Ratings based on 1,832 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, WI

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Nice pool and beach areas.
Cons: Offer more excursions included in the all inclusive price. Could offer different packages.
Location: Town and shopping is easy to walk to.
A very nice hotel close to town in Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington IL

Wonderful Trip !

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: It was very clean, everyone was friendly, the beach was very well taken care of
Cons: I can't think of anything !
Location: Fifth Avenue was fun and welcoming. I felt safe the entire time we were there.
My husband and I stayed at The Royal April 8-14th for our anniversary. We've never stayed at an all inclusive before. Everyone was very friendly. We were supposed to arrive at 2 pm and our flight got canceled so we didn't arrive until about 10 pm. The check in staff was efficient and very quick, even though they were expecting us earlier in the day. Our room was very spacious and clean. The housekeeper did a great job. Everyday someone stopped and restocked the fridge. We ate at Pelicanos, Spice, Tapas, Maria Marie and also ordered room service -- all meals were delicious. On our anniversary we received a cute little cake and a bottle of champagne, it was very thoughtful ! We did get stopped once for the time share talk; however, they saw we were going out to 5th avenue and we were told to have a great time and if we wanted to, we could stop and talk to them later. If we didn't want to, it was not a big deal. We visited the gift shop daily (it was the only place we could find Pepsi) and also went to the 24 hour lounge. We didn't eat the food in the lounge it looked good -- we just got drinks there. We laid on the beach several days. We didn't have any trouble finding empty chairs. The staff brought drinks at a good pace. There was working being done on the hotel next door but it never really bothered us. I have an alarm clock radio with a sound machine that we brought and so we didn't hear a lot of outside noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Amazing service and overall holiday experience

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Clean, lots of variety of food, service was outstanding
Cons: Nothing comes to mind!
Location: Very central to "downtown" Playa. We got some great cheap massages and local fare all within a 15 minute walk from the hotel.
We stayed at the Royal over Easter weekend before heading to a wedding in Isla Mujeres. We arrived late after traveling from London and were greeted and had a nice little orientation to the hotel. Everyone was friendly, and happy to help with anything you needed. It was also pristinely clean. Great resort, couldn't recommend it more highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a very enjoyable experience at The Royal. Would definitely recommend and will return. Hotel staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable and pleasant. Really liked that it was adult only and all-inclusive. Felt very safe at all times, many restaurants to choose from, grounds were clean, room was comfortable and easy access to the pool and beach. Overall had a wonderful, relaxing get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Great stay in PDC!

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We traveled as a couple to Playa del Carmen for a week. It was our first time in Mexico and a very great experience. The grounds at The Royal is very well maintained and all of the staff is great! The food was fairly good overall, but we dined at Spice the majority of the time. We also booked a tour through BD Travel and that was a good experience as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Nice and convenient

Posted Apr 17, 2015
This resort was great for me and my husband. It's close to the beach which unfortunately smelled like seaweed but it was still beautiful. It's extremely close to 5th avenue. The excursion and travel services are located right inside the resort which is nice and they are prompt! There are nice food selections. There are shows every night. The staff are great and are always there when you need something. It's a nice resort and kid free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mississauga ontario

On the beach and steps to shops and mall

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Very nice resort like a huge mansion Staff are very friendly and very helpful Food was great with plenty of variety Service was great Very clean comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic beach resort for our Honeymoon

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were looking for a great all-inclusive beach resort in Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon, and the Royal PDC was the answer. You really get everything you pay for. Great location, great food, and great service. The rooms set this resort at the top and the included alcohol is a major perk. I hope to return one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Relaxing Stay with one issue

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Staff, location,
Cons: Food quality at buffets
Location: The hotel's location is key of you are looking to get out to shop, eat, and explore. It is literally a 2 minute walk from 5th avenue.
Over-all we really enjoyed our stay at The Royal. The hotel is beautiful: buildings, grounds, pool, and beach. The ocean was absolutely wonderful, with beautiful clear water. We did have to wait until 4:00 to check-in to our room after being told multiple times it would be ready at 3:00; however, we were given our hotel bracelets and were able to eat lunch and enjoy the hotel while we waited. The hotel's location is key of you are looking to get out to shop, eat, and explore. It is literally a 2 minute walk from 5th avenue where there are TONS of restaurants, shops, and even a mall. We went to Coco Bongo on my birthday and were a little hesitant to pay $70 per person for entry, but it was well worth it. The entry includes open bar, and the staff does not leave you without a drink in your hand! It is crowded, but the club puts on a show that lasts until 3am, and the club stays open until 4 or 5am. Between the show acts they play good dance music. We had a basic room, and it was very nice, with a large hot tub in the room, large bed, and nice shower. We were close to the "VIP" pool which is a smaller private pool, and quite area. We did go to up the beach every day, where there are plenty of chairs, some covered, and day beds (which I believe you have to rent). The service on the beach was excellent! Alejandra served us every day, and she was beyond wonderful! She remembered that we were celebrating my birthday, really took care of us, and always had a smile on her face. Pel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Nice getaway with the wife

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location and room.
Cons: Tapas restaurant was so-so.
Had a great time at this resort! Food was pretty good for an all-inclusive, Pelicanos for breakfast. Room was clean and hotel grounds were well maintained. Top shelf liquor was available and the bartenders were good. Excellent location on the beach and 2 blocks south of the main strip.