Ratings based on 1,483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids, IA

The absolute best!!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
From the cleanliness of the resort, excellent food and outstanding service from the staff this was THE BEST resort (and I'm picky!)! We will visit again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom omaha,ne

Absolutely breathtaking!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Food selections, drinks, beach views, multiple pool options!! I loved that it was adults only.
Cons: n/a
Location: fifth ave is just a street over, plenty of shops and restaurants to try as well as entertainment and night life.
beautiful views, luxury all around, such care and catering from every staff member, incredible options, endless variety of foods, pools, activities, events, ect! I plan on returning without a doubt. I know there are many places to stay but my experience was so incredible, I worry that no other resort can measure up to my experience here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom detroit

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The pool staff was excellent they had everyone involved in the activities. The food was very good I have to say that the Asian restaurant was the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great Adults-Only all-inclusive in Playa

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The variety and quality of the food and drinks. No kids allowed.
Cons: Internet service was spotty.
Location: It's in the heart of Playa Del Carmen, right next to the Fifth Avenue shopping strip that has tons of local shops and standard souvenir stores.
The Royal is amazing - the food, entertainment, drinks, and variety are all excellent. No screaming kids getting in the way (or killing your buzz) means you can relax and enjoy a trip with a significant other or friends. The rates are reasonable, and it seems like you can get good deals if you keep an eye on the prices on Expedia. We stayed in the Presidential Suite, which was incredible - has it's own roof-top pool and ocean view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Fantastic Resort!!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The resort was extremely clean and up-to-date. The drinks were great and made just as we requested them. The food was also quite good...however, some restaurants were better than others. Our favorites were Asiana (great soups and sushi) and Spice which is buffet style. Normally, I would shy away from buffets but the food was extremely fresh and made to order...the Mexican food was outstanding, especially the sopes and tostadas!!! The room was great, we had a junior suite with an "ocean view". The view was not really what I would call an ocean view, the rest of the room was worth the money. The only issue we really ran into is that our original room was right next door to construction which was quite loud. However, we made a call to the front desk and they had us in a new room the next morning. The service was outstanding! Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this resource to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

I can't say anything bad about this place.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere and the detail to making you happy. There was always a show right in the atrium at night. It was nice to sit and drink and watch.
Cons: Can't think of a thing. Oh, they cooked the lobster too long.
Location: 5th street is right there to buy items. We felt safe and enjoyed ourselves.
We use Best Day for our transportation and they were awesome. When we arrived at the motel we were greeted by bell men who graciously took our bags and we were taken to be checked in and given champagne. The lady helped us get checked in which was a breezy. Answered all our questions and helped us to our room. The room was the best I ever stayed at and clean. The whole resort was clean and so many people to help you if you needed anything. The food was awesome. Room service was 24 hours. The ladies who made up our room and turn down service was the best. If we need more items in the refrigerator we just had to call a number and it was brought quickly. Pool and beach areas were very nice. Did not like the one group of people trying to sell time shares but they don't think it is a time share because there is no maintenance fees. They were nice but didn't like that part. There were a variety of good restaurants. I was all inclusive and we tipped majority of the time. There are no kids which was nice. We met a lot of great people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mass

Right on the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Everything especially the atmoshere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location because we could walk to do some shopping
We had a wonderful time. Our room was beyond our expectation and the service was superior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Royal Playa del Carmen

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Service, food, location
Cons: Consistent bar offerings
Excellent facility, beautiful grounds, very clean. Food is terrific. Only issue was that not all bars carried the same liquors. Some staff were willing to go over the top and find our request, some not. Downside is the huge Hyatt being built next door literally obliterating views from the north side rooms and creating some noise every day but Sunday. This was our second visit and we would go back but hope changes in ownership don't make a big impact on the quality of food, drinks, and service which are all top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tomah Wi

Great Hotel Decent Food

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The bartenders and the waiters and all the staff at The Royal are great. The Room was one of the best we have ever stayed in.
Cons: The entertainment
Location: The hotel is in a great location for exploring the touristy part of town. Good Shopping
I arrived on 11/16 with my Wife. . We arrived at 12:30 and did not get our room until 3 pm, not to big of a deal but we had Expedia VIP Access which did not seem to mean a lot at this hotel. Overall, I will say that the Royal turned out to be a very nice resort; Great Staff and food. The Maria Marie was a strong 9 out of 10. The entertainment needs some improvement. If you enjoy a good time and don’t want to go to bed early there’s not much to do on the property after 10:30 ( no place for dancing ). The shows are good but need to be more upbeat. They all seem to have very dark themes and very similar each evening. We would go back again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

our favorite place in Mexico

Posted Nov 21, 2014
The Royal is nothing short of an amazing place to stay. It's walking distance from 5th Avenue, and you might actually feel that you don't even need to leave the resort, it's so wonderful. The staff is exceptional, friendly and extremely helpful. At one point, my husband and I were joking that their motto should be "you don't even have to ask" because everything we could possibly need to enjoy our trip was right there waiting for us. It turns out their motto is "Do everything with love", and let me tell you- it was definitely felt. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and the food was amazing, too. The only downside was construction noise from a resort being built next door. We weren't in the room enough to really care, though. We will definitely go back again and again, and next time we're bringing friends.