rained off and on for 2 days and we also has 1 day of torrential rain. We made use of the kids club, then. Our children ages 6 & 7 enjoyed the kids club. Our son also played beach soccer in the afternoon which was organized by the KidsClub. The staff was always working on the hotel grounds - raking leaves, trimming, cleaning the weeds that washed onto the beach. Every morning, unless raining, there's a tractor that cleaned up the weeds on the beach. The beach was beautiful - white sand, wide with lots of lounge chairs. The waiters take orders at the beach so no need to get up. We were totally spoiled. Housekeeping cleaned everyday though sometimes they forgot to replenish the towels. We called and they came with fresh ones quickly enough. Food was awesome! Palapa del Sol restaurant had good variety and everyday the "theme" changes. You can also order from the menu. The mixed ceviche was so delicious I ate it everyday at lunch! We also ate at at Los Murales twice during our stay. The food there was excellent and the desserts were so yummy! We have also tried the sushi at the sushi bar and they were very good, as well. The only bad thing about the resort was leaving it but we hope to be back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

Fabulous All-Inclusive Family Vacation

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Everything was clean, staff were friendly, food was tasty
Cons: temperature of the whirlpools
Location: An hour ride to and from the airport. Lots of available excursions to do if you want to spend the money that are a short distance away.
Everything was wonderful. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Every time we saw a staff member they said "hola" to make us feel welcome. Our room was perfect and very clean. The maid was in our room while we were in and out of it and we witnessed her cleaning and changing the sheets on the bed. She was very thorough. The pools were great with lots of ledges to stand on for kids and shallow areas also. The drinks were not strong at all, but that was alright with us, they tasted good! The beach and ocean were heavy with seaweed, but the staff did their best to clean it up in the mornings. The water wasn't as clear as I expected it to be, which was a little disappointing, but we spent most of our time in the pools. The whirlpools were the same temperature as the pools, so that was another complaint I had. I wish they would have been a lot warmer, especially the adult ones. We were very pleased with the food. It wasn't fabulous, but it was fine for us. Our favorite night was the Mediterranean night! We went on an excursion to XCaret, which was fabulous. We highly recommend it for adults and children. It was a highlight of our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Overall nice resort if you take advantage!

Posted Jun 15, 2015
We stayed there from June 8-14 on a standard room. We were upgraded to a ocean front probably because it was low season. Best part about the resort is the hotel staff. Concierge (Adrian) was extremely nice and very informative. Everyone is very friendly and courteous. Rooms are very comfy. Food is between okay and good. Just wish they could explain the all inclusive package better. Luna/Sol grill you order from the menu(good for lunch).La palapa(breakfast and dinner) is a buffet and you can also order from the menu( they won't tell you this you have to ask for the menu). Room service is very fast! Overall we had a great time. If you are on the all inclusive plan tip them well its a lie that tips are included( they get 10 pesos per day). Pools and beach great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county

Newer hotel beach with sea weeds all over

Posted Jun 15, 2015
We stayed ten days so we got to change rooms two Saturdays. Ocean front room was remodeled and looked newer. Food was good. All inclusive is well worth it. $9 a mixed drink otherwise it's US bar pricing. Don't know if was just the timing but the ocean was dull oh sea weeds and the beach, they tried to clean but was in The water and kept coming. Staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Real nice hotel.

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Great pool and room.
Cons: More communication regarding all inclusive visitors and what is and what is not available.
Location: Good location near beach. A lot of seaweed along the beach area, but, not sure if that is just the time of year or what.
This hotel had great amenities and was well maintained. The only issue i had was that with the mixture of time share members and all inclusive visitors it caused some confusion on what was available to all inclusives. The staff/hotel could have done a much better job of explaining this or providing literature to explain it. The hotel was awesome along with the pool and the main restaurant served good variety and quality food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Very disappointing resort

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: The beach and pool area, and the hotel grounds and the lobby were beautiful.
Cons: The bed The entertainment Most of all the food and presentation of it
Location: The location was not good if you like to go out at night, you need to take a taxi to downtown, otherwise the place is dead.
The beach and pool area, and the hotel grounds and the lobby were beautiful, but that's it as far as the positive. The dining experience was very disappointing, especially comparing to the other resorts in Playa Del Carmen that I stayed in prior years. I paid for the all inclusive but when they had a prime rib night, I had to pay extra to get it. You would think that coming the a place in this area of the world, you will get some fruit, but this almost did not exist (only on the decorations but not to eat). The bed was hard as a rock and it took me 3 days to somehow get use to it. Also, after dinner, the place is completely dead, no one is out and the resort did not provide any entertainment. Again, in other resorts there was entertainments every night and management made an effort to make every evening unique. The biggest effort the resort management made was to push the time share property they have. They did not get off my case the entire time I stayed there. The last thing I would complain about was the snorkeling that was advertised did not exist in reality, so please do not fall for it. Bottom line, go spend you time and money in much better places and don't go near this place!!!