Ratings based on 1,597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Service, restaurants, location
This resort is worth each penny. We loved everything about it. The service is best. We felt pampered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Great stay!

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Service
Location: 1 block to 5th Ave. Fun shopping and great restaurants if you'd like to eat off property.
Wonderful service, beautiful property, great location! We will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL area, kane county

Really nice hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything about the hotel, staff and service was great.
Cons: Avoid the "Real-Club" presentation and hide the hotels wrist bands in town. The authorities should try to end the merchants store front hawking.
Location: Go to Cozumel, the ferry is inexpensive. We rented a motor scooter and explored the island on our own terms. Lots of fun!
The hotel was really nice, very clean, and high quality construction. The junior suite was very nice and the staff was absolutely excellent. The food was also very good, better than expected. The pool area was great and the ocean right there with great beach area with lots of chaise lounges and cabanas. Cocktail service on the beach was a bonus. We will go there again with the following knowledge: The "Real-Club" described as "not" a time share was a bummer. It was certainly a time share like program. We agreed to it because it came with some perks for attending and was promised to be only a hour or so. It turned into a 3+ hour, increasingly high pressure bummer. Avoid it! The other bummer was the hassling from merchants in-town. Most of the hotels in the area issue wrist bands for identification. When the merchants see that they are relentless in hawking and hassling you to go into their shops. When we hid the wrist band under a big watch or bracelet, the hassling went down by 75%. The hotel kept the merchant hawkers off the hotel's beach area and out of the hotel. It was all in-town, or in public areas of the beach, or other hotel beach areas. Some of the hassler's pretended to have been waiters from the hotel and at least one of them actually was, but "off-duty". I think everyone would benefit from a moratorium on the hassling, including the merchants and tourism in general. It's obviously a cultural thing, but my wife and I hated it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Wonderful Place to Stay!

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Beautiful resort on the beach. The food was excellent and the staff was very courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston,ma.

Awesome experience.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Everything. No complaints. Staff very friendly and nice. I like the care taken to keep clean,including hand sanitizer in restaurants.
Cons: Furniture on patio
Location: Walking distance to shops and restaurants in playa del Carmen. Great beach to walk along.
The staff was outstanding , the resort was clean, nicely laid out, perfect location. Great spa. The restaurant were top notch and food was excellent. Liked the Mexican flavor to regular dishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

Perfect if not for construction +pushy sales pitch

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Exceptional staff, AMAZING food, gorgeous resort, perfect location and picturesque beach
Cons: Stop the pressure sales tactics! Too late now, but the Hyatt next door has ruined the privacy and exclusivity that past guests have raved about.
Location: Literally STEPS to the city and shopping. Best beachfront location in Playa del Carmen! We went next door and the beach didn't even compare.
All in all we had an amazing vacation. Gorgeous beach, AMAZING food (the a la carte restaurant options that is - the buffets were nothing special) and friendly staff. We definitely plan to return in the future. That being said, there are a few down sides. 1.) NOISE - We paid extra for a swim up pool room only to find out that they are building a new Hyatt hotel right outside our room door. So you come out your door to a giant cement wall. Not to mention the ridiculous construction noise starting at 6am EVERY day. Also, our neighbors were not the clientele we were expecting - screaming, playing beer pong and other drinking games at the "semi private" swim up pool (not young people either). We asked to move and the only options involved us paying more for a room which, to me, seemed like a downgrade so we passed. 2.) "Timeshare" sales pitch - We, stupidly, agreed to a 1.5 hour presentation after being reeled in by a sweet, friendly employee. In the end we were taken to a room full of little desks where we were pressured to purchase their "credits" by 2 aggressive salesmen. In the end losing 3 HOURS of our time. They did give gifts for your time, but I don't appreciate deception. 3.) "Superb ocean view" - For our room the website says, "superb ocean views of the turquoise Caribbean." Sounds great right? Your sliding door is slanted in an attempt to see the ocean but you cannot. If you walk out onto the terrace you get a tiny, distant peek-a-boo view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Best resort in playa!!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
I was told by friends that The Royal was the best in Playa... They weren't kidding! The location is right in the heart of the shopping district. We had ocean view and it was a perfect amount of view. Food was amazing and lots to choose from. Staff was sooo friendly. Beautiful rooms. The beach, gorgeous! We took sn excursion from the agency in lobby, incredible!! We were two females on the trip alone. We felt safe the whole time. Loved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and once you knew your way around there was so much see and do.
Location: There was shopping on 5th street. We went to Tulum where a tour guide show you around. Then we went on a jeep ride, rappelling, zip lining,etc.
Our stay was amazing we were on the beach and within walking distance to 5th street shopping. The staff is top notch everyone here works hard and are very friendly. The nightly shows were great. The food is outstanding and drinks were plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waterford MI

Nice resort. Wonderful beach. Exelent food.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
We like the hotel, service, beach, food. The staff is doing very good job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio Rancho, NM

great hotel right on beach

Posted Dec 14, 2014
staff was very helpful, courteous and friendly. Hotel was beautiful.