Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very nice resort & wonderful staff!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Staff, spa, rooms
Cons: food, desserts, pool temperature.
Location: Location is very remote.
The resort is very nice. We loved that at the Royal we did not need to have towel cards and rec'd top shelf liquor. We also loved that use of the spa facilitates were included. They have an amazing spa with co-ed steam rooms and saunas, etc..We really didn't like how isolated the location is and how far we had to walk to get to the beach, spa, etc...they do have carts available and we usually didn't have to wait too long; only a couple times. The food was mediocre. The desserts were very limited and not good. The rooms are very nice, loved the mini bars and tubs on the balconies. Our main complaint is that the pools are not heated and they were extremely cold!! The Royal pool was boring to us, there is no music and it's very small so we spent most of our time at the Riviera pool or the beach. The staff at this resort are amazing and made our stay very memorable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort and not one problem!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness. Staff. Room.
Cons: Kill smoking at the pools! One smoker ruins a 10 lounge chair area at the pool. We spent way too much time moving because a smoker sat down next to us
Location: Scuba off the shore was nice. 5 minute boat ride at the resort and I was 100 feet down on the reef.
I'm going to tell about my experience and also address some of the negative things said about this resort: First, check in was a breeze. Took about 5 minutes and had our room. This is a record time for a Mexico check-in. Room was very nice, clean, and cool. We had a very hot week and the room stayed as cool as we wanted it. Staff was fantastic and very nice. Barbara from the entertainment staff was a lot of fun and cycled with my wife and I in the pool every day. She was GREAT! I saw earlier feedback about the following issues so I kept an eye out to report on. Here it is: Beach was a long way away: If you sit in front of the TV and haven't walked in 5 years, then yeah, it's a little bit of a walk. I could get to the beach walking medium speed in about 10 minutes. The adult pool was 1 minute (but it's small and everyone smoked so we didn't every go here). The main pool was 5 minute walk. Nothing crazy and they did have the trains running which were always going by. Lots of Seaweed on the beach: True, they were out removing it every morning. They did a good job. The beach was beautiful and there were two very sandy areas to walk in the ocean (way out) and clean. Water was warm. It's the ocean, can't blame the resort for that. Watered down drinks: We tried Bailey's and Capt. Morgan and it was full octane! Hard to water down beer too. TV channels not in English: Only American arrogance would believe TV should be in English every country you visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good all-inclusive for just about anyone.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Food was surprisingly good for an all inclusive - even the buffet food was plentiful, tasty and varied.
Cons: Private "beach" for Royal Suites isn't really a private beach area - it is a private enclosed area set back from the beach. This wasn't really clear.
We stayed at Royal Suites Yucatan - part of the massive Palladium hotel property. There are a total of 5 hotels on this property, but there is sufficient space in the facilities and on the beach for everyone. Numerous pools cater to kids and adults alike. All of the a la carte restaurants were very good - excellent service and tasty food. The buffet in the Il Jardin restaurant (the private restaurant for the Royal Suites) was very good for breakfast - but we did not try it for dinner. The buffets we tried for lunches were as to be expected - good variety of choices, pretty decent quality. We did go to one buffet restaurant for one dinner - mistake. Not because of the food, which was fine, but the atmosphere was pure chaos. Not sure why people feel it is ok to let kids run free in the buffet - the place was swarming with kids running in all directions with heaping plates of food. Worse were the adults who seemed not to understand the idea of waiting your turn to access some of the more popular parts of the buffet. It was just a free for all - it really soured our experience which, until this point, had been fantastic. The long strip of beach was very nice - warm water, sandy, some rocky parts but not bad. Rooms in the Royal Suites were very nice and spacious and quiet. Spa was superb - floating in the pool or using the water circuit, it was all awesome. All staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful and surprisingly good english.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

great resort

Posted Feb 2, 2015
This was a great resort. It was always clean with many friendly staff members to help you out. The food had tons of variety and was delicious. The resort is very large, they have golf carts that run from one side to the other, and they are pretty good about running often. The rooms were beautiful tho and so was the beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very Nice Resort!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Beach, Swim up Bars!!, Live music & shows, comfort of bed in room, Jacuzzi, shuttle service
Cons: Maybe could have used a couple more beach towel huts. Seemed like you always had a small walk to get to one.
Location: We rode a shuttle for about 1 hour 15 min from airport to the resort but we did not leave the resort at all during our stay.
Beautiful landscaping throughout the entire resort. Pictures only captured 1/3 of the beauty. Extremely comfortable beds(we stayed in Royal Suites). Amazing dining/restaurants-- my wife has Celiac's disease(no-gluten diet) She and I were both amazed at the options she had here-- both at the ala carte and buffet meals. The staff was helpful in pointing out what was ok/not ok for her to eat. Like I said- we were very impressed with how they were able to handle her specific diet needs! The only place it was hard to get food for her was at the snack bars. The evening shows were nice to sit and watch along with the live music before and after. It was entertaining to hear their version of our American songs along with some of theirs. The waiters and staff overall were very kind and accommodating throughout our stay. Nice clean large beach with multiple large areas for swimming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

January weekend

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Stayed with my wife for 4 night Jan 2015. The hotel is badly in need of maintainace and upkeep. The food at the buffets was poor. Some of the a la cart meals were much better. I would rather have paid a little more for furniture without stains and better food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our fourth time at this resort

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Once again we had a great time at this resort. The staff are great!!! Can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: quiet
Very nice resort, 1 hour south of the Cancun hour, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom arkansas

We stayed at the adults only section

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The adult only section is definitely the wAy to go. Our only issue was the distance to the beach but we could easily find a driver to take us to the private beach cabanas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2014
We loved the royal suites....so worth the extra money!!! Amazing staff. Food was ok, not great...but otherwise an amazing place!!!