Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saudi Arabia

Hotel needs overall renovation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Every thing in the room & bathroom need upgrading and renovation, furniture, finishing, appliances and carpet
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Danny, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ahmed, I acknowledge receipt of your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I can understand your disappointment, however, I wish to ask for your patience as we prepare for the final plan of the full renovation of our rooms and suites. As you might have observed, we have already completed the 1st phase of the hotel’s renovation i.e., main entrance, hotel lobby, restaurants and our conference center at the ground floor. The renovation of the rooms and suites are already in the final stage and it will soon start. Meantime, we hope that this would not deter you of coming back to the InterContinental Riyadh. On your next reservation, try to stay in our Club InterContinental Floor, with just a relatively higher rate, you can enjoy the comfort of better rooms plus complimentary breakfast, and full access to the club lounge. With my best regards. Tariq Dowidar, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Posted Dec 31, 2014
It was a business trip, the hotel needs renovation, the speed of the internet needs improvement
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Danny, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Ahmed, Thank you for your review and rating. I have taken notes of your review and wish to inform you that we will work on all our services that need improvements. Indeed, our rooms in the main building are in need of renovation. I would like to confirm that we have already completed the 1st phase of the hotel's major renovation i.e., the main entrance, the lobby, restaurants and our conference center located at the ground floor. The 2nd phase will soon start which will focus on the complete renovation of all rooms and suites in the main building. Meantime, as we continue to work on all our scheduled plans, we hope that you favor us with your continued patronage. My sincere regards. Tariq Dowidar, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice but old.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Size of rooms, free wi-fi, buffet.
Cons: Rooms are tired and need to be refurbished.
Location: Isolated and not much entertainment. Suitable for business trip only.
This is a reasonable place to stay but over priced. It is showing its age now and is probably only a 3 to 4 star hotel. Acceptable if staying for a short break and you don't need to spend much time at the hotel. Free wi-fi is a bonus. Breakfast is good, though dinner (buffet) is expensive (but good). The hotel did not offer a shuttle from the hotel, and the airport does not have great facilities to help travelers. I had to wait 30 minutes to get a private car, and even then the assistant couldn't confirm whether one would arrive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by Danny, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Traveler of London, Thank you for your kind review. I took note of all your issues and wish to assure you that all those that need to be improved are in my Red Flag items. I do understand well your comment concerning the old rooms. You might have observed that we have already completed the 1st phase of the major renovation of the hotel (main entrance, lobby, restaurants and conference rooms). The 2nd phase is already underway and will start soon, which will focus on the total renovation of rooms and suites in the Main Building. We wish to inform you that our hotel room rates are the prevailing rates in the Riyadh market and approved by the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquity of Saudi Arabia. Lastly, the hotel has an official transport provider, the Abu Diyab Rent-A-Car. Kindly include your request for an airport pick-up, together with your flight details,on your next room reservation. With my best regards. Tariq Dowidar, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jurgen Weissfrom Boston, MA

A bit worn out

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Intercontinental in Riyadh is located in a large compound near the main government area. There is not much around it in terms of shopping or restaurants. The hotel itself is perfectly fine, but shows a bit of wear and tear. Bathrooms are small and kind of old, the rooms a bit dated. The lobby and restaurants are nice and quiet. I would say at is at the lower end of what goes for a 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bfrom Dubai

Still best place for longer term business visit

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Like all hotels in Riyadh, the ICH is not blessed with the best great price / value ratio (given the relatively high price). Yet among the lot, it is still by far the best place for a longer term stay in Riyadh. The feeling of spaciousness and the friendly staff simply make staying in Riyadh more bearable...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Harl17from UK

Refurb....

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has undergone a recent refurb of the public areas which has been done with great taste. The rooms are perhaps getting a little tired and could also do with being refurbished. The food in all of the restaurants is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Benfrom London, UK

Good hotel for business trips

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and restaurants
Location: Excellent location
Overall it's nice place to stay in when going on a business trip. The breakfast isn't anything special. I normally expect more from a 5 star restaurant in the GCC region.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Safe and nice (boring if you're a woman)

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice. service was great. we loved being greeted by Arabic coffee everyday. My husband I were both there for work. Unfortunately there is no female gym and all of the recreational activities are for MEN ONLY, except golf. That was pretty depressing seeing as how there's not really anything else to do in Riyadh except go to the mall. We ended up eating at the hotel restaurant Mondo twice. Very DELICIOUS! highly recommend the lamb loin and lentil soup.