Ratings based on 1,774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Royal Oak, Michigan

Excellent hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Everything was very well kept at the resort. The staff is excellent. Great food, great drink selection, and wonderful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved almost every part about our stay!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The pool area and wide range of activities, the staff, rooms and gym
Cons: The food could be improved. Also the beach area is good but I think there are better in playa (not the hotel's fault, I think it is just the location
Location: There is so much to do nearby and very fun to walk into Playa for a night of dinner, drinks and dancing
We stayed at the Royal for 5 nights and absolutely loved it! We could not have asked for a better location and we loved the fact that we could walk into town for dinner, drinks or to go out. It was nice not to have to worry about a cab and to be in the center of everything. Yet when inside the hotel, you did not feel as if you are so close to town. The pool was great and we spent most of our time there each day. Very nice gym and loved that they offered some classes at the gym too! Every staff member we ran into went above and beyond and were so friendly and helpful. The room was nice, spacious and very clean. We upgraded to an ocean view and absolutely loved the location of our room and spending time on the porch each evening. The only things I would say about this hotel is the food was definitely good just not great. Although breakfast WAS great and I was spoiled by having so much fruit and fresh juices everyday. Lunch and dinner were still good and the nice part was that there were a lot of options to choose from. I still have zero complaints about this place and would (and hopefully will!) come back at some point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia pa

Want relaxation? This is the place!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
The hotel is so clean and every person we encountered was willing to help and make it a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The food was great and even the buffet offered some unique options. I would highly recommend the Royal for a quick or long vacation in Mexico!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn ny

spectacular stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Absolutely spectacular stay. Literally from check in to check out. Staff was amazing. Rooms were clean and spacious. So many activities on hotel grounds. Just amazing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great service; excellent food

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Beautiful beach and property; located in a quaint Mexican town with shopping walking distance away
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Beautiful suite; both an active pool and a separate quiet pool that is easily accessible; great coffee shop; all meals were exceptional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing will be back!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We had a great time. Service is amazing and cleanliness is impeccable. We will be back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I never write reviews but I feel compelled to compliment the staff.. Excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Bay,, CA

Nice centrally located hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: staff was wonderful
Cons: a bigger gym would of been nice and a map to the different activities which go on all day!
Location: Beach, shopping on 5th, Rio Secreto was special. The tasting menu was terrific
Very nice and relaxing visit. Beautiful and great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Mexican paradise

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Location: Did the sea turtles excursion through Ocean Tours which was awesome. Definitely visit Playa del Carmen-food & drink were delish!
My fiancé and I just spent 6 days at The Royal to celebrate his birthday and our recent engagement. I have always been an all-inclusive resort traveler and The Royal is definitely at the top of my favorites list. The food is amazing, the staff is friendly and helpful and we loved having Playa del Carmen steps away from the hotel. We found out early that you had to claim "prime real-estate" at the pool by 8am, which wasn't a big deal to us. The Coffee House helped us get moving early in the mornings. The pool bar got a little hectic in the afternoon, but there were alternative pools if you prefer peace and quiet. Asiana was our favorite restaurant. The french fries at Spice were AH-MAZING (requested them daily and boy did they deliver!) Drinks were plentiful and the bartenders were entertaining. Prudencia was definitely our favorite pool waitress-she always greeted us with a huge smile. The beach was clean and the water magnificent. Our only disappointment was a large group of 18 year olds spring breaking with their parents. For an adult only resort, we expected...adults. The kids took over the pool bar area, were rude to other guests and had little consideration for others blasting music in their pool front rooms. The security and management attempted to handle the situation as best they could, and were very apologetic. Overall, it was a great resort/vacation and we plan to return...most likely at another time of year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom detroit

Beautiful resort with great services.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Highly recommend. Great beach and pool. Located in busy hot spot but still private and very nice.