Ratings based on 1,680 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Royal Playa del Carmen

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It would be great to have a little burger snack shop on the beach that you can eat at when you were sunbathing.
Location: Within walking distance to shopping in Playa del Carmen and we even walked to the ferry to go to Cozumel
What a wonderful resort. Everyone was so friendly. Shout out to Michelle for making us feel comfortable and offering assistance whenever we needed it. Mildred our housekeeper and one other that I did not catch her name made sure we were always stocked with water and coors lite. Our room was always inviting when we returned from a day out and the towel animals were amazing surrounded by red rose petals. The Asiana resturant was tops on our places to eat and we never went hungry. I had my first massage and Levinia hit all of the right places making me wonder why I waited so long for this wonderful expierence. Willimena welecomed out with a romance package for our aniversary and gave us a wonderful room with a fantastic ocean view. Everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Summerville, SC

Wonderful hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Beach proximity, pool, rooms, service.
Cons: Need more room for the classes. Every class we took was completely full and they had to turn people away.
Location: Very close to shopping on 5th avenue as well as close to beach and activities.
We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time. Food was good. Resort was nice. The staff was very friendly. We upgraded to an oceanfront suite (I highly recommend) and the views every morning were stuff off of postcards. The main pool has the entertainment and is more the fun/activity area. If you want complete quiet and peace, I recommend upgrading to the Master Suites. Our friends were in one. It's farthest from the beach (3-4 min walk) but it has it's own pool and bar and it is VERY quiet and low key. (You cannot see the beach from these rooms). The shows were just OK but I don't go for the shows, so having the option is nice. The proximity to 5th Avenue is awesome! You can walk right out of the lobby and pretty much start shopping. We felt very safe and comfortable walking around the shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, co

Posted Jan 28, 2015
This was the best vacation I've ever been on. The hotel was beautiful, right on the beach. The staff was super attentive and everything from the restaurants and bars to the spa was first class. I loved the daily events they had like tequila tasting or salsa lessons and the evening entertainment. Everything was included in the package, so I never had to worry about spending or budgeting. There were many other fun things to do nearby as well. I was so happy with my visit to the Royal, I'm already planning my next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: pool area, rooms, dining and entertainment
Cons: they do not serve any food near pool or beach areas. you have to go to restaurants to eat lunch or even get a snack. heard many complaints about it.
Location: great location if you want to walk up and down 5th avenue. lots to do
beautiful hotel. the location is great if you want to be close to town. only a block from 5th avenue, which has great restaurants and shops. great pool area with lots of activities and music all day. the beach is nice and very busy. if you are looking for a quiet beach, you need to go further north or south.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom V. Virginia

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Perfect for a romantic getaway. Luxurious rooms, close to 5th Ave shopping,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Manhattan

Great Choice

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Laying on a beach in the shade!!
Cons: I truly thought their food was good especially the Spice Restaurant buffet...I would rate the rest overall good but not great!
Location: Great location, nice beach and it's located right next to the town's shopping district....very convenient!! You also could walk to the Cozumel ferry.
We stayed there for Thursday at 1:00 p.m to Monday 8:30 a.m (3 1/2 days) just walked the beach and the town...we were there just to recharge our battery's and it work...real nice experience. Nice people!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed how close we were to the excursions, and how friendly most of the staff was.
Cons: They could do better with their gluten free options. They had gluten free menus almost everywhere we ate, but most waiters had no knowledge on it.
Location: We went to XCaret and did the underwater river, swam with the dolphins, and saw the dinner show. It's a nice variety.
My husband and I spent our honeymoon here. It was a really nice hotel. The pools are awesome and they keep things pretty clean. We really enjoyed ourselves, and they made our stay an enjoyable experience. I just wish the guest services wasn't so bothersome trying to get us to join their rewards program.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great resort in a good location!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Location: Fifth Avenue is within walking distance and a fun place For a walkabout. Of course there are the normal excursions you would expect.
We spent a weekat the hotel in January 2015. My wife and I both had a great time. The facility is gorgeous and service was top notch from the entire staff. We decided to forgo excursions and spent most of our time at the hotel. One of the things that we enjoyed was the town (Fifth Avenue) which is in walking distance. We have stayed in Cancun many times and Playa Del Carmen is a bit more laid-back. Both are great options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Has something for everyone!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
The Staff is amazing, and the resort is immaculate! We had a great Spa experience, as well! All the activities you want, and the food is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Better food than other all-inclusive resorts

Posted Jan 25, 2015
I've stayed at several all inclusive resorts and been on several cruises and the food here was better than any of those have provided. I've come to expect poor quality food on cruises and all inclusives... but the Royal surprised me pleasantly. If I were to have a complaint it would be that the bed was too firm.