Ratings based on 1,483 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

A fine hotel with wonderful food. Not romantic.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Pros: 1. Pool is beautiful. 2. Food is amazing. 3. Beach is clean and blue. 4. Lots of shows and live music. Night life can't be beat.
Cons: The Valentin is a fine hotel with wonderful food. There isn't much to be improved. I'd recommend it to people traveling in groups.
Location: We didn't complete any excusions.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel over our 1 year anniversary. We had a great time, but this particular location was not what we were expecting. Cons: 1 The Valentin is not romantic, but rather party, drinking and activities centered. Don't get me wrong, the French restaurant was especially romantic with the dim lighting and a cellist, but you're most likely to encounter large groups of people travelling together than you are to encounter couples. It's simply not a quiet romantic setting. We me a couple that was at the Valentin for their honeymoon and we felt for them. They agreed that it's not a romantic all inclusive hotel. 2 The clientel can be loud and roudy. This isn't the hotel's fault, but this brings me back to my point that this hotel is more party centered. I witnessded an intoxicated individual being removed from the pool area in addition to a family from South Carolina that was as big as they were loud. My eyes and ears simply coudn't avoid them at all times. 3 The beach is a bit of a hike. You'll need about 10-15 minutes to reach the beach and find a chair. This wasn't a big deal the first few days, but it was starting to become an ordeal. Although the party pool was a 2 minute stride most any building. 4 The beach was plagued with vendors trying to sell jewelry, bags, blankets, cigars etc... We don't want to be bothered by vendors when we are just trying to have a relaxing vacation. 5 We felt like we were subjected to many sales pitches reguarding excusions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

SUPERB!!!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
EXCELLENT!! From arrival to departure, everything was great! Staffs were very friendly, accomodating, always on-time (room service, transportation etc.) Food - super delicious, lots of variety. Room & hotel - clean & modern. Awesome vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Glorious Week Away for First-Time Visitors!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
My husband and I came for a week to celebrate our anniversary. We had a beautiful time at the Valentin--beginning with our pickup at the airport, to check-in, all the way through to our last moments. EXCELLENT, hospitable staff that treats you like family, well-prepared food, thoughtful accommodations. The drinks were great, the entertainment was fun, coordinating travel off-site was easy. The weather (for us Washingtonians) was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Dakota

Wonderful experience

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Just got back from a 5 night stay and had a wonderful experience. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. Room was very clean, bed was comfortable & it was a nice relaxing stay. Room service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful resort and a relaxing vacation!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Tons of food options, so you don't get sick of it by the end of your stay. Friendly guests - we made some great new friends!
Cons: Room service food! It was seriously so disappointing, and they never picked up our plates, even when we called them, so animals got to the leftovers.
Location: Location was perfect - only 25 minutes to the airport. In between Cancun and Tulum.
We arrived really late (10pm) on our first day (fault of our shuttle company), so we basically missed out on an entire day of taking advantage of the resort, which was a bummer. So our first meal here was room service as all the restaurants were closed. Options were less than impressive....food was pretty disappointing. Luckily the regular restaurants made up for that the next day and remainder of the week. We LOVED all of the options at Valentin. Definitely upscale compared to other all-inclusives. Arturo at the Sushi bar was fantastic. We loved the layout of the resort - it is very large and feels much like a small city, so it was easy to want to stay at the resort every day. We took 1 offsite tour to Selvatica (ziplining, etc - SO FUN!), and had originally planned more, but decided not to because the resort was so great. Our room was average - nothing special really, but the bed was VERY comfortable. It would have been nice if they made the "adult channels" available only upon request or a button or something. All the couples we talked to (us included) had a shocking discovery of them. Only a couple English TV channels. Beach was amazing - ample chairs for everyone. Bit of a hike to get to non-VIP spots, which would be my only grudge. Pool was huge - but a bit chilly. Service seemed to better for "older" couples. We are 30 & were one of the younger couples for sure. But we waited much longer for drinks. I'm sure they think older = more $$. Didn't like that
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Excellent Trip

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Well maintained grounds and beautiful beach area. Plenty of beach chairs with great wait staff.
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing.
Great staff, excellent food & drinks, wonderful pleasant staff. Great beach location with no need to leave the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ecuador

Wonderful all inclusive adult beach resort

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Never seemed crowded
We had a wonderful time celebrating a family member 80 year birthday. There was always something to do, or just relax at the marvelous beach....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort

Posted Feb 11, 2015
This was a nice place to stay and relax. The facility was beautiful and clean. The pools and ocean were fun. The only down side was the food. The food was not great at all, but i think you are going to find that at any resort. Also there isnt much if a night life at this resort. But if you want to lay in the sun this place was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Frisco, TX

The ideal resort to relax and recharge

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere. Also, the staff is extremely accommodating. Private dinners are always a hit.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Scuba is always great in Mexico. Cenotes make a great dive experience, 45min away, and layer, shorty plus a full. Take private tours.
To state it simply, the resort is easy. The spa services and staff are beyond accommodating. The local water sports is great for scuba, and is personal and without sacrificing professionalism. Its size is large enough to enjoy a pleasant walk to/from the room with something new to see, but not so large to dread a long hike. The restaurant selection, availability and food quality is better all around than any other resort we have visited on the planet, not just Mexico. There are three pool areas, something quite or the standard party pool and something in between. Our stay was 1/30/15 through 2/5/15. My wife and I have been visiting this resort for years. We really do not remember how many times we have stayed here, more than six to guess. Saying that we love it would be an understatement. We typically vacation outside of the country twice per year, staying at the Valentin at least once. We always book the swim-up; it's what we do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Great All Inclusive Resort-Decent Price

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, lots of activities-cooking classes, exercise classes, tennis/basketball courts, gym.
Cons: When requesting room service we received a lecture each time (room service is part of the all inclusive) not to leave our room.
Location: We stayed on the resort this time for the entire stay but the Mayan Ruins are close by-we did an excursion on a different trip and it was breathtaking
This was our second stay at Valentin. We wish the pools had been heated. It made the trip out to the swim up bar a little brisk (we only made it there once). The daytime buffets were awesome. Fresh food-very good. When we first arrived they had us in a handicap accessible room that wasn’t cleaned very well but after we called they switched our rooms without a problem. Our “new” room was nicely furnished like we had remembered from our last stay. The evening dining options are vast but the portions are very small. We had the best food and overall evening dining experience at Ginger (Hibachi).