Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Had a awesome time.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
This hotel was wonderful. The food was amazing, really liked that you didn't have to make reservations for dinner. The Italian restaurant was our favorite. Drinks were good but wish they had more beer choices got a little burned out on fufu drinks. Facilities were all really clean and staff were all very nice. I have 3 kids but I have to say was really nice not have children there. Nice relaxing in the pool without kids. I would stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Pool was awesome.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
I'm typically a beach person but the pool was so big and beautiful I found myself using itmore than usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Subdirector, Hotel Management
Dear recent VIM Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met . We hope to see you again in the future . Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Puyallup, WA

We love Valentin Imperial Maya!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable
Location: The property is on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Riviera Maya. The sand was so soft and cool. There are so many things to do
This was our second time back to the Valentin Imperial Maya. We always said we wanted to try different resorts and never planned on going back to the same place, but VIM changed our minds! We came to VIM two years ago and met some wonderful people and had the best time. Our friends let us know they were coming back and we decided to join them. We were not disappointed. Everything was fabulous, all the staff so friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent. We especially enjoyed Ginger. We had the tempanyaki twice (you need to make reservations in the morning at 9AM) and ate in the other section once. I really enjoyed the lunches around the pool and loved the buffet lunches in La Marche. One day it was all seafood, so yummy! You really feel like your special, all the staff treat you like royalty. They have a turtle conservation project at the beach. A biologist was releasing baby turtles early every morning. Some people we met got to release baby turtles into the sea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milford, Indiana

Great adult only all inclusive resort!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
We just got back from our fourth visit. We love this adult only all inclusive resort. It's got great food, wonderful service, nightly entertainment, beautiful beaches and we'll maintained grounds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waldorf md

1st year anniversary

Posted Nov 15, 2014
It was a pleasure I had the most fun. The people where great and the service was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Subdirector, Hotel Management
Dear Angelique from Waldorf , It's a pleasure to know that you spend a beautiful vacation with us and mostly if was such a special occasion as your 1st Anniversary! VIM is waiting for your return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great all-inclusive at beautiful resort

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds and a great staff!
Cons: Decor needs to be updated/refreshed. The toilet wasn't contained, so my husband and I heard everything. Also, our couch smelled a little musty.
Location: Close to the airport (25 mins). We did a guided tour with transport: Tulum, a cenote in Aktuchen and snorkeling with turtles in Akumal
My husband and I booked this trip for our one year wedding anniversary in November. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and it was a lovely experience. There were a variety of eating options - a couple of buffets for breakfast and lunch and several restaurants for dinner - all of which were delicious. We loved the Italian and Mexican restaurants, as well was the steakhouse on the beach. We also loved that reservations weren't required (except at Hibachi which you book that day) and the waits were very quick - 10 to 15 minutes at most. There was nightly entertainment from a band in the plaza to shows in the playhouse, as well as a DJ in the later hours. The shows were a little hit or miss, but a good time all around and offered something fun to do on the grounds. There was turndown service each night with a surprise when we came back - champagne, rose petals on the bed, fruit basket, etc. We enjoyed going back each night to see what they had left for us. Pool and beach were both beautiful with wait staff and bars, respectively, available. Lounge chairs were a bit difficult to get by the pool some days, so we suggest snagging chairs early so you don't have a bad seat. Regarding the beach, you just have to walk a little bit further (an extra minute) for open cabanas - worth it! There are also reps in the lobby to help with off-site excursions. We booked one activity through Go Natural tours that went to Tulum, Aktuchen and Akumal, which we loved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

A wonderful experience

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Our favourite restaurants were the Indonesian and Japanese, although all were good. The evening bands were FANTASTIC. The staff were excellent
Cons: We were often missing face cloths, and the power temporarily went out a couple times in our room. It came back on in a few minutes. No big deal
Location: We used USA Transfers for a private transfer from the airport. They were on time and courteous. Worth the money.
We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at this hotel. The food was excellent (the best I've had at an all inclusive), the grounds were full of greenery and peaceful and the staff were exceptional. The beach was very nice, but there were rough waves most days that we were there - maybe this was uncommon but I really don't know. The snorkelling wasn't too great if that is important to you. The evening entertainment was very, very good- they have some very talented musicians there. Overall, the best all inclusive we have stayed at and we would go back again. Peaceful, romantic, excellent food, wonderful entertainment and a great beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Fair resort to visit.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The beach and the pool were both great.
Cons: Add a real hot tub and more waiters at the pool, beach, and restaurants. Be more accommodating in the restaurants for larger groups of 8-10.
Location: We never left the resort.
We liked the beach area at the resort. There was a good swimming area and plenty of beautiful rocky areas as well. Very difficult to get a drink on the beach. The pools were large enough to handle the crowds, could use a real hot tub though. The resort is huge, which makes for a lot of walking. The food was okay in the buffet, but nothing I would rave about. The restaurants were better, but overall just average, with a long wait since reservations are not allowed, and would not take groups over 6. The service was up and down, never bad, but never really excellent either. All told we had a good experience and I would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful resort. We will definitely be back!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean and friendly staff.
Location: We stayed at the resort, but they have several areas to go out on excursions.
We arrived in the evening and they still drove us around for a quick tour. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and they gave us a bottle of champagne, a cake, our name in their "newspaper" and decorated the bed with swan towels and flower petals. They have activities every day all day that their enthusiastic entertainment staff head up. We had a great time playing beach volleyball, couples salsa lessons, aqua zumba, billiards, ping pong...it was awesome. The pool was relaxing and they make some very good mixed drinks. They have a great variety of food. The buffet's for breakfast and lunch are HUGE. Anything you could think of they had. I could go on and on about how great this resort is. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a nice couples vacation without children and to relax and still have a great time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Subdirector, Hotel Management
Dear Katrina from Michigan Many thanks for your excellent review and for having chosen the Valentin for your 10thanniversary. We are sure this will help many travelers to realize that the VIM Resort is the perfect hotel for their anniversary. Will be our honor to host you again very soon! Wishing you all the best,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Swim Up suite was fantastic and service impeccable

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: friendliness of staff and beautiful pool / beach
Cons: better nighttime shows
Location: Mayan ruins are a must trip, but we never left the resort this time
Our 2nd trip to this resort and we are planning the 3rd.