Ratings based on 1,243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from New York

All inclusive in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Apr 19, 2014
OVERALL: Nice all inclusive. We were there for a week with my two adult children so had two rooms. PROS: Very friendly staff, clean, lots of restaurants to choose from. Natalie and Arte at the spa were great! Ana at BD Travel was also wonderful as a tour guide. We did the zip lines and snorkeled and both went off without a hitch. Food was mostly gourmet - aside from the taco bar at the Tapas restaurant, the Mexican food was surprisingly sparse. The view from our room and the Tequila and Cigar bar was great. The staff really made a difference - all outstanding. The staff did their best to navigate some of the guests who presented as quite entitled without offending anyone - some of the guests were really "out there". CONS: Construction next door was a problem - dusty and loud - and we were first put in a room with two beds when we requested one bed. We switched rooms the next day and the hotel was accommodating. The beach had a subtle sulfur odor. The air conditioning made the room smell musty and the one in our room rattled but I think this is typical for resorts. Also, the top shelf liquor was on display, but watch them make the drinks because they use bar liquor, not the top shelf. The worst part was the shopping outside of the hotel - talk about aggressive selling! There are good deals but some vendors actually followed us down the street hawking at us so if you go, prepare to feel like you're buying a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by doreen6221 from Long Island, NY

WONDERFUL STAY AT ROYAL

Posted Apr 17, 2014
My eldest daughter and I had a great vacation. We were fortunate to be upgraded and stayed first night at Grand Porto next door. Would definitely bring my granddaughters there. Our Royal Master suite at Royal was stunning. Only complaint would be that there is no water view due to construction. Had best meal at Asiana and best massage at spa. Beach service needs more help. Too much for one person to do which caused delays and melted drinks. Overall best location, friendliest staff and way too short VACATION. Do not hesitate to go there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Syracuse, NY

Great, clean hotel conveniently right in town.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Had a great stay here last week. Staff is very welcoming and accommodating. Food and drinks were good. Room was large and clean. Bed was hard, but to be expected in Mexico :) Beautiful grounds. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Royal Playa Del Carmen vacation

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Food, location, ocean with white sand, staff,.
Cons: The WiFi did not work half the time and our phone in our room did not work.
Location: Snorkeling was great in Cozumel and the hotel set everything up for our day away from the hotel.
This was our first time to Mexico and the hotel did not disappoint us. The staff was wonderful and professional. The food was terrific. We ate in mostly the Spice restaurant and Pilicano's because we were usually on our way someplace and the buffet style worked the best. the hotel is conveniently located 1 block from Playa Del Carmen shopping and also on the ocean, so had the best of both worlds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from Chicago, IL

Perfect location in the heart of Playa del Carmen.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The hotel staff is wonderful and the resort is beautiful. The food was perfect and much better than we have experienced at other all-inclusives. There are areas with sharper crystal blue waters in the ocean but the beach is still beautiful and wonderfully maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ally from Chicago , IL

So much better than expected!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Food: Excellent Beds: Excellent Staff: Excellent Resturants: Excellent Trude by the pool was awesome! 5 stars across the board worth every penny!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aninversary Trip

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: There was anything we didn't like everything was fantastic
Location: Everything was close and we accomplised what we came to do and that was unwind and enjoy life.
The Royal Playa Del Carmen was by far the best resort we have stayed at in 25 yrs of our wedding bliss. This was just icing on the cake to be treated in such a way that made you feel at home in a foreign country. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KC Girls from Kansas City

The Royal - Playa del Carmen

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Hands-down the best all-inclusive resort I've ever stayed at. The location, staff, food, and accommodations were all excellent. The resort has a very fun vibe and energy. Tons of shopping and restaurants just outside the door the of the resort as well too. Highly recommend for friends/singles traveling together and for couples looking for a luxurious stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam & Becca from Montana

Great stay, excellent spa, construction sound

Posted Apr 13, 2014
This was our third or fourth time staying. Always pleased. We have stayed at several other resorts in the area, and the food at the Royal beats them all. Excellent. The Spa treatment superb. Big thanks to Denise and Beatrice. Seemed over booked. Our first night we were placed in different room than what we had booked. It had construction sound all day and some of the night. But they were quick to make the change. Stay was great. Great for a couples get away! We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jess from england

Perfect!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The location, staff, choice of restaurants and comfort of the hotel.
Location: The location is perfect. You are a two minute walk from 5th avenue where there are a number of bars and shops and is perfectly safe to walk.
We went to the royal for our honeymoon in April, we were welcomed right from when we landed in cancun. We had a chauffeur driven car collect us and take us to the resort where we were welcomed with champagne. Our room was decorated with style and was comfortable. The staff at the royal always went our of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Our balcony faced the ocean which was only a stones throw away from us. There is some contruction work happening next to the hotel but this did not affect our stay. There was no noise near to where we were and the building work was no distraction. There isn't anything we could fault about our experience. We would definitely return. Yoli and chi at the pool bar were extremely good and the watersports team at the resort helped us with the excursions we had chosen. Everyone was great.