Ratings based on 1,739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

One of the nicest hotel -all inclusives we have at

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The restaurants blew us away. The food was prepared beautifully and with amazing presentation. They have really stepped up their game!!!
Cons: The nightly entertainment left much to be desired. Some talent but bad choreography. Need to bring in some outside talent.
Location: The hotel was so perfect didn't need to do much else. Loved that 5th ave was right outside the front door.
Can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel, the staff and the food. Far exceeded our expectations!! Will definately go back next year. The staff was so pleasant and kind. Couldn't do enough for us. Such genuine niceness and sincerity!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Old Bridge nj

Great place to stay in Riviera Maya

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Everything about this resort is excellent. All employees are very nice, room accommodations great, good choice of restaurants ASIANA is a must, refreshing pool and beautiful beach, and fantastic nightly entertainment every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL all-inclusive that is well-worth your mo

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The resort is beautiful, the staff is great & the food is good. I would visit this resort again & again!
Cons: The drive from the airport is about 45 minutes, so coordinate your direct transportation to & from beforehand.
Location: Try all of the restaurants that are included with the all-inclusive package and visit 5th Street for souveniors.
The Royal offers it all for a good price! The all-inclusive package provides great food, full bar & a fun, yet relaxing vacation. Take time to book a massage at the spa & make reservations at Maria Marie Restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We had a very nice time at this resort. The location was one of the best, close enough to 5th avenue to have easy access to shopping and restaurants yet far enough that the beach was quiet and protected. The food was very good. We also had a mayan massage at the spa and it was one of the best we have ever had. The spa facilities could have been improved by having some amenities that were shared so that couples could enjoy them together. There was sometimes difficulty having access to loungers by the pool as individuals would put towels to save them early on and never show up. I would suggest that staff be able to remove towels if they notice someone has not been there for a long time to make room for others.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Swim with sea gulls in the pool

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Hotel service was decent
Cons: Can't be fixed. Just don't stay at the royal....
Location: City location
Very disappointing stay. Terrible beach - crowded (it's a public beach), rusty pier disrupts the view, and water/sand are not picturesque. Sea gulls were nested in the cold pool the entire stay. Food quality was poor - bad ingredients and recipes. The service was fine. We switched to their sister resort - hyatt zilara in cancun after one day. Don't be misled by the reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis mn

Beautiful hotel in great location!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Nice people, clean, convenient location, good entertainment, good food and drinks, beautiful beach!
Cons: cooler room - blankets not down comforters on bed - updated iPods with updated docking stations
Location: Right in Playa - walk to shopping, dining, ferry to Cozumel, parasailing, jet skis, kayaking, tennis
This was our 4th time to Playa and our first stay at the Royale. We had a jr suite and it was very nice - we paid for "ocean view" and we could barely see the ocean. The room was nice & clean - bed was a little too hard for me! I wasn't impressed with the buffets but lunch & dinner at Asiana was outstanding, the Italian restaurant across the street is great too - Tapa's for lunch was also very good - loved the coffee shop!!! The shows at night were very good entertainment- the workers and other guests were all SO NICE! We loved that we could walk right out to 5th Ave for shopping, dinner, drinks! I felt very safe on 5th walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
It is an excellent Hotel. The staff is what makes it so great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Will definitely be visiting again

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Awesome time, excellent staff, Mario @ the Mediterranean Bar rocks! Clean grounds, impeccable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Y

20th anniversary

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We loved our stay. The staff did everything to make the vacation nothing short of impressive. Our only regret was we wished we had booked for a longer trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Feb 25, 2015
The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was top notch and as fresh as expected. The poolside activities were always entertaining. The room was clean and extremely well maintained daily. The location to shopping and other activities as well as the best part of the local Beaches was perfect. This was a fantastic Hotel. No kids!