Ratings based on 1,942 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M.

Amazing Honeymoon

Posted May 29, 2015
We had a great time at Royal! Stuff are suuuuper nice food is very very good and room is amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Racine

Very nice hotel and staff.

Posted May 28, 2015
Very nice hotel and staff! We stayed in the Presidential Suite and the service was really nice. The hotel facilities are excellent. The gym could be renovated. The hotel is close to Downtown and La Quinta Av. The Restaurants are really good, specially the Le Chef. The beach in front of the hotel is not the best one and there is no enough space for so many chairs. They should review it. The staff is great and a special thanks to Igor, Pedro and Arturo from Le Chef and also for a lady that was cleaning the glasses in the swimming pool area. Very nice people that make the hotel a 4.5 stars! Well done!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The suite and the location of hotel. It's near 5th Avenue where all the stores, restuarants, etc. are located.
We turned a horrible situation to a wonderful experience with friends and family.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom asdf

Boring

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Cons: entertainment
No night life, restaurants and bars closed by 10:45pm, lack of good entertainment, ocean was too rocky too swim in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rapid City, SD

Awesome place, adults only & great restaurants!

Posted May 26, 2015
I chose The Royal at Playa del Carmen on a whim less than 2 weeks before deciding to book a solo trip, having never been to Playa. I chose The Royal based on "adults only" policy and the restaurant reviews, because foodies do not want buffet/cafeteria style food on vacation. I have to say that I got extremely lucky in choosing this place! The staff was amazing, the grounds and facilities were awesome, the beach beautiful, and the proximity to 5th Avenue just a block away for shopping and local food outside the resort. Inside the resort, Asiana had to be the best restaurant, hands down! It's all-inclusive, a first for me, and that was fun to experience. I did it all, including room service. I sprang for extras like bottles of premium wine (take the unfinished bottle back to your room for later!), a Mayan massage, and the tasting menu one night at Chef's Plate. I can't say enough about this place and am looking forward to the next time!!! If you are single and want to take a solo trip to Playa, rest assured that THIS is your place! It's safe, close to everything so no taxis are required unless you want to venture much farther away if not on a booked excursion, and the food is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great hotel!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The room was spectacular! The jetted tub was relaxing and room service was amazing and available 24/7. Property is well-kept.
Cons: The beach was somewhat disappointing. There was a ton of seaweed that kept washing up onto the shore. And the bed sheets were hard.
The property itself is beautiful! Staff is very friendly and food at the restaurants we ate, was really good. I went on a girlfriend trip and we loved that it was adult-only! Despite Playa del Carmen being further away from the airport, it's located in a really booming area, near 5th Avenue shopping, restaurants and nightlife, which we really appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Tx

Awesome hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, food, staff, room, pretty much everything
Cons: I would suggest cleaning up the beach a little. Too much seaweed.
Location: A few steps away from 5th avanue so lots of shopping, bars, and restaurants
Loved the hotel. The staff was very attentive and super nice. The food was awesome. The pool was very nice and full of activities. The night shows were amazing. The beach was nice but a lot of seaweed. However, it wasn't enough to ruin the vacation. We still enjoyed the beach. Loved the location..just a few steps from 5th Avenue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Very nice all inclusive resort. Resturants were decent, bars and liquor selection outstanding. Serve most premium liquor at no extra cost. Pool scene nice, however if looking for a quiet peaceful location go to beach Varandas. The daily hospitality host at the pool was a bit loud and up noxious. However, it appeared that most quests enjoyed the constant pool activities that he loudly broadcasts. Overall experience was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Short of expectations; staff needs more training

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The spa was amazing, great staff there, and reasonable prices! Maria-Marie and Mediterranean restaurants only decent ones. Room service was quick.
Cons: Staff, staff, staff-they were rude on several occasions as if bothered often, beach service, quality of food at restaurants.
Location: The spa is worthwhile. 5th avenue was very nice, but be careful when showing interest in anything to buy as they won't leave you alone.
Beautiful property but poor management-additional training of staff (all but spa staff) is desperately needed, starting with the check-in staff. Staff should be friendlier and more available (not simply by presence); check-in should be quicker especially when not busy, and the champagne should be served to everyone in the lobby, don't single out a couple sitting next to everyone else; the selection of Mexican food was disappointing as were the chips and guacamole; beach service is almost non-existent; Asiana was not at all impressive nor were any of the other restaurants; the only restaurants that were ok were Maria-Marie and the Mediterranean restaurants. The cabanas were in poor share for a 4.5 star resort. The beach and restaurants are also available to the public. The beach was kind of narrow and no one helped with chairs, tables, towels, etc. Would not return; we had a significantly better experience at the Moon Palace Resort in Cancun, and would rather go back there although its beach is not swimmable; the beach at the Royal was full of rocks and weeds anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Will Definitely Come Back

Posted May 25, 2015
Loved this hotel! The staff is so friendly and helpful. The room and the food and the pool were excellent!! The only compliant were the stray cats on the property. Too many of the roaming around at night.