Ratings based on 1,382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Wonderful resort, excellent service

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: it was beautiful.
Cons: expedia did not give me what I requested and oceanview suite. I had to pay and upgrade when we arrived,
Location: there were clubs, bars and restaurants nearby.
Every room is a suite and the resort makes sure you get everything you need. Every room has a huge Jacuzzi tub, a balcony and a bar in the room. The service was excellent and the resort is beautiful. We had a great time and I will definitely go there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, pool, rooms
Location: Shopping on fifth avenue Bars on 12 th street
The staff were really friendly and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Amazing safe clean hotel - very relaxing

Posted Aug 27, 2014
We loved this hotel experience and cannot wait to recommend to friends or stay again there :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Beautiful location right on the beach.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful and the staff was great. Very clean and room service was a real treat!
Location: We spent a lot of time at the pool and beach, but we inquired about we decided to do a day trip with alltournative to Jungle Maya and it was a blast!
The location was perfect. The restaurants were a pleasant surprise the food was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating without ever being intrusive, always so polite and accommodating. Really one of the most pleasurable vacations we have ever been on! We have recommended this trip to friends since being home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Expect the Exceptional

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location, the layout of the resort, the quietness and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Ideal location for shopping (5th Ave) walking distance from the resort. Lots of wine bars.
My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Mexico. We stayed at The Royal Playa Del Carmen. It was fantastic! The treatment of the staff were all so wonderful and friendly. There are seven restuarants on the resort, our favorite was Spice and Pelicanos. Lucas and Dayes, our waiters at the Pelicanos were great. I had a spa day at Sap Zul. vapor room, sauna and a massage and facial with Edith. I highly recommend also the Jacuzzi. The staff were friendly and helpful. A beautiful resort, immaculate grounds with my balcony overlooking the carribbean sea. I could have stayed another week. (highly recommend). Hola to everyone at The Royal and thank you so very much for making my stay a wonderul experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great hotel. Food is amazing!! Best food you will have at an all inclusive. The only downside is no umbrellas at pool or beach so if you burn easy beware!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Perfection...No Complaints!!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: Perfect location, right at the end of 5th avenue
Blown away at the Royal,from the min we walked in the door we were treated like royalty,we were greeted with champagne & given our room keys.The food was incredible in all of the restaurants & the service far exceeded our expectations.At Pelicanos we were greeted by Mario,who went above and beyond to make sure we were happy & had everything we needed.Our waiters Lucas & Eleno were off the charts;they were on top of everything,we didn’t have to ask for anything.Tapas which was right next door to Pelicanos was also an unbelievable experience;Berilo,our waiter,made sure our experience was one to remember.He didn’t even blink an eye & our food was served quickly,hot & was fantastic.When we would order room service,which was also very good.Perez was our waiter & was the most friendly person I have met,he made sure we had everything we needed before he left & always greeted us with a friendly smile.We would stop off at the Lobby Martini Bar to visit our man Tony;I swear my bf hasn’t had a colder beer than he did here,every other word out of his mouth was “mmm” either for the food or the cold beer.Before his beer was empty a new one would be there without asking.Tony was cool to hang out with & gave us recommendations on the restaurants.While at the pool Benita & Vi were our waitresses.They worked their butts off running back & forth.There wasn’t more than a few min’s that went by before we had refills;they were both very sweet, friendly & hard workers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Katy, Texas

Amazing

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: No
Location: Xplor and Xel Ha we great day adventures for zip lining and snorkeling.
Perfect location. Easy beach access. Great pools, especially the one by the Mediterranean restaurant. Only a block away from the local shopping. Staff was fabulous, especially Alejandro. Food choices were fabulous with plenty of selections. Great selection of premium liquor. Adults only which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass

Great hotel on beach. Not much to do but relax.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Construction on a hotel next door made a mi afternoon nap in the room difficult but everything else was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Madison, MS

Wonderful resort! Way exceeded our expectations

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Location: The Maya Jungle tour was awesome, we had a wonderful tour guide. We enjoyed several activities there including, repelling, zip lining, and snorkeling.
We loved everything about this resort, service is great, food is wonderful and lots of choices! Very clean and beautiful hotel. The only thing negative I could say is the beach is not the best, lots of vegetation and rocks in it. Pretty to look at but not really to get into the ocean. Overall experience was great and I will go back there!