Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawnfrom Dallas, TX

Awesome hotel!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
I enjoyed Tucan hotel so much that if I am ever in that area again I will book my stay. I have never been to Mexico and I booked this through Expedia. The place was super, super clean. They seem to wash everything from top to bottom everyday. They are hard working and they do a wonderful job. The only thing that I would want to see change is the bed, it was a little stiff. Other than that the people, food and safety were awesome! Book this hotel if there is room you will not be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gene

Modest hotel. Good value

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a good clean hotel in an excellent location. Air conditioning did not work but was eventually moved to a new room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pam & Rickfrom Wis.

4 the money and location it was OK

Posted Apr 7, 2010
Ok if you like being close to all the fun , but not if you want to relax and have a good night sleep. The food was just ok, we tryed it 2 times and then found great food on 5th and side streets, look around they have some great deals on dinners and the food is very good and cheap .( but look around and ask for the best price) The music went on till 3:oo am most mornings but the last one we were there.....Crank up the air and it drowns out the pounding beat of the music......For the money (cheap) it was a good place to stay ,right on 5th ave (shopping central )and 1 block from the beach.Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Quaint hotel on 5th Ave.

Posted Apr 29, 2009
Stayed at Moongate one night before moving to an all inclusive for a wedding. Cute little hotel right in the heart of 5th ave. Small, quaint, clean, check-in and check-out was quick with a smile. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Experience

Posted Apr 21, 2009 on Hotels.com
Avoid this hotel at all costs. The beds were like rocks, the A/C didn't work, the staff was rude. I would compare this hotel to a cheap hostel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Street Noise

Posted Jan 15, 2009
The noise from the street was intolerable; talking, singing, piano bar next door, disco,... I could not even read myself to sleep because the only light in the room was a high ceiling light.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Moongate Hotel was great!

Posted Jan 7, 2009
A quaint hotel right on 5th Avenue. We were given a room with a balcony overlooking 5th. Great people watching. The room was large and clean. Very comfortable. Great price and great service. Will stay there again on a future trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wait until the end of 2009 before booking

Posted Dec 10, 2008
The Moongate hotel is in an excellent location, in Playa del Carmen, two blocks away from the best beach (Mamitas) and a 5 minute walk to the best nightlife. However I would not recommend this hotel at all in the near future, they are building a new hotel wall to wall with this one, and the day I stayed they started drilling and hammering on my wall at 7am. By paying an additional fee I changed Hotels to Tukan Condhotel that is also owned by them and that was very nice. When construction ends probably the end of 2009, Moongate should be a great option to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice place to stay

Posted Dec 10, 2008
Was a little noisy because there was an on going construction.