Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice adult-exclusive hotel with large rooms

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the hotel lobby, where it was air-conditioned. Had a nice sitting area for tea-time, or snacks.
Cons: Include hair conditioners in the rooms. Better maintenance of beach, especially the seaweed.
Location: Atun Chen for caves/cenote swimming and snorkeling. Akumal Bay beach for snorkeling with sea turtles.
We did not know that Royal Suites is one small little hotel within the large Palladium compound. We initially booked this place because we thought it would be right off the beach, but we actually needed to walk quite a bit, or take the shuttle. Finding the Royal Suites lobby in itself was difficult since there was a lack of signs of where Royal Suites is located, but we eventually found it nestled deep north of the compound. The beach here was filled with seaweed, making it difficult to get into ocean. Snorkeling here was really blah, have to go elsewhere. The rooms were large and there was even a hot tub in it. We loved the idea of a private hot tub, but ended up only using it once. The room was clean and spacious, and enjoyed it. You can go to any of the restaurants within the Palladium compound. We tried Brazilian BBQ, mediterranean food, Japanese teppanyaki, and the steak house. All the food there was pretty mediocre, our least favorite being the steak house (steaks were very tough and chewy), and our favorite being Mare Nostrum (mediterranean). You can make reservations, and we barely had any wait going in with reservations. Service is hit or miss here. We encountered some who were really awesome and accommodating, some who were just terrible, but most of them were average. Most of them really had a hard time understanding English, but with my limited Spanish, we survived. I probably wouldn't come back here, unless there's a super awesome special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great 2nd Stay - Palladium Royal Yucantan Suites

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: What is not to like? The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms - large, comfortable and clean, top shelf liquors and food and an exceptional staff.
Cons: The only downside was the distance from the guest rooms to the private beach, located at the opposite side of a very large resort complex.
Location: The resort is located equidistant from Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Many ecological & adventure tours available - cenotes, zip lines, Mayan ruins.
After six long years, we returned to the Gran Palladium Royal Suites May 25-June 1, 2015. The occasion was celebration of our 45th anniversary. The facilities had seen some improvements over the years. A new bridge had been built over the river, giving guests direct and quick access to the Royal Suites private lobby, bar, deck and boat dock. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained and the public areas and guest rooms were spotlessly clean. Golf carts designated for Royal Suites guests were available for transport to the private Royal Suites beach, the salt water pool or any of the four other adjoining resort lobbies, restaurants, shops, disco and theaters. The Zentropia Spa is elegant and serene. I do feel ,however, that the prices for services are higher than most. As a Royal Suites guest you do get a 15% discount so you may want to avail yourself of the facilities and services. El Jardin is the Royal Suites private dining area. The food is excellent and the staff is very attentive. They will happily prepare anything you request off or on menu. One night we mentioned that we loved crepes suzette so our waiter Javier prepared them table side for us. On our anniversary, we returned to our room to find rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed and a chilled bottle of champagne with chocolate- covered strawberries on the table, compliments of the Royal Suites. We definitely will return to the Royal Suites and this time it won't take six years!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from RS / Brasil

SUPEROU EXPECTATIVA

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Hospitalidade e atendimento. Serviço. Limpeza. Natureza.
Cons: que pudesse entrar de traje de banho no restaurante para almoço, pelo menos. que tivesse um repelente de mosquitos para a hora de escurecer.
Location: proximo aos parques, Playa del Carmem a 30 minutos.
Imaginamos um lugar luxuoso, grande, e como estivemos no Riú Cancun a alguns anos, traçamos um comparativo como expectativa. Fomos surpreendidos não só pelo luxo e tamanho, mas pelo atendimento que é fantastico, são muito atenciosos, sempre prestativos, simpaticos e sorridentes e, também pela fauna, animais lindos, soltos, por todo lado, natureza preservada. Da recepção, com champanhe, jantar de lagosta, coqueteis, bebidas servidas na tenda na beira da praia, e depois ser levado de carrinho de volta pro quarto, demais. Estes carrinhos tbm levam para todas as partes do resort, é só pedir e como eles dizem " mandam o helicóptero"... Arrependimento? Ter ficado 7 dias em outros hotéis e somente 4 no Royal Suites Yucatan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Mar 22, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful property. Great food with different restaurant options. Impeccable service. We would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very nice resort & wonderful staff!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Staff, spa, rooms
Cons: food, desserts, pool temperature.
Location: Location is very remote.
The resort is very nice. We loved that at the Royal we did not need to have towel cards and rec'd top shelf liquor. We also loved that use of the spa facilitates were included. They have an amazing spa with co-ed steam rooms and saunas, etc..We really didn't like how isolated the location is and how far we had to walk to get to the beach, spa, etc...they do have carts available and we usually didn't have to wait too long; only a couple times. The food was mediocre. The desserts were very limited and not good. The rooms are very nice, loved the mini bars and tubs on the balconies. Our main complaint is that the pools are not heated and they were extremely cold!! The Royal pool was boring to us, there is no music and it's very small so we spent most of our time at the Riviera pool or the beach. The staff at this resort are amazing and made our stay very memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort and not one problem!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness. Staff. Room.
Cons: Kill smoking at the pools! One smoker ruins a 10 lounge chair area at the pool. We spent way too much time moving because a smoker sat down next to us
Location: Scuba off the shore was nice. 5 minute boat ride at the resort and I was 100 feet down on the reef.
I'm going to tell about my experience and also address some of the negative things said about this resort: First, check in was a breeze. Took about 5 minutes and had our room. This is a record time for a Mexico check-in. Room was very nice, clean, and cool. We had a very hot week and the room stayed as cool as we wanted it. Staff was fantastic and very nice. Barbara from the entertainment staff was a lot of fun and cycled with my wife and I in the pool every day. She was GREAT! I saw earlier feedback about the following issues so I kept an eye out to report on. Here it is: Beach was a long way away: If you sit in front of the TV and haven't walked in 5 years, then yeah, it's a little bit of a walk. I could get to the beach walking medium speed in about 10 minutes. The adult pool was 1 minute (but it's small and everyone smoked so we didn't every go here). The main pool was 5 minute walk. Nothing crazy and they did have the trains running which were always going by. Lots of Seaweed on the beach: True, they were out removing it every morning. They did a good job. The beach was beautiful and there were two very sandy areas to walk in the ocean (way out) and clean. Water was warm. It's the ocean, can't blame the resort for that. Watered down drinks: We tried Bailey's and Capt. Morgan and it was full octane! Hard to water down beer too. TV channels not in English: Only American arrogance would believe TV should be in English every country you visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good all-inclusive for just about anyone.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Food was surprisingly good for an all inclusive - even the buffet food was plentiful, tasty and varied.
Cons: Private "beach" for Royal Suites isn't really a private beach area - it is a private enclosed area set back from the beach. This wasn't really clear.
We stayed at Royal Suites Yucatan - part of the massive Palladium hotel property. There are a total of 5 hotels on this property, but there is sufficient space in the facilities and on the beach for everyone. Numerous pools cater to kids and adults alike. All of the a la carte restaurants were very good - excellent service and tasty food. The buffet in the Il Jardin restaurant (the private restaurant for the Royal Suites) was very good for breakfast - but we did not try it for dinner. The buffets we tried for lunches were as to be expected - good variety of choices, pretty decent quality. We did go to one buffet restaurant for one dinner - mistake. Not because of the food, which was fine, but the atmosphere was pure chaos. Not sure why people feel it is ok to let kids run free in the buffet - the place was swarming with kids running in all directions with heaping plates of food. Worse were the adults who seemed not to understand the idea of waiting your turn to access some of the more popular parts of the buffet. It was just a free for all - it really soured our experience which, until this point, had been fantastic. The long strip of beach was very nice - warm water, sandy, some rocky parts but not bad. Rooms in the Royal Suites were very nice and spacious and quiet. Spa was superb - floating in the pool or using the water circuit, it was all awesome. All staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and surprisingly good english.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota

great resort

Posted Feb 2, 2015
This was a great resort. It was always clean with many friendly staff members to help you out. The food had tons of variety and was delicious. The resort is very large, they have golf carts that run from one side to the other, and they are pretty good about running often. The rooms were beautiful tho and so was the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Very Nice Resort!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Beach, Swim up Bars!!, Live music & shows, comfort of bed in room, Jacuzzi, shuttle service
Cons: Maybe could have used a couple more beach towel huts. Seemed like you always had a small walk to get to one.
Location: We rode a shuttle for about 1 hour 15 min from airport to the resort but we did not leave the resort at all during our stay.
Beautiful landscaping throughout the entire resort. Pictures only captured 1/3 of the beauty. Extremely comfortable beds(we stayed in Royal Suites). Amazing dining/restaurants-- my wife has Celiac's disease(no-gluten diet) She and I were both amazed at the options she had here-- both at the ala carte and buffet meals. The staff was helpful in pointing out what was ok/not ok for her to eat. Like I said- we were very impressed with how they were able to handle her specific diet needs! The only place it was hard to get food for her was at the snack bars. The evening shows were nice to sit and watch along with the live music before and after. It was entertaining to hear their version of our American songs along with some of theirs. The waiters and staff overall were very kind and accommodating throughout our stay. Nice clean large beach with multiple large areas for swimming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

January weekend

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Stayed with my wife for 4 night Jan 2015. The hotel is badly in need of maintainace and upkeep. The food at the buffets was poor. Some of the a la cart meals were much better. I would rather have paid a little more for furniture without stains and better food.