Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

When budgets and kids don't matter.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Wonderful private villas. No kids. Excellent service. Get a package with breakfast including, really not too pricey either. You will definitely avoid the Cancun, cheap package, party crowd and relax in an indulgent way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite Luxury by the beach

Posted May 23, 2014
The hotel was beautiful with impeccable service. The private villa was excellent. Loved the outdoor shower! Poolside or by the beach, the service was excellent. Always available, but not overbearing. We rented a car and took a day trip to Coba and Tulum, also stopping at a Cenote on the way. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You could not pick a better hotel/experience

Posted May 10, 2014
From start to finish the hotel and staff lived up to every single positive review we read and surpassed our own expectations. We were greeted by the butler tajh corresponded with us from the day after we booked until the day before we arrived; throughout our entire stay she made a point to make our stay enjoyable and memorable (most notably an unprompted birthday cake for my fiancé delivered poolside). The amenities - spa, pool, beach - were amazing and the food was delicious. If you're considering staying here, do it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pep from New York, NY

Low key luxury on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: It felt like we were two of a few people at the resort. A calm and inviting environment where they went to great pains to provide privacy.
Cons: The thing that could be improved might be beyond the control of the Viceroy: jet ski activity on the north side of the resort led to noise & gas fumes
Location: 10 min cab ride to the center of Play del Carmen with all shopping, dining, street activity & souvenir shops. All Mayan ruins doable in day trips.
Beautiful, organic-environment resort with very private villas, lush surrounding vegetation, palapa style roofs, full service spa, decent gym with ocean view, yoga deck, yoga classes, great gift shop, superb food, impeccable service, amazing concierge and well trained staff. An idyllic romantic getaway for a couple. The minimum guest age of 16 ensures a quieter experience all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Seven Days in Paradise

Posted Apr 1, 2014
My husband and I just returned from Viceroy a few days ago and I am still glowing from our trip! First of all, the resort is just spectacular. Private, romantic, luxurious, it's a perfect getaway for couples of all ages. Each private room is a stand alone bungalow complete with a private plunge pool (you can select how warm you would like the water!), a terrace and outdoor shower. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. All of this with a lush, green tropical backdrop. The resort is quaint enough that all rooms are an easy walk to the spectacular pool and beach area. It was never a problem finding a comfy lounger at the pool or beach, even though the resort was at full capacity. Edgar was always one step ahead with towels ready to set up our beach beds for the day! The luxurious amenities are second only to the service. I have never been made to feel so special at a resort. Every employee, from the manager to the gardeners, were so polite and friendly and helpful. Although the entire staff was spectacular, I would like to specially thank Pepe, who brought us drinks and lunch on the beach every day. His super friendly and eager to assist attitude made us able to truly relax. Francisco and Umberto were also particularly accommodating and Pablo, one of the managers, went out of his way to make this trip special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NYC Couple from New York, NY

Run don't walk to the Viceroy

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The Viceroy was a perfect getaway. A luxury, boutique facility, where the food and drink we excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Victoria in reservations, Sylvia at the front desk, Francisco and Pepe at the beach and the wonderful Natalia, who made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. HIGHLY recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel! Lovely private bungalow suite.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Excellent service and food! Beautiful property built into the natural foliage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise!

Posted Feb 26, 2014
The Viceroy absolutely exceeded our expectations! The service, location, staff are outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Loved our room!!

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The rooms and beach chairs!
Cons: Definitely the food quality.
We absolutely loved everything about this resort with the exception of the food which I thought was average for what we paid and the fish was below average, not even edible. The beach was average but not great to get in or walk as it was pretty unlevel up and down the beach for quite a long way. The rooms were probably the one of the best we've stayed in on the Riviera Maya. The staff went above and beyond on the beach and everywhere on the property. If you met them anywhere on the property they would stop where they stood and let you pass and not start walking again until you passed them no matter how slowly you walked.
5 out of 5
by KC from NJ

Tropical hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Surroundings were incredible. Like that it is small.
Cons: Wish other hotel not as close by as guests at that location could be noisy at times.
Location: Close to amazing 5th Avenue filled with shopping and amazing bars/restaurants.
Service was outstanding. Lush, jungle-like surroundings. Food very good. Guest services go above and beyond to accommodate requests no matter how small. Very helpful with getting reliable/safe transfers to/from town each night.