Ratings based on 1,731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Y

20th anniversary

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We loved our stay. The staff did everything to make the vacation nothing short of impressive. Our only regret was we wished we had booked for a longer trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Feb 25, 2015
The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was top notch and as fresh as expected. The poolside activities were always entertaining. The room was clean and extremely well maintained daily. The location to shopping and other activities as well as the best part of the local Beaches was perfect. This was a fantastic Hotel. No kids!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City

Affordable Luxury All Inclusive.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
This hotel is very clever if I can put in this way... the owner found that the all inclusive concepts are way too massive giving priority to quantity over quality (think about all the spring breakers), or quite the opposite, extremely exclusive hotels with very personalized service that will leave your pocket literally empty. This concept is between of the two. No wonders why during my past three visit over 4 years, the hotel is always crowded. There are excellent points to mention like the service which is pretty much unbeatable. The rooms are decently comfort. The location is probably the best of everything since is in the heart of Playa and most the all inclusive hotels are outside the town. WiFi works fine. The gym is acceptable. The beach so peaceful and enjoyable. I enjoy the kids free policy. What they should improve? Personally I hate when they serve the drinks in plastic glasses, more when you are not at the beach or the pool. The toiletries are generic, this kind of hotel should invest in designer toiletries, Overall the food is good, but something is really missing, they can do it better. By any way, this place is a safe and correct choice. Certainly I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Platte, Ne

Treated like "Royals"!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The restaurant selection and quality of food was amazing!
Cons: The first night we had a slightly lumpy bed however it was a temporary room so the rest of the stay in another room solved any issue.
Location: Walking distance to great shopping on "5th Avenue". Travel to Chichen Itza was a long day but well worth the time on the bus!!
Loved our stay at The Royal in Playa del Carmen. From the second we walked into the hotel we were greeted with friendly, happy employees that took care of our every whim. The food was amazing and had a wonderful experience eating at most of the restaurants on the resort. Evening entertainment in the lobby offered an opportunity to visit with other guest and relax without having to go out if you didn't feel the need. However, there are many fun destinations just a short walk away on "5th Avenue" with some great shopping as well. The rooms were very comfortable for the most part. We had a slightly lumpy bed the first night but a change in rooms remedied the issue. Nightly turndown service was complimented with a selection of pleasant scents added to the room. The whirlpool tub is a comfortable size for two and very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Royal Resort

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: 5th Ave shopping, quick access to Cozumel, book tours with alltournative.
Awesome! Great! Best resort in Playa. Beach is cleanest in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Extremely friendly staff. Place was immaculate. Would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chatsworth, Ca.

Great Hotel with excellent accommodations

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The food and customer service were very impressive.
Cons: They have this platinum member that they try to sell to you & it's a little over the top on the pressure they put on you to buy in. like buying a car!
Location: Great location to beach' and many excursions close by. We did Tulum, which was fun. All our trips were booked through hotel, and the price was reasona
Could not say enough about the customer service, cleanliness of room & the grounds are beautiful. The show every night was very entertaining & the food was amazing. We will definitely return and would recommend this to hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice, But Consistently Inconsistent

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The resort overall is in excellent condition, with nice amenities, friendly staff, good food, and a lovely beach.
Cons: CONSISTENCY! And the drinks were pretty marginal.
Location: The resort is actually downtown, so you're right next to a mall (the Playa del Carmen equivalent of 5th Avenue).
First, let me say that my wife and I enjoyed our stay and that the resort overall is in excellent condition, with nice amenities, friendly staff, good food, acceptable drinks, etc. That having been said, everything about our experience was inconsistent. You would order the same drink back-to-back and get something that tasted completely different; I ordered the same dish at the same restaurant two different nights and it came out differently; rules and policies were applied haphazardly. The list goes on and on...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Really nice resort

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The food and location.
Cons: Nightly entertainment was just about the same every night with just different costumes. disco night was good. A dj would be good for a couple nights
Location: Great location
We had a great experience at this motel. The food was great. The facilities were great. Nice location close to downtown. We had read reviews about smell which we noticed occasionally but just in a small areas around the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Great resort, consistently good food, restaurants were easy to get into. Good beach in front of the resort and close to town for exploring. I would go back again. I would recommend you skip the sales presentation regarding the vacation club, takes a couple hours and it is not worth it, basically a repackaged, overpriced time share. Other than that the resort is great.