Ratings based on 1,397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

A most wonderful 9 days

Posted Sep 13, 2014
We spent 9 days at the resort, and in those nine days, we never left the grounds; never felt the need to. We had all we needed right there - great food, incredible service, beautiful beach and pools. The staff is incredible. Everyone from Alex, our driver, who drove us to and from the airport to our waiters and hostesses at the restaurants. Shout outs go to: - Alex, our driver, to and from the airport - Oscar, our Concierge contact - Nancy, hostess at The Mediterranean - Eva and Vi, our poolside / beachside waitresses - Natalie, the spa manicurist - Rubin, waiter at Maria Marie - And the entire room service staff :) We loved the experience so much, we bought into the resorts Real Club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laredo tx

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Customer service at retail store inside resort. Lady not very friendly when paying two swipe rate transactions.
Location: Great location. 5th avenue a block away and local restaurants.
Our first time visiting Playa Del Carmen and this place was paradise. Excellent service from all hotel staff. Great restaurants and great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice nice beach very nice resort

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: nice staft very polite
Cons: none
Location: nice beach good shopping
best time in mexico could not ask for better polite staft nice people nice room good weather better than hard rock punta cana
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Great hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Bunch of friends stayed here before and recommended it to us. It totally exceed my expectation. The bed was comfortable, food were superb, and stuff were friendly. I would go back and stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Fabulous escape

Posted Sep 11, 2014
First time to this resort but definitely is a place we would return. The staff was very attentive and we loved the towel animals left on the bed each night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

it was good

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: hospitality
Cons: more things to do
Location: stayed at resort
it was good, could use more entertainment, the staff was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

The Royal has it all

Posted Sep 9, 2014
This resort has it all. From the moment you step into the resort you are treated with care and you start to relax. The resort is Very Clean. Noticed constantly cleaning and even changing the couch covers with clean ones (which is Very important in such a warm place) I have been to a few high end all inclusive and this one was perfect, no complaints. Amazing location so very easy to get to local shops and restaurants. I would walk 5th Ave almost every morning just to watch this wonderful place wake up. Food on the resort I have no complaints. My only suggestion is if you don't like the buffets at breakfast ask for the menu as there is lots more to choose from. If you go try all the places on the resort for breakfast, lunch and dinner as they all offer something diff. Met wonderful people on the trip as well. Look fwd to someday going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Everything we expected

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The location
Location: Location is on the beach and one block from 5th Ave. This is where everything is happening.
This was our 4th time to Playa Del Carmen and 1st time at an all inclusive since out first time there. We love the city but wanted to experience the best of both worlds which is all inclusive and the amenities that Playa del Carmen offers. This resort offered that at a luxury we expected and were very satisfied with. The staff was great, the grounds were clean and overall just a great experience. We enjoyed the food and the rooms were very quiet as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
The hotel is very nice, with a great location on the beach, proximity to shopping in the town, and a variety of restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Creedmoor, NC

Top Shelf

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything! Service, room, food/restaurants, pool, beach, etc.
Cons: Not a thing. Beach areas near us were rocky and had lots of seaweed, but our area was nice and staff kept seaweed up.
Location: As noted above.
We are lucky enough to travel to the caribbean twice per year. Overall, this is the nicest resort we have visited. They exceed in all areas: room, service, food, pool area, beach service, spa. Outstanding vacation that was relaxing with entertainment if you choose and staff who treat you like royalty. Our section of beach well kept and good walking area. One block off 5th avenue so you can walk for over a mile along street with no vehicles, to shop or dine at upscale or local vendors. Feels safe, easy walking. I highly recommend this resort.