Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Wonderful

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location, food, facilities, beach
Cons: Purchases at the resort, charging to the room
Location: About 40 minutes from Cancun airport. Tons of attractions nearby
We stayed 5 days in February 2015 and had a wonderful time. The resort/property/beach is very nice. Our room was very nice and clean. My only complaint with the room is that I booked and paid for an "ocean view" room, and you could barely see a little sliver of the ocean. Very disappointing. We had no problems getting a cabana on the beach. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Although we did notice that the staff who spoke the worst English were at the front desk...Speaking of the front desk...When you first arrive to the resort and check in they ask you to place $300 on your room. EVERYTHING is charged to your room. You cannot pay in cash or credit card for anything. It is all charged to your room. We booked 2 excursions the very first day so that wiped out our $300 then when we tried to buy some sunscreen in the hotel store they wouldn't let us pay the $10 for it in cash because they will only let you charge it to the room. We had to go back to the front desk and add more money to our account/credit card just to buy the dang sunscreen. We ran into this problem several times during our stay and it was a huge pain in the neck! Definitely the worst part about the service. Other than the inconvenience of having to go to the desk every time you wanted to purchase anything (that includes excursions, spa, transportation, anything in the store) we didn't have any other complaints with the resort. The food was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

A very good (not excellent) family resort.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
An excellent value for money for families with kids. We are in Mexico about 3 times a year aiming to stay at 4+ Star hotels (not 5 star true ultra luxury properties). This would go as a solid 4 star all-inclusive that scores 5 stars in certain categories (eg room). Below are some pros/cons of this property: Pros 1. Excellent room. You get a spacious two room suite, so kids can sleep in a separate room. Fully equipped kitchen and nice large terrace with whirlpool. Rooms are clean and updated 2. Kids club. Free kids club from 9am to 6 pm. Our kids refused to leave and chose to completely ignore our requests for attention 3. Beach/location are good and on par for similar locations in playa Things to improve 1. Service. It's ok but not great. Nobody is rude and staff is generally friendly. At the same time, you would not get a proactive service that we got to love about Mexico. Just to give you a flavor, a poolside waiter would probably show up twice during 3-4 hour span by the pool (not life threatening, but not great if you want that extra margarita or bottle of water). This applies across the board, don't expect to be "pampered" 2. Food alternatives Main restaraunt is good and offers plenty of alternatives (if you are not expecting miracles). It is however pretty much the only choice in the vicinity of the hotel, as the other restaurant is by reservation only, and it is small and getting a booking at a reasonable time would require more effort than it is worth
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Okay place, but there are a few things to consider

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The staff. The restaurants. The pool bar. The beachfront villas.
Cons: Go to an all-electronic food/drink system. The receipt system is 100% ridiculous. A receipt is needed for 1 beer or 100 beers. WASTE OF PAPER!
Location: Did not go out much. No impetus. My deal was all-inclusive. I went for the beach, the food and the beer. And lots of all of it.
Went all-inclusive. Arrived on Monday and put in a beachfront unit, building I in the corner of the complex. Great room. No complaints at all. On Saturday, we had to move to a new room because of the time-share people coming in and whatever. Not a big deal itself. We knew about it up front. However, the way the resort manages the move is bad. I was moved to Building F, which stinks. It is in the middle of the resort and faces no water. It is noisy. It reminds me of some average motel. I can hear every cart clicking along on the tile surface. It was made worse by the fact that we were on the east end by the Palapa del Sol restaurant. Nothing but noisy carts, slamming hotel doors, kids yelling, and the whole deal. I do not recommend any room that's not on the beach. Get a beach room guarantee up front, in writing. Staff was always polite and courteous. Service was hit-or-miss on the beach and at the pools. Some days the waiters were timely and responsive. Some days you'd go an hour without seeing a soul. That was annoying. Place is clean. Patrons include lots of families and older retired people. Do not come if you want to party after 11 pm. You will be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Very nice atmosphere as a whole

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Wonderful experience. Lacking a choice of restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Perfect Vacation

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Everything about this vacation was perfect. When we got off the plane in Cancun we were ushered to our hotel by Canada Transfers (who had ice cold beverages awaiting us). Arriving at the Royal Hacienda at 11:45a, much earlier then check in time (4p), we were given our all inclusive wristband and told to help ourselves to lunch and check back in 2 hours. Our room was ready and it was beautiful and so clean! We found the staff friendly and helpful. Caleb our concierge was very helpful and Casiano the bartender was the best! The food was plentiful and very good. The beach was amazing! Only a few minutes away to downtown Playa del Carmen. We rented a car from Alamo in town and traveled to Talum, Akumal and Cozumel. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Fabulous place!!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Cons: Nightlife was a bit quiet, but if you have friends (cheers Wisconsin!!) and are able to meet others (cheers, cheers, Michigan and R. Island) its fun!
Loved everything. I have read some posts that complained about the food, don't know how they possibly could have. Everything was great. The fine dining restaurant was unbelievable, best restaurant I have ever ate at. Staff were all wonderful. Carlos and Raymundo are the best bartenders ever!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: good pools and on the beach with plenty of chairs on beach
Cons: More eating places
Nice hotel. Limited restaurants and eating choices
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom argentina

Nice hotel. But not an all inclusive hotel.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The whole point is that this hotel is not a real all inclusive hotel in the way everybody Understand, for example Riu, Barcelo. Etc. On the other hand is a really nice hotel for families With kids. The food is well made and the staff are friendly. Everything looks well maintained.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Agentina

Nice Place, Good service but need some renovations

Posted Feb 21, 2015
In few words , furnitures are old , I had visited the resort , 8 years ago , now I found the same furnitures . The TV is very old and the most important to me , WiFi is not so good either. Service is good and the beach is very nice. I´d got some troubles with the ¨Thomas More¨ travel Agency at the Hotel . They show me some pictures about an excursion to Xixen-Itzá with people at a bus, with seats so spacious for legs and a very special service with foods and beverages. Then we received , a very good service at guide , but not about the bus and the room for my legs , that´s very important to me with 6 1/2 ` tall. The situation to take an excursion with no room to go confortably was very disappointing to me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Another fabulous stay...

Posted Feb 21, 2015
This was our 3rd year returning to The Royal Haciendas. We absolutely love it there. The staff is wonderful, the grounds are beautiful, and the atmosphere is so relaxing. This year we were a group of 9 (including 3 kids) and we had a blast. Loved having Playa Board Sports on site! We took paddle board lessons and took the kayaks out with the kids. Can't wait to return!