Ratings based on 1,322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Perfect view of the beach from balcony

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: One air conditioned bar would be nice
Location: We participated in a night time expedition and also did a day tour of the Mayan Ruins
It was absolute paradise. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The rooms were wonderful and the access to pools and the beach were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Papillion, NE

Beautiful resort!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Service is excellent! Food is spectacular! Rooms are always clean and ready! We will definitely be staying again! For an all inclusive, we felt we got our money's worth; our drinks were always full and cold! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Everything was excellent during our stay. I can' think of one thing that I was disappointed in. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing trip

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cons: The wifi worked but was not fast.
We were worried about the quality of food at an all-inclusive resort. Breakfast and lunch were amazing, and dinner was generally very good. The dinner entrees at some of the places were very good but not always the most amazing food you've had (compared to say really good meals in say NYC). Beach was great, rooms were large and really nice, activities all day long were generally good (volleyball, silly "dance lessons," tequila tasting, etc.).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel & amenities..

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Poor customer support for overcharges for wedding guest who was not able to attend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F

Clearly NOT a 4/5 star resort experience.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
At least once a day, everyday of my trip the hotel the staff somehow messed up a portion of my vacation. Restaurant reservations were a large cause of disappointment, not just for myself and my spouse, but practically every person that was part of at least 20 people group I was part of, also attending the resort. Essentially, this was the least accommodating hotel I have EVER stayed at. For example, when I first landed, my transfer to The Royal was not there, and after almost a half hour on the phone, I was told there was NOTHING the resort could do to help me. My husband and I took a taxi instead. This attitude of "not able to do anything to help" was just status quo got The Royal. Also, if you think you don't have to bring much spending money because you are at an all inclusive, forget it. If a staff member isn't trying to harassingly sell you something, they are uncomfortably lingering around for a tip - and then won't bother to thank you ( even for $10 USD at the bar, as a tip). Honestly , the cons FAR outweigh the pros at The Royal, so stay somewhere else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Beautiful resort! Perfect location!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Hard working and friendly staff! Location! Pool Area! Adult Only Resort!
Location: Walking distance to 5th Ave - Shopping!
This was our second time staying at The Royal Playa del Carmen, and it was still as wonderful as the first time. We love this resort! Perfect location, excellent food, friendly staff, and great amenities. Some construction noise due to a new resort going up next door; however it was tolerable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great hotel next to the beach

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, location, ambience
Cons: They ran out of towels often during peak usage time. Posting instructions to return towel when done may help. People just leave them on the chairs.
Location: Akumal bay for snorkeling. Great place to see turtles. Just grab a taxi and go. Walk a block to 5th ave for all the shopping and food you desire.
We had a great time at the Royal. The food was great with lots of variety. The staff was very friendly and I felt no pressure from the staff for tips as I have heard from others that went to all inclusive resorts. The hotel is only 1 block from the famous 5th ave shopping which made it very convenient. Many of the activities were short drive away making it a great place to stay. We spent a lot of time at the beach which was conveniently only steps from the hotel. Some of the all inclusive activities we enjoyed were kayaking, snorkeling, volleyball, sailing on the hobicat, and bicycling. They have nightly shows that are good and various other activities that will keep you entertained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver,CO

Top-tier All-inclusive Resort!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: -Great food -Fun, friendly, and attentive staff -Excellent hotel-sponsored activities -beautiful facility & beach -Location!
Cons: -no complaints
Location: -5th Avenue -Cozumel Ferry -Daytime adventures nearby (Xcaret, Xplor, Tulum) -Opportunity to explore the city of Playa Del Carmen
My fiancee and I recently spent 12 days at The Royal on a trip during which we held our wedding and hosted 26 of our friends for some fun on the beach. Having spent time at competing all-inclusive resorts in the last couple of years and having a blast on each occasion, the bar was set quite high for all future resorts. Ultimately, The Royal surpassed all of our expectations. Our wedding was perfect and our guests all communicated to us that they were blown away by the resort. Their staff was very well trained, the hotel itself is gorgeous and well maintained, and the food in each of the restaurants was spectacular. When we were fortunate enough to catch some fresh mackerel on a fishing outing during the stay, the chef of the Mediterranean offered the cook the fillets, and came to our table to ensure we were all satisfied (he also took the liberty to pair it with scallops and calamari - fantastic)! The location could not be any better - 3 blocks from the Playa Del Carmen nightlife and one block from the great shopping located on Playa's beautiful 5th avenue. The beachfront is pristine, and has a sufficient amount of beds to accommodate it's guests. Lastly, the hotel-sponsored activities are all a lot of fun. We were able to participate in a kayak tour and water-aerobics (hilarious fun!), and found the shows held in the lobby venue were all very entertaining and quite impressive. I cannot recommend this resort highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great luxurious hotel and friendly staff

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Location: It's the best location to stay in Playa Del Carmen. Walking distance to the main strip and to the beach.
My boyfriend and I had a great experience staying at The Royal. The location was perfect, the staff was very friendly and efficient and the food was delicious.