Ratings based on 1,735 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Swim with sea gulls in the pool

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Hotel service was decent
Cons: Can't be fixed. Just don't stay at the royal....
Location: City location
Very disappointing stay. Terrible beach - crowded (it's a public beach), rusty pier disrupts the view, and water/sand are not picturesque. Sea gulls were nested in the cold pool the entire stay. Food quality was poor - bad ingredients and recipes. The service was fine. We switched to their sister resort - hyatt zilara in cancun after one day. Don't be misled by the reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom minneapolis mn

Beautiful hotel in great location!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Nice people, clean, convenient location, good entertainment, good food and drinks, beautiful beach!
Cons: cooler room - blankets not down comforters on bed - updated iPods with updated docking stations
Location: Right in Playa - walk to shopping, dining, ferry to Cozumel, parasailing, jet skis, kayaking, tennis
This was our 4th time to Playa and our first stay at the Royale. We had a jr suite and it was very nice - we paid for "ocean view" and we could barely see the ocean. The room was nice & clean - bed was a little too hard for me! I wasn't impressed with the buffets but lunch & dinner at Asiana was outstanding, the Italian restaurant across the street is great too - Tapa's for lunch was also very good - loved the coffee shop!!! The shows at night were very good entertainment- the workers and other guests were all SO NICE! We loved that we could walk right out to 5th Ave for shopping, dinner, drinks! I felt very safe on 5th walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
It is an excellent Hotel. The staff is what makes it so great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Will definitely be visiting again

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Awesome time, excellent staff, Mario @ the Mediterranean Bar rocks! Clean grounds, impeccable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Y

20th anniversary

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We loved our stay. The staff did everything to make the vacation nothing short of impressive. Our only regret was we wished we had booked for a longer trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Feb 25, 2015
The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The food was top notch and as fresh as expected. The poolside activities were always entertaining. The room was clean and extremely well maintained daily. The location to shopping and other activities as well as the best part of the local Beaches was perfect. This was a fantastic Hotel. No kids!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City

Affordable Luxury All Inclusive.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
This hotel is very clever if I can put in this way... the owner found that the all inclusive concepts are way too massive giving priority to quantity over quality (think about all the spring breakers), or quite the opposite, extremely exclusive hotels with very personalized service that will leave your pocket literally empty. This concept is between of the two. No wonders why during my past three visit over 4 years, the hotel is always crowded. There are excellent points to mention like the service which is pretty much unbeatable. The rooms are decently comfort. The location is probably the best of everything since is in the heart of Playa and most the all inclusive hotels are outside the town. WiFi works fine. The gym is acceptable. The beach so peaceful and enjoyable. I enjoy the kids free policy. What they should improve? Personally I hate when they serve the drinks in plastic glasses, more when you are not at the beach or the pool. The toiletries are generic, this kind of hotel should invest in designer toiletries, Overall the food is good, but something is really missing, they can do it better. By any way, this place is a safe and correct choice. Certainly I would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Platte, Ne

Treated like "Royals"!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The restaurant selection and quality of food was amazing!
Cons: The first night we had a slightly lumpy bed however it was a temporary room so the rest of the stay in another room solved any issue.
Location: Walking distance to great shopping on "5th Avenue". Travel to Chichen Itza was a long day but well worth the time on the bus!!
Loved our stay at The Royal in Playa del Carmen. From the second we walked into the hotel we were greeted with friendly, happy employees that took care of our every whim. The food was amazing and had a wonderful experience eating at most of the restaurants on the resort. Evening entertainment in the lobby offered an opportunity to visit with other guest and relax without having to go out if you didn't feel the need. However, there are many fun destinations just a short walk away on "5th Avenue" with some great shopping as well. The rooms were very comfortable for the most part. We had a slightly lumpy bed the first night but a change in rooms remedied the issue. Nightly turndown service was complimented with a selection of pleasant scents added to the room. The whirlpool tub is a comfortable size for two and very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Royal Resort

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Location: 5th Ave shopping, quick access to Cozumel, book tours with alltournative.
Awesome! Great! Best resort in Playa. Beach is cleanest in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Extremely friendly staff. Place was immaculate. Would recommend it to anyone.