Ratings based on 1,405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Excellent staff. Didn't always deliver on promise

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Spent extra 80.00 a night on view room with promise of a Daily paper (never delivered) bottle of wine (never deluvered) and no extra chargcharge for chefs plate restaurant (no biggie but service fine). Sommelier very helpful. House wine not palatable. Houg at 6.00 would have been far superior.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Never Again

Posted Sep 17, 2014
I have been to this Hotel at least a half of a dozen times so far. I kept trying it bc of its rating by others and price reduced. Obviously a lot of people don't travel much or follow trends easily. We love Mexico and go 3-4 times a year. But this Hotel gets worse and worse. The food is mediocre, the service is not consistent and to expect a follow up on any issue never happens. The time before last we had a HUGE condensation leak from the AC unit. I own a HVAC business so it was apparent that the flooding in my room and lack of A/C pointed to a frozen A coil. I called the front desk and reported the problem no less than 3 times before I physically went down and asked to be moved. Night after night I was ignored until I drug an employee to my room on the third day. Finally I was moved. It's a lot of money to be hot and splash through a flooded room. This last visit I was humiliated in one of their nicer resturants bc the front desk never took a copy of my Am. Exp card at check in. They demanded payment before I was allowed to leave the restaurant. (Lobster up charge) One would think several spa treatments and a gift store purchase to my room this would have been caught and corrected. Hotel Mgr was physically intimidating and ALL staff was out of line and handled the situation poorly. I did not feel safe and was treated like a criminal for an obvious oversight by an employee. 2 bad experiences and NEVER again. I will stay only at Palace Resorts! Consistency is everything!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Awesome!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: 5th avenue shopping
This was for our 10th anniversary and everything was above and beyond!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Wonderful!!!! Amazing place to stay and hope to visit again some time soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great VACATION!!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Service, Food and Amenities!
Cons: Nothing
Location: 5th Ave location
First time at this resort and it will not be the last. Service is above all other resorts! Resort was beautiful and the beach area was great as well. No body bothers you to try to sell you stuff and the staff was tremendous! The Spice Restaurant was one of our favorites! The Hostess Margarita was very professional and friendly. They focus alot on how they treat their clients! 5 star resort at a great price as well. You will not be disappointed!! We plan to go back in the future!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing Hotel near Beach!

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Let me start off with saying that this hotel is Gorgeous, the view is amazing! Rooms 278-283 have a nice small view of the beach that was nice.The beach is right behind the hotel, don't have to walk much.Once we were out on the beach from our hotel we walked alittle bit to the left where the water seemed nicer. The staff leaves you speehless, literally. Their always making sure your not needing anything, ALWAYS at your service! They have nightly shows w/ different themes! Great food, one of our fav places was Maria Marie & another one towards the back that I can't think of right now. The staff in the restaurants are remarkable, they are at your needs for whatever little thing it may be! Some people that come to mind that were amazing were Enrique that I believe is guest services, they do try to get you to take an invitation to have breakfast with him, then send you to other people to try an get you to become a member so be prepared to be with them for at least 3-4 hours if you decide to. You also get some incentives if you decide to do the invitation but decline on becomng a member. Also what is helpful is when booking your flight go ahead and puchase your transportation, very helpful and the drivers (BEST DAY) are great. Not only do they take you to and from your hotel, there great about giving you tips on what's better to do around their.. You will also get a chance to book any tours with them at the hotel, which I suggest you do so cause its just that much easier ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Telford, PA

Royal Playa Del Carmen - All Inclusive trip

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The location is right on the Beach and one block from 5th Avenue shopping. Everything is with in walking distance even the ferry to Cozumel.
The place is fantastic. The staff is helpful, they have shows every night and the food is great. They make to food to order with many different types of food to chose from for each meal. The Asiana was my favorite of all of the restuants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Wonderful resort on the beach!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
We had a wonderful time at this resort! The food was amazing! So many restaurants to choose from. The staff was great: Jorge in Spice Restaurant made sure we had everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

A most wonderful 9 days

Posted Sep 13, 2014
We spent 9 days at the resort, and in those nine days, we never left the grounds; never felt the need to. We had all we needed right there - great food, incredible service, beautiful beach and pools. The staff is incredible. Everyone from Alex, our driver, who drove us to and from the airport to our waiters and hostesses at the restaurants. Shout outs go to: - Alex, our driver, to and from the airport - Oscar, our Concierge contact - Nancy, hostess at The Mediterranean - Eva and Vi, our poolside / beachside waitresses - Natalie, the spa manicurist - Rubin, waiter at Maria Marie - And the entire room service staff :) We loved the experience so much, we bought into the resorts Real Club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laredo tx

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Customer service at retail store inside resort. Lady not very friendly when paying two swipe rate transactions.
Location: Great location. 5th avenue a block away and local restaurants.
Our first time visiting Playa Del Carmen and this place was paradise. Excellent service from all hotel staff. Great restaurants and great location.