Ratings based on 1,826 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Nice and convenient

Posted Apr 17, 2015
This resort was great for me and my husband. It's close to the beach which unfortunately smelled like seaweed but it was still beautiful. It's extremely close to 5th avenue. The excursion and travel services are located right inside the resort which is nice and they are prompt! There are nice food selections. There are shows every night. The staff are great and are always there when you need something. It's a nice resort and kid free!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mississauga ontario

On the beach and steps to shops and mall

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Very nice resort like a huge mansion Staff are very friendly and very helpful Food was great with plenty of variety Service was great Very clean comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic beach resort for our Honeymoon

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were looking for a great all-inclusive beach resort in Playa del Carmen for our honeymoon, and the Royal PDC was the answer. You really get everything you pay for. Great location, great food, and great service. The rooms set this resort at the top and the included alcohol is a major perk. I hope to return one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Relaxing Stay with one issue

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Staff, location,
Cons: Food quality at buffets
Location: The hotel's location is key of you are looking to get out to shop, eat, and explore. It is literally a 2 minute walk from 5th avenue.
Over-all we really enjoyed our stay at The Royal. The hotel is beautiful: buildings, grounds, pool, and beach. The ocean was absolutely wonderful, with beautiful clear water. We did have to wait until 4:00 to check-in to our room after being told multiple times it would be ready at 3:00; however, we were given our hotel bracelets and were able to eat lunch and enjoy the hotel while we waited. The hotel's location is key of you are looking to get out to shop, eat, and explore. It is literally a 2 minute walk from 5th avenue where there are TONS of restaurants, shops, and even a mall. We went to Coco Bongo on my birthday and were a little hesitant to pay $70 per person for entry, but it was well worth it. The entry includes open bar, and the staff does not leave you without a drink in your hand! It is crowded, but the club puts on a show that lasts until 3am, and the club stays open until 4 or 5am. Between the show acts they play good dance music. We had a basic room, and it was very nice, with a large hot tub in the room, large bed, and nice shower. We were close to the "VIP" pool which is a smaller private pool, and quite area. We did go to up the beach every day, where there are plenty of chairs, some covered, and day beds (which I believe you have to rent). The service on the beach was excellent! Alejandra served us every day, and she was beyond wonderful! She remembered that we were celebrating my birthday, really took care of us, and always had a smile on her face. Pel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Nice getaway with the wife

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location and room.
Cons: Tapas restaurant was so-so.
Had a great time at this resort! Food was pretty good for an all-inclusive, Pelicanos for breakfast. Room was clean and hotel grounds were well maintained. Top shelf liquor was available and the bartenders were good. Excellent location on the beach and 2 blocks south of the main strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from Minnesota

Fantastic stay, close to everything

Posted Apr 15, 2015
My husband and I had a wonderful time at The Royal. This was our first adults only all inclusive and it truly lived up to its name. We would definitely go back again. T
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent food and service

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We had 8 days at the resort. We tried some of the restaurants, but not all. The ones we ate at were wonderful. The staff were all super cute us and friendly. There was one particular server named RUTH who went above and beyond - and she always had a smile on her face. We will go back to this resort
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Dirty location, dirty beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I felt like I was being driven through the slums and safety was a concern over I arrived.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Public Beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The hotel was amazing.... But the beach is public in front on the hotel and there is a public access street next I the hotel. There was so much seaweed that we never made it in the water. Spent the entire time at the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Magnificent Resort!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Located 1 block from lots of shopping on "Fifth Avenue" where there are many nicer American stores mixed in with local Mexican shops and restaurants.
We were told to expect and outstanding overall experience at The Royal Playa del Carmen, and we were not the least bit disappointed! Hands down this was the most excellent resort we have ever visited. World class facilities with food, drinks and hospitality to match! Be prepared to be greeted by each hotel employee you pass. Did I mention the outstanding hospitality... It truly was. The free wifi was strong enough to even work while out on the beach. Oddly the weakest place for wifi was in the lobby... Was great in the rooms too. We ate at all of the restaurants and they all were excellent in their own ways. Having a coffee house offering "specialty coffees" in the mornings was a real treat for us too. The resort is very conveniently located in town where you can easily walk from the resort to shop for anything you could possibly want. Overall, an excellent experience. We are already looking forward to a return visit! Stayed March 2015, traveled with family