Ratings based on 1,238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ricardo from El Paso, TX

Nice place!!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The view, great place!
Cons: The sommelier. Not a good experience
Location: 5 Ave... very nice street!
Great Experience.. very nice place and a lot of activities!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danny from Burleson, TX

Nice when finished

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Hotel overall was very nice but one of the restaraunts was closed for remodel, they were doing construction right outside our door every morning at 8am, and the hot water was just luke warm. Good food and nice beach!
2 out of 5
by KMB from Minneapolis

Stinky beach, cheap alcohol, lame food

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: leaving.
Cons: Be accurate on description and what the star level is.
Location: 5th Avenue had lots of shops, restaurants
This should be a 3 star hotel as it is far from a 4.5 star resort. The only time service stepped up or was enthusiastic was when trying to upsell or get a tip. Basic service was absent. The room had a broken phone, broken sink and no hot water in the shower. When I spoke to the front desk he told me it was my fault that I didn't know how to turn on the shower. No apologies. Turns out I needed to run the hot water in the broken sink first and then the hot water would kick in for the shower. Yes, that sounds like my fault. There was only one beer available at the pool and it was cheap keg beer. No upgrade options for purchase. Swim up bartenders couldn't reach out to hand you your drink so they tell you to come over to them. That's 4.5 star service? The food was poor quality and the wait staff was either inattentive or snotty. The beach/pool area smelled like rotten eggs. The Expedia booking said we could get an airport shuttle for 8725 pesos. I asked the day before we were leaving and they told me I needed to contact the travel agent in the hotel. They were closed so went down the next morning and they said we needed to book it 48 hours in advance. Since our stay was less than 48 hours this was impossible. Also not accurate on Expedia's part to leave that off of booking reservation. Ending up paying $70 US for cab to airport. Extremely disappointing. Don't waste your money and vacation time on this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trudy O. from Jersey Shore

OUTSTANDING!!!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
My husband and I went for our two year anniversary and his birthday is the same week. This place is phenomenal. Service is impeccable! They cannot do enough for you!! Food awesome, beautiful hotel, beach, definitely worth every penny! Going back next year!! We loved it!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from CT

Great overall resort with great service.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Great food, drinks, beach, pool, room, service. Best vacation ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mika

Couple of days in Paradise!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The staff. From the restaraunt staff, to housekeeping to everyone in between. All are very friendly and greet you with a smile.
Cons: It would be hard for them to improve.
Location: Snorkeling, Cave Snorkeling, SCUBA, swimming with turtles, shopping on 5th Avenue, parasailing, jet ski rentals.
From the moment you step on the property you are treated like the most important person on site. Each and every staff member greats you with a smile and the accomodations are top notch. Truly an experience you will remember forever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel nice beaches and fun nightlife

Posted Apr 19, 2014
best food the rooms are very clean the hotel staff very hard working to make your stay a wonderful time awsome location walking distance to town for shopping and nightlife
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

oceanfront suite, third floor, beautiful.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: fix safe, be a little more flexible, strict to the point of comfortableness.
fun, best beach, great food, lousy scuba manager, really had a great time. go to outside people to do water activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from New York

All inclusive in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Apr 19, 2014
OVERALL: Nice all inclusive. We were there for a week with my two adult children so had two rooms. PROS: Very friendly staff, clean, lots of restaurants to choose from. Natalie and Arte at the spa were great! Ana at BD Travel was also wonderful as a tour guide. We did the zip lines and snorkeled and both went off without a hitch. Food was mostly gourmet - aside from the taco bar at the Tapas restaurant, the Mexican food was surprisingly sparse. The view from our room and the Tequila and Cigar bar was great. The staff really made a difference - all outstanding. The staff did their best to navigate some of the guests who presented as quite entitled without offending anyone - some of the guests were really "out there". CONS: Construction next door was a problem - dusty and loud - and we were first put in a room with two beds when we requested one bed. We switched rooms the next day and the hotel was accommodating. The beach had a subtle sulfur odor. The air conditioning made the room smell musty and the one in our room rattled but I think this is typical for resorts. Also, the top shelf liquor was on display, but watch them make the drinks because they use bar liquor, not the top shelf. The worst part was the shopping outside of the hotel - talk about aggressive selling! There are good deals but some vendors actually followed us down the street hawking at us so if you go, prepare to feel like you're buying a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by doreen6221 from Long Island, NY

WONDERFUL STAY AT ROYAL

Posted Apr 17, 2014
My eldest daughter and I had a great vacation. We were fortunate to be upgraded and stayed first night at Grand Porto next door. Would definitely bring my granddaughters there. Our Royal Master suite at Royal was stunning. Only complaint would be that there is no water view due to construction. Had best meal at Asiana and best massage at spa. Beach service needs more help. Too much for one person to do which caused delays and melted drinks. Overall best location, friendliest staff and way too short VACATION. Do not hesitate to go there.