Ratings based on 1,780 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Not a five star resort

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Hotel staff very nice,helpful&friendly. Beach area below average (lots of seaweed,rocks in the water) . Food extremely poor(limited selection,same food for eight days for breakfast,lunch,diner).food quality also very poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Great experience

Posted Mar 28, 2015
First time to Mexico and would go back to this resort. The staff was amazing, food/restaurants were great and the pools were wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
We had an amazing stay! The staff was perfect and the service was unreal. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are a great size!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines IA

Beautiful Resort

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: It was clean well kept & very convenient to the down town Playa area.
Cons: If they could have cleaned up the beach with the sea weed that would have make it nicer.
Location: great location next to down town Playa. You can shop, take the ferry to Cozumel, snorkel, sail, zip line. You can also walk to Coco Bongo.
It is a Beautiful Resort you won't be disappointed. The restaurant choices are good, booze choices are good & the resort is very conveniently located next to the down town Playa Del Carmen shopping area. No cab needed it's walking distance. The only thing that wasn't so pleasant was the sea weed that kept washing up onto the shore but then that may have just been the water conditions this year but it was all along the shore line up & down the beach so that made the beach a little smelly. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Amazing hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2015
We are so happy we picked this hotel for our recent trip to Cancun. It was well worth the money. Beautiful hotel; great staff; the food & drinks were incredible. We'll definately return to this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Royal Oak, Michigan

Excellent hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Everything was very well kept at the resort. The staff is excellent. Great food, great drink selection, and wonderful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved almost every part about our stay!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The pool area and wide range of activities, the staff, rooms and gym
Cons: The food could be improved. Also the beach area is good but I think there are better in playa (not the hotel's fault, I think it is just the location
Location: There is so much to do nearby and very fun to walk into Playa for a night of dinner, drinks and dancing
We stayed at the Royal for 5 nights and absolutely loved it! We could not have asked for a better location and we loved the fact that we could walk into town for dinner, drinks or to go out. It was nice not to have to worry about a cab and to be in the center of everything. Yet when inside the hotel, you did not feel as if you are so close to town. The pool was great and we spent most of our time there each day. Very nice gym and loved that they offered some classes at the gym too! Every staff member we ran into went above and beyond and were so friendly and helpful. The room was nice, spacious and very clean. We upgraded to an ocean view and absolutely loved the location of our room and spending time on the porch each evening. The only things I would say about this hotel is the food was definitely good just not great. Although breakfast WAS great and I was spoiled by having so much fruit and fresh juices everyday. Lunch and dinner were still good and the nice part was that there were a lot of options to choose from. I still have zero complaints about this place and would (and hopefully will!) come back at some point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia pa

Want relaxation? This is the place!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
The hotel is so clean and every person we encountered was willing to help and make it a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The food was great and even the buffet offered some unique options. I would highly recommend the Royal for a quick or long vacation in Mexico!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn ny

spectacular stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Absolutely spectacular stay. Literally from check in to check out. Staff was amazing. Rooms were clean and spacious. So many activities on hotel grounds. Just amazing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service; excellent food

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Beautiful beach and property; located in a quaint Mexican town with shopping walking distance away
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Beautiful suite; both an active pool and a separate quiet pool that is easily accessible; great coffee shop; all meals were exceptional