Ratings based on 1,333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice resort

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful and the 24/7 catering is amesome! The Pelican restaurant was delicious and the view was amazing.
Cons: The smell of the rooms, it had a cigarette smell to it.
I currently went with my boyfriend in July 24th-28th, and it was an awesome experience. We both have busy lives so getting catered to was something we really enjoyed. The beach was amazing, the pool was also nice and clean. They have awesome shows and suprisingly the food was tasteful. The night life is fun as well, 5th street is walking distance and if you want to get away its definitely worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great resort, very relaxing

Posted Jul 26, 2014
We spent 5 nights at the resort in July 2014. The resort is perfect for a relaxing vacation. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. We had a great view in room 354. The pool is great, and the service is outstanding. Every meal was terrific and there are plenty of options. The ocean does have a slight smell to it, but is clear and clean. If you are looking for a relaxing time away, this is the place to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and closeness to downtown Playa del Carmen for shopping and the beach.
Overall this is an excellent all-inclusive resort, very clean, very comfortable. Pool was great and beach was very close. Several of the restaurants were very good, we only disliked the food at two of them, but that is a matter of taste. Two complaints however. First, we had Swimming with the Dolphins included in our reservation which was for two people. After inquiring with three separate hotel staff personnel, of which the first two could not provide any information, we finally learned that only one person could swim with the dolphins, it would cost an additional $106 for the second person. Since the reservation was for two people the second person should have been included as well. We did not partake in the Swimming with Dolphins due to this additional fee. A refund of any additional cost for this reservation would be appreciated. Second, a golf reservation was made two days in advance at the all-inclusive Playacar golf course through the Royal staff. When the reservation was made, the Royal staff indicated transportation to/from the golf course was included with the Golf Fee. Upon leaving the hotel the bellhops were unaware that transportation was to be provided, even though a receipt was given to them indicating such. After several discussions, a taxi was provided and paid for by the hotel, but they indicated I would have to pay for my return. The Golf Course staff, however confirmed that transportation was free and provided my return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Fun hotel full of entertainment

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We had a great honeymoon week here. The food was great, staff was nice, and the nightly entertainment was a pleasant surprise -high quality. We upgraded to a room with a pool and the construction didn't bother us much. What a great week! We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, BC

Wonderful resort with everything we wanted

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The restaurants and food, coffee bar, beach front, hotel staff, all the activities included, nightly entertainment and proximity to 5th Ave to shop.
Cons: The first room we had was just OK, it was the smallest room they offer I think.
Location: Great location, a block away from 5th Ave shopping, tour guides in the hotel to help plan all your excursions. Kayak, sea-coo, parasail on the beach.
This was our first trip to Mexico and we were not sure what to expect. We came to this resort as it was highly recommended online and from family that had gone there not long before. We absolutely loved the whole experience. The food at each of the restaurants on the resort was just incredible, we couldn't believe everything was all-inclusive and had to ask several times to be sure! It so far surpassed our expectations! The beach front was great compared to the others in the area, and the staff in every area were so wonderful and friendly. Also the entertainment at the hotel each night was really awesome! All the hotel administration staff were really on their game too - we had a small problem with our AC in the room one night and we were instantly upgraded to a bigger room and given complimentary spa treatments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Angleton TX

Perfect vacation destination for couples

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The food was awesome, Asiana was our favorite restaurant. The large pool was a great hang out scene, the beach area was amazing. The Royal staff really went the extra mile to make our stay there memorable. The rooms were a good size, pillows super comfy, mini bar and snacks well stocked, bathrooms were nice also. The lobby bar and both poolside bars were our favorite. Definitely will make a return trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Truely Royal

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Serve Lobster on the all inclusive menu.
Location: 5th St. is one block and if you can't find it or do it on 5th street, you don't need to go!
We had a wonderful trip. Everything was spectacular and the staff was the BEST. We have been to this resort many times and enjoy the hotel and area very much. This time we tried Expedia and found it to be hasslefree, easy and the best decision we could have made. Thanks for everything!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Loved it!!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
We enjoyed the resort. Staff was incredible. Food was amazing. Rooms were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great Honeymoon!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Most of the restaurants are air conditioned which makes for a nice and relaxing occasion.
Cons: Some kind of air movers in the big open air great room would be nice. It was hard to watch some of the shows because it was to hot.
Location: We enjoyed walking down 5th Ave. and enjoying the experience. We also took the ferry over to Cozumel where we enjoyed the day. Highly recommended!!!
We had a great experience at The Royal. We had some issues at the beginning with the toilet in our room not flushing but after two days of issues we were moved to another room. The staff are exceptional and work hard to keep you happy. My wife and I loved it and will travel back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Perfect view of the beach from balcony

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: One air conditioned bar would be nice
Location: We participated in a night time expedition and also did a day tour of the Mayan Ruins
It was absolute paradise. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The rooms were wonderful and the access to pools and the beach were wonderful.