Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Laredo

2 nights in Viceroy

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Hotel & Staff are great, no negatives on our stay is totaly nice and up to the highest standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We came for honeymoon and it was amasing. B-e-s-t food and service. Very clean and quiet. We had a littele trouble with the nespresso in the room(didnt know that its not inclusive)and the landury charge..but overall just PERFECT💜
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by txlindsfrom Texas

Wonderful romantic hideaway

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Viceroy Riviera Maya is fantastic! Very classy hotel with too many wonderful details to list. We stayed for six nights in a luxury villa in August. Very spacious and well appointed room and beautiful bathroom. I loved the private outdoor shower. The hotel pool is lovely and steps to the gorgeous beach. The beach view is not rocky, but there are some rocks underneath the water if you are going for a swim. The hotel discreetly provides water shoes for guests if needed. I found it wasn't necessary if I just looked for the sandy path out to the water. Favorite things about this hotel: its not a 400 room all inclusive, and less than ~70 guests max I think, so feels very private and secluded, entire staff is outstanding, our room was tidied twice daily which was a nice touch, morning smoothie at the coral restaurant with a beach view, floating in the gorgeous sea green crystal clear water, sigh... Loved this place... If you are NOT looking for an all inclusive for a couples retreat, you will love this hotel! Seven minute car ride to playa town, ~ 250 pesos by taxi...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Claremont, ca

Fabulous hotel on a great beach

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Wonderful time at this fabulous hotel in a beautiful setting. Staff are incredible offering exceptional service on every level. Food was wonderful, lots of choice and expertly prepared and presented. If you're looking for a romantic retreat you will be impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom usa

When budgets and kids don't matter.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful private villas. No kids. Excellent service. Get a package with breakfast including, really not too pricey either. You will definitely avoid the Cancun, cheap package, party crowd and relax in an indulgent way!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donnafrom OKC

Best service ever!

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We love this small, private boutique resort. Service is unreal. Staff is awesome. Only issue is that a new resort was built adjacent to the property and they play LOUD music on Frisay and Saturday nights till 11:00.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite Luxury by the beach

Posted May 23, 2014
The hotel was beautiful with impeccable service. The private villa was excellent. Loved the outdoor shower! Poolside or by the beach, the service was excellent. Always available, but not overbearing. We rented a car and took a day trip to Coba and Tulum, also stopping at a Cenote on the way. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You could not pick a better hotel/experience

Posted May 10, 2014
From start to finish the hotel and staff lived up to every single positive review we read and surpassed our own expectations. We were greeted by the butler tajh corresponded with us from the day after we booked until the day before we arrived; throughout our entire stay she made a point to make our stay enjoyable and memorable (most notably an unprompted birthday cake for my fiancé delivered poolside). The amenities - spa, pool, beach - were amazing and the food was delicious. If you're considering staying here, do it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pepfrom New York, NY

Low key luxury on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: It felt like we were two of a few people at the resort. A calm and inviting environment where they went to great pains to provide privacy.
Cons: The thing that could be improved might be beyond the control of the Viceroy: jet ski activity on the north side of the resort led to noise & gas fumes
Location: 10 min cab ride to the center of Play del Carmen with all shopping, dining, street activity & souvenir shops. All Mayan ruins doable in day trips.
Beautiful, organic-environment resort with very private villas, lush surrounding vegetation, palapa style roofs, full service spa, decent gym with ocean view, yoga deck, yoga classes, great gift shop, superb food, impeccable service, amazing concierge and well trained staff. An idyllic romantic getaway for a couple. The minimum guest age of 16 ensures a quieter experience all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay In Paradise

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Viceroy Riviera Maya is the definition of luxury. Our room was beautiful and secluded, breakfast was delicious, and the staff was ready and willing to help with any issue that came up. The beach is stunning and not at all crowded, thanks to the small size of the hotel. I would go back in a heartbeat.