Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Canada

Relaxing Vacation or Not

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The facilities and pools were clean, the food fantastic, the entertainment great, maintenance of the property is ongoing, and the staff are friendly.
Cons: Some buffet areas do have waiting lines for seating during peak hours. If possible it is wise to plan around this.
Location: Plenty of tours to Mayan ruins, shopping, Spanish towns, local Islands and water parks for diving and snorkeling, and floating down streams on tubes.
First trip to Mexico. Coming from airport a bit disconcerting as I was unaware of all the police checks with police carrying machine guns. Security is of high importance to this area and to the hotels. i stayed at the Royal Suites Palladium which exceeded my expectations. The hotel is designed for you to have either a relaxing vacation or one full of activities. For those adults who want the quiet relaxing time then that can be achieved in the adults only areas, the spa, the adults beach and many more areas. If you are looking for an active vacation then the many sporting facilities and planned activities are for you. Plenty of people to help you plan tours and hire cars if you require them. Most Staff have good understanding of english. Just to let you know prices for tours, gifts and extra activities in spa etc., at this hotel are quoted in US currency so exchange rates do make a difference to prices. Make restaurant reservations for night time as soon as you can to avoid lineups. There are a variety of restaurants from Asian to Mexican that can be accessed instead of buffet at night. The Palladium is a environmentally friendly hotel group and do their best to encourage guests to assist with this. Great time to be had here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maggie from Pennsylvania

Awesome Secluded Resort

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Everything was really excellent
Cons: Offer some better wine as part of the all-inclusive. Bottle wine available for a charge, but more house selections would be appropriate for dining
Location: Side trip by cab to Playa del Carmen for shopping is worth the 20 minute cab ride. Otherwise the hotel amenities provide no reason to leave property.
This resort is very large when you take into account the other 4 Palladium hotels on the property. The Royal Suites are however tucked away in their own little corner that gives them a very high end and exclusive feel while still having all the convenience and diversity of the restaurants and activities at the other 4 hotels. If you really want a "tropical" vacation outside the commercial hotel zone, this is your spot. The preserved landscaping of the jungle, canals, natural wetlands are beautifully incorporated into the convenience of 4-5 star excellence with paver cart and pathways to just about everywhere and planked wooden bridges with thatched roofs that led through natural wetlands.......Really pretty and very tropical . Our room was immaculately clean, updated and very relaxing. The HUGE outdoor tub was so peaceful, and seeing and hearing the bird wildlife while in it was extra enjoyable. Was pleasantly surprised at the bugs/mosquitos being at very, very low miniumum (we were there in mid-march). Food was actually quite good for an all inclusive. I'd put it at a 7-7.5 out of ten (but we do tend to have gourmet taste when it comes to dining out). My husband and I were in complete agreement to try to go back again same time next year and to stay a little longer than our five night stay this time around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisa from NH

Great resort

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: friend, and visited 1st in may 2013
The resort was beautiful. This was our 2nd visit to Royal, and we had an excellent time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. All of the drivers, were always there with a smile. Fernanda at the beach bar is a pleasure. She is always smiling no matter how busy she gets... We did ask to move to a different room, with a better view and after 2 days we were moved to a garden view which was wonderful. Can't wait to go back in the fall....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Dec 19, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Appleton, WI

2nd trip and still excellent

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Staff, Food, Service, Grounds, pretty much everything
Cons: The beach is very rocky and there isn't much area where you can enter the water because of the reef fronting the resort.
Location: 20 minutes south of Playa Del Carmen with MANY close by excursions to do if you want.
We just returned from our 2nd trip to the Royal Suites Yucatan. We have been to several other AI resorts in the Riviera Maya and Dominican Republic and RSY is right at the top amongst all of them. The only semi watch out if you are looking for an adults only resort, is that the RSY section itself is pretty small. It is the only adults only resort in the Palladium complex with 4 other family friendly resorts. There is only one restaurant in the adults only section and it isn't open for lunch so most of your dining will be in the other resorts. Also the RSY pool is quite small, so if you like a large pool, you have to go to one of the other resorts. We found that to be totally acceptable, but if you are looking for a larger adults only complex, you may want to look elsewhere. The staff / food / service here is at the top of all other AIs we have visited, so if you do visit RSY, I believe you will have a fantastic experience. Steve & Bonnie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenna from Atlanta, GA

Great hotel for Couples

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Cons: You have to eat the buffet for breakfast and lunch.
The service is impeccable! The staff here is incredible. I cannot give them enough credit. I would say we personally were supremely impressed with Ubel, Jose Luis (JL), Luis, William and Orman. Thank you so much for making our stay wonderful! We stayed at the Royal Suites and were given VIP treatment on the resort in regards to the cocktail choices at our exclusive pool and cart rides when needed to go to various areas on the resort. And our room was absolutely beautiful and definitely spacious enough for us to enjoy with our friends during some of the rainy days. The dinner restaurants are great. We went to the Mexican, Italian, Steak and Japanese restaurants during our stay and the food was great as well as the service. Men should be sure to bring pants because they are required at all dinner restaurants (jeans are fine). We brought floats because I had read on these reviews that you needed them for the deep pools and they proved to be a vital part of our pool experience. Overall, I was exceptionally pleased with the cleanliness of this hotel as well as the service we received. I would recommend it to any couples wanting to enjoy a fun get away with friends.
3 out of 5
by Scott

A little misleading

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: The variety and the amount of nature, places in the resort feel very secluded. It had some cool features.
Cons: Open some of the many restraunts for lunch not just dinner.
Location: We never left the resort, quite a drive from the airport in cancun
We picked picked this hotel because it was adults only. Only our little part of the resort is adults only. My wife and I left our child at home for a child free week, we ended up just having to hear other peoples children. Its not that much fun to walk up to a bar to order a drink and have a child sitting on the bar. This hotel also does not have English TV. My wife and I wanted to lay in bed and watch a movie, something we never get to do with children, and we could not hardly find anything in English. The resort was very pretty and well maintained. The food, we had some good meals and we had some bad meals. It would have been nice if there were some non buffet lunch options. Also they have a bit of a raccoon problem. They never really bothered us, but some people who ate dinner on the beach had to deal with raccoons coming up to there table. I could see this being very startling if you were unprepared for it. I don't see us going back to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from New Hampshire, USA

Fantastic vacation!

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Guest services
Location: Beautiful
This was our second trip and we have already started to plan our third! The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond to make sure all your needs are met! Very friendly, everyone always has a smile for you. So much to do, perfect vacation! Let them know if there is a special occasion you're celebrating, and they'll do their best to make it even more special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john boy from Virginia, USA

Bad start, great finish

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: lobby bar, the royal carts, the El Jardin, the staff, hot tub on balconey, the grounds, room done up with rose petals and candles, no children, spa
Cons: lunch and buffets, beach bar drinks, children else where, can't see beach from Royal Beach section, room broken into, no lunch at El Jardin, too big
When we arrived at the Royal Suites they greeted us with towels and a drink. The one thing I hated about the check in was how they wanted to give us a spa gift to sit through a time share pitch. Please, I'm on vacation I don't want to sit in on a time share for 3 or 4 hours of my time and no once should be enough and don't bother me no more about it. After check in the bell boy which was also the the cart driver which I thought all the cart drivers were great, took us to our room which was in building 71 on the bottom floor of the redone rooms. The redone rooms were great looking with roses on the bed. Everything was going great UNTIL 10:00pm when we came back to our room after dinner and a few drinks to find out when I open the door with my key card and found the inside chain was on from the inside. I found a employee and told him, he got somebody to get the chain off THAT IS WHEN I FOUND OUT THAT OUR ROOM GOT BROKEN INTO. My suit case was torn up which had locks on them and our stuff gone though. Thank god our important stuff was locked into our safe. The only thing that I found missing was a wine bottle. After this they moved us to buiding 69 on the top floor. It was not until the next day at the beach talking to other people at the Royal Suites that their rooms got broken into the same way. At least 3 other rooms. After that our vacation got better. I really liked the resort in many ways like the Royal Suite bars, the El Jardin, the staff , the grounds, and the carts.